CFC vs
Kinro: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
CFC requires a detailed broker-submitted technology application; Kinro offers online intake, a review of current policies and renewal shopping.
An Overview of CFC and Kinro
A bootstrapped developer nearing renewal should compare replacement terms against its current insured work and prior coverage; Kinro offers a policy review, while CFC requires a detailed broker application. Choose CFC for a new technology policy; choose Kinro to review existing coverage and shop at renewal. 33 30 3
What Stands Out About CFC and Kinro?
CFC at a Glance
- Eligible technology businesses can combine E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability. 2Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
- Cyber policyholders may get threat monitoring, alerts and 24/7 incident support. 7Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
Kinro at a Glance
- Get a free review of an existing policy or renewal packet before deciding whether to replace it. 33Company-reported. Public upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.
- Kinro says it shops the market at renewal and sends text links to documents, certificates and coverage support. 30,34Company-reported. Retail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected.
CFC vs Kinro Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | CFC | Kinro |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 32Kinro lists a business owner’s policy in its product catalog. |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed 32As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial auto and describes matching business details to carrier appetite. |
| Commercial property | Listed 13CFC offers property coverage within its property and casualty product. | Listed 32As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial property and describes matching business details to carrier appetite. |
| Crime | Listed 11,23CFC offers crime in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. | Not listed |
| Cyber liability | Listed 9CFC offers cyber insurance, including primary and excess products. | Listed 32Kinro lists cyber liability and compares business details with carrier appetite. |
| Directors and officers | Listed 11CFC offers directors and officers liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. | Listed 32Kinro lists directors and officers insurance and compares business details with carrier appetite. |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 11CFC offers employment practices liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. CFC does not write standalone employment practices liability. | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 11CFC offers fiduciary liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. | Not listed |
| General liability | Listed 13CFC offers general liability within its property and casualty product. | Listed 32Kinro lists general liability and compares available carrier options. |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed 32Kinro lists hired and non-owned auto for liability questions involving personal or rented vehicles used for business. |
| Intellectual property | Listed 14CFC offers intellectual-property insurance for eligible businesses with revenue up to $500 million, depending on industry. | Not listed |
| Kidnap and ransom | Listed 15CFC offers kidnap and ransom insurance, including a specialist marine product. | Not listed |
| Management liability | Listed 10,11CFC offers a US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. | Not listed |
| Media liability | Listed 21CFC offers media liability insurance for content creators and media businesses. | Not listed |
| Product liability | Listed 22CFC offers product liability within its life-science and nutraceutical policies. | Not listed |
| Product recall | Listed 16CFC offers product-recall and contaminated-product-recall insurance. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 12CFC offers professional liability insurance for professional-service businesses. | Listed 32,43Kinro lists professional liability (errors and omissions) for claims tied to professional advice, errors, omissions or service mistakes. |
| Representations and warranties | Listed 17CFC offers buyer-side and seller-side representations and warranties insurance. | Not listed |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 2CFC offers technology errors and omissions for technology businesses. | Not listed |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 32Kinro arranges tools and equipment coverage through its inland marine offering. |
| Trucking | Not listed | Listed 32Kinro lists trucking insurance addressing auto liability, cargo, physical damage and trucking-specific filings or contract requirements. |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 18CFC offers excess professional liability, general liability and cyber limits for small and micro businesses. | Listed 32Kinro lists umbrella and excess liability insurance. |
| Virtual care and telehealth | Listed 19CFC offers an eHealth package for businesses delivering health care through technology, including telemedicine. | Not listed |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 32Kinro arranges workers’ compensation insurance and reviews state, payroll and class-code questions. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
CFC and Kinro Coverage, Line by Line
Open what CFC and Kinro each document for one coverage line.
Commercial Property Insurance
Cyber Insurance
D&O Insurance
General Liability Insurance
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance
CFC and Kinro Reliability Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
CFC Reliability Scores
Managing general agentCarrier & MGA
No Reliability Score
Kinro Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.0/ 10CFC and Kinro Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
CFC Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.
Read CFC reviewsKinro Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
We found no independent customer reviews of Kinro. It shows a 5.0 Google rating on its own website, but there is no review count or listing behind it.
Read Kinro reviewsKey Differences Between CFC and Kinro
A Review Service and an Underwriting Submission Answer Different Questions
Kinro accepts declarations pages, policies or renewal packets for its advertised free review. Its price-and-coverage improvement language is a company claim, not a tested result. CFC’s application asks about products, contracts, hosting, security controls and IP practices. Use the old policy to identify what is expiring, then reconcile the current business rather than copying last year’s description into a new submission. 33 3
Kinro separately describes professional-liability and cyber inputs. The reviewed catalogue does not establish that its general professional-liability offering is the same as CFC’s technology E&O package. Ask whether the proposed form covers the developer’s specific technology services and how cyber is included or placed alongside it; an unlisted technology label is not evidence Kinro cannot arrange it. 43 44 2
Clarify Who Is Advising the Buyer
Kinro’s September 27, 2026 terms define Kinro as Kinro, Inc. and its subsidiaries, including Kinro Insurance Services LLC; insurance is offered through that agency only where licensed. A separate written software agreement controls differences, so confirm the agreement and insurer for your placement. Request the applicable retail agreement and producer identity. 35
CFC’s disclosures distinguish its underwriting entity and US producer. A CFC application still returns to an insurance broker, whose account duties need to be specified. Kinro’s displayed market brands do not establish a CFC placement route or the legal insurer behind any replacement quote. 4 3 39
Renewal Shopping Needs a Continuity Plan
Kinro describes renewal shopping and text-based document support, while its reviewed sources do not establish dedicated claims-reporting instructions. CFC provides separate general claims and cyber incident channels. Before replacing coverage, document both the new policy’s notice requirements and how earlier work or known circumstances will be handled; service messages alone are not a claims procedure. 30 34 48 8
Kinro’s free review does not establish a fee-free placement: it discloses possible placement compensation without an account-specific schedule. CFC’s reviewed technology materials also leave buyer charges unresolved. Compare the final written totals, not Kinro’s general consultant benchmarks against an individually underwritten CFC offer. 47 46 2
What Should You Confirm in CFC and Kinro Quotes?
- Does the proposed professional form expressly address software development, hosting and client contracts, and how does it connect to cyber coverage? 43 3
- Which Kinro agreement and producer apply, and which insurer will issue the replacement? California authority remains a confirmation task. 35 50 4
- Who owns the renewal comparison, prior-work continuity, claims instructions and full compensation disclosure? 30 47 8
CFC vs Kinro Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | CFC | Kinro |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | CFC can quote specialist cover as an MGA, meaning it performs some underwriting functions for insurers that carry the risk. Its disclosures identify CFC Underwriting Limited and U.S. producer CFC USA, Inc.; the CFC brand is not the insurer name on every policy. 5,4Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment. | Kinro helps arrange coverage as a broker; its website names Kinro Insurance Services LLC and NPN 22233799, while the insurer on your policy takes the risk. 34,39Company-reported. Website identification and brokerage positioning only; LLC existence, NPN assignment, state licenses and insurer authority were not independently established. Kinro’s September 27, 2026 terms define Kinro as Kinro, Inc. and its subsidiaries, including Kinro Insurance Services LLC, and say insurance is offered through that agency only where licensed. A separate written software agreement controls where it differs from these terms; confirm the contracting entity on your insurance engagement. 35,34Company-reported. Company-published terms effective September 27, 2026 state the parent/subsidiary relationship and insurance-service scope. No placement-specific authority or contracting agreement was independently verified. Independent agencies can use Kinro’s market access and technology while retaining their customer relationship under contract; clarify who advises, binds, bills, services and handles renewals. 37,38Company-reported. B2B partner pathways; not a finding that all retail Kinro buyers work through a subproducer, or that Kinro has wholesale or MGA authority in a particular jurisdiction. |
| Application process | A senior staff member should expect to complete the technology application and send it to a broker; it asks for revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history. CFC Connect separately supports broker trading and appointments. 3,6Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment. | You can begin Kinro’s public four-step quote intake without a login by selecting your business activity; later steps, pricing and binding were not inspected. 31Company-reported. Observed initial unauthenticated interface in Chrome; no answers, personal information, uploads, account creation or submissions. Later access requirements unknown. Kinro says AI gathers business details and presents available quote options with licensed-agent help; its roughly two-minute follow-up is a company response-time claim, not a quote or binding deadline. 30Company-reported. Homepage FAQ and response claim; no interactions submitted or timing study performed. You can ask Kinro for a free review by uploading up to three policy or renewal files; its promise to find better pricing with equal or more coverage is company-reported, and no replacement quote was tested. 33Company-reported. Public upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification. |
| Access to insurers | Before binding a California technology policy, get the insurer and syndicate names in writing: CFC identifies Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta, but its US technology materials do not identify the insurer for a buyer’s quote. 4,2,3Not publicly disclosed. Technology coverage for a California applicant; Syndicate 1988 is not assigned to every CFC policy. | Kinro says it works with 50+ companies and displays Progressive, GEICO, AmTrust, Pie, Coterie and NEXT, but access depends on approval and logos do not identify your issuing insurer. 30,39Company-reported. Company-reported network size and displayed brands. Direct appointments, access through intermediaries, actual market search breadth and insurer financial strength are not independently verified. |
| Servicing and renewals | Cyber buyers can get threat monitoring, alerts, a response app and round-the-clock technical incident support according to CFC; check the proposed policy for access, scope and conditions. 7Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment. Agree on renewal timing, certificate turnaround and account support before choosing CFC; reviewed materials do not specify those commitments for California technology buyers. 6,3Not publicly disclosed. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment. | Kinro says it shops at renewal and sends text links to documents and certificates with reminders and coverage support; these are service descriptions, not turnaround guarantees. 30,34Company-reported. Retail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected. Before sharing business details, note that Kinro separates service texts from marketing consent, while its privacy policy says website activity may be linked to profiles for marketing. 34,36Company-reported. Published consent and privacy terms, not an audit of data practices or consent enforcement; privacy policy effective August 10, 2026. |
| Fees and compensation | Request premium, taxes, fees and intermediary pay in a written breakdown; CFC’s reviewed US technology materials do not disclose a buyer-specific price, commission rate or full charge schedule. 2,3,6Not publicly disclosed. Only the listed US technology and broker-process sources; no inference of free service or zero commission. Australian and unrelated Irish CFC disclosures are not US pricing evidence. | Kinro’s terms say it is usually paid a commission by the issuing insurer, included in the insurer-set premium. Its services are free to use unless a fee is disclosed before you agree to pay it. Ask for the commission and any proposed fee for your policy; the terms do not publish an account-specific amount. 35,47,37Company-reported. September 27, 2026 company terms describe buyer fees and insurer-paid commissions; no account-specific fee or commission rate is stated. Separate agency-partner economics are not retail rates. Consultants can use Kinro’s monthly benchmarks—$25–$35 GL, $50–$65 E&O and $90–$105 cyber—as rough market references, not quotes matched to an insurer, limit or deductible. 46Company-reported. One industry-page illustration, not Kinro-wide pricing or a comparable quote; underlying calculation methodology not established. |
Sources for CFC vs Kinro
CFC Official Website
- Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology companies — US application v2.4. CFC; Pages 1–8: completion instructions and Sections 1–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Regulatory information. CFC; CFC USA Inc.; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Connect broker trading portal. CFC; Get started; Products traded on Connect; FAQs: broker appointment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- CFC Response. CFC; Proactive protection; Immediate response; Real-time support. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Notify a claim or cyber incident. CFC; Experiencing a cyber incident now?; General enquiries or claims. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber insurance — US. CFC; Cyber product cards: Cyber Proactive Response, Cyber (admitted), Corporate cyber, Cyber excess. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Management liability. CFC; Management liability; Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: opening coverage list; What else is in the policy?; What we decline. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability. CFC; Our professional liability products; Professional liability (admitted). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Property & casualty. CFC; Property & casualty product description: property and general liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Intellectual property insurance. CFC; Intellectual property product introduction; Key features; Defense; Pursuit of infringers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Kidnap and ransom. CFC; Kidnap & ransom product cards and Key features. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Product recall. CFC; Contaminated product recall and Product recall product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Transaction liability. CFC; Transaction liability; Buyer protect; Seller protect; Secondary liquidity solutions; Limit & appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Umbrella cover. CFC; Umbrella cover product description: policy lines, small and micro businesses, primary placement with CFC or others. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Digital health insurance. CFC; eHealth product: Telemedicine, mHealth, Artificial intelligence, Remote patient monitoring. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Medical malpractice. CFC; Our medical malpractice products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Media & entertainment. CFC; Media product description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Life science. CFC; What does CFC’s life science policy cover?; Life sciences and Nutraceuticals product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Fintech insurance. CFC; What does CFC’s fintech policy cover?; Fintech product. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Financial institutions. CFC; Financial institutions professional indemnity; Investment managers; SME banks. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Carbon insurance. CFC; Carbon delivery; Carbon cancellation; Carbon lender non-payment; CORSIA guarantee. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Safeprotect misconduct liability. CFC; Safeprotect product; Praesidium services. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terrorism. CFC; Introduction: standalone terrorism policy. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Marine. CFC; Introduction: hull war and marine kidnap & ransom. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- CFC launches admitted offerings for professional liability and technology E&O. CFC; 21 March 2023 announcement: admitted technology E&O; broker quote, bind and adjustment process. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Kinro Official Website
- Kinro Business Insurance. Kinro; Hero; Clear guidance before you buy; industry groups; carrier-logo strip; Insurance expertise; FAQs on follow-up, purchase obligation and AI; footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Start A New Quote. Kinro; New Autoquote; Start a new quote, step 1 of 4; business activity selector. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Insurance Products. Kinro; Most common starting points (General Liability, Commercial Auto); 02 BOP / Package / Business Owner’s Policy; 03 WC / Employee coverage (state, payroll and class-code questions); 05 Trucking Insurance; 06 E&O / Advice and services / Professional Liability / E&O; 09 Umbrella / Excess Liability; Vehicles, property, and field operations (Commercial Property, Hired & Non-Owned Auto); Product 11: Tools & Equipment / Inland Marine; Professional, cyber, and leadership risk (Cyber Liability, Directors & Officers); How Kinro narrows it down: carrier fit. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Free Review Of Your Insurance Policy. Kinro; Introductory price/coverage claim and step 1 of 2 upload panel; accepted documents and file limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Text Updates From Kinro. Kinro; Brokerage description; Who sends them (Kinro, Inc.); service and optional marketing consent; What you will receive; LLC footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms Of Service. Kinro; Effective September 27, 2026; introduction and Who we are (Kinro, Inc. and subsidiaries, including Kinro Insurance Services LLC; insurance offered only where licensed); Our services (advance disclosure of any fee); Quotes and coverage; How we are paid (usual insurer-paid commission included in premium); Communications / Mobile messaging terms; Disclaimers; Other agreements (separate written agreement controls differences); Kinro Insurance Services LLC / NPN footer. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Privacy Policy. Kinro; Effective August 10, 2026; Website Visitor Identification and Marketing Partners; Sharing and Disclosure; Mobile Messaging Privacy. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Carrier Access For Agencies And Independent Agents. Kinro; Opening role description; Carrier access; High commission rates; approval and written-agreement qualifications; How to get started. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Insurance Placement Support. Kinro; Appetite fit; Placement path; Client and servicing ownership; no-guarantee paragraph after step 3. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- For Carriers And MGAs. Kinro; Product access; API integration; approvals paragraph after Dormant lead recovery. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- General Liability. Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need; Coverage comparison and actual-policy qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Owner’s Policy. Kinro; Introduction; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need; Market fit. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers Compensation. Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need, including payroll by state, owner inclusion/exclusion and employee duties. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Professional Liability / E&O. Kinro; Product file; Common fit; Inputs carriers usually need, including services, client types, prior claims, retroactive dates and current coverage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Liability. Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need, including data, MFA, backups, vendor access and prior incidents. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Directors & Officers. Kinro; Common fit; What it usually handles; Inputs carriers usually need; Market fit. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Consultant Insurance. Kinro; How much does consultant insurance cost?; benchmark amounts; FAQ on reviewing a client insurance clause; Typical market benchmarks qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Review Methodology. Kinro; Updated August 30, 2026; Reviews are general information; Authorship and insurance review; Editorial independence and automation (compensation and nonpublic access relationships). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Contact Kinro. Kinro; Opening policy-support description; direct contact channels and message form. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Look Up A National Producer Number. National Insurance Producer Registry; Definition: NPN is a unique NAIC identifier assigned during the licensing application process; assigned to individuals and business entities. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Name Search. California Department of Insurance; Search for Kinro on September 15, 2026; the public lookup could not be completed and no license result was returned. Accessed 2026-09-15.
