Foxquilt vs The Hartford: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Foxquilt describes a small-business insurance platform with online purchasing for selected products; The Hartford small businesses can buy insurance under the hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. the hartford insurance group, inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. Compare the service and submission routes, then confirm the product, insurer and terms available for your business.

An Overview of Foxquilt and The Hartford

If you want an online starting point for selected small-business policies, Foxquilt describes online quote and purchase options. The Hartford Small businesses can buy insurance under The Hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. The distinction matters when deciding whether to begin with an online product flow or work through the The Hartford route; ask who will prepare the submission and support changes after binding. 5 20

What Stands Out About Foxquilt and The Hartford?

Foxquilt at a Glance

  • Foxquilt serves small and midsize businesses, with contractors, e-commerce, consultants, technology and creative professionals among its examples. 2,5,6Company-reportedCompany-described North American small-business audience and example product classes; actual appetite depends on product, class, state and underwriting.
  • Customers can request and buy commercial general liability and E&O online, with team assistance available and documents delivered after purchase. 5,6,1Company-reportedCompany-reported CGL and E&O purchase workflow; no form was submitted and no quote or purchase was completed in this research.

The Hartford at a Glance

  • SaaS and software businesses can start with a small-business package built around a business owner’s policy. 19,20,42,41Company-reportedCompany marketing pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Marketing a SaaS page is not a finding that every software company is eligible.
  • Eligible small businesses can start an online quote and purchase flow, call or use an independent agent; commercial auto requires another route. 20,19,26,25,35,37Company-reportedPublic quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.

Foxquilt vs The Hartford Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageFoxquiltThe Hartford
Builders riskListed 11Builder’s risk product page; policy-specific construction terms not established.Not listed
Business owner’s policyListed 2Foxquilt’s About page lists Business Owner’s Policy among “Our Primary Coverages”; no current BOP-specific terms or bundled contents are established here.Listed 27,19The Hartford offers business owner’s policies combining property and liability coverage.
Commercial autoListed 8Commercial auto product page; HNOA is not split out.Listed 35,19The Hartford offers commercial auto insurance as a business coverage; small businesses cannot currently buy it online and may be quoted through a local agency.
Commercial propertyListed 10Commercial property product page.Listed 29,19The Hartford offers commercial property insurance.
CrimeListed 17,18Foxquilt has a Crime Insurance product page, which says crime can be a BOP add-on or an isolated policy; the ConvertLabs cleaner program also lists Crime/Bonds but describes crime only. No bond product is inferred.Listed 37The Hartford offers crime insurance as a management-liability coverage option.
Cyber liabilityListed 9Cyber product page; policy terms and limits not established.Listed 31,19The Hartford offers cyber insurance and data-breach coverage.
Directors and officersNot listedListed 37,38The Hartford offers directors and officers liability for private, public and nonprofit organizations.
Employment practices liabilityNot listedListed 34,19The Hartford offers employment practices liability through business owner’s and management-liability products; EPL built into its business owner’s policy is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York.
Fiduciary liabilityNot listedListed 37The Hartford offers fiduciary liability as a management-liability coverage option.
General liabilityListed 5,3Company CGL product page; line-specific CGL membership only.Listed 28,19The Hartford offers general liability insurance.
Hired and non-owned autoListed 4Advertised as a Hired & non-owned feature beneath Foxquilt’s Commercial Auto card; no distinct HNOA policy or terms established.Listed 36,35The Hartford offers hired and non-owned auto coverage.
Kidnap and ransomNot listedListed 37The Hartford lists kidnap and ransom/extortion among its management-liability coverage options.
Management liabilityNot listedListed 37The Hartford offers management-liability packages, including Private Choice Premier.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 6Professional E&O product page.Listed 33The Hartford offers professional liability insurance for service businesses.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 6Technology/creative class within broader E&O; no separate technology form established.Listed 32,31The Hartford offers technology errors and omissions coverage through its FailSafe product.
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 2,18Foxquilt lists Inland Marine among primary coverages; the ConvertLabs cleaner program describes limited mobile-equipment coverage (also called Inland Marine) commonly used by janitorial providers. This does not establish broad standalone inland-marine terms.Listed 41The Hartford offers inland marine insurance for midsize and large businesses.
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 2,16Foxquilt lists Umbrella/Excess in its primary-coverages list and has a current Umbrella Insurance page that distinguishes umbrella from excess. Membership is for marketed umbrella only; a separate excess product is not established.Listed 39,40The Hartford lists commercial umbrella insurance among its business coverage options.
Workers’ compensationListed 7Workers’ compensation page; state requirements vary.Listed 30,19The Hartford offers workers’ compensation insurance.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Foxquilt and The Hartford Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Foxquilt and The Hartford each document for one coverage line.

Foxquilt and The Hartford Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Foxquilt Reliability Scores

Managing general agent

Carrier & MGA

No Reliability Score

Provider assessment

Foxquilt and The Hartford Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Foxquilt Review Score

8.9/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Customers rate Foxquilt well on Google (4.9 out of 5 from 526 reviews at its Charlotte office) and 3.5 out of 5 on Trustpilot from only 8 reviews. Put together, the Review Score is 8.9 out of 10.

Read Foxquilt reviews

The Hartford Review Score

4.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

The Hartford’s service record is mixed: NerdWallet rates it 4.5/5 but reports below-average small-business satisfaction. Low Trustpilot ratings add a service concern, although they mix policy types.

Read The Hartford reviews

Which Businesses Do Foxquilt and The Hartford Each Describe?

Foxquilt’s stated customer focus is: Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses and business-to-business networks. Its current CGL and E&O pages name contractors, e-commerce, personal services, consultants, technology and creative professionals, licensed professionals, and beauty and health services as target examples; listed classes are not guarantees of eligibility. The Hartford describes its audience this way: The Hartford markets small-business insurance to SaaS companies, software startups, cloud and IT consulting firms, and other small businesses, and separately sells midsize/large commercial and employer benefits products. Treat these as documented market focus, not a promise that a specific applicant qualifies. Before comparing quotes, give both routes the same business description, revenue, locations, operations and contract requirements. 2 19

How Do You Compare Foxquilt and The Hartford Products?

Foxquilt documents Foxquilt has current product-specific pages for commercial general liability, professional E&O, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, cyber, commercial property, builders risk, umbrella and crime. The About page separately lists Business Owner’s Policy, Umbrella/Excess and Inland Marine among “Our Primary Coverages”; its umbrella page describes umbrella and distinguishes it from excess. A cleaner-program page describes limited mobile-equipment (inland marine) and crime coverage and uses a Crime/Bonds label without bond terms. The E&O page includes technology and creative professions within broader E&O; the reviewed material does not establish a separate technology E&O form. The Hartford documents Documented Hartford offerings for businesses include a business owner’s policy (general liability, commercial property and business income), stand-alone general liability and commercial property, workers’ compensation, cyber (including BOP data-breach add-ons, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe Technology E&O), miscellaneous professional liability, employment practices liability, commercial auto and hired/non-owned auto, management-liability packages (Private Choice Premier: directors and officers, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom), commercial umbrella, employee benefits, and inland marine for midsize and large accounts. Actual forms, limits and availability vary by product, state and underwriting. The catalogues can differ in breadth and product scope; both records list general liability, technology errors omissions, professional errors omissions, while The Hartford also lists employment practices, directors officers, fiduciary, kidnap ransom in its current coverage record. A shared line name does not mean the policies use the same form or cover the same exposures. Ask for the proposed insurer, policy form, limits, retentions, exclusions and endorsements for each requested line. 5 19

How Do Foxquilt and The Hartford Differ on Application and Support?

Foxquilt’s product pages describe an online route for selected CGL and E&O policies, with assistance available. The Hartford describes this application route: The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. This difference can change who prepares the submission and supports you before binding. Ask whether you can finish the application online, whether a broker or agent must submit it, what information is needed, and who confirms binding and the effective date. 5 20

What Should You Confirm About Foxquilt and The Hartford Insurers?

Foxquilt’s insurer disclosure says Foxquilt’s product pages display Markel, Greenlight Re and Lloyd’s-related marks under “Backed by industry leaders.” The reviewed pages do not map those names to the insurer, reinsurer, coverholder, or delegated authority for a particular U.S. product, state or policy; confirm the insurer and producer on the quote and policy documents. The Hartford reports Coverages described on Hartford sites may be offered by one or more property-and-casualty subsidiaries listed in the Legal Notice. Hartford Fire Insurance Company (NAIC 19682) is authorized in all U.S. states and the District of Columbia according to that notice, and California CDI independently confirms its California authorization. Employee-benefits pages also name Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company. The reviewed sources do not identify the writing company that would appear on a specific SaaS, BOP or technology E&O policy. These disclosures do not identify the insurer on your individual policy. Request the issuing company and producer details for each quote, plus a written breakdown of premium, fees and broker compensation. 5 22

How Do Foxquilt and The Hartford Differ on Service After Purchase?

Foxquilt describes servicing as follows: Foxquilt says CGL and E&O policy documents and certificates are emailed after purchase and describes digital account tools. For agents and brokers, Foxquilt advertises digital endorsement and cancellation management and change requests in Foxden; this does not establish who has contractual authority or the processing terms for a particular policy. The public material reviewed does not establish policy-specific renewal handling, endorsement authority, cancellation process or service-level guarantees. The Hartford describes this service route: The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. Ask who handles routine certificates, policy changes, renewal discussions and claims notices for your account, and whether that contact is the broker, insurer or another administrator. 5 20

Foxquilt vs The Hartford Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaFoxquiltThe Hartford
Business role

Foxquilt markets a North American small-business insurance platform and describes licensed-broker services. Its terms name Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as the website, products and services operator. Its agent page calls Foxquilt a ‘North American Carrier’ and reports admitted CGL paper in 42 U.S. states and seven Canadian provinces, but names no license-holding entity or license identifier there. The reviewed sources do not map the Inc. or the separately listed Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC to a particular U.S. placement, delegated authority or issuing insurer, so the brand’s U.S. regulated role remains unresolved. 1,12,13,3,14Company-reportedFoxquilt brand and the separately named Inc. and LLC; company disclosures accessed through 2026-09-29. License wording is provider-published and was not independently regulator-verified; no exact license identifiers were found in the inspected provider disclosures.

Small businesses can buy insurance under The Hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. 22,43,39,25Company-reportedGroup legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy.

Customer focus

Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses and business-to-business networks. Its current CGL and E&O pages name contractors, e-commerce, personal services, consultants, technology and creative professionals, licensed professionals, and beauty and health services as target examples; listed classes are not guarantees of eligibility. 2,5,6Company-reportedCompany-described North American small-business audience and example product classes; actual appetite depends on product, class, state and underwriting.

The Hartford markets small-business insurance to SaaS companies, software startups, cloud and IT consulting firms, and other small businesses, and separately sells midsize/large commercial and employer benefits products. 19,20,42,41Company-reportedCompany marketing pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Marketing a SaaS page is not a finding that every software company is eligible.

Coverage lines

Foxquilt has current product-specific pages for commercial general liability, professional E&O, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, cyber, commercial property, builders risk, umbrella and crime. The About page separately lists Business Owner’s Policy, Umbrella/Excess and Inland Marine among “Our Primary Coverages”; its umbrella page describes umbrella and distinguishes it from excess. A cleaner-program page describes limited mobile-equipment (inland marine) and crime coverage and uses a Crime/Bonds label without bond terms. The E&O page includes technology and creative professions within broader E&O; the reviewed material does not establish a separate technology E&O form. 5,6,7,8,9,10,11,2,16,17,18Company-reportedCurrent Foxquilt pages inspected 2026-09-29. These are marketed coverage memberships, not a conclusion that detailed policy terms are adequate for comparison. Product scope differs between standalone pages, a primary-coverages list, subfeatures and the ConvertLabs cleaner program; quote and policy determine actual terms, jurisdiction, issuer and eligibility.

Documented Hartford offerings for businesses include a business owner’s policy (general liability, commercial property and business income), stand-alone general liability and commercial property, workers’ compensation, cyber (including BOP data-breach add-ons, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe Technology E&O), miscellaneous professional liability, employment practices liability, commercial auto and hired/non-owned auto, management-liability packages (Private Choice Premier: directors and officers, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom), commercial umbrella, employee benefits, and inland marine for midsize and large accounts. Actual forms, limits and availability vary by product, state and underwriting. 19,27,31,32,33,34,35,36,37,39,42,41Company-reportedProduct and service pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Educational FAQs were not used as the sole proof of an offering. Marketing lists are not specimen policy wording.

The Hartford’s employment-practices page states there is no built-in EPL coverage in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and that the EPL program described on that page does not apply to EPL coverage written in California. Coverages also vary by state and class. 34Company-reportedCompany footnotes on the EPLI page, last updated 26 November 2025, rechecked 16 September 2026. This does not establish whether a California buyer can buy stand-alone or differently structured EPL.

Application process

Foxquilt says customers can request and buy CGL and E&O online, with team assistance available, and receive documents after purchase. Its screens show example businesses, sample limits and prices; these are company illustrations, not quotes tested for a buyer or evidence that every risk can bind online. 5,6,1Company-reportedCompany-reported CGL and E&O purchase workflow; no form was submitted and no quote or purchase was completed in this research.

The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. 20,19,26,25,35,37Company-reportedPublic quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.

Servicing and renewals

Foxquilt says CGL and E&O policy documents and certificates are emailed after purchase and describes digital account tools. For agents and brokers, Foxquilt advertises digital endorsement and cancellation management and change requests in Foxden; this does not establish who has contractual authority or the processing terms for a particular policy. The public material reviewed does not establish policy-specific renewal handling, endorsement authority, cancellation process or service-level guarantees. 5,6,2,3Company-reportedCompany-reported buyer servicing statements and agent/broker portal marketing; no account access or live service interaction tested.

The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. 20,30,31,33,44Company-reportedCompany service descriptions as of 16 September 2026. Availability of a portal is not a measure of service quality.

Access to insurers

Foxquilt’s product pages display Markel, Greenlight Re and Lloyd’s-related marks under “Backed by industry leaders.” The reviewed pages do not map those names to the insurer, reinsurer, coverholder, or delegated authority for a particular U.S. product, state or policy; confirm the insurer and producer on the quote and policy documents. 5,6,2Not publicly disclosedFoxquilt brand marketing and the reviewed public CGL/E&O pages; no policy or state-specific issuer schedule reviewed.

Coverages described on Hartford sites may be offered by one or more property-and-casualty subsidiaries listed in the Legal Notice. Hartford Fire Insurance Company (NAIC 19682) is authorized in all U.S. states and the District of Columbia according to that notice, and California CDI independently confirms its California authorization. Employee-benefits pages also name Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company. The reviewed sources do not identify the writing company that would appear on a specific SaaS, BOP or technology E&O policy. 22,39,28,42,46Company-reportedLegal notice writing-company table as of 31 December 2025, rechecked 16 September 2026, plus CDI verification for Hartford Fire only. Other affiliates were not each re-checked at a state regulator.

Sources

46 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Foxquilt vs The Hartford

  • Compare AIG’s documented business and service route with Foxquilt’s small-business insurance options, including what to verify in quotes.

  • Eligible small businesses can quote and buy some Hartford coverage online; AIG’s public portal lists broker and agent tools, and its claims portal covers named lines.

  • Compare Alliance Risk’s specialist technology brokerage with Foxquilt’s small-business insurance and online CGL and E&O route.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation