HUB International vs Nationwide: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

This comparison sets HUB International’s and Nationwide’s documented business roles, listed products and quote routes side by side; a catalogue match does not establish equivalent policy terms.

An Overview of HUB International and Nationwide

What Stands Out About HUB International and Nationwide?

HUB International at a Glance

  • HUB’s technology practice serves startups and software, hardware and digital-media companies; HUB says it insures more than 5,000 technology businesses. 10Company-reportedIndustry marketing page only. Does not establish California eligibility, insurer panels or policy wording for any named coverage.
  • Qualifying small businesses can use Insureon’s online quote path; other accounts work with a HUB advisor or local office, with no public self-serve bind path for mid-market programs. 8,11,12,13,10,6Company-reportedPublic website paths as of 16 September 2026. No application was submitted. Insureon’s own site is a separate digital agency flow.

Nationwide at a Glance

  • Nationwide has separate commercial routes for small businesses, midsize and large businesses with complex risks, E&S and specialty customers, and agribusiness. 39,40Company-reportedPublic U.S. commercial segment descriptions; product and state eligibility remain quote-specific.
  • Small-business buyers can start a quote online, then call or work with an agent to purchase. 39,41Company-reportedOfficial small-commercial and BOP pages; no application was submitted or purchase flow completed.

HUB International vs Nationwide Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageHUB InternationalNationwide
Builders riskListed 10HUB International arranges builders risk insurance.Listed 43Nationwide lists builders risk among inland-marine products. The page does not establish project-specific coverage periods, valuation, or exclusions.
Business owner’s policyListed 18HUB International arranges business owner’s policies for small and midsized businesses.Listed 41,39Nationwide markets a BOP for eligible small businesses and describes property and liability elements with optional additions; actual coverage is controlled by policy forms.
Cargo and transitListed 28,10HUB International arranges cargo insurance.Listed 43Nationwide lists motor truck cargo among inland-marine products. This is not evidence of broad cargo coverage or any particular commodity/route acceptance.
Commercial autoListed 20HUB International arranges commercial auto insurance.Listed 39,40Nationwide lists commercial auto in its small-business product catalogue. We couldn’t review the dedicated product page, so no vehicle, driver, or state terms are inferred.
Commercial propertyListed 19HUB International arranges commercial property insurance.Listed 44,52Nationwide markets commercial property for business buildings and contents; property values, covered causes, limits, and exclusions depend on the policy.
CrimeListed 21,16HUB International arranges commercial crime insurance.Listed 48,50Nationwide markets commercial crime insurance and management-liability crime products; exact insuring agreements and fidelity form are not established here.
Cyber liabilityListed 13,10HUB International arranges cyber insurance.Listed 46,39Nationwide markets cyber liability and data-breach insurance to business customers; quote and policy terms determine eligibility and coverage.
Directors and officersListed 12,10HUB International arranges directors and officers liability insurance.Listed 51,50Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty markets a distinct D&O product. The reviewed materials do not establish issuer or form for a particular risk.
Employee health and benefitsListed 30,1HUB International arranges employee health and benefits programs.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 16,10HUB International arranges employment practices liability insurance.Listed 45,50Nationwide markets EPLI through small-business and management-liability channels; the reviewed pages do not establish a standard grant or eligibility.
Equipment breakdownListed 29HUB International arranges equipment breakdown insurance.Listed 41,52Nationwide presents equipment breakdown under its BOP coverages; the individual policy controls inclusion and terms.
Fidelity bondsListed 16HUB International arranges crime and fidelity coverage through its professional and executive risk practice.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 22,16HUB International arranges fiduciary liability insurance.Listed 50Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty lists fiduciary liability as a distinct commercial-liability product; terms and availability remain quote-specific.
General liabilityListed 11HUB International arranges general liability insurance.Listed 52,41Nationwide lists general liability in its professional-office package description and BOP materials; this establishes marketing only, not standalone availability or policy scope.
Hired and non-owned autoListed 20HUB International arranges hired and non-owned auto coverage through its commercial auto brokerage.Not listed
Key personListed 10HUB International arranges key person life and disability insurance.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 23,16HUB International arranges kidnap and ransom insurance.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 10,16HUB International arranges management liability insurance through its professional and executive risk practice.Listed 50,51Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty markets multiple distinct management-liability products, including D&O, fiduciary, crime, and EPLI; no single bundled form is inferred.
Medical malpracticeListed 25HUB International arranges medical professional liability insurance for health care professionals.Not listed
Product liabilityListed 27HUB International arranges product liability insurance.Not listed
Product recallListed 27HUB International arranges product recall insurance.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 14,15HUB International arranges professional errors and omissions insurance.Listed 49,40Nationwide markets professional E&O for professional-service exposures. This does not establish technology E&O or any particular profession’s acceptance.
Representations and warrantiesListed 26HUB International arranges representations and warranties insurance.Not listed
Surety bondsListed 24HUB International arranges surety bonds.Listed 47,39Nationwide markets commercial surety bonds. A bond is a contractual guarantee and is not interchangeable with an insurance policy.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 10HUB International arranges technology errors and omissions insurance.Not listed
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 28HUB International arranges inland marine insurance through its marine practice.Listed 43,40Nationwide markets inland-marine products including contractor equipment and installation floaters; product availability and covered property vary.
TruckingListed 20HUB International arranges trucking insurance.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 27HUB International arranges umbrella and excess liability insurance.Listed 39,40Nationwide lists commercial umbrella for small businesses. Reviewed catalogue evidence does not establish attachment, limits, underlying requirements, or a specific excess form.
Virtual care and telehealthListed 31HUB International arranges virtual care insurance for health care organizations.Not listed
Workers’ compensationListed 17HUB International arranges workers’ compensation insurance.Listed 42,39Nationwide markets workers’ compensation and describes state-variable benefits and services. State law, policy, and employer eligibility govern.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

HUB International and Nationwide Coverage, Line by Line

Open what HUB International and Nationwide each document for one coverage line.

HUB International and Nationwide Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

HUB International and Nationwide Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

HUB International Review Score

5.6/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers who reviewed HUB on BBB rate it 1 out of 5, but that is only 7 reviews for a very large broker. BBB's own business grade is A-.

Read HUB International reviews

Nationwide Review Score

7.8/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Experts like Nationwide more than customers do. NerdWallet gives it 4.5 out of 5 for business insurance, while small-business customers on ConsumerAffairs give it 2.5 out of 5 from 19 reviews.

Read Nationwide reviews

Key Differences Between HUB International and Nationwide

Business Roles and Access to Insurers

For this pair, first decide whether the documented access route fits how you want to buy. HUB International’s role evidence is specific to its distribution or underwriting position; Nationwide’s record describes a different business route. Ask who handles your submission, who issues each policy, and who will service changes after binding. 4 39

Business Fit and Listed Products

Compare the business segments each company says it serves with your operations, locations and risk profile. A marketed audience can help you choose where to apply, but it does not confirm your eligibility. 1 39

Both provider records list business owners policies, builders risk, cargo, commercial auto, commercial property. A shared catalogue label makes a line worth quoting from both; it does not establish the same insurer, policy form, limits, exclusions or eligibility. HUB International also lists employee health benefits, fidelity bonds, hired non owned auto, key person, kidnap and ransom; Nationwide has no additional listed lines beyond the shared catalogue. These are catalogue differences, not proof that one company excludes a line or that listed products are equivalent. Ask for the proposed forms and schedule side by side. 9 39

Application and Account Service

Small accounts meeting HUB’s size guidelines can start an online Insureon quote; other buyers contact a HUB broker or local office. The reviewed site does not offer a public self-serve bind route for mid-market programs. 8,11,12,13,10,6Company-reportedPublic website paths as of 16 September 2026. No application was submitted. Insureon’s own site is a separate digital agency flow.

Nationwide says small-business buyers can start an online quote and then call or work with an agent to purchase. Its BOP page says a quote can be started online; this does not establish online binding for every product or applicant. 39,41Company-reportedOfficial small-commercial and BOP pages; no application was submitted or purchase flow completed.

The application facts show different entry points for this pair. A quote request or agent portal is not itself a binder; get the named issuing insurer, quote terms and written effective-date confirmation before relying on coverage. 8 39

Managing Changes, Claims, and Renewal

HUB describes local account teams, claims and certificate tools, and renewal support for benefits; ask which service tier, tools and fees apply to your account. 16,33,30Company-reportedCompany-described servicing capabilities. Client eligibility for RMIS or ProEx specialist teams is not defined on the public pages.

Nationwide describes a 24/7 online business account for policy management, claims filing/tracking, documents and billing; if a certificate is not in the account, it directs customers to request one online or contact an agent. 53Company-reportedCompany-described account features; access depends on policy/account and does not measure service quality.

Ask who owns post-bind policy changes, certificates, claims reporting and renewal outreach. A quote channel does not establish those service steps; compare the contact and timing you receive in writing.

What Should You Confirm in HUB International and Nationwide Quotes?

  • Which insurer and legal entity will issue each policy, and where can that exact product be quoted? Catalogue and licensing statements do not answer risk-specific eligibility. 4 39
  • For the shared catalogue labels business owners policies, builders risk, cargo, commercial auto, commercial property, ask each company for the proposed insurer, form and endorsements; a matching name alone is not a coverage match. Compare limits, retention or deductible, exclusions, retroactive date where relevant, and endorsements; catalogue labels do not establish equivalent protection. 9 39
  • Ask what the application requires, what underwriting follow-up to expect, and who handles certificates, policy changes and renewal after binding 8 39

HUB International vs Nationwide Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaHUB InternationalNationwide
Business role

HUB helps businesses arrange insurance through brokers and agents; reviewed product pages describe brokerage, not HUB as the insurer. Its subsidiaries hold licenses in various US states and Canadian provinces. 4,5,9Company-reportedBrand and parent identity as of 16 September 2026. Does not identify which subsidiary would appear on a California producer license or policy declarations.

Small businesses may reach HUB through its digital Insureon route, acquired in 2022; Insureon and TechInsurance are associated with Specialty Program Group, so the retail account path may differ from HUB’s offices. 4,34,35,36,37Company-reportedCorporate-affiliation statements. Does not establish that every HUB office places business through Insureon, or that TechInsurance is a distinct California producer.

Nationwide markets commercial insurance through small-business, agribusiness, middle-market and specialty channels. Its general P&C disclosure names Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company and affiliated companies as underwriting companies; the reviewed materials do not map each commercial product to its legal issuer. 39,40,55Company-reportedNationwide-branded U.S. commercial insurance; issuer and availability vary by product/company/state.

Customer focus

Bay Area technology, venture-capital, healthcare, life-sciences, real-estate and construction businesses can contact HUB’s San Francisco team; this is a local service description, not a product eligibility list. 1,2Company-reportedHUB International San Francisco office page at 201 Mission Street. A separate 44 Montgomery Street office describes contractor bonding and City of San Francisco contractor-development work under a Merriwether & Williams history.

Technology companies can ask HUB about E&O, cyber, D&O, transactional coverage, workers’ compensation and benefits; HUB says it currently insures 5,000+ technology companies, a company-reported figure. 10Company-reportedIndustry marketing page only. Does not establish California eligibility, insurer panels or policy wording for any named coverage.

Businesses with 50 or fewer employees or under $5 million revenue are directed by HUB to Insureon’s online quote; larger or different commercial accounts go to HUB advisors. These are routing guidelines, not a legal small-business definition. 8Company-reportedHUB contact-us Business Solutions copy as of 16 September 2026. Actual Insureon underwriting appetite can differ by product and insurer.

Nationwide presents separate commercial routes for small businesses, midsize and large businesses with complex risks, E&S/specialty customers, and agribusiness operators. These are published segments, not a promise of product eligibility. 39,40Company-reportedPublic U.S. commercial segment descriptions; product and state eligibility remain quote-specific.

Coverage lines

Businesses can ask HUB about liability, property, workers’ comp, auto, cyber, D&O, professional liability, crime, fiduciary, bonds, malpractice, marine, equipment and transaction coverage, plus employee benefits; marketing pages do not establish exact forms or eligibility. 9,11,19,17,18,20,13,12,14,15,21,22,23,24,25,28,29,26,27,30,16Company-reportedOfficial product and casualty pages accessed 16 September 2026. Catalogue entries are brokerage offerings, not proof that a California startup can obtain each line on stated terms.

Technology companies can build programs around Tech E&O, cyber, D&O, workers’ comp, cargo, property, benefits and other listed risks; confirm which are relevant and available for your operations. 10Company-reportedTechnology industry page inventory. Patent package is a HUB grouping label, not a finding that intellectual-property insurance is separately underwritten. Builders risk is listed there as a technology offering.

Nationwide lists BOP, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, umbrella, EPLI, cyber and surety for small businesses, and separately markets inland marine, builders risk, professional E&O, commercial property, crime, D&O, fiduciary liability and management-liability products. Product listings do not establish that a buyer qualifies or that a named coverage is included in another policy. 39,40,43,49,44,48,50Company-reportedCurrent official U.S. commercial catalogue pages reviewed Sep 29, 2026; not a complete state/class appetite map.

Availability

HUB’s 700+ North American offices and San Francisco locations provide local broker access, but do not establish product availability, insurer or California binding authority. 4,3,1,2Company-reportedCompany-reported footprint and office directory. No 50-state product map was found on the reviewed HUB pages.

Ask which producer and surplus-lines entity will handle a California account: HUB does not name the entity for its San Francisco offices, while Insureon lists California license 0L09546 for SPG Insurance Solutions, not independently verified. 5,1,35,38Not found in reviewed sourcesReviewed 16 September 2026. Interactive CDI search was not used to produce a screenshot or official abstract. No license number is independently verified here.

Nationwide says P&C products may not be offered by all companies or in all states and are subject to underwriting. The reviewed public sources do not establish a complete state-by-state commercial issuer and product matrix. 55,39Not publicly disclosedGeneral P&C disclosure and pages reviewed here; no all-state licensing or availability audit.

Access to insurers

Ask which insurers will quote your business: HUB says it accesses hundreds but focuses on strategic carriers that may pay enhanced compensation; public pages do not provide a complete panel or identify your issuing insurer. 7,19,27,28,16Company-reportedNo verified HUB-wide carrier panel. Strategic-carrier focus is a compensation and placement practice, not a finding that only those markets are used.

Insureon names Hartford, Chubb, Hiscox, Liberty Mutual and Travelers among 100+ providers, but that list applies to its digital agency and does not establish the insurer for a HUB retail policy. 34Company-reportedInsureon About Us examples only. Availability varies by product, state and underwriting.

Nationwide identifies Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company and affiliates as possible P&C underwriting companies and says each underwriter is responsible for its own products. The reviewed general disclosure does not name the issuer for each commercial product; check the policy and declarations. 55Company-reportedGeneral group disclosure, not a line-, policy- or state-specific insurer crosswalk.

Application process

Small accounts meeting HUB’s size guidelines can start an online Insureon quote; other buyers contact a HUB broker or local office. The reviewed site does not offer a public self-serve bind route for mid-market programs. 8,11,12,13,10,6Company-reportedPublic website paths as of 16 September 2026. No application was submitted. Insureon’s own site is a separate digital agency flow.

Nationwide says small-business buyers can start an online quote and then call or work with an agent to purchase. Its BOP page says a quote can be started online; this does not establish online binding for every product or applicant. 39,41Company-reportedOfficial small-commercial and BOP pages; no application was submitted or purchase flow completed.

Servicing and renewals

HUB describes local account teams, claims and certificate tools, and renewal support for benefits; ask which service tier, tools and fees apply to your account. 16,33,30Company-reportedCompany-described servicing capabilities. Client eligibility for RMIS or ProEx specialist teams is not defined on the public pages.

Nationwide describes a 24/7 online business account for policy management, claims filing/tracking, documents and billing; if a certificate is not in the account, it directs customers to request one online or contact an agent. 53Company-reportedCompany-described account features; access depends on policy/account and does not measure service quality.

The commercial overview, small-business catalogue and business account pages reviewed here do not establish renewal notice timing, who initiates renewal discussions or how a renewal transaction is completed. These steps remain unverified; this is not evidence that renewal service is absent. 56,39,53Not found in reviewed sourcesOnly named public pages reviewed 2026-09-29, not policy documents or every account workflow.

NerdWallet reports fewer general-liability complaints than expected for 2022–2024. Its discussion describes commercial-property complaints as slightly above expectations, while its methodology calls them about expected; that discrepancy remains unresolved. 57VerifiedNerdWallet’s commercial business-insurance editorial analysis only. This is an attributed product-line complaint comparison, not direct NAIC verification, a claim-outcome finding, or evidence about any identified underwriting company. Do not combine this measure with consumer review averages or treat the unresolved commercial-property discrepancy as a single settled result.

Claims assistance

HUB says its claims team provides advocacy, dispute support and administration, with 225+ professionals and 24-hour reporting metrics; these are company-reported process claims, not a prediction of how your insurer will handle a loss. 32Company-reportedHUB claims-management service page. HUB is not identified as the claims-paying insurer. No assessment of claims-handling quality is made here.

Nationwide says business claims can be reported online, by phone or through an agent and that a claims professional is assigned after submission. Same-day contact is described as an aim, not a guarantee. 54Company-reportedGeneral company-described commercial claims process; not an independent outcome measure or product-specific administrator map.

Fees and compensation

Ask for compensation on your proposal: HUB says it receives insurer commissions, contingent and supplemental payments and sometimes client fees, may use affiliated wholesalers, and may earn administration or data fees; it publishes no standard rates. 7Company-reportedFirmwide compensation disclosure. Amounts for a given account are not disclosed on the public page.

The reviewed Nationwide commercial marketing and service pages do not disclose agent commission rates or contingent compensation terms. This packet does not establish whether or how an agent is compensated. 39,40,55Not found in reviewed sourcesBounded page review; no producer agreement, quote or commission disclosure reviewed.

Sources

57 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to HUB International vs Nationwide

  • Compare AIG’s insurer-led commercial offerings with HUB’s brokerage and small-account routing, including where each path may suit a technology business.

  • Compare AIG and Nationwide by business role, listed products and how buyers start a quote.

  • HUB routes some small-commercial inquiries to Insureon; its technology team and Alliance Risk offer different account paths.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation