Counterpart vs Nationwide: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

This comparison sets Counterpart’s and Nationwide’s documented business roles, listed products and quote routes side by side; a catalogue match does not establish equivalent policy terms.

An Overview of Counterpart and Nationwide

What Stands Out About Counterpart and Nationwide?

Counterpart at a Glance

  • Counterpart lists private-company and nonprofit D&O, employment practices, fiduciary, crime, professional and lawyers liability, among other lines. 1,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17Company-reported. Current site marketing catalogue checked September 29, 2026. Marketing membership is separate from acceptance of a three-claim line-comparison offering.
  • Counterpart’s dashboard shows broker submission statuses from in progress through underwriting review and quote. 7Company-reported. Company-described broker workflow in a July 2025 article; not independently tested.

Nationwide at a Glance

  • Nationwide has separate commercial routes for small businesses, midsize and large businesses with complex risks, E&S and specialty customers, and agribusiness. 18,19Company-reported. Public U.S. commercial segment descriptions; product and state eligibility remain quote-specific.
  • Small-business buyers can start a quote online, then call or work with an agent to purchase. 18,20Company-reported. Official small-commercial and BOP pages; no application was submitted or purchase flow completed.

Counterpart vs Nationwide Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCounterpartNationwide
Builders riskNot listedListed 22Nationwide lists builders risk among inland-marine products. The page does not establish project-specific coverage periods, valuation, or exclusions.
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 20,18Nationwide markets a BOP for eligible small businesses and describes property and liability elements with optional additions; actual coverage is controlled by policy forms.
Cargo and transitNot listedListed 22Nationwide lists motor truck cargo among inland-marine products. This is not evidence of broad cargo coverage or any particular commodity/route acceptance.
Commercial autoNot listedListed 18,19Nationwide lists commercial auto in its small-business product catalogue. We couldn’t review the dedicated product page, so no vehicle, driver, or state terms are inferred.
Commercial propertyNot listedListed 23,31Nationwide markets commercial property for business buildings and contents; property values, covered causes, limits, and exclusions depend on the policy.
CrimeListed 13Named Commercial Crime product; confirm agreements, controls, limits and exclusions in the policy.Listed 27,29Nationwide markets commercial crime insurance and management-liability crime products; exact insuring agreements and fidelity form are not established here.
Cyber liabilityNot listedListed 25,18Nationwide markets cyber liability and data-breach insurance to business customers; quote and policy terms determine eligibility and coverage.
Directors and officersListed 9,10Distinct private-company and nonprofit D&O product pages; class and insurer vary by placement.Listed 30,29Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty markets a distinct D&O product. The reviewed materials do not establish issuer or form for a particular risk.
Employment practices liabilityListed 11Named Employment Practices Liability product; examples and policy terms govern.Listed 24,29Nationwide markets EPLI through small-business and management-liability channels; the reviewed pages do not establish a standard grant or eligibility.
Equipment breakdownNot listedListed 20,31Nationwide presents equipment breakdown under its BOP coverages; the individual policy controls inclusion and terms.
Fiduciary liabilityListed 12Named Fiduciary Liability product for benefit-plan exposures; law and policy terms govern.Listed 29Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty lists fiduciary liability as a distinct commercial-liability product; terms and availability remain quote-specific.
General liabilityListed 14,17GL is described as a companion/package component with miscellaneous professional and lawyers liability; this does not establish broad standalone CGL.Listed 31,20Nationwide lists general liability in its professional-office package description and BOP materials; this establishes marketing only, not standalone availability or policy scope.
Management liabilityNot listedListed 29,30Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty markets multiple distinct management-liability products, including D&O, fiduciary, crime, and EPLI; no single bundled form is inferred.
Medical malpracticeListed 15Allied healthcare liability for named classes; not universal conventional malpractice.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 14,16,15,17Several separately scoped professional-liability programs; do not generalize terms across professions.Listed 28,19Nationwide markets professional E&O for professional-service exposures. This does not establish technology E&O or any particular profession’s acceptance.
Surety bondsNot listedListed 26,18Nationwide markets commercial surety bonds. A bond is a contractual guarantee and is not interchangeable with an insurance policy.
Tools, equipment and inland marineNot listedListed 22,19Nationwide markets inland-marine products including contractor equipment and installation floaters; product availability and covered property vary.
Umbrella and excess liabilityNot listedListed 18,19Nationwide lists commercial umbrella for small businesses. Reviewed catalogue evidence does not establish attachment, limits, underlying requirements, or a specific excess form.
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 21,18Nationwide markets workers’ compensation and describes state-variable benefits and services. State law, policy, and employer eligibility govern.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Counterpart and Nationwide Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Counterpart and Nationwide each document for one coverage line.

Counterpart and Nationwide Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Counterpart and Nationwide Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Counterpart Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

We found no independent customer rating of Counterpart, so it has no Review Score. Its Trustpilot page shows no reviews, and BBB has no matching business.

Read Counterpart reviews

Nationwide Review Score

7.8/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Experts like Nationwide more than customers do. NerdWallet gives it 4.5 out of 5 for business insurance, while small-business customers on ConsumerAffairs give it 2.5 out of 5 from 19 reviews.

Read Nationwide reviews

Key Differences Between Counterpart and Nationwide

Business Roles and Access to Insurers

For this pair, first decide whether the documented access route fits how you want to buy. Counterpart’s role evidence is specific to its distribution or underwriting position; Nationwide’s record describes a different business route. Ask who handles your submission, who issues each policy, and who will service changes after binding. 3 18

Business Fit and Listed Products

Compare the business segments each company says it serves with your operations, locations and risk profile. A marketed audience can help you choose where to apply, but it does not confirm your eligibility. 1 18

Both provider records list crime, D&O, EPLI, fiduciary liability, general liability. A shared catalogue label makes a line worth quoting from both; it does not establish the same insurer, policy form, limits, exclusions or eligibility. Counterpart also lists medical malpractice; Nationwide also lists builders risk, business owners policies, cargo, commercial auto, commercial property. These are catalogue differences, not proof that one company excludes a line or that listed products are equivalent. Ask for the proposed forms and schedule side by side. 1 18

Application and Account Service

A February 2025 Counterpart help article describes a wholesale-broker referral route. Its current homepage also shows “Quote Online,” but we couldn’t confirm whether the current path is broker-assisted or lets a buyer quote, purchase or bind directly. 6,1,5Conflicting sources. Older dated directions conflict with or leave an ambiguity beside a current digital quote CTA; no form or transaction was tested.

Nationwide says small-business buyers can start an online quote and then call or work with an agent to purchase. Its BOP page says a quote can be started online; this does not establish online binding for every product or applicant. 18,20Company-reported. Official small-commercial and BOP pages; no application was submitted or purchase flow completed.

The application facts show different entry points for this pair. A quote request or agent portal is not itself a binder; get the named issuing insurer, quote terms and written effective-date confirmation before relying on coverage. 6 18

Managing Changes, Claims, and Renewal

Counterpart says brokers can renew professional-liability accounts in a few clicks and can speak with profession-specialized underwriters. This is not a measured renewal time or a promise of automatic, guaranteed or direct insured renewal. 8Company-reported. Company-described professional-liability broker service.

Nationwide describes a 24/7 online business account for policy management, claims filing/tracking, documents and billing; if a certificate is not in the account, it directs customers to request one online or contact an agent. 32Company-reported. Company-described account features; access depends on policy/account and does not measure service quality.

Ask who owns post-bind policy changes, certificates, claims reporting and renewal outreach. A quote channel does not establish those service steps; compare the contact and timing you receive in writing.

What Should You Confirm in Counterpart and Nationwide Quotes?

  • Which insurer and legal entity will issue each policy, and where can that exact product be quoted? Catalogue and licensing statements do not answer risk-specific eligibility. 3 18
  • For the shared catalogue labels crime, D&O, EPLI, fiduciary liability, general liability, ask each company for the proposed insurer, form and endorsements; a matching name alone is not a coverage match. Compare limits, retention or deductible, exclusions, retroactive date where relevant, and endorsements; catalogue labels do not establish equivalent protection. 1 18
  • Ask what the application requires, what underwriting follow-up to expect, and who handles certificates, policy changes and renewal after binding 6 18

Counterpart vs Nationwide Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaCounterpartNationwide
Business role

Counterpart says its U.S. products are offered by its wholly owned subsidiary, Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc., which it identifies as a licensed producer and surplus-lines broker. The company says the issuing carrier is responsible for policy obligations. 3Company-reported. Provider-published U.S. distribution disclosure; this does not rule out an additional delegated program role.

Nationwide markets commercial insurance through small-business, agribusiness, middle-market and specialty channels. Its general P&C disclosure names Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company and affiliated companies as underwriting companies; the reviewed materials do not map each commercial product to its legal issuer. 18,19,34Company-reported. Nationwide-branded U.S. commercial insurance; issuer and availability vary by product/company/state.

Customer focus

Counterpart describes management and professional liability products for small businesses and presents both brokers and small businesses as audiences. This stated focus does not establish independent eligibility or appetite. 1,2Company-reported. Current company marketing for U.S. audiences.

Nationwide presents separate commercial routes for small businesses, midsize and large businesses with complex risks, E&S/specialty customers, and agribusiness operators. These are published segments, not a promise of product eligibility. 18,19Company-reported. Public U.S. commercial segment descriptions; product and state eligibility remain quote-specific.

Coverage lines

Counterpart’s current product pages list private-company and not-for-profit D&O, employment-practices, fiduciary, crime, professional/general liability, allied healthcare, architects/engineers/contractors and lawyers liability. Several lines appear only as a component or product-specific feature; availability, eligibility and terms depend on the actual program and policy. 1,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17Company-reported. Current site marketing catalogue checked September 29, 2026. Marketing membership is separate from acceptance of a three-claim line-comparison offering.

Nationwide lists BOP, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, umbrella, EPLI, cyber and surety for small businesses, and separately markets inland marine, builders risk, professional E&O, commercial property, crime, D&O, fiduciary liability and management-liability products. Product listings do not establish that a buyer qualifies or that a named coverage is included in another policy. 18,19,22,28,23,27,29Company-reported. Current official U.S. commercial catalogue pages reviewed Sep 29, 2026; not a complete state/class appetite map.

Availability

Counterpart’s disclosure names Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc. as U.S. licensed producer and surplus-lines broker, reports authority in 50 states and D.C., and lists NPN 19374834. The company says products may not be available in every state. This is provider-published information, not an independent regulator verification or product availability promise. 3Company-reported. Exact company-disclosed entity, identifier and scope; no license is transferred to parent or insurer.

Nationwide says P&C products may not be offered by all companies or in all states and are subject to underwriting. The reviewed public sources do not establish a complete state-by-state commercial issuer and product matrix. 34,18Not publicly disclosed. General P&C disclosure and pages reviewed here; no all-state licensing or availability audit.

Access to insurers

Counterpart names Aspen Specialty Insurance Company, Evanston Insurance Company (Markel) and Westfield Specialty as underwriters. The public sources reviewed do not assign one insurer to each product, state or policy. Confirm the legal issuer on the quote and policy. 2,3Company-reported. Company-level capacity disclosure, not a complete policy issuance map. About-page rating footnote dates to 2024-02-26 and rates insurers, not Counterpart.

Counterpart’s May 2026 announcement describes a future first-time push to retain risk through Counterpart Insurance Company. Sources reviewed do not establish whether it now issues policies; the entity’s omission from a public carrier table does not establish inactivity. 4,3Not found in reviewed sources. Status checked Sep 29, 2026 against company press and carrier disclosures.

Nationwide identifies Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company and affiliates as possible P&C underwriting companies and says each underwriter is responsible for its own products. The reviewed general disclosure does not name the issuer for each commercial product; check the policy and declarations. 34Company-reported. General group disclosure, not a line-, policy- or state-specific insurer crosswalk.

Application process

A February 2025 Counterpart help article describes a wholesale-broker referral route. Its current homepage also shows “Quote Online,” but we couldn’t confirm whether the current path is broker-assisted or lets a buyer quote, purchase or bind directly. 6,1,5Conflicting sources. Older dated directions conflict with or leave an ambiguity beside a current digital quote CTA; no form or transaction was tested.

Counterpart says its dashboard shows broker-submission statuses from in progress through underwriting review and quote; its article says binding requires a signed application and any required subjectivities. 7Company-reported. Company-described broker workflow in a July 2025 article; not independently tested.

Nationwide says small-business buyers can start an online quote and then call or work with an agent to purchase. Its BOP page says a quote can be started online; this does not establish online binding for every product or applicant. 18,20Company-reported. Official small-commercial and BOP pages; no application was submitted or purchase flow completed.

Servicing and renewals

Counterpart says brokers can renew professional-liability accounts in a few clicks and can speak with profession-specialized underwriters. This is not a measured renewal time or a promise of automatic, guaranteed or direct insured renewal. 8Company-reported. Company-described professional-liability broker service.

Nationwide describes a 24/7 online business account for policy management, claims filing/tracking, documents and billing; if a certificate is not in the account, it directs customers to request one online or contact an agent. 32Company-reported. Company-described account features; access depends on policy/account and does not measure service quality.

The commercial overview, small-business catalogue and business account pages reviewed here do not establish renewal notice timing, who initiates renewal discussions or how a renewal transaction is completed. These steps remain unverified; this is not evidence that renewal service is absent. 35,18,32Not found in reviewed sources. Only named public pages reviewed 2026-09-29, not policy documents or every account workflow.

NerdWallet reports fewer general-liability complaints than expected for 2022–2024. Its discussion describes commercial-property complaints as slightly above expectations, while its methodology calls them about expected; that discrepancy remains unresolved. 36Verified. NerdWallet’s commercial business-insurance editorial analysis only. This is an attributed product-line complaint comparison, not direct NAIC verification, a claim-outcome finding, or evidence about any identified underwriting company. Do not combine this measure with consumer review averages or treat the unresolved commercial-property discrepancy as a single settled result.

Claims assistance

Counterpart advertises in-house claims experts and says they close claims twice as fast as the industry average. The homepage does not disclose a method, sample, claim population or period; this remains a company claim, not an independently measured result. Confirm who adjusts and pays each policy claim. 1Company-reported. Current company marketing statement; no claim administrator mapping.

Nationwide says business claims can be reported online, by phone or through an agent and that a claims professional is assigned after submission. Same-day contact is described as an aim, not a guarantee. 33Company-reported. General company-described commercial claims process; not an independent outcome measure or product-specific administrator map.

Fees and compensation

Counterpart’s license disclosure says its subsidiary may receive compensation from an insurer or intermediary and that commissions or fees are set by the underwriting insurer. The reviewed disclosure does not state the amount applicable to a particular buyer or quote. 3Company-reported. Provider-published disclosure, no buyer-specific amount.

The reviewed Nationwide commercial marketing and service pages do not disclose agent commission rates or contingent compensation terms. This packet does not establish whether or how an agent is compensated. 18,19,34Not found in reviewed sources. Bounded page review; no producer agreement, quote or commission disclosure reviewed.

Sources for Counterpart vs Nationwide

Counterpart Official Website

  1. Counterpart | Agentic Insurance™. Counterpart, Inc.; Current homepage: Quote Online CTA; brokers/small-business audiences; product list; performance claims; legal/footer qualifications, rendered lines 2–52, 55–70, 98–100, 282–287. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. About Counterpart. Counterpart, Inc.; Carrier disclosure and Our Story; underwriters named at line 13; company focus lines 22–36. Financial-strength note says ratings are as of 2024-02-26. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Licenses & Carriers. Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc.; Provider-published entity/license disclosure, carrier table, policy obligation and compensation disclosure. Source snapshot 2026-09-28. No product/state issuer map. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Counterpart press articles. Counterpart press site; May 19, 2026 Series C item describes a future first-time push to retain risk through Counterpart Insurance Company; July 14, 2026 item announces excess coverage across product lines; Sep 1, 2026 item announces Lawyers Professional Liability. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. Counterpart application destination. Counterpart; Reached from current homepage Quote Online CTA; the page requires JavaScript and the quote app did not display. No form/account/quote/purchase/bind flow tested. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. How can I get insurance through Counterpart? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Purchase route lines 17–22; article dated Feb 6, 2025; wholesale referral instructions. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  7. What is my application status? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Dashboard statuses lines 17–26; article dated July 16, 2025; broker submission and signature/subjectivity requirements. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  8. Counterpart Professional Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Broker renewals and profession-specialized underwriters, lines 72–81. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  9. Private Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Who we cover; coverage; example limits and retentions; capacity. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  10. Not-for-Profit Directors & Officers Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Who we cover; coverage; underwriting partners. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  11. Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Eligibility; listed allegations; illustrative limits and retentions; examples. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  12. Fiduciary Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Plan and employer eligibility; ERISA and plan administration; examples and illustrative limits. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  13. Commercial Crime Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Employee theft, forgery, computer/system fraud, funds-transfer and social-engineering scenarios; examples. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  14. Professional & General Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Re-opened Sep 29: lines 4–8 MPL available alone or packaged with GL; lines 38–207 professions/examples; 208–245 industries, state availability, coverage descriptions; 251–283 services. Company marketing, not binding terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  15. Allied Medical & Healthcare Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Named allied health classes, combined coverage/enhancements, limits/examples; Sep 28 source inspection. Not universal malpractice or standalone CGL. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  16. Architects, Engineers, & Contractors Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; A&E/contractor classes, services, example limits and enhancements; Sep 28 source inspection. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  17. Lawyers Professional Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Re-opened Sep 29: rendered lines 4–8 product, 27–29 class, 236–248 company-stated U.S. reach, 250–276 services, modular limits, tech/media features and GL alongside professional coverage. Does not establish separate media/tech E&O/GL. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Nationwide Official Website

  1. Small Business Insurance. Nationwide; Small business products and solutions, lines 185–214: BOP, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, umbrella, EPLI, cyber and surety; purchase guidance lines 235–247. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Small Business Insurance Solutions for Agents. Nationwide; Specialized small commercial solutions: BOP, auto, workers’ compensation, cyber, EPLI, umbrella, inland marine and professional liability; page states appetite varies by state, lines 129–163, 191–193. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Business Owners Policy (BOP Insurance). Nationwide; BOP audience/employee/sales criteria and coverages, lines 181–225; additional coverage options lines 244–277; policy/availability qualification line 326. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Workers’ Compensation Insurance. Nationwide; Workers’ compensation benefits, state variability, claims/risk-management services and eligibility discussion, lines 216–259. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. Insurance for Inland Marine. Nationwide; Inland marine and Builder’s Risk products lines 184–225; contractor equipment, installation floater, riggers liability, motor truck cargo and warehouse legal liability lines 258–318. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. Commercial Property Insurance. Nationwide; Business buildings, contents, equipment and fixtures; policy customization and agent quote route. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  7. Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Nationwide; Dedicated EPLI product page; product identity and company-described policy scope. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  8. Cyber Liability & Data Breach Insurance. Nationwide; Dedicated commercial cyber/data-breach product page; company-described product scope. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  9. Commercial Surety Bonds. Nationwide; Dedicated commercial surety product page and bond purpose. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  10. Commercial Crime Insurance. Nationwide; Dedicated commercial crime page and covered crime examples. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  11. Errors and Omissions Insurance. Nationwide; Professional E&O product page; professional-service errors and financial-loss description. Does not establish technology-specific E&O terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  12. Commercial Liability Products. Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty; Distinct D&O, fiduciary liability, crime and EPLI products; audience and claims-reporting description. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  13. Directors and Officers Liability. Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty; D&O primary scope of coverage, selected features and claims reporting. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  14. Commercial Office Space Insurance. Nationwide; Professional-office BOP, commercial property, GL, business income and equipment breakdown; E&O, auto, EPLI and management-liability options. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  15. Business Insurance Member Resources. Nationwide; Online business account, 24/7 self-service, claims filing/tracking, documents, bills and certificate-of-insurance help. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  16. Business Insurance Claims FAQ. Nationwide; Commercial claims intake and assigned claims professional; same-day contact is described as an aim, not a guarantee. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  17. Terms and Conditions for Nationwide.com. Nationwide; P&C products not offered by all companies/states; policy/declarations control; NMI and affiliates may underwrite; each underwriter responsible for own products, lines 358–368 and 391–394. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  18. Nationwide Commercial Insurance. Nationwide; Commercial audiences and general commercial route; cited only alongside directly inspected linked product pages. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  19. Nationwide Business Insurance Review 2026 — commercial complaint analysis. NerdWallet; Same inspected NerdWallet commercial review as nerdwallet-review; updated June 3, 2026. Findings and contrary evidence, lines 332–372: lower-than-expected general-liability complaints and commercial-property described slightly above expectations. Methodology, lines 495–508: commercial-property complaints characterized as about expected. Rating display, lines 226–323: 4.5 page header and 4.0 Nationwide card. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Counterpart vs Nationwide

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation