Counterpart vs
The Hartford: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Counterpart describes quote entry whose binding route remains unclear; The Hartford describes online quote entry. Compare their documented roles and service routes, then confirm the insurer and terms for your quote.
Introduction to the Counterpart vs The Hartford Comparison
Counterpart and The Hartford describe different quote routes: quote entry whose binding route remains unclear and online quote entry. This comparison helps you match the documented process and business focus to the risk you are placing; it does not determine eligibility or policy terms. 6 19
Buyer Takeaways for Counterpart vs The Hartford
Counterpart Buyer Takeaways
- Counterpart lists private-company and nonprofit D&O, employment practices, fiduciary, crime, professional and lawyers liability, among other lines. 1,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17Company-reported. Current site marketing catalogue checked September 29, 2026. Marketing membership is separate from acceptance of a three-claim line-comparison offering.
- Counterpart’s dashboard shows broker submission statuses from in progress through underwriting review and quote. 7Company-reported. Company-described broker workflow in a July 2025 article; not independently tested.
The Hartford Buyer Takeaways
- SaaS and software businesses can start with a small-business package built around a business owner’s policy. 18,19,41,40Company-reported. Company marketing pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Marketing a SaaS page is not a finding that every software company is eligible.
- Eligible small businesses can start an online quote and purchase flow, call or use an independent agent; commercial auto requires another route. 19,18,25,24,34,36Company-reported. Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.
Counterpart vs The Hartford Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Counterpart | The Hartford |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 26,18The Hartford offers business owner’s policies combining property and liability coverage. |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed 34,18The Hartford offers commercial auto insurance as a business coverage; small businesses cannot currently buy it online and may be quoted through a local agency. |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed 28,18The Hartford offers commercial property insurance. |
| Crime | Listed 13Named Commercial Crime product; confirm agreements, controls, limits and exclusions in the policy. | Listed 36The Hartford offers crime insurance as a management-liability coverage option. |
| Cyber liability | Not listed | Listed 30,18The Hartford offers cyber insurance and data-breach coverage. |
| Directors and officers | Listed 9,10Distinct private-company and nonprofit D&O product pages; class and insurer vary by placement. | Listed 36,37The Hartford offers directors and officers liability for private, public and nonprofit organizations. |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 11Named Employment Practices Liability product; examples and policy terms govern. | Listed 33,18The Hartford offers employment practices liability through business owner’s and management-liability products; EPL built into its business owner’s policy is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York. |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 12Named Fiduciary Liability product for benefit-plan exposures; law and policy terms govern. | Listed 36The Hartford offers fiduciary liability as a management-liability coverage option. |
| General liability | Listed 14,17GL is described as a companion/package component with miscellaneous professional and lawyers liability; this does not establish broad standalone CGL. | Listed 27,18The Hartford offers general liability insurance. |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed 35,34The Hartford offers hired and non-owned auto coverage. |
| Kidnap and ransom | Not listed | Listed 36The Hartford lists kidnap and ransom/extortion among its management-liability coverage options. |
| Management liability | Not listed | Listed 36The Hartford offers management-liability packages, including Private Choice Premier. |
| Medical malpractice | Listed 15Allied healthcare liability for named classes; not universal conventional malpractice. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 14,16,15,17Several separately scoped professional-liability programs; do not generalize terms across professions. | Listed 32The Hartford offers professional liability insurance for service businesses. |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 31,30The Hartford offers technology errors and omissions coverage through its FailSafe product. |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 40The Hartford offers inland marine insurance for midsize and large businesses. |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Not listed | Listed 38,39The Hartford lists commercial umbrella insurance among its business coverage options. |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 29,18The Hartford offers workers’ compensation insurance. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Counterpart vs The Hartford Research by Coverage Line
Open what Counterpart and The Hartford each document for one coverage line.
Crime Insurance
D&O Insurance
Employment Practices Liability Insurance
Fiduciary Liability Insurance
General Liability Insurance
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Current Reliability Scores for Counterpart and The Hartford
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Counterpart Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
No Reliability Score
The Hartford Reliability Scores
CarrierCarrier & MGA
7.3/ 10Counterpart and The Hartford Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Counterpart Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
We found no independent customer rating of Counterpart, so it has no Review Score. Its Trustpilot page shows no reviews, and BBB has no matching business.
Read Counterpart reviewsThe Hartford Review Score
Review Score
5 rated sources
The Hartford’s service record is mixed: NerdWallet rates it 4.5/5 but reports below-average small-business satisfaction. Low Trustpilot ratings add a service concern, although they mix policy types.
Read The Hartford reviewsKey Differences Between Counterpart and The Hartford
Business Fit and Roles
Counterpart says its U.S. products are offered by its wholly owned subsidiary, Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc., which it identifies as a licensed producer and surplus-lines broker. The company says the issuing carrier is responsible for policy obligations. 3Company-reported. Provider-published U.S. distribution disclosure; this does not rule out an additional delegated program role.
Small businesses can buy insurance under The Hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. 21,42,38,24Company-reported. Group legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy.
The buyer starting points differ. Counterpart's published material says: Counterpart describes management and professional liability products for small businesses and presents both brokers and small businesses as audiences. 1 The Hartford's published material says: The Hartford markets small-business insurance to SaaS companies, software startups, cloud and IT consulting firms, and other small businesses, and separately sells midsize/large commercial and employer benefits products. 18 Use those descriptions to decide whose underwriting conversation to start; neither one establishes eligibility for your business.
The distinction matters when you need to know who receives the submission, which licensed intermediary can place the risk, and whose name appears as the insurer. Ask both providers to identify the producer, any program or managing entity, and the legal policy issuer for the exact quote; brand-level descriptions do not assign those roles to every policy. 3 21
Getting a Quote
A February 2025 Counterpart help article describes a wholesale-broker referral route. Its current homepage also shows “Quote Online,” but we couldn’t confirm whether the current path is broker-assisted or lets a buyer quote, purchase or bind directly. 6,1,5Conflicting sources. Older dated directions conflict with or leave an ambiguity beside a current digital quote CTA; no form or transaction was tested.
The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. 19,18,25,24,34,36Company-reported. Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.
The published application descriptions do not establish that your business can complete a quote or bind online. Before comparing convenience, confirm who submits the application, whether an appointed producer is required, what information underwriting needs, and which signed documents or conditions must be satisfied before coverage starts. 6 19
Service After Binding
Counterpart says brokers can renew professional-liability accounts in a few clicks and can speak with profession-specialized underwriters. This is not a measured renewal time or a promise of automatic, guaranteed or direct insured renewal. 8Company-reported. Company-described professional-liability broker service.
The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. 19,29,30,32,43Company-reported. Company service descriptions as of 16 September 2026. Availability of a portal is not a measure of service quality.
Compare the named post-bind contact for certificates, policy changes, renewal questions and claim reporting. A digital account or claim-notice route can help with administration, but it does not decide coverage or establish a claim outcome; get the applicable service contacts and notice deadlines with the proposed policy. 8 19
What Should You Confirm in Counterpart and The Hartford Quotes?
-
Which legal insurer will appear on the declarations, and which licensed producer or intermediary is responsible for placing this specific product? 3 21
-
Does the application route require an appointed broker, a broker-submitted form, or a direct business-owner application, and what event makes coverage effective? 6 19
-
For each line you need, what limits, retentions, exclusions, defense terms and endorsements appear in the proposed form, and which service contact handles renewals, changes and claim notices? 8 19
Counterpart vs The Hartford Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Counterpart | The Hartford |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Counterpart says its U.S. products are offered by its wholly owned subsidiary, Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc., which it identifies as a licensed producer and surplus-lines broker. The company says the issuing carrier is responsible for policy obligations. 3Company-reported. Provider-published U.S. distribution disclosure; this does not rule out an additional delegated program role. | Small businesses can buy insurance under The Hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. 21,42,38,24Company-reported. Group legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy. |
| Application process | A February 2025 Counterpart help article describes a wholesale-broker referral route. Its current homepage also shows “Quote Online,” but we couldn’t confirm whether the current path is broker-assisted or lets a buyer quote, purchase or bind directly. 6,1,5Conflicting sources. Older dated directions conflict with or leave an ambiguity beside a current digital quote CTA; no form or transaction was tested. Counterpart says its dashboard shows broker-submission statuses from in progress through underwriting review and quote; its article says binding requires a signed application and any required subjectivities. 7Company-reported. Company-described broker workflow in a July 2025 article; not independently tested. | The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. 19,18,25,24,34,36Company-reported. Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force. |
| Servicing and renewals | Counterpart says brokers can renew professional-liability accounts in a few clicks and can speak with profession-specialized underwriters. This is not a measured renewal time or a promise of automatic, guaranteed or direct insured renewal. 8Company-reported. Company-described professional-liability broker service. | The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. 19,29,30,32,43Company-reported. Company service descriptions as of 16 September 2026. Availability of a portal is not a measure of service quality. |
Sources for Counterpart vs The Hartford
Counterpart Official Website
- Counterpart | Agentic Insurance™. Counterpart, Inc.; Current homepage: Quote Online CTA; brokers/small-business audiences; product list; performance claims; legal/footer qualifications, rendered lines 2–52, 55–70, 98–100, 282–287. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About Counterpart. Counterpart, Inc.; Carrier disclosure and Our Story; underwriters named at line 13; company focus lines 22–36. Financial-strength note says ratings are as of 2024-02-26. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Licenses & Carriers. Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc.; Provider-published entity/license disclosure, carrier table, policy obligation and compensation disclosure. Source snapshot 2026-09-28. No product/state issuer map. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Counterpart press articles. Counterpart press site; May 19, 2026 Series C item describes a future first-time push to retain risk through Counterpart Insurance Company; July 14, 2026 item announces excess coverage across product lines; Sep 1, 2026 item announces Lawyers Professional Liability. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Counterpart application destination. Counterpart; Reached from current homepage Quote Online CTA; the page requires JavaScript and the quote app did not display. No form/account/quote/purchase/bind flow tested. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- How can I get insurance through Counterpart? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Purchase route lines 17–22; article dated Feb 6, 2025; wholesale referral instructions. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- What is my application status? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Dashboard statuses lines 17–26; article dated July 16, 2025; broker submission and signature/subjectivity requirements. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Counterpart Professional Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Broker renewals and profession-specialized underwriters, lines 72–81. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Private Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Who we cover; coverage; example limits and retentions; capacity. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Not-for-Profit Directors & Officers Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Who we cover; coverage; underwriting partners. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Eligibility; listed allegations; illustrative limits and retentions; examples. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Fiduciary Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Plan and employer eligibility; ERISA and plan administration; examples and illustrative limits. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Commercial Crime Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Employee theft, forgery, computer/system fraud, funds-transfer and social-engineering scenarios; examples. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Professional & General Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Re-opened Sep 29: lines 4–8 MPL available alone or packaged with GL; lines 38–207 professions/examples; 208–245 industries, state availability, coverage descriptions; 251–283 services. Company marketing, not binding terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Allied Medical & Healthcare Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Named allied health classes, combined coverage/enhancements, limits/examples; Sep 28 source inspection. Not universal malpractice or standalone CGL. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Architects, Engineers, & Contractors Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; A&E/contractor classes, services, example limits and enhancements; Sep 28 source inspection. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Lawyers Professional Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Re-opened Sep 29: rendered lines 4–8 product, 27–29 class, 236–248 company-stated U.S. reach, 250–276 services, modular limits, tech/media features and GL alongside professional coverage. Does not establish separate media/tech E&O/GL. Accessed 2026-09-29.
The Hartford Official Website
- SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote. The Hartford; Small-business positioning; BOP package; product list including professional liability, cyber, EPLI, commercial auto; quote in minutes and COI 24/7; phone 855-487-0783; availability footnote that products are not available in all states or for all businesses. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- California Business Insurance. The Hartford; Coverages marketed for California (BOP, general liability, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, commercial property, professional liability); statement that California buyers can get a quote online or by phone; company-reported California customer averages. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Legal Notice. The Hartford; The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. holding-company description; no representation that all products are available in all locations; P&C writing-company table as of December 31, 2025 including Hartford Fire (NAIC 19682) and Hartford Underwriters (NAIC 30104); life writing companies including Hartford Life and Accident (NAIC 70815). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Hartford Announces First Quarter 2025 Financial Results. The Hartford; Boilerplate: The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. (formerly Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.), NYSE: HIG, operates through subsidiaries under the brand The Hartford, headquartered in Hartford, Connecticut. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Us. The Hartford; Property and casualty insurance, group benefits and mutual funds positioning; more than 200 years of operation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small Business Insurance Quote. The Hartford; Public first screen: business-status and structure questions; steps labeled Basics, Coverages, Details, Price, Review, Payment and Confirmation; help phone 1-855-431-1252 (M–F 8am–8pm ET). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance. The Hartford; Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; BOP contents (property, general liability, business income); optional add-ons including workers’ compensation, professional liability, commercial auto and cyber; products-not-available-in-all-states footnote; last updated May 20, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance. The Hartford; General liability introduction and Get a Quote; stand-alone GL and BOP bundling; products-completed operations; technology-company example; subsidiary-offering disclosure; last updated May 20, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Property Insurance. The Hartford; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; property and business-interruption descriptions; technology firms among common buyers; COI online; claims phone 800-327-3638; last updated August 13, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans. The Hartford; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; quote route; state-requirement quiz (some states require a state-run program); pay-as-you-go billing; My Workers’ Comp Connection portal; provider-network and pharmacy statements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses. The Hartford; Cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; BOP-endorsed cyber, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe; Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance Coverage: FailSafe; Get a quote for cyber insurance; Cyber Center; FirstResponse hotline 800-370-0605; last updated March 10, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O. The Hartford; Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance Coverage: FailSafe Technology Liability Product Suite (E&O, security, data privacy and network security, personal injury, intellectual property, media liability); software and SaaS buyer classes; last updated September 19, 2024. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; industry offering list; miscellaneous professional liability; Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies; claims-made versus occurrence; My Account COI requests; last updated May 4, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance. The Hartford; EPLI introduction; Hartford-provided EPLI; BOP inclusion; Private Choice Premier and Employers Premier Choice; footnote 2: built-in EPL coverage is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and the described EPL program does not apply to EPL written in California; last updated November 26, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; Small-business availability banner: not currently offered online for small businesses, with quotes through a local agency or partner; hired and non-owned auto description; footer product-availability disclosure; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA. The Hartford; Hired and non-owned auto offering; liability-only limitations; availability banner; commercial-auto referral disclosure; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote. The Hartford; Opening Private Choice Premier package description (D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom/extortion) and agent route; Who Does Management Liability Insurance Protect?; Fiduciary Liability Insurance; Crime Insurance; option to add certain coverages to a BOP; management-liability organization sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Directors and Officers Liability Insurance. The Hartford; Agent-facing D&O solutions for public companies, financial institutions, and private or nonprofit organizations through Private Choice Premier; management-liability organization sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Insurance. The Hartford; Insurer self-description; What Does Business Insurance Cover?: Commercial Umbrella Insurance; Other Business Coverages; about-10-minute quote claim; products not available in all states; coverages offered by P&C subsidiaries listed in the Legal Notice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; What Does Business Insurance Cover?: Commercial Umbrella Insurance; Other Business Coverages (EPL, data breach and others); products-not-available-in-all-states footnote; last updated July 28, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Inland Marine Insurance Solutions. The Hartford; Inland Marine Insurance Solutions introduction; midsize and large inland-marine programs including technology equipment; Quick Quote submissions; premium-start statement for larger businesses; Find an Agent or Broker. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Employee Benefits Insurance. The Hartford; Employer income-protection and related benefits; footer naming Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company and Hartford Fire Insurance Company as underwriting companies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Producer Compensation Property & Casualty. The Hartford; Distribution through agents and brokers; base, contingent and supplemental commissions; employee sales compensation; surplus-lines brokers; producer-charged customer fees that are not Hartford premium. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance Claim Center. The Hartford; Phone and online reporting; online claim status; mobile app for claims, policy details and billing. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Claims | File A Claim. The Hartford; 24/7 phone 800-327-3636; online general-liability claim form; policy-type selector including cyber, employee benefits, property and workers’ compensation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Hartford Fire Insurance Company. California Department of Insurance; NAIC 19682; California Company ID 0085-1; authorized 01/07/1870; license status UNLIMITED-NORMAL; property and casualty; domicile Connecticut; authorized lines including liability, fire, workers’ compensation, automobile, surety and marine. Accessed 2026-09-16.
