CFC vs Cowbell: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

CFC combines technology E&O, cyber and media/IP; Cowbell offers Prime Tech and separate Prime Tech Plus excess coverage.

Introduction to the CFC vs Cowbell Comparison

A SaaS company whose customer contracts require higher limits should compare Cowbell’s Prime Tech underlying policy and Prime Tech Plus attachment with CFC’s combined package. Choose CFC for technology coverage bundled with media/IP; choose Cowbell for a defined primary-and-excess structure. 2 6 45 46 37

Buyer Takeaways for CFC vs Cowbell

CFC Buyer Takeaways

  • Eligible technology businesses can combine E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability. 2Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
  • Cyber policyholders may get threat monitoring, alerts and 24/7 incident support. 7Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Cowbell Buyer Takeaways

  • Compare Cowbell’s primary and excess cyber options against your company’s size and risk. 38,40,41,42,43,44Company-reported. Current U.S. broker-resource catalogue and product overviews. Product descriptions are illustrative and actual forms control.
  • Cyber policies may include risk insights and training; other security services are optional. 51,40,44Company-reported. Current U.S. resiliency-services catalogue and cyber product overviews. Eligibility, third-party terms and whether a service is bundled depend on the policy and service agreement.

CFC vs Cowbell Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCFCCowbell
Commercial propertyListed 13CFC offers property coverage within its property and casualty product.Not listed
CrimeListed 11,23CFC offers crime in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Listed 47,48Cowbell offers a crime module in Zurich Select Plus for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers.
Cyber liabilityListed 9CFC offers cyber insurance, including primary and excess products.Listed 40,41,42,43,44Cowbell offers standalone and excess cyber products through its insurance-agency business.
Directors and officersListed 11CFC offers directors and officers liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Listed 47,48Cowbell offers Zurich Select Plus D&O for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers.
Employment practices liabilityListed 11CFC offers employment practices liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. CFC does not write standalone employment practices liability.Listed 47,48Cowbell offers Zurich Select Plus employment practices coverage for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers.
Fiduciary liabilityListed 11CFC offers fiduciary liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Listed 47,48Cowbell offers Zurich Select Plus fiduciary liability for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers.
General liabilityListed 13CFC offers general liability within its property and casualty product.Not listed
Intellectual propertyListed 14CFC offers intellectual-property insurance for eligible businesses with revenue up to $500 million, depending on industry.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 15CFC offers kidnap and ransom insurance, including a specialist marine product.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 10,11CFC offers a US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Listed 47,48Cowbell provides access to Zurich management liability for private businesses with fewer than 250 employees and under $50 million in assets through Zurich-appointed wholesalers.
Media liabilityListed 21CFC offers media liability insurance for content creators and media businesses.Not listed
Product liabilityListed 22CFC offers product liability within its life-science and nutraceutical policies.Not listed
Product recallListed 16CFC offers product-recall and contaminated-product-recall insurance.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 12CFC offers professional liability insurance for professional-service businesses.Not listed
Representations and warrantiesListed 17CFC offers buyer-side and seller-side representations and warranties insurance.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2CFC offers technology errors and omissions for technology businesses.Listed 45,46Cowbell markets combined technology errors and omissions and cyber coverage, plus follow-form excess, for technology businesses with revenue up to $1 billion.
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 18CFC offers excess professional liability, general liability and cyber limits for small and micro businesses.Not listed
Virtual care and telehealthListed 19CFC offers an eHealth package for businesses delivering health care through technology, including telemedicine.Not listed

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

CFC vs Cowbell Research by Coverage Line

Open what CFC and Cowbell each document for one coverage line.

Current Reliability Scores for CFC and Cowbell

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

CFC Reliability Scores

Managing general agent

Carrier & MGA

No Reliability Score

Provider assessment

CFC and Cowbell Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

CFC Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.

Read CFC reviews

Cowbell Review Score

2.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

Cowbell has one public rating we could find: 1.0 out of 5 on SourceForge from three reviews in 2023. That's too few and too old to say much.

Read Cowbell reviews

Key Differences Between CFC and Cowbell

Choose the Primary Policy Before the Extra Limit

Cowbell’s admitted and non-admitted cyber products have different appetites; Prime Tech is specifically non-admitted combined technology E&O/cyber. Its materials describe surplus-lines availability in all 50 states, subject to underwriting. CFC’s reviewed technology sources do not establish the current California admitted-versus-surplus route for a particular startup. That difference in public specificity should prompt a placement check, not a conclusion that CFC cannot write the risk. 45 38 1 4

An excess offer is meaningful only in relation to the underlying policy. Cowbell describes Prime Tech Plus as follow-form excess, whereas CFC separately markets umbrella protection above professional liability, general liability or cyber. Ask which underlying forms each proposal will accept and what deviations remain; the two excess labels do not establish identical treatment of a software-failure claim. 46 18

Security Support Has Its Own Service Boundaries

CFC describes threat monitoring, alerts and round-the-clock technical response. Cowbell describes risk insights, training and security services, with some offerings limited to trials or supplied by subscription. Have the security lead identify which services duplicate existing tools, which require activation, and which disappear or become chargeable after the first term. Neither provider’s service list measures the quality of an eventual claims outcome. 7 51

Cowbell’s public renewal instructions distinguish Prime 100 from Prime 250; they should not be silently applied to Prime Tech. CFC’s reviewed Connect and application materials do not establish a universal buyer renewal timetable. Obtain the process for the two actual quoted programs, especially if a higher limit requires updated underwriting. 49 6 3

A Later Board Policy Is a Different Placement

Cowbell’s Zurich Select Plus management program uses a specific appointed-wholesaler route, separate from assuming access through any cyber agent. CFC’s US management-liability brochure declines California-domiciled businesses. If the SaaS company is also adding board protection, resolve those routes independently rather than treating either technology purchase as a complete corporate program. 48 11

What Should You Confirm in CFC and Cowbell Quotes?

  • Identify the primary technology form, legal insurer, California placement route and excess attachment conditions. Product-specific insurer names elsewhere in Cowbell’s catalogue and CFC’s syndicate disclosure are not substitutes for the declarations. 45 46 4
  • Price included cyber services separately from trials, subscriptions, payment charges and insurance premium. 51 49 7
  • Agree on the incident hotline, formal notice recipient and broker’s role when an event affects both E&O and cyber sections. 50 8

CFC vs Cowbell Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaCFCCowbell
Application process

A senior staff member should expect to complete the technology application and send it to a broker; it asks for revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history. CFC Connect separately supports broker trading and appointments. 3,6Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Buyers work through an insurance agent or broker; appointed agents use Cowbell’s platform to quote, bind and issue eligible products, and no direct-buyer quote path was documented. 37,30,38,40Company-reported. Current public U.S. buyer and broker paths. This does not establish that every listed agent can access every Cowbell product.

Access to insurers

Before binding a California technology policy, get the insurer and syndicate names in writing: CFC identifies Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta, but its US technology materials do not identify the insurer for a buyer’s quote. 4,2,3Not publicly disclosed. Technology coverage for a California applicant; Syndicate 1988 is not assigned to every CFC policy.

Ask which insurer is on your declarations: Cowbell names Palomar for Prime 100/100 Pro, Palomar and Chaucer for Prime 250, Chaucer for Prime One, and more general carrier descriptions for excess, Tech Plus and Select Plus. 40,41,42,43,44,46,47,36Company-reported. Named paper providers in the current reviewed product materials. The quote and policy must identify the actual insurer for a specific product, state and account.

Availability

California buyers should confirm product eligibility and current license authority before applying: CFC reports all-state producer licenses and surplus-lines authorization in four states, including California. It identifies CFC General Insurance Agency, Inc. as its California licensing name; this disclosure was not independently checked. 4Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

California-domiciled businesses should look elsewhere for the described management-liability product, and standalone EPL is also listed as declined. This restriction applies to the January 2026 brochure’s offering, not every CFC product. 11Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Ask CFC for a current California eligibility answer before spending time on a technology application; reviewed pages do not establish the route for a particular startup. A 2023 admitted Tech E&O announcement does not supply a current product schedule. 1,2,3,29Not found in reviewed sources. California technology-product access only. General producer authorization is separate from product eligibility. No live quote or state filing was obtained.

Confirm the exact product and state before applying: Cowbell publishes licenses for all states and DC, but current product availability differs—Prime 100 Pro is listed in 47 states, while Prime 250 and Prime Tech describe broader surplus availability. 34,35,41,42,45Company-reported. Company-published U.S. licensing and current product availability. A California public lookup for the producer could not be completed, so the agency's current national license status was not independently confirmed.

Servicing and renewals

Cyber buyers can get threat monitoring, alerts, a response app and round-the-clock technical incident support according to CFC; check the proposed policy for access, scope and conditions. 7Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Agree on renewal timing, certificate turnaround and account support before choosing CFC; reviewed materials do not specify those commitments for California technology buyers. 6,3Not publicly disclosed. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Cowbell pairs cyber coverage with risk ratings, policyholder insights, security connectors, training and resiliency support; included access may be limited or trial-based, while some services require a subscription. 51,40,44Company-reported. Current U.S. resiliency-services catalogue and cyber product overviews. Eligibility, third-party terms and whether a service is bundled depend on the policy and service agreement.

Ask your agent how to request changes or cancel; Cowbell directs policyholders to agents for cancellations and agents to Cowbell for endorsements. Prime 100 renewal proposals start around 60 days before expiry; Prime 250 requires a signed application and underwriting. 49Company-reported. Current public FAQ for P100 and P250; other products and individual policy terms may use different servicing and renewal procedures.

Fees and compensation

Request premium, taxes, fees and intermediary pay in a written breakdown; CFC’s reviewed US technology materials do not disclose a buyer-specific price, commission rate or full charge schedule. 2,3,6Not publicly disclosed. Only the listed US technology and broker-process sources; no inference of free service or zero commission. Australian and unrelated Irish CFC disclosures are not US pricing evidence.

Cowbell lists several payment methods and financing for direct-billed policies; credit cards carry a disclosed 2.99% processing fee, and financing terms are shown before enrollment. 49Company-reported. Current U.S. direct-bill FAQ. Agency-billed policies use different payment routes, and policy invoices control account-specific instructions.

Request your broker’s compensation disclosure and itemized premium because reviewed US sources do not publish Cowbell’s producer commissions or universal premiums. 31,49,34,39Not found in reviewed sources. Review of Cowbell's U.S. terms, FAQ, licensing page and current product overviews as of 15 September 2026; this is not a finding that compensation or other fees do not exist.

Sources for CFC vs Cowbell

CFC Official Website

  1. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology companies — US application v2.4. CFC; Pages 1–8: completion instructions and Sections 1–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC USA Inc.; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Connect broker trading portal. CFC; Get started; Products traded on Connect; FAQs: broker appointment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. CFC Response. CFC; Proactive protection; Immediate response; Real-time support. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Notify a claim or cyber incident. CFC; Experiencing a cyber incident now?; General enquiries or claims. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. Cyber insurance — US. CFC; Cyber product cards: Cyber Proactive Response, Cyber (admitted), Corporate cyber, Cyber excess. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Management liability. CFC; Management liability; Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  11. Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: opening coverage list; What else is in the policy?; What we decline. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. Professional liability. CFC; Our professional liability products; Professional liability (admitted). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  13. Property & casualty. CFC; Property & casualty product description: property and general liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. Intellectual property insurance. CFC; Intellectual property product introduction; Key features; Defense; Pursuit of infringers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  15. Kidnap and ransom. CFC; Kidnap & ransom product cards and Key features. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  16. Product recall. CFC; Contaminated product recall and Product recall product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  17. Transaction liability. CFC; Transaction liability; Buyer protect; Seller protect; Secondary liquidity solutions; Limit & appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  18. Umbrella cover. CFC; Umbrella cover product description: policy lines, small and micro businesses, primary placement with CFC or others. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  19. Digital health insurance. CFC; eHealth product: Telemedicine, mHealth, Artificial intelligence, Remote patient monitoring. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  20. Medical malpractice. CFC; Our medical malpractice products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  21. Media & entertainment. CFC; Media product description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  22. Life science. CFC; What does CFC’s life science policy cover?; Life sciences and Nutraceuticals product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  23. Fintech insurance. CFC; What does CFC’s fintech policy cover?; Fintech product. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  24. Financial institutions. CFC; Financial institutions professional indemnity; Investment managers; SME banks. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  25. Carbon insurance. CFC; Carbon delivery; Carbon cancellation; Carbon lender non-payment; CORSIA guarantee. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  26. Safeprotect misconduct liability. CFC; Safeprotect product; Praesidium services. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  27. Terrorism. CFC; Introduction: standalone terrorism policy. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  28. Marine. CFC; Introduction: hull war and marine kidnap & ransom. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  29. CFC launches admitted offerings for professional liability and technology E&O. CFC; 21 March 2023 announcement: admitted technology E&O; broker quote, bind and adjustment process. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Cowbell Official Website

  1. Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Terms And Conditions. Cowbell; Opening paragraphs identifying Cowbell Cyber, Inc. and its subsidiaries; Paid Services §3; footer producer disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Company. Cowbell; Technology That Signals Protection; Backed By Prominent Venture And Growth Investors; office locations; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. Our Next Era — Cowbell Closes $60M Series C Round. Cowbell; 26 July 2024 announcement describing Zurich as a Series C investor and partner. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. License Information. Cowbell; Cowbell Insurance Agency LLC producer and surplus-lines license lists for 50 states and the District of Columbia; footer availability qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Palomar Specialty Insurance Company — Company Profile. California Department of Insurance; Company information: NAIC 20338, California ID 1969-5, Unlimited-Normal status, property-and-casualty company, Oregon domicile. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  7. Find An Agent. Cowbell; State selector and directory of appointed U.S. agents and brokers. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  8. Broker Resources. Cowbell; Current U.S. sales enablement catalog listing Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One, Prime Plus, Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus materials. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  9. Cowbell Overview. Cowbell; Our Products: cyber, Professional Indemnity, Zurich management liability and Cowbell Resiliency Services; product-level qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  10. Prime 100 Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: admitted standalone cyber for businesses up to $100 million revenue; Palomar paper; coverage descriptions; US0001 1025 disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  11. Prime 100 Pro Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: admitted cyber for businesses up to $100 million; enhanced options and $3 million limit; 47-state list; Palomar paper; US0001 0826 disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. Prime 250 Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted standalone cyber for businesses up to $1 billion; 50 states and D.C.; Palomar and Chaucer paper; illustrative-coverage disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  13. Prime One Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–3: non-admitted cyber for advanced digital exposures, typically $250 million-plus revenue; selected risks up to $10 million; Chaucer Specialty; US0001 0426. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. Prime Plus Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–2: non-admitted follow-form excess cyber for businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million excess limits; A-rated carriers; US0001 0226. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  15. Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  16. Prime Tech Plus Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–3: Seamless excess protection: follow-form excess Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; A-rated paper; edition PRIME PLUS US0002 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  17. Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises. Cowbell; FAQs: How can I access… and What size accounts are targeted?; Cowbell Management Liability introduction; Zurich Select Plus description: admitted paper; private-company D&O, employment practices, fiduciary liability and crime modules. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  18. Small And Midsize Business Management Liability. Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; modular suite: D&O, Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability, Fiduciary Liability and Crime modules; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets; access and target-account FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  19. Frequently Asked Questions. Cowbell; Policy cancellation; direct- and agency-bill payment; 2.99% credit-card fee; premium financing; P100 and P250 renewals; endorsements; risk-engineering call. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  20. Claims And Incident Response Services. Cowbell; Cowbell Claims Approach; incident-response panel; reporting channels; initial company, incident-date and contact information; claims assistance description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  21. Cowbell Resiliency Services. Cowbell; Cybersecurity services; policyholder access and trials; subscription services; service-provider and insurance-coverage qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to CFC vs Cowbell

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation