Kinro vs
Lockton: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Kinro offers small-business policy reviews and text-based document support; Lockton describes a dedicated 24/7 team for technology accounts.
Introduction to the Kinro vs Lockton Comparison
A 15-person professional-services firm handling frequent certificates and adding a software product may need both fast document help and technology expertise. Kinro links policy and certificate support through text updates; Lockton describes a dedicated technology team and 24/7 service. 5 23 Choose Kinro if the main burden is policy and certificate follow-up; choose Lockton if your software exposure needs a dedicated technology team.
A 15-person professional-services firm with a messy renewal packet, frequent certificate requests, and a new software product that might need directors and officers (D&O) liability is choosing review-and-text servicing versus specialist technology teams. They can be substitute retail brokers; the operating cadence is different. 5 25
Buyer Takeaways for Kinro vs Lockton
Kinro Buyer Takeaways
- Get a free review of an existing policy or renewal packet before deciding whether to replace it. 4Company-reported. Public upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.
- Kinro says it shops the market at renewal and sends text links to documents, certificates and coverage support. 1,5Company-reported. Retail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected.
Lockton Buyer Takeaways
- Lockton brokers help businesses arrange insurance, employee benefits and retirement programs. 22,34,41Company-reported. Company-reported US brand and Terms of Business. The contracting Lockton company can differ by client. Private-ownership and independence claims are marketing statements, not a regulatory finding.
- Technology clients can compare options for cyber, D&O, liability, property and benefits with Lockton. 23,24,25,26,27,28,29,30,31Company-reported. Direct US product and industry pages accessed 16 September 2026. Technology errors and omissions is discussed in educational Lockton articles but was not added from those articles alone. Catalogue entries from the private-equity page are marketed in that industry context.
Kinro vs Lockton Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Kinro | Lockton |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Listed 3Kinro lists a business owner’s policy in its product catalog. | Not listed |
| Cargo and transit | Not listed | Listed 26Lockton arranges cargo insurance. |
| Commercial auto | Listed 3As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial auto and describes matching business details to carrier appetite. | Listed 26Lockton arranges commercial auto insurance. |
| Commercial property | Listed 3As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial property and describes matching business details to carrier appetite. | Listed 27Lockton arranges commercial property insurance. |
| Crime | Not listed | Listed 31Lockton arranges commercial crime insurance. |
| Cyber liability | Listed 3Kinro lists cyber liability and compares business details with carrier appetite. | Listed 24,23Lockton arranges cyber insurance. |
| Directors and officers | Listed 3Kinro lists directors and officers insurance and compares business details with carrier appetite. | Listed 25,23Lockton arranges directors and officers liability insurance. |
| Employee health and benefits | Not listed | Listed 29Lockton arranges employee health and benefits programs. |
| Employment practices liability | Not listed | Listed 31Lockton arranges employment practices liability insurance. |
| Fiduciary liability | Not listed | Listed 30Lockton arranges fiduciary liability insurance. |
| General liability | Listed 3Kinro lists general liability and compares available carrier options. | Listed 26Lockton arranges general liability insurance. |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Listed 3Kinro lists hired and non-owned auto for liability questions involving personal or rented vehicles used for business. | Not listed |
| Key person | Not listed | Listed 31Lockton arranges key person insurance. |
| Product liability | Not listed | Listed 26Lockton arranges product liability insurance. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 3,14Kinro lists professional liability (errors and omissions) for claims tied to professional advice, errors, omissions or service mistakes. | Listed 31Lockton arranges professional errors and omissions insurance. |
| Representations and warranties | Not listed | Listed 31Lockton arranges representations and warranties insurance. |
| Surety bonds | Not listed | Listed 31Lockton arranges surety bonds. |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Listed 3Kinro arranges tools and equipment coverage through its inland marine offering. | Not listed |
| Trucking | Listed 3Kinro lists trucking insurance addressing auto liability, cargo, physical damage and trucking-specific filings or contract requirements. | Not listed |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 3Kinro lists umbrella and excess liability insurance. | Listed 26Lockton arranges umbrella and excess liability insurance. |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 3Kinro arranges workers’ compensation insurance and reviews state, payroll and class-code questions. | Listed 28,26Lockton arranges workers’ compensation insurance. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Kinro vs Lockton Research by Coverage Line
Open what Kinro and Lockton each document for one coverage line.
Commercial Auto Insurance
Commercial Property Insurance
Cyber Insurance
D&O Insurance
General Liability Insurance
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Umbrella and Excess Liability Insurance
Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Current Reliability Scores for Kinro and Lockton
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Kinro Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.0/ 10Lockton Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.6/ 10Kinro and Lockton Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Kinro Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
We found no independent customer reviews of Kinro. It shows a 5.0 Google rating on its own website, but there is no review count or listing behind it.
Read Kinro reviewsLockton Review Score
Review Score
3 rated sources
Lockton’s reviews vary by office and entity. Local Google-derived ratings provide some service feedback, but no reliable firmwide verdict.
Read Lockton reviewsKey Differences Between Kinro and Lockton
Starting Point
Kinro’s free review is not a promise of replacement terms. Lockton’s inquiry is not a review of your current policies unless the team agrees to that scope. 1 33
How You Hear Back
Kinro describes text updates linking to documents, certificates and coverage support, with privacy terms that matter if staff use personal phones. 5 Lockton describes a dedicated service team and 24/7 technology servicing language, without text messaging as the published channel. 23
Price Signals
Kinro discloses compensation and publishes consultant-style price benchmarks that are not your quote. Lockton discloses commission, fee and contingent types without those benchmarks. 34
What Should You Confirm in Kinro and Lockton Quotes?
Kinro vs Lockton Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Kinro | Lockton |
|---|---|---|
| Customer focus | Kinro helps U.S. small businesses identify insurance needs and compare available options through an agency. You can start with business questions online or ask for help by phone, text, email, or chat. 1,19Company-reported. Current retail offering at kinro.com; documented function, not independently tested placement or service outcomes. | Technology, hardware, software, internet, medical-device, semiconductor and telecom organizations can ask Lockton about brokerage; public pages give no company-size, funding or revenue minimum. 22,23,31Company-reported. US technology, homepage and private-equity service pages. Presence of a technology practice is not an eligibility guarantee for a bootstrapped or early-stage startup. |
| Application process | You can begin Kinro’s public four-step quote intake without a login by selecting your business activity; later steps, pricing and binding were not inspected. 2Company-reported. Observed initial unauthenticated interface in Chrome; no answers, personal information, uploads, account creation or submissions. Later access requirements unknown. Kinro says AI gathers business details and presents available quote options with licensed-agent help; its roughly two-minute follow-up is a company response-time claim, not a quote or binding deadline. 1Company-reported. Homepage FAQ and response claim; no interactions submitted or timing study performed. You can ask Kinro for a free review by uploading up to three policy or renewal files; its promise to find better pricing with equal or more coverage is company-reported, and no replacement quote was tested. 4Company-reported. Public upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification. | You can start with a Lockton team inquiry or email its cyber and technology group; reviewed pages do not offer a self-service bind flow or guaranteed quote turnaround. 33,22,36,24,35Company-reported. US contact, privacy, technology and cyber-technology pages. Form submission was not completed. Website terms state site content is general information, not broking advice. |
| Servicing and renewals | Kinro says it shops at renewal and sends text links to documents and certificates with reminders and coverage support; these are service descriptions, not turnaround guarantees. 1,5Company-reported. Retail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected. Before sharing business details, note that Kinro separates service texts from marketing consent, while its privacy policy says website activity may be linked to profiles for marketing. 5,7Company-reported. Published consent and privacy terms, not an audit of data practices or consent enforcement; privacy policy effective August 10, 2026. | Lockton describes dedicated account teams, risk control and renewal service, including a round-the-clock technology service model; confirm actual service commitments and portal features because public pages provide no standard service agreement. 26,23,34,27,22Company-reported. Company service descriptions and default Terms of Business; a signed services agreement can differ. Portal capabilities remain undocumented in this review. |
| Fees and compensation | Kinro’s terms say it is usually paid a commission by the issuing insurer, included in the insurer-set premium. Its services are free to use unless a fee is disclosed before you agree to pay it. Ask for the commission and any proposed fee for your policy; the terms do not publish an account-specific amount. 6,18,8Company-reported. September 27, 2026 company terms describe buyer fees and insurer-paid commissions; no account-specific fee or commission rate is stated. Separate agency-partner economics are not retail rates. Consultants can use Kinro’s monthly benchmarks—$25–$35 GL, $50–$65 E&O and $90–$105 cyber—as rough market references, not quotes matched to an insurer, limit or deductible. 17Company-reported. One industry-page illustration, not Kinro-wide pricing or a comparable quote; underlying calculation methodology not established. | Request all commissions and fees for your account: Lockton’s terms allow insurer commissions, client fees, contingent/supplemental compensation, insurer service fees, affiliate reinsurance income and finance interest, but publish no standard rates. 34Company-reported. Compensation Disclosure section of US Terms of Business. Amounts for a given account are not disclosed on the public site. |
| Claims assistance | Get the policy’s claim instructions and responsible insurer or administrator before binding because Kinro’s public materials do not establish a dedicated claims route or adjuster. 19,5,9Not publicly disclosed. Scoped absence of detailed first-notice-of-loss instructions and administrator identification in these reviewed sources; not a finding that Kinro offers no claims assistance. | Lockton says its integrated claims team helps investigate, map facts to coverage and negotiate with insurers, but Lockton does not pay claims; service descriptions do not establish claim outcomes or quality. 23,25,30,32,28,34Company-reported. Company-reported advocacy and consulting. Lockton is not identified as the claims-paying insurer. |
Sources for Kinro vs Lockton
Kinro Official Website
- Kinro Business Insurance. Kinro; Hero; Clear guidance before you buy; industry groups; carrier-logo strip; Insurance expertise; FAQs on follow-up, purchase obligation and AI; footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Start A New Quote. Kinro; New Autoquote; Start a new quote, step 1 of 4; business activity selector. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Insurance Products. Kinro; Most common starting points (General Liability, Commercial Auto); 02 BOP / Package / Business Owner’s Policy; 03 WC / Employee coverage (state, payroll and class-code questions); 05 Trucking Insurance; 06 E&O / Advice and services / Professional Liability / E&O; 09 Umbrella / Excess Liability; Vehicles, property, and field operations (Commercial Property, Hired & Non-Owned Auto); Product 11: Tools & Equipment / Inland Marine; Professional, cyber, and leadership risk (Cyber Liability, Directors & Officers); How Kinro narrows it down: carrier fit. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Free Review Of Your Insurance Policy. Kinro; Introductory price/coverage claim and step 1 of 2 upload panel; accepted documents and file limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Text Updates From Kinro. Kinro; Brokerage description; Who sends them (Kinro, Inc.); service and optional marketing consent; What you will receive; LLC footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms Of Service. Kinro; Effective September 27, 2026; introduction and Who we are (Kinro, Inc. and subsidiaries, including Kinro Insurance Services LLC; insurance offered only where licensed); Our services (advance disclosure of any fee); Quotes and coverage; How we are paid (usual insurer-paid commission included in premium); Communications / Mobile messaging terms; Disclaimers; Other agreements (separate written agreement controls differences); Kinro Insurance Services LLC / NPN footer. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Privacy Policy. Kinro; Effective August 10, 2026; Website Visitor Identification and Marketing Partners; Sharing and Disclosure; Mobile Messaging Privacy. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Carrier Access For Agencies And Independent Agents. Kinro; Opening role description; Carrier access; High commission rates; approval and written-agreement qualifications; How to get started. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Insurance Placement Support. Kinro; Appetite fit; Placement path; Client and servicing ownership; no-guarantee paragraph after step 3. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- For Carriers And MGAs. Kinro; Product access; API integration; approvals paragraph after Dormant lead recovery. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- General Liability. Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need; Coverage comparison and actual-policy qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Owner’s Policy. Kinro; Introduction; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need; Market fit. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers Compensation. Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need, including payroll by state, owner inclusion/exclusion and employee duties. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Professional Liability / E&O. Kinro; Product file; Common fit; Inputs carriers usually need, including services, client types, prior claims, retroactive dates and current coverage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Liability. Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need, including data, MFA, backups, vendor access and prior incidents. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Directors & Officers. Kinro; Common fit; What it usually handles; Inputs carriers usually need; Market fit. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Consultant Insurance. Kinro; How much does consultant insurance cost?; benchmark amounts; FAQ on reviewing a client insurance clause; Typical market benchmarks qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Review Methodology. Kinro; Updated August 30, 2026; Reviews are general information; Authorship and insurance review; Editorial independence and automation (compensation and nonpublic access relationships). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Contact Kinro. Kinro; Opening policy-support description; direct contact channels and message form. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Look Up A National Producer Number. National Insurance Producer Registry; Definition: NPN is a unique NAIC identifier assigned during the licensing application process; assigned to individuals and business entities. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Name Search. California Department of Insurance; Search for Kinro on September 15, 2026; the public lookup could not be completed and no license result was returned. Accessed 2026-09-15.
Lockton Official Website
- Lockton United States. Lockton; Opening description of independent insurance brokerage for risk, benefits and retirement; Ask an Expert link to contact-us. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. Lockton; Industry introduction; cyber liability heading; dedicated technology team; listed services including claims advocacy, contract review, directors and officers liability, and international program design; 24/7 service model. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber & Technology. Lockton; A complete solution to inform, improve, and insure cyber and privacy risk; insurer partnerships; Insure step including claim life cycle; contact cyber@lockton.com. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- D&O Insurance. Lockton; Program description; Side A/B/C overview; who can be covered; Claims management and Professional & Executive Risk Claims team. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Casualty Insurance. Lockton; Introduction on designing and placing liability, auto and workers’ compensation programs; Casualty Insurance Solutions: Auto, Cargo, General & Product Liability, Umbrella & Excess Liability, Workers’ Compensation; dedicated service team. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Property Insurance. Lockton; Matching property risks to the global marketplace; manuscript property policy; assistance with complex claim recovery. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Workers' Compensation. Lockton; Program design with claims experts; access to more than 100 regional, global and program markets; claims service advocates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Lockton People Solutions. Lockton; Introducing Lockton People Solutions; integrated health and risk programs; FAQ on products (employee experiences, total rewards and benefits, management and measurement) and private ownership. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Fiduciary Liability Insurance. Lockton; What is fiduciary liability insurance; typical coverage list; claims management; distinction from ERISA bonds. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Risk & People Solutions for Private Equity Firms. Lockton; Lockton capabilities across the investment life cycle: D&O/GPL, transaction insurance (reps, tax, litigation), E&O, crime and FI bonds, cyber, EPL, surety, portfolio company programs, key person insurance and benefits design. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Loss Prevention and Claims. Lockton; Claims consulting description: investigations, policy mapping, discussions with insurer lawyers and loss adjusters; documenting and presenting claims. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. Lockton; Inquiry form requiring Terms of Use and Privacy Notice acknowledgment; general enquiries mailbox disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- US Terms of Business. Lockton; Opening entity definition; Surplus Lines; Use of a Particular Insurer; Compensation Disclosure; servicing, claims handling and renewal language in Confidentiality section; Intermediaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Lockton US Terms of Use. Lockton; Who we are: Lockton, Inc., Missouri corporation, charter number 00498854; Kansas City principal office; last updated October 15, 2021; Site content is general information, not broking or insurance advice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Lockton Companies Website Privacy Notice. Lockton; Last updated January 2025; collection when visitors solicit an insurance policy quote; disclosure to insurance companies and intermediaries for quotes. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Offices - Lockton US. Lockton; Global headquarters Kansas City, 444 W 47th St. Suite 900; US inquiry email KC-Inquiries@lockton.com. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Lockton Insurance Brokers - San Francisco. Lockton; Office heading Lockton Insurance Brokers - San Francisco; Suite 600, Three Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Lockton Insurance Brokers - Los Angeles. Lockton; Office heading and 777 S. Figueroa St. Suite 5200, Los Angeles, CA 90017. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Lockton Insurance Brokers - Irvine. Lockton; Office heading and 19800 MacArthur Blvd., Irvine, CA 92612. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Our Story. Lockton; Independence changes everything; family organization and private ownership statements; insurance, employee benefits consulting and retirement services. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Lockton-produced certificate of insurance producer header. Lockton; Producer block: Lockton Companies, LLC DBA Lockton Insurance Brokers, LLC in CA; CA license #0F15767. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- California Department of Insurance — Check a License. California Department of Insurance; Public license-status inquiry page. Accessed 2026-09-16.
