CFC vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

CFC covers technology liability and cyber; Pie’s workers’ compensation includes payroll-based billing and annual audits, with selected other coverage through partners.

Introduction to the CFC vs Pie Insurance Comparison

A startup hiring employees while signing a software customer needs workplace-injury protection as well as product and cyber coverage. CFC’s technology package addresses the latter; Pie’s workers’ compensation billing follows payroll and is audited annually. Choose CFC for technology liability and cyber; choose Pie for payroll-based workers’ compensation. 2 32 34

Buyer Takeaways for CFC vs Pie Insurance

CFC Buyer Takeaways

  • Eligible technology businesses can combine E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability. 2Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
  • Cyber policyholders may get threat monitoring, alerts and 24/7 incident support. 7Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Pie Insurance Buyer Takeaways

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 31,30,32Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 46,47Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

CFC vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCFCPie Insurance
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 36Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
Commercial propertyListed 13CFC offers property coverage within its property and casualty product.Not listed
CrimeListed 11,23CFC offers crime in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 9CFC offers cyber insurance, including primary and excess products.Listed 37Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
Directors and officersListed 11CFC offers directors and officers liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 11CFC offers employment practices liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. CFC does not write standalone employment practices liability.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 11CFC offers fiduciary liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
General liabilityListed 13CFC offers general liability within its property and casualty product.Listed 39Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Intellectual propertyListed 14CFC offers intellectual-property insurance for eligible businesses with revenue up to $500 million, depending on industry.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 15CFC offers kidnap and ransom insurance, including a specialist marine product.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 10,11CFC offers a US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Media liabilityListed 21CFC offers media liability insurance for content creators and media businesses.Not listed
Product liabilityListed 22CFC offers product liability within its life-science and nutraceutical policies.Not listed
Product recallListed 16CFC offers product-recall and contaminated-product-recall insurance.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 12CFC offers professional liability insurance for professional-service businesses.Listed 38Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Representations and warrantiesListed 17CFC offers buyer-side and seller-side representations and warranties insurance.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2CFC offers technology errors and omissions for technology businesses.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 18CFC offers excess professional liability, general liability and cyber limits for small and micro businesses.Not listed
Virtual care and telehealthListed 19CFC offers an eHealth package for businesses delivering health care through technology, including telemedicine.Not listed
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 32Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

CFC vs Pie Insurance Research by Coverage Line

Open what CFC and Pie Insurance each document for one coverage line.

Current Reliability Scores for CFC and Pie Insurance

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

CFC Reliability Scores

Managing general agent

Carrier & MGA

No Reliability Score

Provider assessment

Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

5.3/ 10

Carrier & MGA

6.3/ 10

Provider assessment

CFC and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

CFC Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.

Read CFC reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between CFC and Pie Insurance

Payroll Information Does Not Replace Technology Underwriting

Pie’s workers’ compensation quote begins with ZIP code and calls for payroll and class-code information. CFC’s technology application asks about products, client contracts, security and IP procedures. The two submissions measure different exposures. Give the payroll classification reviewer actual employee duties, and separately give the technology underwriter the consequences of software failure. 35 32 3

Pie also markets partner-supplied E&O and cyber, but the reviewed pages do not identify their current insurers. If considering those alongside CFC, obtain the partner’s forms first; do not assign Pie’s affiliated workers’ compensation carriers to a cyber proposal. 38 37 34

Payroll-Based Billing Still Leaves an Audit

Pie describes pay-as-you-go premium based on reported payroll with no initial deposit. It also requires an annual workers’ compensation audit that replaces estimates with actual information. For a startup adding staff quickly, ask how payroll changes feed billing and what records the audit needs; a convenient payment schedule is not a guarantee that the initial estimated premium is final. 47 48

CFC’s reviewed technology documents do not publish an equivalent billing schedule or complete charges. Compare the cost of each required coverage and its payment terms separately. There is no meaningful single “cheaper provider” conclusion from a payroll-based workers’ compensation quote and a technology liability quote. 2 6 46

Each Line Needs Its Own Availability and Notice Instructions

Pie’s public workers’ compensation footprint is inconsistent across its state page and other current materials. Its partner-product pages do not provide a complete state matrix. CFC’s California technology route also remains a quote-level question. Confirm employee locations and business activities directly rather than using either national brand description as approval. 40 42 33 4

Pie publishes workplace-injury reporting channels; CFC publishes general claims and urgent cyber routes. Keep both in the operating checklist if both coverages are purchased. A cyber notification is not an employee-injury report, and a brokerage’s intake should not be presumed to notify every affected insurer. 49 8

What Should You Confirm in CFC and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • Separate workers’ compensation, technology E&O and cyber requirements, naming the insurer behind any Pie partner product. 34 37 2
  • Verify state/class eligibility, payroll-reporting integration, audit documents and any payment or waiver charges. 40 48 45
  • Assign injury reporting and cyber incident responsibilities, with the current handler named for each policy. 49 50 8

CFC vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaCFCPie Insurance
Business role

CFC can quote specialist cover as an MGA, meaning it performs some underwriting functions for insurers that carry the risk. Its disclosures identify CFC Underwriting Limited and U.S. producer CFC USA, Inc.; the CFC brand is not the insurer name on every policy. 5,4Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 31,34,32,36,37,38,39Company-reported. Current public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant.

If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 33,53,51Verified. Website ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary.

Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 34,54Company-reported. Producer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action.

Access to insurers

Before binding a California technology policy, get the insurer and syndicate names in writing: CFC identifies Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta, but its US technology materials do not identify the insurer for a buyer’s quote. 4,2,3Not publicly disclosed. Technology coverage for a California applicant; Syndicate 1988 is not assigned to every CFC policy.

Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 34,51,52,53Verified. Pie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state.

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 51Verified. Pie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 34,36,37,38,39Not publicly disclosed. Current public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Application process

A senior staff member should expect to complete the technology application and send it to a broker; it asks for revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history. CFC Connect separately supports broker trading and appointments. 3,6Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 31,30,32Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 35,32Company-reported. Unauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 32,30Company-reported. Workers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Servicing and renewals

Cyber buyers can get threat monitoring, alerts, a response app and round-the-clock technical incident support according to CFC; check the proposed policy for access, scope and conditions. 7Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Agree on renewal timing, certificate turnaround and account support before choosing CFC; reviewed materials do not specify those commitments for California technology buyers. 6,3Not publicly disclosed. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 44,45Company-reported. Published workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested.

Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 48Company-reported. Pie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund.

Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 45,50Company-reported. Different company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process.

Fees and compensation

Request premium, taxes, fees and intermediary pay in a written breakdown; CFC’s reviewed US technology materials do not disclose a buyer-specific price, commission rate or full charge schedule. 2,3,6Not publicly disclosed. Only the listed US technology and broker-process sources; no inference of free service or zero commission. Australian and unrelated Irish CFC disclosures are not US pricing evidence.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 46,47Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 46Company-reported. Credit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 45Not publicly disclosed. Workers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 50,34Not publicly disclosed. Agency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Sources for CFC vs Pie Insurance

CFC Official Website

  1. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology companies — US application v2.4. CFC; Pages 1–8: completion instructions and Sections 1–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC USA Inc.; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Connect broker trading portal. CFC; Get started; Products traded on Connect; FAQs: broker appointment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. CFC Response. CFC; Proactive protection; Immediate response; Real-time support. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Notify a claim or cyber incident. CFC; Experiencing a cyber incident now?; General enquiries or claims. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. Cyber insurance — US. CFC; Cyber product cards: Cyber Proactive Response, Cyber (admitted), Corporate cyber, Cyber excess. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Management liability. CFC; Management liability; Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  11. Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: opening coverage list; What else is in the policy?; What we decline. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. Professional liability. CFC; Our professional liability products; Professional liability (admitted). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  13. Property & casualty. CFC; Property & casualty product description: property and general liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. Intellectual property insurance. CFC; Intellectual property product introduction; Key features; Defense; Pursuit of infringers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  15. Kidnap and ransom. CFC; Kidnap & ransom product cards and Key features. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  16. Product recall. CFC; Contaminated product recall and Product recall product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  17. Transaction liability. CFC; Transaction liability; Buyer protect; Seller protect; Secondary liquidity solutions; Limit & appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  18. Umbrella cover. CFC; Umbrella cover product description: policy lines, small and micro businesses, primary placement with CFC or others. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  19. Digital health insurance. CFC; eHealth product: Telemedicine, mHealth, Artificial intelligence, Remote patient monitoring. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  20. Medical malpractice. CFC; Our medical malpractice products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  21. Media & entertainment. CFC; Media product description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  22. Life science. CFC; What does CFC’s life science policy cover?; Life sciences and Nutraceuticals product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  23. Fintech insurance. CFC; What does CFC’s fintech policy cover?; Fintech product. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  24. Financial institutions. CFC; Financial institutions professional indemnity; Investment managers; SME banks. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  25. Carbon insurance. CFC; Carbon delivery; Carbon cancellation; Carbon lender non-payment; CORSIA guarantee. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  26. Safeprotect misconduct liability. CFC; Safeprotect product; Praesidium services. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  27. Terrorism. CFC; Introduction: standalone terrorism policy. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  28. Marine. CFC; Introduction: hull war and marine kidnap & ransom. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  29. CFC launches admitted offerings for professional liability and technology E&O. CFC; 21 March 2023 announcement: admitted technology E&O; broker quote, bind and adjustment process. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Pie Insurance Official Website

  1. Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; Homepage: small-business audience; direct workers’ compensation quote; online account; footer entity, insurer and availability qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; About Pie; direct and agency distribution; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; Get a workers’ compensation quote online; insurance made for your small business; quote inputs; coverage description; quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Terms Of Use. Pie Insurance; Updated 26 April 2022; Ownership and Agreement to Terms; geographic and product eligibility; policy controls coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Pie Insurance — Quote. Pie Insurance; First step: Business ZIP Code. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Business Owner’s Policy. Pie Insurance; BOP definition; typical components; Make sure you’re covered: Start your BOP quote; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; First- and third-party descriptions; carrier-partner quote invitation; policy-variation qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Errors And Omissions Insurance. Pie Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance hero (E&O and professional liability equivalence); typical claims; Make sure you’re covered: insurance carrier partners, Start now; footer third-party professional liability insurers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. General Liability Insurance. Pie Insurance; Typical covered categories; Make sure you are covered: carrier-partner quote invitation; legal footer: third-party insurers not affiliated with Pie. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Workers’ Comp Coverage By State. Pie Insurance; Headline says 40 states and the District of Columbia; rendered state selector listed 39 state names and omitted New York and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  11. Agency Document Library. Pie Insurance; Workers’ Comp State Documents: 40 named states plus Washington, D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  12. Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025. Pie Insurance; 13 January 2026 release; Key 2025 Milestones says 39 states plus Washington, D.C.; company and distribution description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  13. Commercial Auto Claim FAQs. Pie Insurance; Does Pie offer commercial auto insurance?; submission cutoff 1 December 2025; no new or renewal policies on or after 1 January 2026; legacy claim guidance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  14. Online Account Tutorial. Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  15. Workers’ Comp FAQs. Pie Insurance; Certificates; specific and blanket waiver requests, two-business-day response and state-dependent charge; Billing & Payments; Policy Renewal / When will I know it’s time to renew my policy? (approximately 30 days before expiry, quote for review and acceptance); Annual Audit; Claims. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  16. Payment Options. Pie Insurance; Annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules; payment methods; 3% card fee and state exceptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  17. Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; No initial deposit; actual-payroll monthly premium; automatic deductions; payroll-provider coordination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  18. Your Workers’ Comp Premium Audit. Pie Insurance; Required annual audit; estimated versus actual payroll; audit partner; requested payroll, employee, cash-expense and subcontractor certificate records. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  19. File Your Claim Within 24 Hours. Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation reporting by online form, 24/7 phone or email; information requested; post-report coverage determination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  20. Partner FAQ. Pie Insurance; How does Pie handle claims? (workers’ compensation in 34 states; CorVel in Alaska, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico and Oregon); How does Pie pay commissions? (new and renewing policies, earned premium); How does Pie handle renewals? (30-day preview: under $20,000 to insured with agency copied, over $20,000 to producer; unless otherwise notified, deposit draft and renewal issuance five days before effective date; exact $20,000 case unstated); Renewal Billing. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  21. AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company. AM Best Rating Services, Inc.; Page 1: A- (Excellent), Stable, affirmed 24 April 2026; page 14: rating unit, group insurer acquisitions, 100% workers’ compensation writing through PCIC and TPIC from 1 January 2024, 40 states and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  22. The Pie Insurance Company — Company Details. Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance; Company name; active license status; NAIC 21857; property-and-casualty authority; 2025 workers’ compensation market data. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  23. Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details. Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name; P&C Domestic Stock; active status; NAIC 10997; Pie Group Holdings, Inc. parent. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  24. Administrative Actions — January 2024. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance; Allegations and Actions Against Companies: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. agreed to add a disclaimer to its “save up to 30%” advertising claim after misleading-advertising allegations. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to CFC vs Pie Insurance

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation