Counterpart vs Simply Business: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Consider Counterpart if your business fits small businesses and businesses seeking broker or risk advice, and Simply Business if it fits small businesses. Their catalogues overlap on general liability, professional E&O; compare each quote route, identified insurer and policy form before choosing. 1,18

Introduction to the Counterpart vs Simply Business Comparison

This comparison pairs small businesses and businesses seeking broker or risk advice through Counterpart with small businesses through Simply Business. Their coverage catalogues share general liability, professional E&O. If one of those lines fits your business, compare the proposed forms and quote routes side by side; listed lines do not establish equal policy terms or eligibility. 1 18

Counterpart vs Simply Business Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCounterpartSimply Business
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 27
Commercial propertyNot listedListed 28,27Offered as part of a BOP, rather than as a standalone policy.
CrimeListed 13Named Commercial Crime product; confirm agreements, controls, limits and exclusions in the policy.Not listed
Cyber liabilityNot listedListed 30Add-on for select buyers purchasing another business policy; phone quote route.
Directors and officersListed 9,10Distinct private-company and nonprofit D&O product pages; class and insurer vary by placement.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 11Named Employment Practices Liability product; examples and policy terms govern.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 12Named Fiduciary Liability product for benefit-plan exposures; law and policy terms govern.Not listed
General liabilityListed 14,17GL is described as a companion/package component with miscellaneous professional and lawyers liability; this does not establish broad standalone CGL.Listed 24
Medical malpracticeListed 15Allied healthcare liability for named classes; not universal conventional malpractice.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 14,16,15,17Several separately scoped professional-liability programs; do not generalize terms across professions.Listed 26
Tools, equipment and inland marineNot listedListed 29
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 25

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Counterpart vs Simply Business Research by Coverage Line

Open what Counterpart and Simply Business each document for one coverage line.

Current Spot Scores for Counterpart and Simply Business

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Counterpart and Simply Business Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Counterpart Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

We found no independent customer rating of Counterpart, so it has no Review Score. Its Trustpilot page shows no reviews, and BBB has no matching business.[7][10]

Read Counterpart reviews

Simply Business Review Score

5.7/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Customers disagree about Simply Business. Trustpilot shows 4.3 out of 5 from 1,901 reviews, but BBB customers give it 1.95 from 20 reviews and ConsumerAffairs shows 1.0.[6][10][7]

Read Simply Business reviews

Key Differences Between Counterpart and Simply Business

Business Fit and Coverage

The catalogues share general liability, professional E&O; other listed lines appear in the comparison table. For the overlap, match the policy forms, limits, exclusions and endorsements before treating the products as alternatives. A shared line name does not establish equal protection or eligibility.

Counterpart describes management and professional liability products for small businesses and presents both brokers and small businesses as audiences. This stated focus does not establish independent eligibility or appetite. 1,2Company-reported. Current company marketing for U.S. audiences.

Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 18,23,19Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.

Counterpart’s current product pages list private-company and not-for-profit D&O, employment-practices, fiduciary, crime, professional/general liability, allied healthcare, architects/engineers/contractors and lawyers liability. Several lines appear only as a component or product-specific feature; availability, eligibility and terms depend on the actual program and policy. 1,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17Company-reported. Current site marketing catalogue checked September 29, 2026. Marketing membership is separate from acceptance of a three-claim line-comparison offering.

Roles and Quote Access

Counterpart says its U.S. products are offered by its wholly owned subsidiary, Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc., which it identifies as a licensed producer and surplus-lines broker. The company says the issuing carrier is responsible for policy obligations. 3Company-reported. Provider-published U.S. distribution disclosure; this does not rule out an additional delegated program role.

Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 18,19,31,20Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.

A February 2025 Counterpart help article describes a wholesale-broker referral route. Its current homepage also shows “Quote Online,” but we couldn’t confirm whether the current path is broker-assisted or lets a buyer quote, purchase or bind directly. 6,1,5Conflicting sources. Older dated directions conflict with or leave an ambiguity beside a current digital quote CTA; no form or transaction was tested.

The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 20,19Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

Use these routes to plan who will assemble the submission and whether you can complete the purchase online or need an agent or broker. Ask Counterpart and Simply Business to confirm the route for your state, coverage and business details; an online quote path alone does not show that a risk can be bound. 6 20

Policy Service and Claims

Counterpart says brokers can renew professional-liability accounts in a few clicks and can speak with profession-specialized underwriters. This is not a measured renewal time or a promise of automatic, guaranteed or direct insured renewal. 8Company-reported. Company-described professional-liability broker service.

The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 20,21,19Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.

Counterpart advertises in-house claims experts and says they close claims twice as fast as the industry average. The homepage does not disclose a method, sample, claim population or period; this remains a company claim, not an independently measured result. Confirm who adjusts and pays each policy claim. 1Company-reported. Current company marketing statement; no claim administrator mapping.

The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 19,21Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.

Compare the practical handoffs for documents, policy changes, renewal questions and claim notices. A listed support route describes access to help, not a claim outcome or a guarantee of service speed.

What Should You Confirm in Counterpart and Simply Business Quotes?

Request quotes for the same business details, coverage lines, limits, deductibles or retentions and policy period. Ask Counterpart and Simply Business to name the producer and issuing insurer for each proposed policy, confirm who can bind it, and itemize any customer fees or intermediary compensation. For the overlapping general liability, professional E&O, compare the actual insuring agreement, exclusions, sublimits and endorsements. Also confirm who handles account changes and receives claim notices. 2 18 3 19

Counterpart vs Simply Business Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaCounterpartSimply Business
Business role

Counterpart says its U.S. products are offered by its wholly owned subsidiary, Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc., which it identifies as a licensed producer and surplus-lines broker. The company says the issuing carrier is responsible for policy obligations. 3Company-reported. Provider-published U.S. distribution disclosure; this does not rule out an additional delegated program role.

Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 18,19,31,20Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.

Application process

A February 2025 Counterpart help article describes a wholesale-broker referral route. Its current homepage also shows “Quote Online,” but we couldn’t confirm whether the current path is broker-assisted or lets a buyer quote, purchase or bind directly. 6,1,5Conflicting sources. Older dated directions conflict with or leave an ambiguity beside a current digital quote CTA; no form or transaction was tested.

Counterpart says its dashboard shows broker-submission statuses from in progress through underwriting review and quote; its article says binding requires a signed application and any required subjectivities. 7Company-reported. Company-described broker workflow in a July 2025 article; not independently tested.

The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 20,19Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

Servicing and renewals

Counterpart says brokers can renew professional-liability accounts in a few clicks and can speak with profession-specialized underwriters. This is not a measured renewal time or a promise of automatic, guaranteed or direct insured renewal. 8Company-reported. Company-described professional-liability broker service.

Simply Business lists licensed-agent phone support Monday through Friday: sales 8 a.m.–8 p.m. Eastern Time and service 9 a.m.–6 p.m. These listed hours do not establish a response-time guarantee. 20Company-reported. Hours displayed on the current U.S. contact page; no actual wait-time observation is implied.

The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 20,21,19Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.

The Help Center FAQ says most customers opt into automatic renewal and gives 60-day notice and 30-day processing timing only for those who opt in. The same Help Center summary and June 30, 2026 Terms use broader automatic-renewal wording without the FAQ’s opt-in qualification. The public descriptions conflict; they do not establish which wording applies to every policy. 21,19Conflicting sources. Company-published descriptions reviewed 2026-09-29. FAQ detail, Help Center summary and Terms are inconsistent; no buyer-specific policy notice was reviewed.

Claims assistance

Counterpart advertises in-house claims experts and says they close claims twice as fast as the industry average. The homepage does not disclose a method, sample, claim population or period; this remains a company claim, not an independently measured result. Confirm who adjusts and pays each policy claim. 1Company-reported. Current company marketing statement; no claim administrator mapping.

The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 19,21Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.

Customer focus

Counterpart describes management and professional liability products for small businesses and presents both brokers and small businesses as audiences. This stated focus does not establish independent eligibility or appetite. 1,2Company-reported. Current company marketing for U.S. audiences.

Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 18,23,19Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.

Fees and compensation

Counterpart’s license disclosure says its subsidiary may receive compensation from an insurer or intermediary and that commissions or fees are set by the underwriting insurer. The reviewed disclosure does not state the amount applicable to a particular buyer or quote. 3Company-reported. Provider-published disclosure, no buyer-specific amount.

The Terms say Simply Business receives commission or other compensation from or through panel members and that customers may also incur separate processing, administrative, service, installment or cancellation fees. They give no amount or placement-specific applicability; the Terms say charges are disclosed before purchase. 19Company-reported. General disclosure dated 2026-06-30; no specific commission, fee schedule, premium or customer charge was reviewed.

Sources for Counterpart vs Simply Business

Counterpart Official Website

  1. Counterpart | Agentic Insurance™. Counterpart, Inc.; Current homepage: Quote Online CTA; brokers/small-business audiences; product list; performance claims; legal/footer qualifications, rendered lines 2–52, 55–70, 98–100, 282–287. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. About Counterpart. Counterpart, Inc.; Carrier disclosure and Our Story; underwriters named at line 13; company focus lines 22–36. Financial-strength note says ratings are as of 2024-02-26. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Licenses & Carriers. Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc.; Provider-published entity/license disclosure, carrier table, policy obligation and compensation disclosure. Source snapshot 2026-09-28. No product/state issuer map. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Counterpart press articles. Counterpart press site; May 19, 2026 Series C item describes a future first-time push to retain risk through Counterpart Insurance Company; July 14, 2026 item announces excess coverage across product lines; Sep 1, 2026 item announces Lawyers Professional Liability. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. Counterpart application destination. Counterpart; Reached from current homepage Quote Online CTA; the page requires JavaScript and the quote app did not display. No form/account/quote/purchase/bind flow tested. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. How can I get insurance through Counterpart? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Purchase route lines 17–22; article dated Feb 6, 2025; wholesale referral instructions. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  7. What is my application status? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Dashboard statuses lines 17–26; article dated July 16, 2025; broker submission and signature/subjectivity requirements. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  8. Counterpart Professional Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Broker renewals and profession-specialized underwriters, lines 72–81. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  9. Private Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Who we cover; coverage; example limits and retentions; capacity. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  10. Not-for-Profit Directors & Officers Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Who we cover; coverage; underwriting partners. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  11. Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Eligibility; listed allegations; illustrative limits and retentions; examples. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  12. Fiduciary Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Plan and employer eligibility; ERISA and plan administration; examples and illustrative limits. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  13. Commercial Crime Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Employee theft, forgery, computer/system fraud, funds-transfer and social-engineering scenarios; examples. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  14. Professional & General Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Re-opened Sep 29: lines 4–8 MPL available alone or packaged with GL; lines 38–207 professions/examples; 208–245 industries, state availability, coverage descriptions; 251–283 services. Company marketing, not binding terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  15. Allied Medical & Healthcare Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Named allied health classes, combined coverage/enhancements, limits/examples; Sep 28 source inspection. Not universal malpractice or standalone CGL. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  16. Architects, Engineers, & Contractors Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; A&E/contractor classes, services, example limits and enhancements; Sep 28 source inspection. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  17. Lawyers Professional Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Re-opened Sep 29: rendered lines 4–8 product, 27–29 class, 236–248 company-stated U.S. reach, 250–276 services, modular limits, tech/media features and GL alongside professional coverage. Does not establish separate media/tech E&O/GL. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Simply Business Official Website

  1. Our Small Business Insurance Story. Simply Business; Opening description and audience; digital marketplace, business types and U.S. service. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Terms of Service. Simply Business; Dated June 30, 2026; §1 lines 22–28; §8 lines 87–113; §10 lines 143–149; §19 line 211. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Contact Us. Simply Business; Opening contact details lines 20–31; licensed-agent phone hours lines 46–59; U.S. licensing and state-specific name disclosures in footer lines 108–111, including California License #0M20593. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Help Center. Simply Business; Claims, account servicing, agent-routed changes, renewal FAQ and Common Topics. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. How Simply Business Works. Simply Business; Common types lines 92–160; quote/purchase flow; estimate-method footnotes lines 198–200. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. Business Insurance for Small Businesses. Simply Business; Small Business Insurance Coverage Options and policy links. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  7. General Liability Insurance for a Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage lines 51–75; audience lines 61–65, 153–155; application and examples elsewhere on page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  8. Workers’ Compensation Insurance for Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage and benefits lines 45–69; state/buyer qualifications lines 178–189. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  9. Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. Simply Business; Coverage lines 45–100; buyer examples lines 101–158; online quote steps lines 237–260. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  10. Business Owner’s Policy Insurance. Simply Business; Bundle lines 34–38, 218–243; add-on/exclusion discussion lines 226–243; buyer and quote sections. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  11. Commercial Property Insurance. Simply Business; Lines 15–18 present physical-location cover as part of a BOP; lines 34–49 describe the package; lines 59–63 say it is offered as part of the BOP rather than as a standalone policy and link to a BOP quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  12. Inland Marine Insurance. Simply Business; Equipment/inventory lines 15–18, 59–63; examples and quote workflow lines 97–140, 168–191. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  13. Cyber Insurance. Simply Business; Claim types lines 88–105; select-buyer add-on/phone quote lines 171–175; route and last-updated lines 389–395. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  14. Producer Compensation Disclosure (United States). Travelers; Ownership interest in a producer, lines 57–60: Travelers says it owns Simply Business, Inc.; relation to Simply Business, LLC not stated. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Counterpart vs Simply Business

All Comparisons

From our sponsor, Spot

Help With Buying and Renewals

Spot can shop this coverage for you, handle the paperwork and keep track of renewals. The first consultation is free. Talk to Spot