Foxquilt vs Lockton: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Foxquilt describes a small-business insurance platform with online purchasing for selected products; Lockton you work with lockton as a broker for risk, benefits and retirement programs; it arranges and services policies but is not the risk-bearing insurer. Compare the service and submission routes, then confirm the product, insurer and terms available for your business.

An Overview of Foxquilt and Lockton

If you want an online starting point for selected small-business policies, Foxquilt describes online quote and purchase options. Lockton You work with Lockton as a broker for risk, benefits and retirement programs; it arranges and services policies but is not the risk-bearing insurer. The distinction matters when deciding whether to begin with an online product flow or work through the Lockton route; ask who will prepare the submission and support changes after binding. 5 30

What Stands Out About Foxquilt and Lockton?

Foxquilt at a Glance

  • Foxquilt serves small and midsize businesses, with contractors, e-commerce, consultants, technology and creative professionals among its examples. 2,5,6Company-reportedCompany-described North American small-business audience and example product classes; actual appetite depends on product, class, state and underwriting.
  • Customers can request and buy commercial general liability and E&O online, with team assistance available and documents delivered after purchase. 5,6,1Company-reportedCompany-reported CGL and E&O purchase workflow; no form was submitted and no quote or purchase was completed in this research.

Lockton at a Glance

  • Lockton brokers help businesses arrange insurance, employee benefits and retirement programs. 19,31,38Company-reportedCompany-reported US brand and Terms of Business. The contracting Lockton company can differ by client. Private-ownership and independence claims are marketing statements, not a regulatory finding.
  • Technology clients can compare options for cyber, D&O, liability, property and benefits with Lockton. 20,21,22,23,24,25,26,27,28Company-reportedDirect US product and industry pages accessed 16 September 2026. Technology errors and omissions is discussed in educational Lockton articles but was not added from those articles alone. Catalogue entries from the private-equity page are marketed in that industry context.

Foxquilt vs Lockton Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageFoxquiltLockton
Builders riskListed 11Builder’s risk product page; policy-specific construction terms not established.Not listed
Business owner’s policyListed 2Foxquilt’s About page lists Business Owner’s Policy among “Our Primary Coverages”; no current BOP-specific terms or bundled contents are established here.Not listed
Cargo and transitNot listedListed 23Lockton arranges cargo insurance.
Commercial autoListed 8Commercial auto product page; HNOA is not split out.Listed 23Lockton arranges commercial auto insurance.
Commercial propertyListed 10Commercial property product page.Listed 24Lockton arranges commercial property insurance.
CrimeListed 17,18Foxquilt has a Crime Insurance product page, which says crime can be a BOP add-on or an isolated policy; the ConvertLabs cleaner program also lists Crime/Bonds but describes crime only. No bond product is inferred.Listed 28Lockton arranges commercial crime insurance.
Cyber liabilityListed 9Cyber product page; policy terms and limits not established.Listed 21,20Lockton arranges cyber insurance.
Directors and officersNot listedListed 22,20Lockton arranges directors and officers liability insurance.
Employee health and benefitsNot listedListed 26Lockton arranges employee health and benefits programs.
Employment practices liabilityNot listedListed 28Lockton arranges employment practices liability insurance.
Fiduciary liabilityNot listedListed 27Lockton arranges fiduciary liability insurance.
General liabilityListed 5,3Company CGL product page; line-specific CGL membership only.Listed 23Lockton arranges general liability insurance.
Hired and non-owned autoListed 4Advertised as a Hired & non-owned feature beneath Foxquilt’s Commercial Auto card; no distinct HNOA policy or terms established.Not listed
Key personNot listedListed 28Lockton arranges key person insurance.
Product liabilityNot listedListed 23Lockton arranges product liability insurance.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 6Professional E&O product page.Listed 28Lockton arranges professional errors and omissions insurance.
Representations and warrantiesNot listedListed 28Lockton arranges representations and warranties insurance.
Surety bondsNot listedListed 28Lockton arranges surety bonds.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 6Technology/creative class within broader E&O; no separate technology form established.Not listed
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 2,18Foxquilt lists Inland Marine among primary coverages; the ConvertLabs cleaner program describes limited mobile-equipment coverage (also called Inland Marine) commonly used by janitorial providers. This does not establish broad standalone inland-marine terms.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 2,16Foxquilt lists Umbrella/Excess in its primary-coverages list and has a current Umbrella Insurance page that distinguishes umbrella from excess. Membership is for marketed umbrella only; a separate excess product is not established.Listed 23Lockton arranges umbrella and excess liability insurance.
Workers’ compensationListed 7Workers’ compensation page; state requirements vary.Listed 25,23Lockton arranges workers’ compensation insurance.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Foxquilt and Lockton Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Foxquilt and Lockton each document for one coverage line.

Foxquilt and Lockton Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Foxquilt Reliability Scores

Managing general agent

Carrier & MGA

No Reliability Score

Provider assessment

Foxquilt and Lockton Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Foxquilt Review Score

8.9/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Customers rate Foxquilt well on Google (4.9 out of 5 from 526 reviews at its Charlotte office) and 3.5 out of 5 on Trustpilot from only 8 reviews. Put together, the Review Score is 8.9 out of 10.

Read Foxquilt reviews

Lockton Review Score

8.4/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Lockton’s reviews vary by office and entity. Local Google-derived ratings provide some service feedback, but no reliable firmwide verdict.

Read Lockton reviews

Which Businesses Do Foxquilt and Lockton Each Describe?

Foxquilt’s stated customer focus is: Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses and business-to-business networks. Its current CGL and E&O pages name contractors, e-commerce, personal services, consultants, technology and creative professionals, licensed professionals, and beauty and health services as target examples; listed classes are not guarantees of eligibility. Lockton describes its audience this way: Technology, hardware, software, internet, medical-device, semiconductor and telecom organizations can ask Lockton about brokerage; public pages give no company-size, funding or revenue minimum. Treat these as documented market focus, not a promise that a specific applicant qualifies. Before comparing quotes, give both routes the same business description, revenue, locations, operations and contract requirements. 2 19

How Do You Compare the Products You Need From Foxquilt and Lockton?

Foxquilt documents Foxquilt has current product-specific pages for commercial general liability, professional E&O, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, cyber, commercial property, builders risk, umbrella and crime. The About page separately lists Business Owner’s Policy, Umbrella/Excess and Inland Marine among “Our Primary Coverages”; its umbrella page describes umbrella and distinguishes it from excess. A cleaner-program page describes limited mobile-equipment (inland marine) and crime coverage and uses a Crime/Bonds label without bond terms. The E&O page includes technology and creative professions within broader E&O; the reviewed material does not establish a separate technology E&O form. Lockton documents Technology and private-equity buyers can ask about cyber, D&O, contract review and international programs; Lockton also lists casualty, property, fiduciary, benefits, E&O, crime, EPL, surety, key-person and transaction products. Actual forms, limits and eligibility require a quote. The catalogues can differ in breadth and product scope; both records list general liability, professional errors omissions, workers compensation, while Lockton also lists cargo transit, directors officers, employee health benefits, employment practices in its current coverage record. A shared line name does not mean the policies use the same form or cover the same exposures. Ask for the proposed insurer, policy form, limits, retentions, exclusions and endorsements for each requested line. 5 20

How Do Foxquilt and Lockton Differ on Application and Support?

Foxquilt’s product pages describe an online route for selected CGL and E&O policies, with assistance available. Lockton describes this application route: You can start with a Lockton team inquiry or email its cyber and technology group; reviewed pages do not offer a self-service bind flow or guaranteed quote turnaround. This difference can change who prepares the submission and supports you before binding. Ask whether you can finish the application online, whether a broker or agent must submit it, what information is needed, and who confirms binding and the effective date. 5 30

What Should You Confirm About Foxquilt and Lockton Insurers?

Foxquilt’s insurer disclosure says Foxquilt’s product pages display Markel, Greenlight Re and Lloyd’s-related marks under “Backed by industry leaders.” The reviewed pages do not map those names to the insurer, reinsurer, coverholder, or delegated authority for a particular U.S. product, state or policy; confirm the insurer and producer on the quote and policy documents. Lockton reports Ask which insurer will issue your policy because Lockton does not promise a particular carrier or acceptable terms; its pages mention 100+ workers’ compensation markets without naming them and do not identify insurers for your policy. These disclosures do not identify the insurer on your individual policy. Request the issuing company and producer details for each quote, plus a written breakdown of premium, fees and broker compensation. 5 31

How Do Foxquilt and Lockton Differ on Service After Purchase?

Foxquilt describes servicing as follows: Foxquilt says CGL and E&O policy documents and certificates are emailed after purchase and describes digital account tools. For agents and brokers, Foxquilt advertises digital endorsement and cancellation management and change requests in Foxden; this does not establish who has contractual authority or the processing terms for a particular policy. The public material reviewed does not establish policy-specific renewal handling, endorsement authority, cancellation process or service-level guarantees. Lockton describes this service route: Lockton describes dedicated account teams, risk control and renewal service, including a round-the-clock technology service model; confirm actual service commitments and portal features because public pages provide no standard service agreement. Ask who handles routine certificates, policy changes, renewal discussions and claims notices for your account, and whether that contact is the broker, insurer or another administrator. 5 23

Foxquilt vs Lockton Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaFoxquiltLockton
Business role

Foxquilt markets a North American small-business insurance platform and describes licensed-broker services. Its terms name Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as the website, products and services operator. Its agent page calls Foxquilt a ‘North American Carrier’ and reports admitted CGL paper in 42 U.S. states and seven Canadian provinces, but names no license-holding entity or license identifier there. The reviewed sources do not map the Inc. or the separately listed Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC to a particular U.S. placement, delegated authority or issuing insurer, so the brand’s U.S. regulated role remains unresolved. 1,12,13,3,14Company-reportedFoxquilt brand and the separately named Inc. and LLC; company disclosures accessed through 2026-09-29. License wording is provider-published and was not independently regulator-verified; no exact license identifiers were found in the inspected provider disclosures.

You work with Lockton as a broker for risk, benefits and retirement programs; it arranges and services policies but is not the risk-bearing insurer. 19,31,38Company-reportedCompany-reported US brand and Terms of Business. The contracting Lockton company can differ by client. Private-ownership and independence claims are marketing statements, not a regulatory finding.

Confirm the legal producer on your California broker agreement: Lockton’s terms name Lockton Companies, LLC and affiliates, its site operator is Lockton, Inc., and certificates use Lockton Insurance Brokers, LLC as a California DBA. 31,32,39Company-reportedCompany legal disclosures and company-issued certificates. Missouri charter number 00498854 appears in website terms as a company statement. Current secretary-of-state and producer-license status were not independently verified.

Verify Lockton’s current California producer authority before appointing it: certificates list license 0F15767 for Lockton Companies, LLC dba Lockton Insurance Brokers, LLC, but status, classes and expiration were not independently checked. 39,40Not found in reviewed sourcesCompany-issued certificate header versus CDI lookup homepage only. Not a finding that the license is inactive or that California product placement is unavailable.

Customer focus

Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses and business-to-business networks. Its current CGL and E&O pages name contractors, e-commerce, personal services, consultants, technology and creative professionals, licensed professionals, and beauty and health services as target examples; listed classes are not guarantees of eligibility. 2,5,6Company-reportedCompany-described North American small-business audience and example product classes; actual appetite depends on product, class, state and underwriting.

Technology, hardware, software, internet, medical-device, semiconductor and telecom organizations can ask Lockton about brokerage; public pages give no company-size, funding or revenue minimum. 19,20,28Company-reportedUS technology, homepage and private-equity service pages. Presence of a technology practice is not an eligibility guarantee for a bootstrapped or early-stage startup.

Coverage lines

Foxquilt has current product-specific pages for commercial general liability, professional E&O, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, cyber, commercial property, builders risk, umbrella and crime. The About page separately lists Business Owner’s Policy, Umbrella/Excess and Inland Marine among “Our Primary Coverages”; its umbrella page describes umbrella and distinguishes it from excess. A cleaner-program page describes limited mobile-equipment (inland marine) and crime coverage and uses a Crime/Bonds label without bond terms. The E&O page includes technology and creative professions within broader E&O; the reviewed material does not establish a separate technology E&O form. 5,6,7,8,9,10,11,2,16,17,18Company-reportedCurrent Foxquilt pages inspected 2026-09-29. These are marketed coverage memberships, not a conclusion that detailed policy terms are adequate for comparison. Product scope differs between standalone pages, a primary-coverages list, subfeatures and the ConvertLabs cleaner program; quote and policy determine actual terms, jurisdiction, issuer and eligibility.

Technology and private-equity buyers can ask about cyber, D&O, contract review and international programs; Lockton also lists casualty, property, fiduciary, benefits, E&O, crime, EPL, surety, key-person and transaction products. Actual forms, limits and eligibility require a quote. 20,21,22,23,24,25,26,27,28Company-reportedDirect US product and industry pages accessed 16 September 2026. Technology errors and omissions is discussed in educational Lockton articles but was not added from those articles alone. Catalogue entries from the private-equity page are marketed in that industry context.

Application process

Foxquilt says customers can request and buy CGL and E&O online, with team assistance available, and receive documents after purchase. Its screens show example businesses, sample limits and prices; these are company illustrations, not quotes tested for a buyer or evidence that every risk can bind online. 5,6,1Company-reportedCompany-reported CGL and E&O purchase workflow; no form was submitted and no quote or purchase was completed in this research.

You can start with a Lockton team inquiry or email its cyber and technology group; reviewed pages do not offer a self-service bind flow or guaranteed quote turnaround. 30,19,33,21,32Company-reportedUS contact, privacy, technology and cyber-technology pages. Form submission was not completed. Website terms state site content is general information, not broking advice.

Servicing and renewals

Foxquilt says CGL and E&O policy documents and certificates are emailed after purchase and describes digital account tools. For agents and brokers, Foxquilt advertises digital endorsement and cancellation management and change requests in Foxden; this does not establish who has contractual authority or the processing terms for a particular policy. The public material reviewed does not establish policy-specific renewal handling, endorsement authority, cancellation process or service-level guarantees. 5,6,2,3Company-reportedCompany-reported buyer servicing statements and agent/broker portal marketing; no account access or live service interaction tested.

Lockton describes dedicated account teams, risk control and renewal service, including a round-the-clock technology service model; confirm actual service commitments and portal features because public pages provide no standard service agreement. 23,20,31,24,19Company-reportedCompany service descriptions and default Terms of Business; a signed services agreement can differ. Portal capabilities remain undocumented in this review.

Access to insurers

Foxquilt’s product pages display Markel, Greenlight Re and Lloyd’s-related marks under “Backed by industry leaders.” The reviewed pages do not map those names to the insurer, reinsurer, coverholder, or delegated authority for a particular U.S. product, state or policy; confirm the insurer and producer on the quote and policy documents. 5,6,2Not publicly disclosedFoxquilt brand marketing and the reviewed public CGL/E&O pages; no policy or state-specific issuer schedule reviewed.

Ask which insurer will issue your policy because Lockton does not promise a particular carrier or acceptable terms; its pages mention 100+ workers’ compensation markets without naming them and do not identify insurers for your policy. 31,21,25Not publicly disclosedUS Terms of Business, cyber-technology, and workers’ compensation marketing. Not a finding that Lockton lacks carrier access.

Sources

40 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Foxquilt vs Lockton

  • Compare AIG’s documented business and service route with Foxquilt’s small-business insurance options, including what to verify in quotes.

  • Compare AIG’s carrier group with Lockton’s technology and commercial brokerage for businesses building a broader risk program.

  • Compare Alliance Risk’s specialist technology brokerage with Foxquilt’s small-business insurance and online CGL and E&O route.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation