Harper vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Pie is a workers' compensation insurer that quotes online and offers pay-as-you-go billing from actual payroll, but no longer writes commercial auto. Harper is a broker that shops a whole program — including guard liability and vehicles — across insurers for security and other hard-to-place businesses.

Introduction to the Harper vs Pie Insurance Comparison

Picture an event-security company adding seasonal guards, some armed assignments and a patrol vehicle. Pie says you can get a workers' compensation quote online in about three minutes from your ZIP code, payroll and class codes, and its pay-as-you-go plan needs no initial deposit. 22 37 But Pie stopped issuing new commercial-auto policies on January 1, 2026, and its other lines come from outside insurers. 33 24 Harper names armed guards, event security and mobile patrols, and covers guard-conduct liability, equipment and vehicles through its insurer markets. 12 Choose Pie if workers' compensation is your main purchase and you want payments to track payroll; choose Harper if you run guards or patrol vehicles and need liability and auto placed alongside comp.

Buyer Takeaways for Harper vs Pie Insurance

Harper Buyer Takeaways

  • Harper targets hard-to-place businesses, including contractors, care providers, manufacturers and transportation firms. 9,14Company-reported. Examples of advertised appetite, not a verified customer census or eligibility guarantee.
  • For workers’ compensation, Harper helps classify payroll by job and prepare for premium audits. 11,19Company-reported. Public payroll and audit service description; not independently tested, and state employee thresholds are deliberately not generalized.

Pie Insurance Buyer Takeaways

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 21,20,22Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 36,37Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Harper vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageHarperPie Insurance
Builders riskListed 2Harper includes builders risk in its construction and contractor insurance offering.Not listed
Business owner’s policyListed 8Harper accepts business owner’s policy inquiries through its coverage intake.Listed 26Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
Commercial autoListed 2Harper lists commercial auto insurance and describes approaching insurers for customers.Not listed
Commercial propertyListed 2Harper lists commercial property insurance and describes approaching insurance companies for customers.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 2Harper lists cyber insurance and describes approaching insurers for customers.Listed 27Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
Garage liabilityListed 2Harper lists garage liability among the coverages its brokerage handles.Not listed
General liabilityListed 2Harper lists general liability in its business-insurance services and quote inquiry.Listed 29Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Liquor liabilityListed 8Harper includes liquor liability in its coverage directory and insurance-placement service.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 16Harper arranges management liability insurance through its partner brokerage service.Not listed
Medical malpracticeListed 8Harper arranges medical malpractice insurance.Not listed
Product liabilityListed 8Harper includes product liability in its coverage directory.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 8Harper includes professional liability in its coverage directory and quote intake as claims about work or advice.Listed 28Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Surety bondsListed 13Harper arranges license, permit and contract surety bonds.Not listed
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 8Harper arranges inland marine coverage for tools and equipment that leave the shop.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 8Harper arranges umbrella insurance.Not listed
Workers’ compensationListed 8,11Harper arranges workers’ compensation insurance.Listed 22Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Harper vs Pie Insurance Research by Coverage Line

Open what Harper and Pie Insurance each document for one coverage line.

Current Reliability Scores for Harper and Pie Insurance

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

5.3/ 10

Carrier & MGA

6.3/ 10

Provider assessment

Harper and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Harper Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

We found no customer star rating for Harper. Its Trustpilot page has 0 reviews, and BBB shows 0 customer reviews and 2 complaints.

Read Harper reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Harper and Pie Insurance

Security Operations vs a Comp-Only Quote

Pie's workers' compensation page asks for payroll and class codes, but doesn't single out security work, so get written confirmation that Pie accepts your particular duties before comparing premiums. Harper's security focus gives you a specific set of duties to discuss, though it is not a guarantee that every use-of-force allegation is covered. Ask for the liability wording as well as the comp proposal. 12 22 23

For patrol vehicles, Pie is out: its FAQ says no new or renewal commercial-auto policies are issued, and its remaining auto claim links serve legacy customers only. Harper markets commercial auto, subject to insurer acceptance. If you use Pie for comp, ask Harper whether it is an appointed Pie agent or will place the other policies separately. 33 2 21

Classification Help vs Payroll-Based Payments

Harper says it helps classify employees by the work they do and prepares premium-audit information. Pie's pay-as-you-go option bases payments on reported payroll, and an annual audit reconciles estimates with actual payroll. One helps you describe the work correctly; the other keeps payments in line with staffing. 11 37 38

Pie's audit may ask for job-duty records, cash-expense details and subcontractor certificates, so the final premium can differ from the estimate even on pay-as-you-go. Harper's audit help isn't a promise that your premium won't change either. Ask how a disputed classification is corrected. 38 11

Pie publishes annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules, and a 3% card fee on new single-state comp policies except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island. Harper doesn't publish a buyer fee schedule. Ask for the full annual premium, deposit, payment charges and any agency or financing costs. 36 16 18

Venue Certificates and Waivers

Harper's portal advertises certificate access, and Pie's account offers instant and custom comp certificates. Check the venue's insurance clause against the actual policy rather than copying it onto a certificate. 17 34

Pie's comp FAQ says workers' compensation doesn't use additional-insured status and treats waiver-of-subrogation requests separately, with a state-set charge. Ask Harper to separate a venue's comp waiver request from any additional-insured requirement on the liability policy. 35 10

Multi-State Work and Injury Reporting

Harper doesn't publish a product-by-state map, so ask what it can place where you work. Pie's own state count varies between pages, and its claim-handler list doesn't match every advertised state. For guards working events across state lines, confirm each location and the claim administrator in the policy documents. 2 30 40

Pie asks for injury reports within 24 hours by online form, 24/7 phone or email, with CorVel handling some states. Harper offers broker advocacy but warns against relying on texts for urgent matters. Give supervisors a sheet naming the insurer or administrator and the broker contact. 39 40 3

What Should You Confirm in Harper and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • Accepted operations: List armed and unarmed duties, payroll, subcontractors and states, and get insurer confirmation plus the separate liability and auto policies. 12 22 33
  • Payroll and audit plan: Name who reports payroll, who reviews classifications and which records the audit needs. 11 38
  • Venue documents: Separate certificates, comp waivers and liability additional-insured requirements, with their charges. 10 35
  • State claim instructions: Give supervisors the right reporting contact for each work location. 3 40

Harper vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaHarperPie Insurance
Customer focus

Businesses in hard-to-place industries can ask Harper for broker help; its listed specialties include contracting, restaurants, auto, care, manufacturing and transportation. 9,14Company-reported. Examples of advertised appetite, not a verified customer census or eligibility guarantee.

Small businesses looking for workers’ compensation can approach Pie directly or through local, regional and national agencies. 21,22Company-reported. US small-business workers’ compensation distribution described on Pie’s current About and product pages.

Application process

You can request a quote by providing business, revenue, state, operations and coverage details; the form starts an inquiry and does not show a premium or issued policy. 2Company-reported. Browser inspection of the blank homepage footer form. No data entered or submitted, so later application, quote, payment and binding screens were not tested.

Harper says its internal Hub software helps staff complete forms, identify markets and manage client communication; the launch announcement describes greater automation as a future direction. 7Company-reported. Founder-authored description hosted by the accelerator; not independent verification of automation quality or a buyer-facing software subscription.

Harper says AI extracts document details, drafts messages and organizes follow-up, while licensed staff and carriers review eligibility and binding decisions; automated marketing does not mean a machine approves coverage alone. 4Company-reported. Privacy sections 3 and 8; stated controls only. No audit of model accuracy, staff review or underwriting delegation.

Before uploading sensitive records, understand how Harper uses them: its privacy policy says applications and loss data help train Harper’s models, while enterprise AI vendors say they do not train foundation models on customer data. 4Company-reported. Sections 2, 7 and 8. Company-reported data handling, not an independent privacy or security certification.

Do not rely on a text message to start or change coverage: Harper’s terms require written confirmation from Harper and the insurer, and text quotes remain subject to underwriting. 3Company-reported. Section 11, effective August 24, 2026. Does not establish a particular insurer’s required payment or signing sequence.

Harper advertises a 24–48-hour placement time, but it is a company estimate rather than a deadline; ask what approvals and documents remain before relying on a start date. 14Company-reported. February 26, 2026 marketing claim, not independently measured. Current homepage refers to same-week answers, a different milestone; neither is a binding service-level guarantee.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 21,20,22Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 25,22Company-reported. Unauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 22,20Company-reported. Workers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Access to insurers

Harper advertises a network including Progressive, Kinsale, USLI, Atlantic Casualty, James River, GEICO, AIG and Hiscox, plus 165+ underwriters; that count does not mean every insurer will quote your risk. 2,14Company-reported. Marketing logos and dated company statement. No direct appointments or live quoting access independently confirmed; no assignment of an insurer to a product.

Ask for the insurer named on your quote and its current rating: an older Harper article says it uses AAA-rated carriers without naming the rating agency, companies or dated rating records. 18Not found in reviewed sources. Page dated January 21, 2025, carrier-network assertions. Rating claim withheld as a finding; no rating assigned to Harper or any displayed insurer.

Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 24,41,42,43Verified. Pie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state.

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 41Verified. Pie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 24,26,27,28,29Not publicly disclosed. Current public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Servicing and renewals

Harper says it can classify payroll by employees’ duties and prepare premium-audit information for workers’ compensation; audits can change the premium, and this is not a guarantee that cost stays fixed. 11,19Company-reported. Public payroll and audit service description; not independently tested, and state employee thresholds are deliberately not generalized.

If another agent refers you, confirm who will be your ongoing contact: Harper says it owns the account and handles placement, service, renewals and claims, while the referring agent has no service duties. 16,15Company-reported. Distinct advertised programs; not assumed contradictory or contractually identical. Account ownership is the program’s language, not a finding that a buyer cannot change brokers.

Harper’s portal advertises policy, certificate, payment and application-status access; customers need an invitation and should ask support about features available after sign-in. 17Company-reported. Public entry page viewed and captured without authenticating, requesting an invitation or supplying contact information.

Harper describes policy reviews and renewal reminders, but not a guaranteed renewal price or a commitment to shop every policy; agree on the renewal plan with your team. 18,3Company-reported. Company service statements; no customer service agreement or renewal proposal inspected.

Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 34,35Company-reported. Published workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested.

Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 38Company-reported. Pie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund.

Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 35,40Company-reported. Different company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process.

Fees and compensation

A licensed referral agent may receive 50% of Harper’s commission 60 days after settlement, according to Harper Partners; this is a share of commission, not a discount on your premium. 16Company-reported. Current licensed-agent referral program only. Illustrative dollar amounts not treated as fee quotes; cancellation/nonpayment clawbacks apply. No implication that Spot participates.

Get premium, taxes, fees and financing charges itemized because reviewed Harper pages do not disclose buyer fees or account-specific commission rates; a free partner signup does not mean insurance is fee-free. 16,18,10,3Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed referral terms, pricing-transparency article, GL cost FAQ and messaging terms. No hidden fees is marketing, not a zero-fee promise; SMS cost statement applies only to messages.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 36,37Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 36Company-reported. Credit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 35Not publicly disclosed. Workers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 40,24Not publicly disclosed. Agency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Sources for Harper vs Pie Insurance

Harper Official Website

  1. Davis v. Harper Global Enterprises Inc. CourtListener; N.D. Ga. 1:25-cv-05899, docket entry 9 December 2025: Certificate of Interested Persons and Corporate Disclosure Statement by Harper Global Enterprises Inc. identifying Corporate Parent Harper Group Corp. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Harper Homepage. Harper; Opening insurer-shopping process; What we cover: Commercial property, Commercial auto, Cyber, Garage liability and General liability insurance; Industries We Serve, including Construction & Contractors, Manufacturing and Auto Repair & Service; insurer-logo panel; quote-request form, including property and work-vehicle options; Get covered invitation; legal footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Text Messaging Terms and Conditions. Harper Global Enterprises Inc.; Effective August 24, 2026; sections 1–3 (entity, consent and service messages), 5 (message costs), 9 (delivery) and 11 (coverage confirmation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. Privacy Policy. Harper Group Corp.; Introduction; sections 2–3 on information collection and decision review; sections 7–8 on AI vendors, internal model training and human oversight. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Georgia Agency License Inquiry: Harper Global Enterprises Inc. Georgia Office of Commissioner of Insurance and Safety Fire, via Sircon; Georgia agency license 237101 record for HARPER GLOBAL ENTERPRISES INC., NPN 21740058: license and qualification tables. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. California License Number Search. California Department of Insurance; License-number search for 6017784. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  7. Harper Company Profile and Founder Launch Post. Y Combinator / Harper founders; Company description and founder launch: complex commercial risks; internal Harper Hub form completion, carrier matching and communications; autonomy described as a goal. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  8. What We Cover. Harper; Coverage directory: Liquor Liability, Medical Malpractice, Product Liability, Professional Liability, Umbrella, Workers Compensation; intake What do you need covered?: Property and liability bundled together, Claims about my work or advice (professional liability), Tools and equipment that leave the shop (inland marine), Umbrella; broker footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. Industries We Serve. Harper; Industry directory and introductory customer focus: construction, care providers and auto dealers among the listed businesses. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  10. General Liability Insurance. Harper; Product introduction, certificate-request instructions, specialist-led placement steps and cost FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  11. Workers Compensation Insurance. Harper; Workers Compensation Insurance product hero; What is Workers Compensation insurance?; Why Harper / insurer options; payroll classification discussion; FAQs about audits and pricing. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. Security Guards Insurance. Harper; Description of guard businesses, coverage categories, use-of-force risks and service features. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  13. Surety Bonds. Harper; Surety Bonds: license and permit bonds; contract bid, performance and payment bonds; repayment obligations and timing FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves. Harper / Dakotah Rice; February 26, 2026 article: brokerage identity; AI-assisted submissions and follow-ups; 24–48-hour coverage statement; more than 165 underwriters; plans for additional direct appointments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  15. Insurance Brokers: Wholesale Program. Harper; Specialty and non-admitted markets, selective binding authority FAQ, white-label options and commission FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  16. Harper Partners. Harper; Referral terms and FAQs covering commission split, timing, account ownership and service duties; Partner FAQ: What commercial lines can I send? (including management liability; Harper handles quoting, binding, servicing and renewals); illustrative example; footer qualification for unlicensed referral sources. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  17. Customer Portal Entry. Harper; Public entry page: listed functions, invitation-based sign-in instructions and service-team contact. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  18. Why 2000+ Companies Trust Harper For Business Insurance. Harper Insurance Team; Article dated January 21, 2025: carrier ratings, pricing transparency, claims support and ongoing management. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  19. Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Form 700, revised June 14, 2024; purchasing through a broker-agent, commercial claims, surplus lines, and glossary definition of insurer. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Pie Insurance Official Website

  1. Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; Homepage: small-business audience; direct workers’ compensation quote; online account; footer entity, insurer and availability qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; About Pie; direct and agency distribution; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; Get a workers’ compensation quote online; insurance made for your small business; quote inputs; coverage description; quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Terms Of Use. Pie Insurance; Updated 26 April 2022; Ownership and Agreement to Terms; geographic and product eligibility; policy controls coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Pie Insurance — Quote. Pie Insurance; First step: Business ZIP Code. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Business Owner’s Policy. Pie Insurance; BOP definition; typical components; Make sure you’re covered: Start your BOP quote; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; First- and third-party descriptions; carrier-partner quote invitation; policy-variation qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Errors And Omissions Insurance. Pie Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance hero (E&O and professional liability equivalence); typical claims; Make sure you’re covered: insurance carrier partners, Start now; footer third-party professional liability insurers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. General Liability Insurance. Pie Insurance; Typical covered categories; Make sure you are covered: carrier-partner quote invitation; legal footer: third-party insurers not affiliated with Pie. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Workers’ Comp Coverage By State. Pie Insurance; Headline says 40 states and the District of Columbia; rendered state selector listed 39 state names and omitted New York and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  11. Agency Document Library. Pie Insurance; Workers’ Comp State Documents: 40 named states plus Washington, D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  12. Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025. Pie Insurance; 13 January 2026 release; Key 2025 Milestones says 39 states plus Washington, D.C.; company and distribution description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  13. Commercial Auto Claim FAQs. Pie Insurance; Does Pie offer commercial auto insurance?; submission cutoff 1 December 2025; no new or renewal policies on or after 1 January 2026; legacy claim guidance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  14. Online Account Tutorial. Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  15. Workers’ Comp FAQs. Pie Insurance; Certificates; specific and blanket waiver requests, two-business-day response and state-dependent charge; Billing & Payments; Policy Renewal / When will I know it’s time to renew my policy? (approximately 30 days before expiry, quote for review and acceptance); Annual Audit; Claims. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  16. Payment Options. Pie Insurance; Annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules; payment methods; 3% card fee and state exceptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  17. Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; No initial deposit; actual-payroll monthly premium; automatic deductions; payroll-provider coordination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  18. Your Workers’ Comp Premium Audit. Pie Insurance; Required annual audit; estimated versus actual payroll; audit partner; requested payroll, employee, cash-expense and subcontractor certificate records. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  19. File Your Claim Within 24 Hours. Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation reporting by online form, 24/7 phone or email; information requested; post-report coverage determination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  20. Partner FAQ. Pie Insurance; How does Pie handle claims? (workers’ compensation in 34 states; CorVel in Alaska, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico and Oregon); How does Pie pay commissions? (new and renewing policies, earned premium); How does Pie handle renewals? (30-day preview: under $20,000 to insured with agency copied, over $20,000 to producer; unless otherwise notified, deposit draft and renewal issuance five days before effective date; exact $20,000 case unstated); Renewal Billing. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  21. AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company. AM Best Rating Services, Inc.; Page 1: A- (Excellent), Stable, affirmed 24 April 2026; page 14: rating unit, group insurer acquisitions, 100% workers’ compensation writing through PCIC and TPIC from 1 January 2024, 40 states and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  22. The Pie Insurance Company — Company Details. Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance; Company name; active license status; NAIC 21857; property-and-casualty authority; 2025 workers’ compensation market data. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  23. Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details. Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name; P&C Domestic Stock; active status; NAIC 10997; Pie Group Holdings, Inc. parent. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  24. Administrative Actions — January 2024. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance; Allegations and Actions Against Companies: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. agreed to add a disclaimer to its “save up to 30%” advertising claim after misleading-advertising allegations. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Harper vs Pie Insurance

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation