Coalition vs
Corgi: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Coalition pairs cyber and technology E&O with security services; Corgi organizes startup packages by funding stage.
Introduction to the Coalition vs Corgi Comparison
A startup can compare Coalition’s security controls and cyber plus Tech E&O against Corgi’s funding-stage package and its included lines. Choose Coalition if cyber monitoring and technology liability are priorities; choose Corgi if your funding stage shapes a multi-line package. 1 8 20
Buyer Takeaways for Coalition vs Corgi
Coalition Buyer Takeaways
- Technology companies can combine cyber and Tech E&O in one program. 1Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
- Policyholders get cyber monitoring, alerts and remediation guidance through Control. 8Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
Corgi Buyer Takeaways
- Startup packages scale from pre-seed to growth, with a custom option. 20,21,24,33Company-reported. Company website positioning and package names; named customer stories on the customers page are testimonials, not a verified book of business.
- Use Corgi’s dashboard to adjust coverage as your company grows. 20,19Company-reported. Company description of post-bind servicing and cancellation. Actual endorsement terms remain in the policy. This does not establish a specific renewal guarantee or a finding that renewals are unavailable.
Coalition vs Corgi Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Coalition | Corgi |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 20Corgi lists a business owner’s policy in its coverage catalog. |
| Cargo and transit | Not listed | Listed 20Corgi lists a cargo contractual liability product in its transportation offering. |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed 20Corgi links to trucking auto-liability coverage from its transportation menu. |
| Crime | Listed 5Coalition offers crime insurance through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations. | Listed 20Corgi lists crime insurance among its main policies. |
| Cyber liability | Listed 7Coalition offers cyber insurance. | Listed 20Corgi lists cyber insurance among its business insurance offerings. |
| Directors and officers | Listed 5Coalition offers directors and officers liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations. | Listed 20Corgi lists directors and officers insurance among its business insurance offerings. |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 5Coalition offers employment practices liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations. | Listed 20Corgi lists employment practices liability among its business-insurance offerings. |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 5Coalition offers fiduciary liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations. | Listed 20Corgi lists fiduciary liability in its coverage catalog and package options. |
| General liability | Not listed | Listed 20Corgi lists commercial general liability among its business insurance offerings. |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed 20Corgi lists hired and non-owned auto liability for employees using rented or personal vehicles for company business. |
| Kidnap and ransom | Not listed | Listed 20Corgi lists kidnap and ransom among its specialized business-insurance offerings. |
| Liquor liability | Not listed | Listed Corgi markets liquor liability for eligible veterans’ and fraternal lodges with licensed on-premises bars. |
| Media liability | Listed 18Coalition identifies media liability within its Active Cyber policy. | Listed 20Corgi lists media liability insurance among its coverage offerings. |
| Medical malpractice | Not listed | Listed 20Corgi markets medical malpractice insurance for health care professionals and organizations. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 6Coalition offers miscellaneous professional liability as an addition to eligible Active Cyber policies. | Listed 20Corgi lists miscellaneous errors and omissions coverage for service-based businesses. |
| Representations and warranties | Not listed | Listed 20Corgi lists representations and warranties insurance for M&A buyers and sellers. |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 1Coalition offers technology errors and omissions together with Active Cyber coverage for businesses that provide a technology product or service. | Listed 20Corgi lists technology errors and omissions insurance for technology products and services. |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Not listed | Listed 20Corgi lists commercial umbrella liability insurance. |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 20Corgi lists workers’ compensation insurance. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Coalition vs Corgi Research by Coverage Line
Open what Coalition and Corgi each document for one coverage line.
Crime Insurance
Cyber Insurance
D&O Insurance
Employment Practices Liability Insurance
Fiduciary Liability Insurance
Media Liability Insurance
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Tech E&O Insurance
Current Reliability Scores for Coalition and Corgi
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Coalition Reliability Scores
Hybrid providerBroker
6.1/ 10Carrier & MGA
6.3/ 10Corgi Reliability Scores
Hybrid providerBroker
No Reliability Score
Carrier & MGA
No Reliability Score
Coalition and Corgi Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Coalition Review Score
Review Score
1 rated source
Coalition has a BBB A+ grade. The reviewed independent sources did not establish a customer-star rating; the displayed RaveCapture collection is broker-focused. Its Trustpilot page has no reviews, and its best-looking rating comes from a review page the company arranges for brokers.
Read Coalition reviewsCorgi Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews; the inspected Trustpilot profiles showed none. Its Trustpilot page exists but shows no reviews or rating.
Read Corgi reviewsKey Differences Between Coalition and Corgi
Package Design and the Insurer Behind It
Startup packages can combine general liability, D&O, Tech E&O, cyber, media, employment practices, fiduciary and hired/non-owned auto; Corgi also offers a Tech & AI Liability module. 20,26,28Company-reported. Website product labels and package descriptions. Labels are not equivalent coverage, and website summaries are not policy wording.
The package can organize a broad request, but the issuing entities still need to be identified coverage by coverage. Corgi’s disclosures describe affiliated and partner insurers, and its D&O page identifies Technology Risk Retention Group. Coalition distinguishes its producer from Coalition Insurance Company for admitted cyber and other insurers for non-admitted placements. These are material proposal details, not interchangeable uses of the word insurer. 19 23 3
If your Corgi policy is issued by Technology Risk Retention Group, state insurance guaranty funds do not cover it; this is a material difference to weigh against an admitted option. 38,20,19Verified. RRG policies. This is a statutory qualification, not a prediction of insolvency, and it is not a statement about admitted policies.
A Customer’s Requirements May Be More Specific Than a Package Name
California buyers can ask about admitted or surplus cyber; Coalition lists Tech E&O and MPL under surplus coverage, but the exact Tech E&O form and applicant approval still need confirmation. 10,11Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
A California founder should ask both providers to identify the paper proposed for Tech E&O and D&O, then have the customer confirm acceptance where its contract imposes insurer requirements. Corgi’s new admitted-carrier announcement does not establish its complete licensed-state footprint or financial-strength rating. Do not apply an affiliated carrier’s status to another entity’s policy. 27 19
Upgrading Coverage and Reducing Cyber Exposure Are Different Jobs
Corgi says its dashboard supports adding or upgrading policies as funding and hiring change. Coalition’s Control services focus on security findings, alerts and remediation guidance. A team comparing ongoing service should ask who handles coverage changes and who acts on security alerts, rather than equating the two dashboards. 20 8
What Should You Confirm in Coalition and Corgi Quotes?
Request a coverage-by-coverage insurer schedule, the cyber/E&O aggregate structure and the terms for adding coverage after the round. For a Corgi RRG placement, review the membership and guaranty-fund notices. For Coalition, confirm the California Tech E&O form and the broker’s role in servicing the broader program. Neither stage labels nor a cyber quote establish that every customer requirement has been met. 19 11 13
Coalition vs Corgi Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Coalition | Corgi |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Coalition buyers get cyber insurance and risk-management services, with the insurer responsible for policy obligations. In the US, Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc. is the disclosed producer and surplus-lines broker. 2,7Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. Before relying on a California quote, check the current producer authority: Coalition lists CIS license 0L76155, a company disclosure not independently confirmed with the state regulator. 2Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. Coalition Security or independent providers may deliver security services; Coalition’s legal page identifies Coalition Incident Response, Inc. as its operator and says this entity is not an insurer. 2Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. | Your Corgi policy’s named insurer provides coverage; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. is the agency that sells and administers policies. 19,20,22Company-reported. Distribution role and brand usage as of 15 September 2026. Producer licensing is not insurer authority, and group language does not make every group company the issuing insurer on a given policy. |
| Access to insurers | Ask who will issue your policy because admitted cyber uses Coalition Insurance Company while surplus placements use unaffiliated insurers; reviewed sources do not identify one insurer for every California Tech E&O quote. 3,2Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. | Check your policy declarations for the insurer and claims administrator because Corgi may use affiliated or partner insurers. 19Company-reported. Company disclosure of variable issuing paper. Do not treat the Corgi brand, the producer, or any one carrier as the insurer on every policy. If your quote uses Technology Risk Retention Group, check the insurer’s financial and regulatory information directly: NAIC lists it as Arizona-domiciled P&C company 17763 (TECHNOLOGY RRG INC). Corgi calls it its primary underwriting entity and an RRG under the Liability Risk Retention Act; its description of federal charter and oversight is company language, not an independent legal conclusion. 35,19,21,20,36,37Company-reported. Entity identity and Arizona domicile are supported by the NAIC listing. Which Corgi products currently issue on TRRG paper is company-described and can vary by account. NAIC and the Liability Risk Retention Act describe RRGs as state-chartered or state-licensed liability insurers with domiciliary-state regulation of formation and operation. If a quote uses a risk retention group, remember it is a member-owned liability insurer licensed in its home state and registered elsewhere under federal law; members have similar or related risks. 36,37,39Verified. General RRG charter, membership, and oversight from current NAIC topic material last updated 13 October 2025 and the cited statutes. This is not a statement of TRRG’s surplus, a federal charter, or of which Corgi products currently issue on TRRG paper. The reviewed sources do not describe voting, dividend, or assessment rights for a Corgi policyholder in practice. If admitted coverage or guaranty-association protection matters to you, ask Corgi about affiliated or partner carriers it says are rated A- or better; eligibility depends on state, line and business, and state protection has limits. 19,21,20,27Company-reported. Company description of an alternative placement path. It is not a guarantee that a given account will receive A- admitted paper, not an AM Best rating of TRRG or of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc., and not a blanket guarantee of guaranty-association payment. Guaranty-association language does not apply to risk retention group policies. Ask how you assess the insurer’s financial strength if the quote uses Technology Risk Retention Group: Corgi says it has no AM Best rating, which is separate from admitted status. 19,23Company-reported. Company statement about TRRG. Admitted status, an AM Best rating, and financial condition are separate facts. This profile does not assign a financial-strength grade to TRRG. If a financial-strength rating or specific state authority is a requirement, request it for Corgi Insurance Company; its August 2026 launch announcement provided neither a rating nor a complete state-license list. 27,40Not found in reviewed sources. Reviewed public sources as of 15 September 2026. Not finding a published rating is not a finding that the company has no rating, no capital, or no authorization. If your Corgi policy is issued by Technology Risk Retention Group, state insurance guaranty funds do not cover it; this is a material difference to weigh against an admitted option. 38,20,19Verified. RRG policies. This is a statutory qualification, not a prediction of insolvency, and it is not a statement about admitted policies. The insurer named on your policy remains responsible for claims even if it shares risk with reinsurers; Corgi does not name current reinsurers or contract terms publicly. 19,32Not publicly disclosed. Public disclosures as of 15 September 2026. Not identifying a named panel is not a finding that there is no reinsurance. |
| Application process | You need an appointed broker to buy Coalition coverage; Coalition can help you find access if your broker does not offer it, and says underwriting reviews industry, finances, operations and security. 13Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. To add Tech E&O to a cyber quote, prepare your product or service description and contract answers; some applications need review before a price is released. 12Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. | You can apply online or book a specialist call, and Corgi says eligible applicants may quote in minutes and buy the same day; confirm in writing whether coverage starts at policy issuance/payment or under a binder and the effective date. 20,19Company-reported. Company website process claims and Binding Authority and Policy Issuance disclosure, rechecked on 15 September 2026. The disclosure's first paragraph requires policy issuance and payment, while its next paragraph describes temporary binder coverage; this record does not resolve which conditions apply to a particular placement. Quote speed is not independently verified and is not the same as coverage being in force. A self-serve path is not evidence of zero producer commissions or fees. |
| Servicing and renewals | Coalition policyholders can use Control at no additional cost for attack-surface and vendor-risk monitoring, vulnerability alerts and guidance; Login Security requires connecting Microsoft or Google, and Coalition sells other security products separately. 8Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. Plan renewal work early: Coalition says cyber renewals start 90 days before expiry and may be Automatic, Express or Standard. Express renewals need your responses, Standard renewals need a bind order and an updated signed application, and automatic renewal does not guarantee the same premium. 15Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification. | You can add or upgrade policies through Corgi’s dashboard as funding, hiring or contract needs change; renewal and cancellation remain subject to your policy and state rules. 20,19Company-reported. Company description of post-bind servicing and cancellation. Actual endorsement terms remain in the policy. This does not establish a specific renewal guarantee or a finding that renewals are unavailable. |
Sources for Coalition vs Corgi
Coalition Official Website
- Tech E&O Insurance Coverage. Coalition; Who needs Technology Errors & Omissions coverage? (organizations that provide a technology product or service for a fee); Combine Technology Errors & Omissions coverage with Active Cyber Insurance; Coalition Advantage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Licenses and Carriers. Coalition; Insurance Licenses: California row; Insurance Carriers; concluding disclosures. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- U.S. Disclaimers. Coalition; Non-Admitted Cyber; Admitted Cyber; Admitted and Non-admitted Cyber. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- U.S. Producer Compensation. Coalition; Insurance Producers; Base Commission; Contingent Commission; Business Production Incentive Programs; Non-Insurance Products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Executive Risks. Coalition; FAQ: What type of businesses do you protect?, What limits do you offer? and What resources do you have for policyholders?; Product Offering: D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Miscellaneous Professional Liability. Coalition; Why Miscellaneous Professional Liability? (can be added to certain Active Cyber Insurance policies); MPL Advantage; Broker Benefits. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Active Cyber Insurance. Coalition; Active Cyber Insurance; Coverage Advantage: separate limit for breach response, pay-on-behalf for cyber extortion, funds transfer fraud, business interruption. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Coalition Control. Coalition; How We Help; Policyholder Features; Wirespeed ADR. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance Claims Experience. Coalition; Pre-Claims Assistance; Claims Advantage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Where does Coalition offer cyber insurance coverage? Coalition; United States. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Are there any differences between Coalition’s admitted and surplus lines products? Coalition; Cyber insurance coverage offered by Coalition: Coverage availability; Coverage offering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- How to add Tech E&O coverage to a Coalition quote. Coalition; Opening; Step 1; Step 2; Last Step. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- How do I qualify for and buy cyber insurance from Coalition? Coalition; Eligibility; broker contact; underwriting paragraphs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Does Coalition offer Excess coverage? Coalition; Where do I send my excess submissions?; What excess products does Coalition offer, and in what regions? (excess Cyber Surplus in the US and Canada; excess Tech E&O and MPL combined with cyber, US only). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- How do Cyber renewals work at Coalition? Coalition; Opening renewal-path table; Automatic; Express; Standard. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- How does Coalition make money? Coalition; Premium retention and carrier payments paragraphs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Active Cyber Insurance for Enterprises. Coalition; Introduction; closing eligibility disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Coalition AI Coverage. Coalition; Coverage in Action table, including the Defamation row (Media Liability insuring agreement); Deepfake Response; policy disclaimers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Corgi Official Website
- Disclaimers & Licensing. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Carrier Financial Strength (including “federally chartered” and “federal prudential oversight” wording); About Corgi; Licensing; Premium and Payment Disclosures (producer commissions, fees, or other consideration, amounts available on request); Binding Authority and Policy Issuance; page last updated 04/05/26. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance homepage. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Product packages: Cyber and Directors & Officers; Growth Stage and Custom Package; Self-Serve (apply, get quoted in minutes, bind same-day) and Book a Demo paths; Explore Our Main Policies: Commercial General Liability, Crime Insurance, Fiduciary Liability, Hired and Non-Owned Auto (HNOA), Worker’s Compensation; Specialized coverages: Employment Practices Liability (EPLI), K&R (Kidnap & Ransom), Representations and Warranties; Commercial Umbrella Liability; Business Owners Policy (BOP); Coverage sales cards: Media Liability, Medical Malpractice, Miscellaneous E&O; Core Operations: Tech E&O Insurance; Tech & AI Liability product module; Transportation menu: Auto Liability, Contractual Liability Insurance - Cargo; FAQ on cost, claims, and binding; footer entity, program-administrator and issuing-carrier notices. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Corgi. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Company description; Federally Regulated, A-Rated Admitted Access, and Licensed Nationwide sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Producer Licenses. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Corgi Insurance Services, Inc. state-by-state producer license table. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance for Startups. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Form CORG-DO-0100 coverage summary; policy notes stating TRRG underwrites the D&O coverage part; footer identifying Corgi Insurance Company, Inc. NAIC 17989. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Customer Success Stories. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Page heading and named technology-company testimonials; cost FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Partnerships. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Direct Underwriting savings claim; partner-page process; onboarding-to-claims handling claim. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance for AI, Built for Model Risk. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Tech & AI Liability product description and related AI-risk FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance Launches Admitted Insurance Carrier. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); Announcement of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc.; planned small-business product classes; guaranty-association eligibility statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance Raises $108 Million, Receives Regulatory Approval to Launch the First Full-Stack Insurance Carrier for Startups. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 9 January 2026 funding announcement; listed startup coverage lines; ARR figure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Reaches $2.6B Valuation With $106M Series B1 Three Weeks After $160M Unicorn Round. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 28 May 2026 company statement of $378 million total funding and planned vertical expansion. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance Launches Corgi Claims, the AI-Native TPA. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); 29 June 2026 launch of Corgi Claims as a TPA; disclaimer that claims services are provided through licensed subsidiaries and affiliates. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance and Silicon Valley Bank Partner to Connect Clients to Preferred Coverage Solutions. PR Newswire (Corgi and Silicon Valley Bank press release); 17 June 2026 partnership announcement for SVB client access to Corgi products. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi: Rebuilding Insurance with AI. Kindred Ventures; 8 January 2026 investor announcement describing Corgi as a full-stack carrier with a captive reinsurer; 40,000+ policyholders across 49 states. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi Insurance company profile. Y Combinator; Summer 2024 batch; San Francisco location; 2024 founding; team size 250; description as a full-stack insurance carrier for startups. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Registered Federal Risk Retention Groups. Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation; Report date 23 June 2026; registration entry for Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc., NAIC 17763, 425 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- NAIC Listing of Companies. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; June 2026 listing, numerical entry 17763 P 1 AZ TECHNOLOGY RRG INC. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Topics: Risk Retention Groups. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Topic page last updated 13 October 2025: member-owned liability insurers formed under state and federal law; may be formed under a state's captive or traditional insurance laws; domiciled in one state and registered in others; treated as multi-state companies subject to modified NAIC accreditation standards. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- 15 U.S.C. § 3901 — Definitions. U.S. House Office of the Law Revision Counsel; Liability Risk Retention Act definitions of liability and risk retention group, including state charter, member-ownership, and liability-only activity limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- 15 U.S.C. § 3902 — Risk retention groups. U.S. House Office of the Law Revision Counsel; Non-domicile state registration and policy notice requirements; exemption from state insurance insolvency guaranty associations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Arizona Revised Statutes § 20-2402. Arizona Legislature; Risk retention groups chartered and licensed in Arizona may write only liability insurance under that chapter. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Corgi built its name insuring AI startups. Its new carrier targets dry cleaners, salons and more. Insurance Business; 27 August 2026 report identifying Technology Risk Retention Group as an Arizona-chartered RRG and noting that the admitted-carrier announcement does not specify domicile, licensed states, or rating status. Accessed 2026-09-15.
