Coalition vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Pie is the workers' compensation specialist, with an online quote in about three minutes and pay-as-you-go billing against actual payroll; Coalition is the cyber and technology E&O specialist, sold through brokers with security monitoring included.

Introduction to the Coalition vs Pie Insurance Comparison

These two rarely compete head-on. A company hiring its first employees needs workers' compensation, and a software company signing enterprise contracts needs cyber and Tech E&O; Pie's core product is the first, Coalition's is the second. Pie does sell cyber, but through unnamed partner insurers, so it's a convenience add-on rather than its specialty. 21 26 1 Choose Pie if you need workers' comp for a small team and want premiums to track payroll; choose Coalition if you sell technology and need cyber plus Tech E&O under one policy.

Buyer Takeaways for Coalition vs Pie Insurance

Coalition Buyer Takeaways

  • Technology companies can combine cyber and Tech E&O in one program. 1Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
  • Policyholders get cyber monitoring, alerts and remediation guidance through Control. 8Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Pie Insurance Buyer Takeaways

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 20,19,21Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 35,36Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Coalition vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCoalitionPie Insurance
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 25Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
CrimeListed 5Coalition offers crime insurance through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 7Coalition offers cyber insurance.Listed 26Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
Directors and officersListed 5Coalition offers directors and officers liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 5Coalition offers employment practices liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 5Coalition offers fiduciary liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.Not listed
General liabilityNot listedListed 28Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Media liabilityListed 18Coalition identifies media liability within its Active Cyber policy.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 6Coalition offers miscellaneous professional liability as an addition to eligible Active Cyber policies.Listed 27Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 1Coalition offers technology errors and omissions together with Active Cyber coverage for businesses that provide a technology product or service.Not listed
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 21Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Coalition vs Pie Insurance Research by Coverage Line

Open what Coalition and Pie Insurance each document for one coverage line.

Current Reliability Scores for Coalition and Pie Insurance

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Coalition Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

6.1/ 10

Carrier & MGA

6.3/ 10

Provider assessment

Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

5.3/ 10

Carrier & MGA

6.3/ 10

Provider assessment

Coalition and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Coalition Review Score

10.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

Coalition has a BBB A+ grade. The reviewed independent sources did not establish a customer-star rating; the displayed RaveCapture collection is broker-focused. Its Trustpilot page has no reviews, and its best-looking rating comes from a review page the company arranges for brokers.

Read Coalition reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Coalition and Pie Insurance

Workers' Comp Specialist vs Cyber Specialist

Pie's own affiliated insurers write its workers' compensation. Its BOP, general liability, professional liability and cyber come from outside insurers it doesn't name publicly. 23

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 23,25,26,27,28Not publicly disclosed. Current public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Coalition builds its product around cyber and can combine it with Tech E&O. Pie's general E&O page doesn't show equivalent technology coverage, so a software company should get the actual forms from both before comparing prices. 27 1

Payroll-Based Billing vs Broker-Quoted Premium

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 35,36Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Pie also runs an annual premium audit that replaces estimated payroll with actual payroll, so your final cost can move after the policy year. 37 Coalition doesn't publish premiums or payment plans; you get a price through your broker, and its compensation page says producers are paid commission on premium. 4

Injury Claims vs Breach Response

Pie asks you to report a workplace injury within 24 hours by online form, 24/7 phone line or email. Its partner FAQ says CorVel, not Pie, handles claims in five states. 38 39 Coalition runs in-house cyber claims triage and tries to recover stolen funds. 9 If you hold both, keep the two reporting contacts separate.

What Should You Confirm in Coalition and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • From Pie: that every state where you have payroll is covered, since its own pages disagree on 39 or 40 states plus D.C., and your class codes. 29
  • From Pie: which records the premium audit will need, and who handles claims in your state.
  • From Pie, if you buy its cyber: the name of the partner insurer and the policy form. 26
  • From Coalition: which insurer issues your cyber and Tech E&O policy in your state. 11
  • Commercial auto: Pie stopped issuing new and renewal commercial auto policies in 2026, so don't rely on older material that lists it. 32

Coalition vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaCoalitionPie Insurance
Access to insurers

Ask who will issue your policy because admitted cyber uses Coalition Insurance Company while surplus placements use unaffiliated insurers; reviewed sources do not identify one insurer for every California Tech E&O quote. 3,2Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 23,40,41,42Verified. Pie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state.

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 40Verified. Pie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 23,25,26,27,28Not publicly disclosed. Current public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Application process

You need an appointed broker to buy Coalition coverage; Coalition can help you find access if your broker does not offer it, and says underwriting reviews industry, finances, operations and security. 13Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

To add Tech E&O to a cyber quote, prepare your product or service description and contract answers; some applications need review before a price is released. 12Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 20,19,21Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 24,21Company-reported. Unauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 21,19Company-reported. Workers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Fees and compensation

Your broker may receive a premium-based commission plus contingent commissions, placement incentives or cybersecurity-sales compensation, according to Coalition; ask how your placement is compensated. 4Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Coalition says it keeps part of earned premium for operations and broker commissions, and may receive additional insurer payments tied to annual portfolio loss ratios. 16Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Get the full price and broker compensation in writing; reviewed disclosures do not state a startup quote’s commission rate, fee or premium. 4,16Not publicly disclosed. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 35,36Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 35Company-reported. Credit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 34Not publicly disclosed. Workers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 39,23Not publicly disclosed. Agency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Claims assistance

Coalition describes in-house cyber triage and attempts to recover stolen funds, with the same team handling Tech E&O; these service descriptions do not establish response quality or payment for a loss. 9,1Company-reported. United States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 38Company-reported. Published first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply.

Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 39,29,40Conflicting sources. Public allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions.

Sources for Coalition vs Pie Insurance

Coalition Official Website

  1. Tech E&O Insurance Coverage. Coalition; Who needs Technology Errors & Omissions coverage? (organizations that provide a technology product or service for a fee); Combine Technology Errors & Omissions coverage with Active Cyber Insurance; Coalition Advantage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Licenses and Carriers. Coalition; Insurance Licenses: California row; Insurance Carriers; concluding disclosures. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. U.S. Disclaimers. Coalition; Non-Admitted Cyber; Admitted Cyber; Admitted and Non-admitted Cyber. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. U.S. Producer Compensation. Coalition; Insurance Producers; Base Commission; Contingent Commission; Business Production Incentive Programs; Non-Insurance Products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Executive Risks. Coalition; FAQ: What type of businesses do you protect?, What limits do you offer? and What resources do you have for policyholders?; Product Offering: D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Miscellaneous Professional Liability. Coalition; Why Miscellaneous Professional Liability? (can be added to certain Active Cyber Insurance policies); MPL Advantage; Broker Benefits. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Active Cyber Insurance. Coalition; Active Cyber Insurance; Coverage Advantage: separate limit for breach response, pay-on-behalf for cyber extortion, funds transfer fraud, business interruption. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Coalition Control. Coalition; How We Help; Policyholder Features; Wirespeed ADR. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. Cyber Insurance Claims Experience. Coalition; Pre-Claims Assistance; Claims Advantage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Where does Coalition offer cyber insurance coverage? Coalition; United States. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  11. Are there any differences between Coalition’s admitted and surplus lines products? Coalition; Cyber insurance coverage offered by Coalition: Coverage availability; Coverage offering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. How to add Tech E&O coverage to a Coalition quote. Coalition; Opening; Step 1; Step 2; Last Step. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  13. How do I qualify for and buy cyber insurance from Coalition? Coalition; Eligibility; broker contact; underwriting paragraphs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. Does Coalition offer Excess coverage? Coalition; Where do I send my excess submissions?; What excess products does Coalition offer, and in what regions? (excess Cyber Surplus in the US and Canada; excess Tech E&O and MPL combined with cyber, US only). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  15. How do Cyber renewals work at Coalition? Coalition; Opening renewal-path table; Automatic; Express; Standard. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  16. How does Coalition make money? Coalition; Premium retention and carrier payments paragraphs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  17. Active Cyber Insurance for Enterprises. Coalition; Introduction; closing eligibility disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  18. Coalition AI Coverage. Coalition; Coverage in Action table, including the Defamation row (Media Liability insuring agreement); Deepfake Response; policy disclaimers. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Pie Insurance Official Website

  1. Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; Homepage: small-business audience; direct workers’ compensation quote; online account; footer entity, insurer and availability qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; About Pie; direct and agency distribution; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; Get a workers’ compensation quote online; insurance made for your small business; quote inputs; coverage description; quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Terms Of Use. Pie Insurance; Updated 26 April 2022; Ownership and Agreement to Terms; geographic and product eligibility; policy controls coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Pie Insurance — Quote. Pie Insurance; First step: Business ZIP Code. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Business Owner’s Policy. Pie Insurance; BOP definition; typical components; Make sure you’re covered: Start your BOP quote; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; First- and third-party descriptions; carrier-partner quote invitation; policy-variation qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Errors And Omissions Insurance. Pie Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance hero (E&O and professional liability equivalence); typical claims; Make sure you’re covered: insurance carrier partners, Start now; footer third-party professional liability insurers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. General Liability Insurance. Pie Insurance; Typical covered categories; Make sure you are covered: carrier-partner quote invitation; legal footer: third-party insurers not affiliated with Pie. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Workers’ Comp Coverage By State. Pie Insurance; Headline says 40 states and the District of Columbia; rendered state selector listed 39 state names and omitted New York and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  11. Agency Document Library. Pie Insurance; Workers’ Comp State Documents: 40 named states plus Washington, D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  12. Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025. Pie Insurance; 13 January 2026 release; Key 2025 Milestones says 39 states plus Washington, D.C.; company and distribution description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  13. Commercial Auto Claim FAQs. Pie Insurance; Does Pie offer commercial auto insurance?; submission cutoff 1 December 2025; no new or renewal policies on or after 1 January 2026; legacy claim guidance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  14. Online Account Tutorial. Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  15. Workers’ Comp FAQs. Pie Insurance; Certificates; specific and blanket waiver requests, two-business-day response and state-dependent charge; Billing & Payments; Policy Renewal / When will I know it’s time to renew my policy? (approximately 30 days before expiry, quote for review and acceptance); Annual Audit; Claims. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  16. Payment Options. Pie Insurance; Annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules; payment methods; 3% card fee and state exceptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  17. Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; No initial deposit; actual-payroll monthly premium; automatic deductions; payroll-provider coordination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  18. Your Workers’ Comp Premium Audit. Pie Insurance; Required annual audit; estimated versus actual payroll; audit partner; requested payroll, employee, cash-expense and subcontractor certificate records. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  19. File Your Claim Within 24 Hours. Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation reporting by online form, 24/7 phone or email; information requested; post-report coverage determination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  20. Partner FAQ. Pie Insurance; How does Pie handle claims? (workers’ compensation in 34 states; CorVel in Alaska, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico and Oregon); How does Pie pay commissions? (new and renewing policies, earned premium); How does Pie handle renewals? (30-day preview: under $20,000 to insured with agency copied, over $20,000 to producer; unless otherwise notified, deposit draft and renewal issuance five days before effective date; exact $20,000 case unstated); Renewal Billing. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  21. AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company. AM Best Rating Services, Inc.; Page 1: A- (Excellent), Stable, affirmed 24 April 2026; page 14: rating unit, group insurer acquisitions, 100% workers’ compensation writing through PCIC and TPIC from 1 January 2024, 40 states and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  22. The Pie Insurance Company — Company Details. Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance; Company name; active license status; NAIC 21857; property-and-casualty authority; 2025 workers’ compensation market data. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  23. Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details. Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name; P&C Domestic Stock; active status; NAIC 10997; Pie Group Holdings, Inc. parent. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  24. Administrative Actions — January 2024. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance; Allegations and Actions Against Companies: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. agreed to add a disclaimer to its “save up to 30%” advertising claim after misleading-advertising allegations. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Coalition vs Pie Insurance

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation