Insurance provider

What Is Corgi Insurance?

Corgi suits technology startups wanting packages organized from pre-seed through growth, with dashboard changes as the business grows; firms seeking only a direct single-carrier policy should compare alternatives. Issuers vary by product and state. 1,2,9,17,18

Technology startups can compare Corgi packages for pre-seed/seed, Series A and growth stages, or ask about a custom option. 2,3,6,15Company-reported. Company website positioning and package names; named customer stories on the customers page are testimonials, not a verified book of business.

What Are the Pros and Cons of Corgi?

Pros

  • Online and specialist-assisted buying. You can start an application online or book a call. Corgi advertises same-day purchasing for eligible applicants, giving straightforward risks a self-service path and buyers with questions a way to speak with someone. 2 1
  • Packages organized around startup stages. Its pre-seed, seed, Series A and growth-stage packages bring common liability needs together. The dashboard also supports adding or upgrading coverage as hiring, funding and contracts change the business. 2
  • Published starting points for budgeting. Corgi provides typical annual price ranges for some startup stages, helping buyers frame an initial budget before underwriting determines the actual premium and terms. 2 6
  • Some visibility into policy structure. The D&O page identifies a policy form, issuing entity, retention and defense-cost treatment. Those details give buyers more to examine than a coverage name alone. 5

Cons

  • The RRG option can conflict with contract requirements. Corgi says its Technology Risk Retention Group has no AM Best rating, and RRG policies have no state guaranty-fund protection. Buyers whose contracts require rated or admitted insurance need to confirm whether a different issuing insurer is available. 1 20
  • Different coverage parts can involve different insurers. An RRG cannot supply property insurance. Corgi also uses affiliated and partner carriers, so a package needs to be checked by issuing entity and coverage part rather than treated as one uniform insurer relationship. 19 1
  • Defense costs can reduce the money available for a D&O settlement. The published D&O example puts defense expenses within the limit and includes a per-claim retention. Buyers need to assess both features against the actual proposed form and their ability to fund a claim. 5
  • The online channel does not eliminate producer charges. The agency discloses possible commissions or fees paid by the insurer or customer. Package price ranges do not settle your premium, total charges or policy-specific compensation. 1 2

How Does Corgi Work?

You can apply online or book a specialist call, and Corgi says eligible applicants may quote in minutes and buy the same day; confirm in writing whether coverage starts at policy issuance/payment or under a binder and the effective date. 2,1Company-reported. Company website process claims and Binding Authority and Policy Issuance disclosure, rechecked on 15 September 2026. The disclosure's first paragraph requires policy issuance and payment, while its next paragraph describes temporary binder coverage; this record does not resolve which conditions apply to a particular placement. Quote speed is not independently verified and is not the same as coverage being in force. A self-serve path is not evidence of zero producer commissions or fees.

Corgi’s Get a Quote form asking for a name, company, phone number, and email address.

Starting a quote with Corgi

Ask for the commission or customer fee on your policy because Corgi Insurance Services may receive either from you or the insurer. 1Company-reported. Producer compensation disclosure. Website, self-serve, or other direct distribution is not a finding of zero commissions or fees. Specific amounts were not published in the reviewed sources.

Your Corgi policy’s named insurer provides coverage; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. is the agency that sells and administers policies. 1,2,4Company-reported. Distribution role and brand usage as of 15 September 2026. Producer licensing is not insurer authority, and group language does not make every group company the issuing insurer on a given policy.

Check your policy declarations for the insurer and claims administrator because Corgi may use affiliated or partner insurers. 1Company-reported. Company disclosure of variable issuing paper. Do not treat the Corgi brand, the producer, or any one carrier as the insurer on every policy.

Corgi’s demo booking page with a calendar and available times for a 30-minute call.

Booking a demo with Corgi

Corgi’s homepage with links to get insured online or book a demo.

Corgi’s website

Y Combinator lists Corgi Insurance as a Summer 2024 company founded in 2024 and based in San Francisco. 15 Kindred Ventures, which published an investment memo on 8 January 2026, describes Corgi as building a full-stack carrier and reports more than 40,000 policyholders across 49 states. 14 Those customer and volume figures are investor- and company-reported. They are not a regulatory census, and they are not a statement of insurer surplus.

Corgi also announced a partnership that routes Silicon Valley Bank clients to its digital products. 13

What Coverage Does Corgi Offer, and Where?

Startup packages can combine general liability, D&O, Tech E&O, cyber, media, employment practices, fiduciary and hired/non-owned auto; Corgi also offers a Tech & AI Liability module. 2,8,10Company-reported. Website product labels and package descriptions. Labels are not equivalent coverage, and website summaries are not policy wording.

Corgi’s pre-seed and seed, Series A, growth-stage, and custom packages with their included coverage lines.

Corgi’s coverage packages

If you need D&O, Corgi’s example shows claims-made protection for directors, officers and the company under form CORG-DO-0100, issued by Technology Risk Retention Group. The example puts defense costs inside the limit and has a $25,000 per-claim retention; your policy controls. 5Company-reported. Public product-page summary last reviewed 24 April 2026 on the page itself; illustrative limits and retentions may differ from a buyer’s policy.

Corgi markets a Tech & AI Liability module for claims that technology products or services failed to perform as intended. Website scenarios are illustrations, not a promise that a given claim would be covered. 8

A package that includes property needs another insurer if its liability policy uses a risk retention group, because such groups can write business liability but not property coverage. 19,21Verified. Statutory limit on what an RRG may write. It does not by itself prove which Corgi product sits on which paper.

Small businesses in offices, retail, restaurants, personal services, self-storage, wholesale, community associations or rental properties may have a new Corgi option; its August 2026 filing announcement says state and product availability differ. 9Company-reported. Company-announced admitted-carrier appetite. Filing a product is not the same as confirmed availability in a given state.

Corgi lists agency licenses in 49 states and DC, but not New Mexico; this does not guarantee a specific product is available, so confirm state and underwriting eligibility. 4,2,1Company-reported. Current published producer-license table and territorial qualifications, accessed 15 September 2026. A producer license is not an insurer certificate of authority and does not establish that every product can be bound in each listed jurisdiction.

What a Risk Retention Group Means for a Buyer

If a quote uses a risk retention group, remember it is a member-owned liability insurer licensed in its home state and registered elsewhere under federal law; members have similar or related risks. 18,19,21Verified. General RRG charter, membership, and oversight from current NAIC topic material last updated 13 October 2025 and the cited statutes. This is not a statement of TRRG’s surplus, a federal charter, or of which Corgi products currently issue on TRRG paper. The reviewed sources do not describe voting, dividend, or assessment rights for a Corgi policyholder in practice.

If your quote uses Technology Risk Retention Group, check the insurer’s financial and regulatory information directly: NAIC lists it as Arizona-domiciled P&C company 17763 (TECHNOLOGY RRG INC). Corgi calls it its primary underwriting entity and an RRG under the Liability Risk Retention Act; its description of federal charter and oversight is company language, not an independent legal conclusion. 17,1,3,2,18,19Company-reported. Entity identity and Arizona domicile are supported by the NAIC listing. Which Corgi products currently issue on TRRG paper is company-described and can vary by account. NAIC and the Liability Risk Retention Act describe RRGs as state-chartered or state-licensed liability insurers with domiciliary-state regulation of formation and operation.

Confirm which states the risk-retention-group insurer is registered in before relying on its policy: a Rhode Island list dated June 23, 2026 names Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc. in San Francisco, but the reviewed sources do not provide a complete state list. 16Verified. One non-domicile RRG registration record. The Rhode Island document is titled “Registered Federal Risk Retention Groups”; that title is the state’s list label, not a finding that TRRG holds a federal charter. Registration is not admitted-insurer licensing, and one state list does not establish a nationwide registration footprint.

If your Corgi policy is issued by Technology Risk Retention Group, state insurance guaranty funds do not cover it; this is a material difference to weigh against an admitted option. 20,2,1Verified. RRG policies. This is a statutory qualification, not a prediction of insolvency, and it is not a statement about admitted policies.

Ask how you assess the insurer’s financial strength if the quote uses Technology Risk Retention Group: Corgi says it has no AM Best rating, which is separate from admitted status. 1,5Company-reported. Company statement about TRRG. Admitted status, an AM Best rating, and financial condition are separate facts. This profile does not assign a financial-strength grade to TRRG.

An AM Best rating, admitted status, and guaranty-fund eligibility are different attributes. None of them is established by venture fundraising.

Admitted Paper and Other Carriers

If admitted coverage or guaranty-association protection matters to you, ask Corgi about affiliated or partner carriers it says are rated A- or better; eligibility depends on state, line and business, and state protection has limits. 1,3,2,9Company-reported. Company description of an alternative placement path. It is not a guarantee that a given account will receive A- admitted paper, not an AM Best rating of TRRG or of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc., and not a blanket guarantee of guaranty-association payment. Guaranty-association language does not apply to risk retention group policies.

If a financial-strength rating or specific state authority is a requirement, request it for Corgi Insurance Company; its August 2026 launch announcement provided neither a rating nor a complete state-license list. 9,22Not found in reviewed sources. Reviewed public sources as of 15 September 2026. Not finding a published rating is not a finding that the company has no rating, no capital, or no authorization.

The insurer named on your policy remains responsible for claims even if it shares risk with reinsurers; Corgi does not name current reinsurers or contract terms publicly. 1,14Not publicly disclosed. Public disclosures as of 15 September 2026. Not identifying a named panel is not a finding that there is no reinsurance.

How Is Corgi Paid, and What Service Does It Provide?

Corgi gives annual price examples of $2,000–$5,000 for eligible pre-seed/seed startups and $5,000–$15,000 for Series A; your quote depends on risk, state, coverage and limits. 2,6,7Company-reported. Company-reported ranges and a marketing savings claim, not comparable quotes. They are not premiums for a defined risk, limit, retention, or policy period. “Underwrites directly” is not a finding of zero producer commissions or fees, and no public methodology for the 30 percent figure was found.

You can add or upgrade policies through Corgi’s dashboard as funding, hiring or contract needs change; renewal and cancellation remain subject to your policy and state rules. 2,1Company-reported. Company description of post-bind servicing and cancellation. Actual endorsement terms remain in the policy. This does not establish a specific renewal guarantee or a finding that renewals are unavailable.

Corgi says its claims team can help with reporting, documents, legal coordination and updates, but an affiliate or third-party administrator may handle the file; the named insurer decides coverage and payment. 1,2,12Company-reported. Company claims-handling and TPA disclosures. Offering claims administration is not a measure of claims-payment quality, and the TPA announcement does not by itself identify the administrator on a Corgi-issued policy.

What Should You Confirm in Corgi Quotes?

Public pages cannot replace the issued policy, binder, or quote. Before relying on Corgi coverage for a lease, investor requirement, or customer contract, confirm at least the following:

  • Which legal entity is the issuing insurer on each coverage part, and whether that insurer is Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc., Corgi Insurance Company, Inc., or another affiliated or partner carrier.
  • Whether the paper is a risk retention group policy, admitted, or surplus lines, and what that means for any landlord, investor, or contract requirement that names “admitted,” “A- rated,” or “admitted and A- rated.”
  • The policy form, including whether D&O or other lines use proprietary forms such as CORG-DO-0100, and whether additional-insured, waiver-of-subrogation, or primary-and-non-contributory wording matches what a counterparty asked for.
  • Limits, retentions, claims-made versus occurrence triggers, retroactive dates, defense-inside-limits treatment, and material exclusions.
  • The states in which the specific product can be bound, which can differ from Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.’s producer licenses.
  • Premium, taxes, fees, installment terms, and producer compensation. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. discloses that commissions, fees, or other consideration may be paid by the carrier or the insured; ask for the nature and amount rather than assuming a website purchase has none.
  • Who will administer claims, how to give notice, and that the issuing carrier remains responsible for payment.
  • If TRRG paper is offered, that you understand RRG membership, the statutory guaranty-fund notice, and that an AM Best rating is a separate question from admitted status. Confirm charter and oversight against NAIC and state regulator records; do not treat Corgi’s “federally chartered” or “federal prudential oversight” wording as established law.

Corgi Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Corgi Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews; the inspected Trustpilot profiles showed none. Its Trustpilot page exists but shows no reviews or rating.[4][8]

Read Corgi reviews

Corgi Reliability Scores for 2026

Hybrid provider. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. as producer and programme administrator, verified active in Texas, Pennsylvania and Colorado only, with Corgi Insurance Company, Inc. and Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc. as the separately disclosed risk-bearing entities. Capacity is assessed for three named channels and no others: coverages written on Corgi Insurance Company's own paper, where Georgia admitted and Pennsylvania surplus-lines authorisations are verified; coverages written by Technology Risk Retention Group, an Arizona-domiciled RRG registered in Georgia; and Pennsylvania placements with the three Employers-group carriers appointed to the producer entity. The unnamed partner carriers referenced in Corgi's disclaimer, and the carriers behind Corgi business in every other state, are not assessed. The Georgia producer identifier Corgi publishes did not resolve and is outside verified scope.

Corgi Broker Spot Score

Spot Score

This partial Broker Spot Score covers identity and authority, carrier-network strength, disclosure clarity within the stated scope. It uses 75% of the rubric’s factor weighting, normalized to a ten-point scale. The excluded factors remain unknown, and evidence for one program does not describe another.

Assessment subject unavailable

Assessed 2026-09-23 · Review due 2026-10-23

Corgi Carrier & MGA Spot Score

Spot Score

This partial Carrier & MGA Spot Score covers identity and authority, carrier-network strength, disclosure clarity within the stated scope. It uses 40% of the rubric’s factor weighting, normalized to a ten-point scale. The excluded factors remain unknown, and evidence for one program does not describe another.

Assessment subject unavailable

Assessed 2026-09-23 · Review due 2026-10-23

Sources for Corgi

Corgi Official Website

  1. Disclaimers & Licensing. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Carrier Financial Strength (including “federally chartered” and “federal prudential oversight” wording); About Corgi; Licensing; Premium and Payment Disclosures (producer commissions, fees, or other consideration, amounts available on request); Binding Authority and Policy Issuance; page last updated 04/05/26. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Corgi Insurance homepage. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Product packages: Cyber and Directors & Officers; Growth Stage and Custom Package; Self-Serve (apply, get quoted in minutes, bind same-day) and Book a Demo paths; Explore Our Main Policies: Commercial General Liability, Crime Insurance, Fiduciary Liability, Hired and Non-Owned Auto (HNOA), Worker’s Compensation; Specialized coverages: Employment Practices Liability (EPLI), K&R (Kidnap & Ransom), Representations and Warranties; Commercial Umbrella Liability; Business Owners Policy (BOP); Coverage sales cards: Media Liability, Medical Malpractice, Miscellaneous E&O; Core Operations: Tech E&O Insurance; Tech & AI Liability product module; Transportation menu: Auto Liability, Contractual Liability Insurance - Cargo; FAQ on cost, claims, and binding; footer entity, program-administrator and issuing-carrier notices. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. About Corgi. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Company description; Federally Regulated, A-Rated Admitted Access, and Licensed Nationwide sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. Insurance Producer Licenses. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. state-by-state producer license table. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance for Startups. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Form CORG-DO-0100 coverage summary; policy notes stating TRRG underwrites the D&O coverage part; footer identifying Corgi Insurance Company, Inc. NAIC 17989. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Customer Success Stories. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Page heading and named technology-company testimonials; cost FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  7. Partnerships. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Direct Underwriting savings claim; partner-page process; onboarding-to-claims handling claim. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  8. Insurance for AI, Built for Model Risk. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Tech & AI Liability product description and related AI-risk FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  9. Corgi Insurance Launches Admitted Insurance Carrier. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); Announcement of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc.; planned small-business product classes; guaranty-association eligibility statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  10. Corgi Insurance Raises $108 Million, Receives Regulatory Approval to Launch the First Full-Stack Insurance Carrier for Startups. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 9 January 2026 funding announcement; listed startup coverage lines; ARR figure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  11. Corgi Reaches $2.6B Valuation With $106M Series B1 Three Weeks After $160M Unicorn Round. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 28 May 2026 company statement of $378 million total funding and planned vertical expansion. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  12. Corgi Insurance Launches Corgi Claims, the AI-Native TPA. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 29 June 2026 launch of Corgi Claims as a TPA; disclaimer that claims services are provided through licensed subsidiaries and affiliates. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  13. Corgi Insurance and Silicon Valley Bank Partner to Connect Clients to Preferred Coverage Solutions. PR Newswire (Corgi and Silicon Valley Bank press release); 17 June 2026 partnership announcement for SVB client access to Corgi products. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  14. Corgi: Rebuilding Insurance with AI. Kindred Ventures; 8 January 2026 investor announcement describing Corgi as a full-stack carrier with a captive reinsurer; 40,000+ policyholders across 49 states. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  15. Corgi Insurance company profile. Y Combinator; Summer 2024 batch; San Francisco location; 2024 founding; team size 250; description as a full-stack insurance carrier for startups. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  16. Registered Federal Risk Retention Groups. Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation; Report date 23 June 2026; registration entry for Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc., NAIC 17763, 425 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  17. NAIC Listing of Companies. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; June 2026 listing, numerical entry 17763 P 1 AZ TECHNOLOGY RRG INC. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  18. Insurance Topics: Risk Retention Groups. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Topic page last updated 13 October 2025: member-owned liability insurers formed under state and federal law; may be formed under a state's captive or traditional insurance laws; domiciled in one state and registered in others; treated as multi-state companies subject to modified NAIC accreditation standards. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  19. 15 U.S.C. § 3901 — Definitions. U.S. House Office of the Law Revision Counsel; Liability Risk Retention Act definitions of liability and risk retention group, including state charter, member-ownership, and liability-only activity limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  20. 15 U.S.C. § 3902 — Risk retention groups. U.S. House Office of the Law Revision Counsel; Non-domicile state registration and policy notice requirements; exemption from state insurance insolvency guaranty associations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  21. Arizona Revised Statutes § 20-2402. Arizona Legislature; Risk retention groups chartered and licensed in Arizona may write only liability insurance under that chapter. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  22. Corgi built its name insuring AI startups. Its new carrier targets dry cleaners, salons and more. Insurance Business; 27 August 2026 report identifying Technology Risk Retention Group as an Arizona-chartered RRG and noting that the admitted-carrier announcement does not specify domicile, licensed states, or rating status. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

What Are the Closest Alternatives to Corgi?

Providers that also list coverage lines documented for Corgi.

  • AIG

    Lists 17 of Corgi’s 19 coverage lines
    Spot Score
  • CNA

    Lists 17 of Corgi’s 19 coverage lines
    Spot Score
  • Coverdash

    Lists 17 of Corgi’s 19 coverage lines
    Spot Score5.1/ 10
  • HUB International

    Lists 17 of Corgi’s 19 coverage lines
    Spot Score5.5/ 10
  • Chubb

    Lists 16 of Corgi’s 19 coverage lines
    Spot Score6.4/ 10

All Corgi alternatives

How Does Corgi Compare With Other Providers?

Show all 54 comparisons

From our sponsor, Spot

Help With Buying and Renewals

Spot can shop this coverage for you, handle the paperwork and keep track of renewals. The first consultation is free. Talk to Spot