Simply Business vs The Hartford: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Consider Simply Business if your business fits small businesses, and The Hartford if it fits small businesses and technology or cyber businesses. Their catalogues overlap on business owners’ policy, commercial property, cyber; compare each quote route, identified insurer and policy form before choosing.

An Overview of Simply Business and The Hartford

This comparison pairs small businesses through Simply Business with small businesses and technology or cyber businesses through The Hartford. Their coverage catalogues share business owners’ policy, commercial property, cyber. If one of those lines fits your business, compare the proposed forms and quote routes side by side; listed lines do not establish equal policy terms or eligibility. 1 15

What Stands Out About Simply Business and The Hartford?

Simply Business at a Glance

  • Simply Business serves small businesses and solopreneurs, with examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. 1,6,2Company-reportedCompany-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.
  • Simply Business advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. 3,2Company-reportedPublished U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

The Hartford at a Glance

  • SaaS and software businesses can start with a small-business package built around a business owner’s policy. 15,16,38,37Company-reportedCompany marketing pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Marketing a SaaS page is not a finding that every software company is eligible.
  • Eligible small businesses can start an online quote and purchase flow, call or use an independent agent; commercial auto requires another route. 16,15,22,21,31,33Company-reportedPublic quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.

Simply Business vs The Hartford Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageSimply BusinessThe Hartford
Business owner’s policyListed 10Listed 23,15The Hartford offers business owner’s policies combining property and liability coverage.
Commercial autoNot listedListed 31,15The Hartford offers commercial auto insurance as a business coverage; small businesses cannot currently buy it online and may be quoted through a local agency.
Commercial propertyListed 11,10Offered as part of a BOP, rather than as a standalone policy.Listed 25,15The Hartford offers commercial property insurance.
CrimeNot listedListed 33The Hartford offers crime insurance as a management-liability coverage option.
Cyber liabilityListed 13Add-on for select buyers purchasing another business policy; phone quote route.Listed 27,15The Hartford offers cyber insurance and data-breach coverage.
Directors and officersNot listedListed 33,34The Hartford offers directors and officers liability for private, public and nonprofit organizations.
Employment practices liabilityNot listedListed 30,15The Hartford offers employment practices liability through business owner’s and management-liability products; EPL built into its business owner’s policy is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York.
Fiduciary liabilityNot listedListed 33The Hartford offers fiduciary liability as a management-liability coverage option.
General liabilityListed 7Listed 24,15The Hartford offers general liability insurance.
Hired and non-owned autoNot listedListed 32,31The Hartford offers hired and non-owned auto coverage.
Kidnap and ransomNot listedListed 33The Hartford lists kidnap and ransom/extortion among its management-liability coverage options.
Management liabilityNot listedListed 33The Hartford offers management-liability packages, including Private Choice Premier.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 9Listed 29The Hartford offers professional liability insurance for service businesses.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Not listedListed 28,27The Hartford offers technology errors and omissions coverage through its FailSafe product.
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 12Listed 37The Hartford offers inland marine insurance for midsize and large businesses.
Umbrella and excess liabilityNot listedListed 35,36The Hartford lists commercial umbrella insurance among its business coverage options.
Workers’ compensationListed 8Listed 26,15The Hartford offers workers’ compensation insurance.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Simply Business and The Hartford Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Simply Business and The Hartford each document for one coverage line.

Simply Business and The Hartford Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Simply Business and The Hartford Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Simply Business Review Score

5.7/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Customers disagree about Simply Business. Trustpilot shows 4.3 out of 5 from 1,901 reviews, but BBB customers give it 1.95 from 20 reviews and ConsumerAffairs shows 1.0.

Read Simply Business reviews

The Hartford Review Score

4.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

The Hartford’s service record is mixed: NerdWallet rates it 4.5/5 but reports below-average small-business satisfaction. Low Trustpilot ratings add a service concern, although they mix policy types.

Read The Hartford reviews

Key Differences Between Simply Business and The Hartford

Business Fit and Coverage

The catalogues share business owners’ policy, commercial property, cyber; other listed lines appear in the comparison table. For the overlap, match the policy forms, limits, exclusions and endorsements before treating the products as alternatives. A shared line name does not establish equal protection or eligibility.

Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 1,6,2Company-reportedCompany-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.

The Hartford markets small-business insurance to SaaS companies, software startups, cloud and IT consulting firms, and other small businesses, and separately sells midsize/large commercial and employer benefits products. 15,16,38,37Company-reportedCompany marketing pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Marketing a SaaS page is not a finding that every software company is eligible.

Documented Hartford offerings for businesses include a business owner’s policy (general liability, commercial property and business income), stand-alone general liability and commercial property, workers’ compensation, cyber (including BOP data-breach add-ons, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe Technology E&O), miscellaneous professional liability, employment practices liability, commercial auto and hired/non-owned auto, management-liability packages (Private Choice Premier: directors and officers, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom), commercial umbrella, employee benefits, and inland marine for midsize and large accounts. Actual forms, limits and availability vary by product, state and underwriting. 15,23,27,28,29,30,31,32,33,35,38,37Company-reportedProduct and service pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Educational FAQs were not used as the sole proof of an offering. Marketing lists are not specimen policy wording.

Roles and Quote Access

Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 1,2,14,3Company-reportedU.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.

Small businesses can buy insurance under The Hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. 18,39,35,21Company-reportedGroup legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy.

The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 3,2Company-reportedPublished U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. 16,15,22,21,31,33Company-reportedPublic quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.

Use these routes to plan who will assemble the submission and whether you can complete the purchase online or need an agent or broker. Ask Simply Business and The Hartford to confirm the route for your state, coverage and business details; an online quote path alone does not show that a risk can be bound. 3 16

Policy Service and Claims

The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 3,4,2Company-reportedCompany-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.

The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. 16,26,27,29,40Company-reportedCompany service descriptions as of 16 September 2026. Availability of a portal is not a measure of service quality.

The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 2,4Company-reportedGeneral site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.

The Hartford provides phone and online claim reporting, including 800-327-3636 for general liability and other commercial claims, a cyber FirstResponse hotline at 800-370-0605, online claim-status tools and a mobile app. Offering claims intake is not evidence of how any claim would be paid. 40,41,27,25Company-reportedCompany claims-center and product pages as of 16 September 2026. No claim file or payment outcome was reviewed. A commercial-property page listed 800-327-3638; confirm the number on the policy.

Compare the practical handoffs for documents, policy changes, renewal questions and claim notices. A listed support route describes access to help, not a claim outcome or a guarantee of service speed.

What Should You Confirm in Simply Business and The Hartford Quotes?

Request quotes for the same business details, coverage lines, limits, deductibles or retentions and policy period. Ask Simply Business and The Hartford to name the producer and issuing insurer for each proposed policy, confirm who can bind it, and itemize any customer fees or intermediary compensation. For the overlapping business owners’ policy, commercial property, cyber, compare the actual insuring agreement, exclusions, sublimits and endorsements. Also confirm who handles account changes and receives claim notices. 1 18 2 39

Simply Business vs The Hartford Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaSimply BusinessThe Hartford
Business role

Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 1,2,14,3Company-reportedU.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.

Small businesses can buy insurance under The Hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. 18,39,35,21Company-reportedGroup legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy.

Application process

The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 3,2Company-reportedPublished U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. 16,15,22,21,31,33Company-reportedPublic quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.

Servicing and renewals

Simply Business lists licensed-agent phone support Monday through Friday: sales 8 a.m.–8 p.m. Eastern Time and service 9 a.m.–6 p.m. These listed hours do not establish a response-time guarantee. 3Company-reportedHours displayed on the current U.S. contact page; no actual wait-time observation is implied.

The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 3,4,2Company-reportedCompany-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.

The Help Center FAQ says most customers opt into automatic renewal and gives 60-day notice and 30-day processing timing only for those who opt in. The same Help Center summary and June 30, 2026 Terms use broader automatic-renewal wording without the FAQ’s opt-in qualification. The public descriptions conflict; they do not establish which wording applies to every policy. 4,2Conflicting sourcesCompany-published descriptions reviewed 2026-09-29. FAQ detail, Help Center summary and Terms are inconsistent; no buyer-specific policy notice was reviewed.

The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. 16,26,27,29,40Company-reportedCompany service descriptions as of 16 September 2026. Availability of a portal is not a measure of service quality.

Claims assistance

The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 2,4Company-reportedGeneral site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.

The Hartford provides phone and online claim reporting, including 800-327-3636 for general liability and other commercial claims, a cyber FirstResponse hotline at 800-370-0605, online claim-status tools and a mobile app. Offering claims intake is not evidence of how any claim would be paid. 40,41,27,25Company-reportedCompany claims-center and product pages as of 16 September 2026. No claim file or payment outcome was reviewed. A commercial-property page listed 800-327-3638; confirm the number on the policy.

Customer focus

Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 1,6,2Company-reportedCompany-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.

The Hartford markets small-business insurance to SaaS companies, software startups, cloud and IT consulting firms, and other small businesses, and separately sells midsize/large commercial and employer benefits products. 15,16,38,37Company-reportedCompany marketing pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Marketing a SaaS page is not a finding that every software company is eligible.

Fees and compensation

The Terms say Simply Business receives commission or other compensation from or through panel members and that customers may also incur separate processing, administrative, service, installment or cancellation fees. They give no amount or placement-specific applicability; the Terms say charges are disclosed before purchase. 2Company-reportedGeneral disclosure dated 2026-06-30; no specific commission, fee schedule, premium or customer charge was reviewed.

The Hartford discloses that it pays independent producers base commissions (a percentage of premium or a fixed amount per policy), and may also pay contingent or supplemental commissions, fees for services, delegated-underwriting compensation and other benefits. Employees who sell insurance may receive extra compensation beyond salary. Producers may charge their own customer fees that are not Hartford premium. The reviewed pages do not publish the commission rate or any Hartford-charged service fee that would apply to a particular buyer’s policy. Published “average premiums” are company-reported estimates, not quotes. 39,21,16,15Company-reportedProducer compensation disclosure and product-page premium footnotes as of 16 September 2026. Missing a fee schedule is not a finding of zero buyer cost beyond premium.

Sources

42 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Simply Business vs The Hartford

  • Compare AIG and Simply Business by coverage fit, application route, insurer roles and the questions to ask before choosing a small-business policy.

  • Eligible small businesses can quote and buy some Hartford coverage online; AIG’s public portal lists broker and agent tools, and its claims portal covers named lines.

  • Alliance Risk focuses on technology and startup placements; Simply Business offers an online marketplace for small-business policies with licensed-agent support.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation