Corgi vs The Hartford: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Corgi packages technology startup liability; The Hartford offers SaaS and small-business policies that typically start with a BOP.

Introduction to the Corgi vs The Hartford Comparison

A SaaS company needing office property and general liability can compare The Hartford’s BOP with Corgi’s technology package, which includes startup and management-liability topics. Choose Corgi if you need startup technology and management cover; choose The Hartford if you need a SaaS or small-business package beginning with a BOP. 2 23

Buyer Takeaways for Corgi vs The Hartford

Corgi Buyer Takeaways

  • Startup packages scale from pre-seed to growth, with a custom option. 2,3,6,15Company-reported. Company website positioning and package names; named customer stories on the customers page are testimonials, not a verified book of business.
  • Use Corgi’s dashboard to adjust coverage as your company grows. 2,1Company-reported. Company description of post-bind servicing and cancellation. Actual endorsement terms remain in the policy. This does not establish a specific renewal guarantee or a finding that renewals are unavailable.

The Hartford Buyer Takeaways

  • SaaS and software businesses can start with a small-business package built around a business owner’s policy. 23,24,46,45Company-reported. Company marketing pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Marketing a SaaS page is not a finding that every software company is eligible.
  • Eligible small businesses can start an online quote and purchase flow, call or use an independent agent; commercial auto requires another route. 24,23,30,29,39,41Company-reported. Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.

Corgi vs The Hartford Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCorgiThe Hartford
Business owner’s policyListed 2Corgi lists a business owner’s policy in its coverage catalog.Listed 31,23The Hartford offers business owner’s policies combining property and liability coverage.
Cargo and transitListed 2Corgi lists a cargo contractual liability product in its transportation offering.Not listed
Commercial autoListed 2Corgi links to trucking auto-liability coverage from its transportation menu.Listed 39,23The Hartford offers commercial auto insurance as a business coverage; small businesses cannot currently buy it online and may be quoted through a local agency.
Commercial propertyNot listedListed 33,23The Hartford offers commercial property insurance.
CrimeListed 2Corgi lists crime insurance among its main policies.Listed 41The Hartford offers crime insurance as a management-liability coverage option.
Cyber liabilityListed 2Corgi lists cyber insurance among its business insurance offerings.Listed 35,23The Hartford offers cyber insurance and data-breach coverage.
Directors and officersListed 2Corgi lists directors and officers insurance among its business insurance offerings.Listed 41,42The Hartford offers directors and officers liability for private, public and nonprofit organizations.
Employment practices liabilityListed 2Corgi lists employment practices liability among its business-insurance offerings.Listed 38,23The Hartford offers employment practices liability through business owner’s and management-liability products; EPL built into its business owner’s policy is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York.
Fiduciary liabilityListed 2Corgi lists fiduciary liability in its coverage catalog and package options.Listed 41The Hartford offers fiduciary liability as a management-liability coverage option.
General liabilityListed 2Corgi lists commercial general liability among its business insurance offerings.Listed 32,23The Hartford offers general liability insurance.
Hired and non-owned autoListed 2Corgi lists hired and non-owned auto liability for employees using rented or personal vehicles for company business.Listed 40,39The Hartford offers hired and non-owned auto coverage.
Kidnap and ransomListed 2Corgi lists kidnap and ransom among its specialized business-insurance offerings.Listed 41The Hartford lists kidnap and ransom/extortion among its management-liability coverage options.
Liquor liabilityListed Corgi markets liquor liability for eligible veterans’ and fraternal lodges with licensed on-premises bars.Not listed
Management liabilityNot listedListed 41The Hartford offers management-liability packages, including Private Choice Premier.
Media liabilityListed 2Corgi lists media liability insurance among its coverage offerings.Not listed
Medical malpracticeListed 2Corgi markets medical malpractice insurance for health care professionals and organizations.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2Corgi lists miscellaneous errors and omissions coverage for service-based businesses.Listed 37The Hartford offers professional liability insurance for service businesses.
Representations and warrantiesListed 2Corgi lists representations and warranties insurance for M&A buyers and sellers.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2Corgi lists technology errors and omissions insurance for technology products and services.Listed 36,35The Hartford offers technology errors and omissions coverage through its FailSafe product.
Tools, equipment and inland marineNot listedListed 45The Hartford offers inland marine insurance for midsize and large businesses.
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 2Corgi lists commercial umbrella liability insurance.Listed 43,44The Hartford lists commercial umbrella insurance among its business coverage options.
Workers’ compensationListed 2Corgi lists workers’ compensation insurance.Listed 34,23The Hartford offers workers’ compensation insurance.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Corgi vs The Hartford Research by Coverage Line

Open what Corgi and The Hartford each document for one coverage line.

Current Reliability Scores for Corgi and The Hartford

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Corgi Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

No Reliability Score

Carrier & MGA

No Reliability Score

Provider assessment

Corgi and The Hartford Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Corgi Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews; the inspected Trustpilot profiles showed none. Its Trustpilot page exists but shows no reviews or rating.

Read Corgi reviews

The Hartford Review Score

4.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

The Hartford’s service record is mixed: NerdWallet rates it 4.5/5 but reports below-average small-business satisfaction. Low Trustpilot ratings add a service concern, although they mix policy types.

Read The Hartford reviews

Key Differences Between Corgi and The Hartford

Agency Packages Versus Insurer Subsidiaries

Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. is the licensed agency that sells and administers Corgi policies; the insurer named on the policy provides the coverage. The Hartford is the brand of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc., whose subsidiaries underwrite; independent agents, brokers and Hartford employees distribute those products, and the brand name is not itself the insurer. Corgi’s value in this pair is coordinating a startup package and naming that insurer. Hartford’s value is that its Legal Notice lists the affiliates that may issue. Neither structure tells you which legal name will appear on a California declarations page until you have a quote. 1 2 26 29

Liability Packages, Property and California EPL

Corgi markets combined general liability, D&O, technology E&O, cyber, media, employment practices, fiduciary and hired/non-owned auto, plus a Tech & AI Liability module. Federal RRG rules mean a risk-retention-group policy cannot supply property; any property or similar line needs another insurer. 2 1

The Hartford’s SaaS page starts with a BOP that includes commercial property and business income, then lists workers’ compensation, data-breach and commercial auto add-ons, with FailSafe technology E&O as a separate product. Built-in employment-practices coverage is expressly not part of the described BOP program in California. A Bay Area buyer who needs EPL and D&O therefore cannot treat Hartford’s BOP marketing as answering Corgi’s package list. 23 38 36

Paper Type and Guaranty-Fund Treatment

Corgi identifies Technology Risk Retention Group as a primary underwriting entity, notes it has no AM Best rating, and discloses that RRG policies are outside state guaranty funds. It also says admitted affiliated or partner carriers rated A- or better may be available when a customer requires admitted paper. 1 9

Hartford Fire Insurance Company is independently listed by California’s regulator as an authorized property-and-casualty insurer (NAIC 19682). Authorization still does not assign Hartford Fire to every SaaS or technology E&O policy. Ask each quote to name the writing company and whether the form is admitted, surplus or RRG. 50 26

How You Buy and What You Pay Besides Premium

Corgi offers a self-serve path and a specialist call. It publishes company claims of minute quotes and same-day purchase, plus typical price bands for early-stage packages. Those are Corgi’s marketing statements, not a promised bind time for every applicant. Binding conditions in its disclosures need to be read against any binder language. 2 1

The Hartford’s small-business portal is a quote-and-buy flow you can complete without an agent, though commercial auto is routed off that path. Its compensation page describes commissions to independent producers; it does not publish your premium. Corgi’s listed bands are not a Hartford quote. 30 39 47

What Should You Confirm in Corgi and The Hartford Quotes?

  • Writing company and paper: RRG versus admitted partner on the Corgi side; which Hartford subsidiary and whether FailSafe is on the online path. 1 26
  • Property, WC and California EPL: whether Corgi uses a second insurer for property, and whether Hartford will quote EPL, D&O and tech E&O for a California SaaS risk. 38 2
  • Binding and price: Corgi binder versus issued policy; Hartford payment and producer fees; match limits and retroactive dates rather than package names. 1 47

Corgi vs The Hartford Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaCorgiThe Hartford
Business role

Your Corgi policy’s named insurer provides coverage; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. is the agency that sells and administers policies. 1,2,4Company-reported. Distribution role and brand usage as of 15 September 2026. Producer licensing is not insurer authority, and group language does not make every group company the issuing insurer on a given policy.

Small businesses can buy insurance under The Hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. 26,47,43,29Company-reported. Group legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy.

Coverage lines

Startup packages can combine general liability, D&O, Tech E&O, cyber, media, employment practices, fiduciary and hired/non-owned auto; Corgi also offers a Tech & AI Liability module. 2,8,10Company-reported. Website product labels and package descriptions. Labels are not equivalent coverage, and website summaries are not policy wording.

If you need D&O, Corgi’s example shows claims-made protection for directors, officers and the company under form CORG-DO-0100, issued by Technology Risk Retention Group. The example puts defense costs inside the limit and has a $25,000 per-claim retention; your policy controls. 5Company-reported. Public product-page summary last reviewed 24 April 2026 on the page itself; illustrative limits and retentions may differ from a buyer’s policy.

A package that includes property needs another insurer if its liability policy uses a risk retention group, because such groups can write business liability but not property coverage. 19,21Verified. Statutory limit on what an RRG may write. It does not by itself prove which Corgi product sits on which paper.

Documented Hartford offerings for businesses include a business owner’s policy (general liability, commercial property and business income), stand-alone general liability and commercial property, workers’ compensation, cyber (including BOP data-breach add-ons, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe Technology E&O), miscellaneous professional liability, employment practices liability, commercial auto and hired/non-owned auto, management-liability packages (Private Choice Premier: directors and officers, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom), commercial umbrella, employee benefits, and inland marine for midsize and large accounts. Actual forms, limits and availability vary by product, state and underwriting. 23,31,35,36,37,38,39,40,41,43,46,45Company-reported. Product and service pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Educational FAQs were not used as the sole proof of an offering. Marketing lists are not specimen policy wording.

The Hartford’s employment-practices page states there is no built-in EPL coverage in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and that the EPL program described on that page does not apply to EPL coverage written in California. Coverages also vary by state and class. 38Company-reported. Company footnotes on the EPLI page, last updated 26 November 2025, rechecked 16 September 2026. This does not establish whether a California buyer can buy stand-alone or differently structured EPL.

Access to insurers

Check your policy declarations for the insurer and claims administrator because Corgi may use affiliated or partner insurers. 1Company-reported. Company disclosure of variable issuing paper. Do not treat the Corgi brand, the producer, or any one carrier as the insurer on every policy.

If your quote uses Technology Risk Retention Group, check the insurer’s financial and regulatory information directly: NAIC lists it as Arizona-domiciled P&C company 17763 (TECHNOLOGY RRG INC). Corgi calls it its primary underwriting entity and an RRG under the Liability Risk Retention Act; its description of federal charter and oversight is company language, not an independent legal conclusion. 17,1,3,2,18,19Company-reported. Entity identity and Arizona domicile are supported by the NAIC listing. Which Corgi products currently issue on TRRG paper is company-described and can vary by account. NAIC and the Liability Risk Retention Act describe RRGs as state-chartered or state-licensed liability insurers with domiciliary-state regulation of formation and operation.

If a quote uses a risk retention group, remember it is a member-owned liability insurer licensed in its home state and registered elsewhere under federal law; members have similar or related risks. 18,19,21Verified. General RRG charter, membership, and oversight from current NAIC topic material last updated 13 October 2025 and the cited statutes. This is not a statement of TRRG’s surplus, a federal charter, or of which Corgi products currently issue on TRRG paper. The reviewed sources do not describe voting, dividend, or assessment rights for a Corgi policyholder in practice.

If admitted coverage or guaranty-association protection matters to you, ask Corgi about affiliated or partner carriers it says are rated A- or better; eligibility depends on state, line and business, and state protection has limits. 1,3,2,9Company-reported. Company description of an alternative placement path. It is not a guarantee that a given account will receive A- admitted paper, not an AM Best rating of TRRG or of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc., and not a blanket guarantee of guaranty-association payment. Guaranty-association language does not apply to risk retention group policies.

Ask how you assess the insurer’s financial strength if the quote uses Technology Risk Retention Group: Corgi says it has no AM Best rating, which is separate from admitted status. 1,5Company-reported. Company statement about TRRG. Admitted status, an AM Best rating, and financial condition are separate facts. This profile does not assign a financial-strength grade to TRRG.

If a financial-strength rating or specific state authority is a requirement, request it for Corgi Insurance Company; its August 2026 launch announcement provided neither a rating nor a complete state-license list. 9,22Not found in reviewed sources. Reviewed public sources as of 15 September 2026. Not finding a published rating is not a finding that the company has no rating, no capital, or no authorization.

If your Corgi policy is issued by Technology Risk Retention Group, state insurance guaranty funds do not cover it; this is a material difference to weigh against an admitted option. 20,2,1Verified. RRG policies. This is a statutory qualification, not a prediction of insolvency, and it is not a statement about admitted policies.

The insurer named on your policy remains responsible for claims even if it shares risk with reinsurers; Corgi does not name current reinsurers or contract terms publicly. 1,14Not publicly disclosed. Public disclosures as of 15 September 2026. Not identifying a named panel is not a finding that there is no reinsurance.

Coverages described on Hartford sites may be offered by one or more property-and-casualty subsidiaries listed in the Legal Notice. Hartford Fire Insurance Company (NAIC 19682) is authorized in all U.S. states and the District of Columbia according to that notice, and California CDI independently confirms its California authorization. Employee-benefits pages also name Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company. The reviewed sources do not identify the writing company that would appear on a specific SaaS, BOP or technology E&O policy. 26,43,32,46,50Company-reported. Legal notice writing-company table as of 31 December 2025, rechecked 16 September 2026, plus CDI verification for Hartford Fire only. Other affiliates were not each re-checked at a state regulator.

Application process

You can apply online or book a specialist call, and Corgi says eligible applicants may quote in minutes and buy the same day; confirm in writing whether coverage starts at policy issuance/payment or under a binder and the effective date. 2,1Company-reported. Company website process claims and Binding Authority and Policy Issuance disclosure, rechecked on 15 September 2026. The disclosure's first paragraph requires policy issuance and payment, while its next paragraph describes temporary binder coverage; this record does not resolve which conditions apply to a particular placement. Quote speed is not independently verified and is not the same as coverage being in force. A self-serve path is not evidence of zero producer commissions or fees.

The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. 24,23,30,29,39,41Company-reported. Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.

Fees and compensation

Ask for the commission or customer fee on your policy because Corgi Insurance Services may receive either from you or the insurer. 1Company-reported. Producer compensation disclosure. Website, self-serve, or other direct distribution is not a finding of zero commissions or fees. Specific amounts were not published in the reviewed sources.

Corgi gives annual price examples of $2,000–$5,000 for eligible pre-seed/seed startups and $5,000–$15,000 for Series A; your quote depends on risk, state, coverage and limits. 2,6,7Company-reported. Company-reported ranges and a marketing savings claim, not comparable quotes. They are not premiums for a defined risk, limit, retention, or policy period. “Underwrites directly” is not a finding of zero producer commissions or fees, and no public methodology for the 30 percent figure was found.

The Hartford discloses that it pays independent producers base commissions (a percentage of premium or a fixed amount per policy), and may also pay contingent or supplemental commissions, fees for services, delegated-underwriting compensation and other benefits. Employees who sell insurance may receive extra compensation beyond salary. Producers may charge their own customer fees that are not Hartford premium. The reviewed pages do not publish the commission rate or any Hartford-charged service fee that would apply to a particular buyer’s policy. Published “average premiums” are company-reported estimates, not quotes. 47,29,24,23Company-reported. Producer compensation disclosure and product-page premium footnotes as of 16 September 2026. Missing a fee schedule is not a finding of zero buyer cost beyond premium.

Sources for Corgi vs The Hartford

Corgi Official Website

  1. Disclaimers & Licensing. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Carrier Financial Strength (including “federally chartered” and “federal prudential oversight” wording); About Corgi; Licensing; Premium and Payment Disclosures (producer commissions, fees, or other consideration, amounts available on request); Binding Authority and Policy Issuance; page last updated 04/05/26. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Corgi Insurance homepage. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Product packages: Cyber and Directors & Officers; Growth Stage and Custom Package; Self-Serve (apply, get quoted in minutes, bind same-day) and Book a Demo paths; Explore Our Main Policies: Commercial General Liability, Crime Insurance, Fiduciary Liability, Hired and Non-Owned Auto (HNOA), Worker’s Compensation; Specialized coverages: Employment Practices Liability (EPLI), K&R (Kidnap & Ransom), Representations and Warranties; Commercial Umbrella Liability; Business Owners Policy (BOP); Coverage sales cards: Media Liability, Medical Malpractice, Miscellaneous E&O; Core Operations: Tech E&O Insurance; Tech & AI Liability product module; Transportation menu: Auto Liability, Contractual Liability Insurance - Cargo; FAQ on cost, claims, and binding; footer entity, program-administrator and issuing-carrier notices. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. About Corgi. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Company description; Federally Regulated, A-Rated Admitted Access, and Licensed Nationwide sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. Insurance Producer Licenses. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. state-by-state producer license table. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance for Startups. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Form CORG-DO-0100 coverage summary; policy notes stating TRRG underwrites the D&O coverage part; footer identifying Corgi Insurance Company, Inc. NAIC 17989. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Customer Success Stories. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Page heading and named technology-company testimonials; cost FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  7. Partnerships. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Direct Underwriting savings claim; partner-page process; onboarding-to-claims handling claim. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  8. Insurance for AI, Built for Model Risk. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Tech & AI Liability product description and related AI-risk FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  9. Corgi Insurance Launches Admitted Insurance Carrier. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); Announcement of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc.; planned small-business product classes; guaranty-association eligibility statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  10. Corgi Insurance Raises $108 Million, Receives Regulatory Approval to Launch the First Full-Stack Insurance Carrier for Startups. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 9 January 2026 funding announcement; listed startup coverage lines; ARR figure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  11. Corgi Reaches $2.6B Valuation With $106M Series B1 Three Weeks After $160M Unicorn Round. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 28 May 2026 company statement of $378 million total funding and planned vertical expansion. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  12. Corgi Insurance Launches Corgi Claims, the AI-Native TPA. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 29 June 2026 launch of Corgi Claims as a TPA; disclaimer that claims services are provided through licensed subsidiaries and affiliates. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  13. Corgi Insurance and Silicon Valley Bank Partner to Connect Clients to Preferred Coverage Solutions. PR Newswire (Corgi and Silicon Valley Bank press release); 17 June 2026 partnership announcement for SVB client access to Corgi products. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  14. Corgi: Rebuilding Insurance with AI. Kindred Ventures; 8 January 2026 investor announcement describing Corgi as a full-stack carrier with a captive reinsurer; 40,000+ policyholders across 49 states. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  15. Corgi Insurance company profile. Y Combinator; Summer 2024 batch; San Francisco location; 2024 founding; team size 250; description as a full-stack insurance carrier for startups. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  16. Registered Federal Risk Retention Groups. Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation; Report date 23 June 2026; registration entry for Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc., NAIC 17763, 425 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  17. NAIC Listing of Companies. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; June 2026 listing, numerical entry 17763 P 1 AZ TECHNOLOGY RRG INC. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  18. Insurance Topics: Risk Retention Groups. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Topic page last updated 13 October 2025: member-owned liability insurers formed under state and federal law; may be formed under a state's captive or traditional insurance laws; domiciled in one state and registered in others; treated as multi-state companies subject to modified NAIC accreditation standards. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  19. 15 U.S.C. § 3901 — Definitions. U.S. House Office of the Law Revision Counsel; Liability Risk Retention Act definitions of liability and risk retention group, including state charter, member-ownership, and liability-only activity limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  20. 15 U.S.C. § 3902 — Risk retention groups. U.S. House Office of the Law Revision Counsel; Non-domicile state registration and policy notice requirements; exemption from state insurance insolvency guaranty associations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  21. Arizona Revised Statutes § 20-2402. Arizona Legislature; Risk retention groups chartered and licensed in Arizona may write only liability insurance under that chapter. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  22. Corgi built its name insuring AI startups. Its new carrier targets dry cleaners, salons and more. Insurance Business; 27 August 2026 report identifying Technology Risk Retention Group as an Arizona-chartered RRG and noting that the admitted-carrier announcement does not specify domicile, licensed states, or rating status. Accessed 2026-09-15.

The Hartford Official Website

  1. SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote. The Hartford; Small-business positioning; BOP package; product list including professional liability, cyber, EPLI, commercial auto; quote in minutes and COI 24/7; phone 855-487-0783; availability footnote that products are not available in all states or for all businesses. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. California Business Insurance. The Hartford; Coverages marketed for California (BOP, general liability, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, commercial property, professional liability); statement that California buyers can get a quote online or by phone; company-reported California customer averages. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. The Hartford Announces First Quarter 2025 Financial Results. The Hartford; Boilerplate: The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. (formerly Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.), NYSE: HIG, operates through subsidiaries under the brand The Hartford, headquartered in Hartford, Connecticut. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. About Us. The Hartford; Property and casualty insurance, group benefits and mutual funds positioning; more than 200 years of operation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Small Business Insurance Quote. The Hartford; Public first screen: business-status and structure questions; steps labeled Basics, Coverages, Details, Price, Review, Payment and Confirmation; help phone 1-855-431-1252 (M–F 8am–8pm ET). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance. The Hartford; Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; BOP contents (property, general liability, business income); optional add-ons including workers’ compensation, professional liability, commercial auto and cyber; products-not-available-in-all-states footnote; last updated May 20, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. General Liability Insurance. The Hartford; General liability introduction and Get a Quote; stand-alone GL and BOP bundling; products-completed operations; technology-company example; subsidiary-offering disclosure; last updated May 20, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Commercial Property Insurance. The Hartford; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; property and business-interruption descriptions; technology firms among common buyers; COI online; claims phone 800-327-3638; last updated August 13, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  11. Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans. The Hartford; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; quote route; state-requirement quiz (some states require a state-run program); pay-as-you-go billing; My Workers’ Comp Connection portal; provider-network and pharmacy statements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses. The Hartford; Cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; BOP-endorsed cyber, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe; Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance Coverage: FailSafe; Get a quote for cyber insurance; Cyber Center; FirstResponse hotline 800-370-0605; last updated March 10, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  13. Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O. The Hartford; Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance Coverage: FailSafe Technology Liability Product Suite (E&O, security, data privacy and network security, personal injury, intellectual property, media liability); software and SaaS buyer classes; last updated September 19, 2024. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; industry offering list; miscellaneous professional liability; Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies; claims-made versus occurrence; My Account COI requests; last updated May 4, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  15. Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance. The Hartford; EPLI introduction; Hartford-provided EPLI; BOP inclusion; Private Choice Premier and Employers Premier Choice; footnote 2: built-in EPL coverage is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and the described EPL program does not apply to EPL written in California; last updated November 26, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  16. Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; Small-business availability banner: not currently offered online for small businesses, with quotes through a local agency or partner; hired and non-owned auto description; footer product-availability disclosure; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  17. Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA. The Hartford; Hired and non-owned auto offering; liability-only limitations; availability banner; commercial-auto referral disclosure; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  18. Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote. The Hartford; Opening Private Choice Premier package description (D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom/extortion) and agent route; Who Does Management Liability Insurance Protect?; Fiduciary Liability Insurance; Crime Insurance; option to add certain coverages to a BOP; management-liability organization sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  19. Directors and Officers Liability Insurance. The Hartford; Agent-facing D&O solutions for public companies, financial institutions, and private or nonprofit organizations through Private Choice Premier; management-liability organization sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  20. Commercial Insurance. The Hartford; Insurer self-description; What Does Business Insurance Cover?: Commercial Umbrella Insurance; Other Business Coverages; about-10-minute quote claim; products not available in all states; coverages offered by P&C subsidiaries listed in the Legal Notice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  21. Business Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; What Does Business Insurance Cover?: Commercial Umbrella Insurance; Other Business Coverages (EPL, data breach and others); products-not-available-in-all-states footnote; last updated July 28, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  22. Inland Marine Insurance Solutions. The Hartford; Inland Marine Insurance Solutions introduction; midsize and large inland-marine programs including technology equipment; Quick Quote submissions; premium-start statement for larger businesses; Find an Agent or Broker. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  23. Employee Benefits Insurance. The Hartford; Employer income-protection and related benefits; footer naming Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company and Hartford Fire Insurance Company as underwriting companies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  24. Producer Compensation Property & Casualty. The Hartford; Distribution through agents and brokers; base, contingent and supplemental commissions; employee sales compensation; surplus-lines brokers; producer-charged customer fees that are not Hartford premium. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  25. Insurance Claim Center. The Hartford; Phone and online reporting; online claim status; mobile app for claims, policy details and billing. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  26. General Liability Claims | File A Claim. The Hartford; 24/7 phone 800-327-3636; online general-liability claim form; policy-type selector including cyber, employee benefits, property and workers’ compensation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  27. Hartford Fire Insurance Company. California Department of Insurance; NAIC 19682; California Company ID 0085-1; authorized 01/07/1870; license status UNLIMITED-NORMAL; property and casualty; domicile Connecticut; authorized lines including liability, fire, workers’ compensation, automobile, surety and marine. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Corgi vs The Hartford

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation