Counterpart vs
Foxquilt: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Counterpart describes quote entry whose binding route remains unclear; Foxquilt describes online quote entry. Compare their documented roles and service routes, then confirm the insurer and terms for your quote.
Introduction to the Counterpart vs Foxquilt Comparison
Counterpart and Foxquilt describe different quote routes: quote entry whose binding route remains unclear and online quote entry. This comparison helps you match the documented process and business focus to the risk you are placing; it does not determine eligibility or policy terms. 6 22
Buyer Takeaways for Counterpart vs Foxquilt
Counterpart Buyer Takeaways
- Counterpart lists private-company and nonprofit D&O, employment practices, fiduciary, crime, professional and lawyers liability, among other lines. 1,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17Company-reported. Current site marketing catalogue checked September 29, 2026. Marketing membership is separate from acceptance of a three-claim line-comparison offering.
- Counterpart’s dashboard shows broker submission statuses from in progress through underwriting review and quote. 7Company-reported. Company-described broker workflow in a July 2025 article; not independently tested.
Foxquilt Buyer Takeaways
- Foxquilt serves small and midsize businesses, with contractors, e-commerce, consultants, technology and creative professionals among its examples. 19,22,23Company-reported. Company-described North American small-business audience and example product classes; actual appetite depends on product, class, state and underwriting.
- Customers can request and buy commercial general liability and E&O online, with team assistance available and documents delivered after purchase. 22,23,18Company-reported. Company-reported CGL and E&O purchase workflow; no form was submitted and no quote or purchase was completed in this research.
Counterpart vs Foxquilt Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Counterpart | Foxquilt |
|---|---|---|
| Builders risk | Not listed | Listed 28Builder’s risk product page; policy-specific construction terms not established. |
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 19Foxquilt’s About page lists Business Owner’s Policy among “Our Primary Coverages”; no current BOP-specific terms or bundled contents are established here. |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed 25Commercial auto product page; HNOA is not split out. |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed 27Commercial property product page. |
| Crime | Listed 13Named Commercial Crime product; confirm agreements, controls, limits and exclusions in the policy. | Listed 34,35Foxquilt has a Crime Insurance product page, which says crime can be a BOP add-on or an isolated policy; the ConvertLabs cleaner program also lists Crime/Bonds but describes crime only. No bond product is inferred. |
| Cyber liability | Not listed | Listed 26Cyber product page; policy terms and limits not established. |
| Directors and officers | Listed 9,10Distinct private-company and nonprofit D&O product pages; class and insurer vary by placement. | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 11Named Employment Practices Liability product; examples and policy terms govern. | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 12Named Fiduciary Liability product for benefit-plan exposures; law and policy terms govern. | Not listed |
| General liability | Listed 14,17GL is described as a companion/package component with miscellaneous professional and lawyers liability; this does not establish broad standalone CGL. | Listed 22,20Company CGL product page; line-specific CGL membership only. |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed 21Advertised as a Hired & non-owned feature beneath Foxquilt’s Commercial Auto card; no distinct HNOA policy or terms established. |
| Medical malpractice | Listed 15Allied healthcare liability for named classes; not universal conventional malpractice. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 14,16,15,17Several separately scoped professional-liability programs; do not generalize terms across professions. | Listed 23Professional E&O product page. |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 23Technology/creative class within broader E&O; no separate technology form established. |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 19,35Foxquilt lists Inland Marine among primary coverages; the ConvertLabs cleaner program describes limited mobile-equipment coverage (also called Inland Marine) commonly used by janitorial providers. This does not establish broad standalone inland-marine terms. |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Not listed | Listed 19,33Foxquilt lists Umbrella/Excess in its primary-coverages list and has a current Umbrella Insurance page that distinguishes umbrella from excess. Membership is for marketed umbrella only; a separate excess product is not established. |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 24Workers’ compensation page; state requirements vary. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Counterpart vs Foxquilt Research by Coverage Line
Open what Counterpart and Foxquilt each document for one coverage line.
Crime Insurance
General Liability Insurance
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Current Reliability Scores for Counterpart and Foxquilt
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Counterpart Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
No Reliability Score
Foxquilt Reliability Scores
Managing general agentCarrier & MGA
No Reliability Score
Counterpart and Foxquilt Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Counterpart Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
We found no independent customer rating of Counterpart, so it has no Review Score. Its Trustpilot page shows no reviews, and BBB has no matching business.
Read Counterpart reviewsFoxquilt Review Score
Review Score
3 rated sources
Customers rate Foxquilt well on Google (4.9 out of 5 from 526 reviews at its Charlotte office) and 3.5 out of 5 on Trustpilot from only 8 reviews. Put together, the Review Score is 8.9 out of 10.
Read Foxquilt reviewsKey Differences Between Counterpart and Foxquilt
Business Fit and Roles
Counterpart says its U.S. products are offered by its wholly owned subsidiary, Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc., which it identifies as a licensed producer and surplus-lines broker. The company says the issuing carrier is responsible for policy obligations. 3Company-reported. Provider-published U.S. distribution disclosure; this does not rule out an additional delegated program role.
Foxquilt markets a North American small-business insurance platform and describes licensed-broker services. Its terms name Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as the website, products and services operator. Its agent page calls Foxquilt a ‘North American Carrier’ and reports admitted CGL paper in 42 U.S. states and seven Canadian provinces, but names no license-holding entity or license identifier there. The reviewed sources do not map the Inc. or the separately listed Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC to a particular U.S. placement, delegated authority or issuing insurer, so the brand’s U.S. regulated role remains unresolved. 18,29,30,20,31Company-reported. Foxquilt brand and the separately named Inc. and LLC; company disclosures accessed through 2026-09-29. License wording is provider-published and was not independently regulator-verified; no exact license identifiers were found in the inspected provider disclosures.
The buyer starting points differ. Counterpart's published material says: Counterpart describes management and professional liability products for small businesses and presents both brokers and small businesses as audiences. 1 Foxquilt's published material says: Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses and business-to-business networks. 19 Use those descriptions to decide whose underwriting conversation to start; neither one establishes eligibility for your business.
The distinction matters when you need to know who receives the submission, which licensed intermediary can place the risk, and whose name appears as the insurer. Ask both providers to identify the producer, any program or managing entity, and the legal policy issuer for the exact quote; brand-level descriptions do not assign those roles to every policy. 3 18
Getting a Quote
A February 2025 Counterpart help article describes a wholesale-broker referral route. Its current homepage also shows “Quote Online,” but we couldn’t confirm whether the current path is broker-assisted or lets a buyer quote, purchase or bind directly. 6,1,5Conflicting sources. Older dated directions conflict with or leave an ambiguity beside a current digital quote CTA; no form or transaction was tested.
Foxquilt says customers can request and buy CGL and E&O online, with team assistance available, and receive documents after purchase. Its screens show example businesses, sample limits and prices; these are company illustrations, not quotes tested for a buyer or evidence that every risk can bind online. 22,23,18Company-reported. Company-reported CGL and E&O purchase workflow; no form was submitted and no quote or purchase was completed in this research.
The published application descriptions do not establish that your business can complete a quote or bind online. Before comparing convenience, confirm who submits the application, whether an appointed producer is required, what information underwriting needs, and which signed documents or conditions must be satisfied before coverage starts. 6 22
Service After Binding
Counterpart says brokers can renew professional-liability accounts in a few clicks and can speak with profession-specialized underwriters. This is not a measured renewal time or a promise of automatic, guaranteed or direct insured renewal. 8Company-reported. Company-described professional-liability broker service.
Foxquilt says CGL and E&O policy documents and certificates are emailed after purchase and describes digital account tools. For agents and brokers, Foxquilt advertises digital endorsement and cancellation management and change requests in Foxden; this does not establish who has contractual authority or the processing terms for a particular policy. The public material reviewed does not establish policy-specific renewal handling, endorsement authority, cancellation process or service-level guarantees. 22,23,19,20Company-reported. Company-reported buyer servicing statements and agent/broker portal marketing; no account access or live service interaction tested.
Compare the named post-bind contact for certificates, policy changes, renewal questions and claim reporting. A digital account or claim-notice route can help with administration, but it does not decide coverage or establish a claim outcome; get the applicable service contacts and notice deadlines with the proposed policy. 8 22
What Should You Confirm in Counterpart and Foxquilt Quotes?
-
Which legal insurer will appear on the declarations, and which licensed producer or intermediary is responsible for placing this specific product? 3 18
-
Does the application route require an appointed broker, a broker-submitted form, or a direct business-owner application, and what event makes coverage effective? 6 22
-
For each line you need, what limits, retentions, exclusions, defense terms and endorsements appear in the proposed form, and which service contact handles renewals, changes and claim notices? 8 22
Counterpart vs Foxquilt Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Counterpart | Foxquilt |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Counterpart says its U.S. products are offered by its wholly owned subsidiary, Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc., which it identifies as a licensed producer and surplus-lines broker. The company says the issuing carrier is responsible for policy obligations. 3Company-reported. Provider-published U.S. distribution disclosure; this does not rule out an additional delegated program role. | Foxquilt markets a North American small-business insurance platform and describes licensed-broker services. Its terms name Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as the website, products and services operator. Its agent page calls Foxquilt a ‘North American Carrier’ and reports admitted CGL paper in 42 U.S. states and seven Canadian provinces, but names no license-holding entity or license identifier there. The reviewed sources do not map the Inc. or the separately listed Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC to a particular U.S. placement, delegated authority or issuing insurer, so the brand’s U.S. regulated role remains unresolved. 18,29,30,20,31Company-reported. Foxquilt brand and the separately named Inc. and LLC; company disclosures accessed through 2026-09-29. License wording is provider-published and was not independently regulator-verified; no exact license identifiers were found in the inspected provider disclosures. |
| Application process | A February 2025 Counterpart help article describes a wholesale-broker referral route. Its current homepage also shows “Quote Online,” but we couldn’t confirm whether the current path is broker-assisted or lets a buyer quote, purchase or bind directly. 6,1,5Conflicting sources. Older dated directions conflict with or leave an ambiguity beside a current digital quote CTA; no form or transaction was tested. Counterpart says its dashboard shows broker-submission statuses from in progress through underwriting review and quote; its article says binding requires a signed application and any required subjectivities. 7Company-reported. Company-described broker workflow in a July 2025 article; not independently tested. | Foxquilt says customers can request and buy CGL and E&O online, with team assistance available, and receive documents after purchase. Its screens show example businesses, sample limits and prices; these are company illustrations, not quotes tested for a buyer or evidence that every risk can bind online. 22,23,18Company-reported. Company-reported CGL and E&O purchase workflow; no form was submitted and no quote or purchase was completed in this research. |
| Servicing and renewals | Counterpart says brokers can renew professional-liability accounts in a few clicks and can speak with profession-specialized underwriters. This is not a measured renewal time or a promise of automatic, guaranteed or direct insured renewal. 8Company-reported. Company-described professional-liability broker service. | Foxquilt says CGL and E&O policy documents and certificates are emailed after purchase and describes digital account tools. For agents and brokers, Foxquilt advertises digital endorsement and cancellation management and change requests in Foxden; this does not establish who has contractual authority or the processing terms for a particular policy. The public material reviewed does not establish policy-specific renewal handling, endorsement authority, cancellation process or service-level guarantees. 22,23,19,20Company-reported. Company-reported buyer servicing statements and agent/broker portal marketing; no account access or live service interaction tested. |
Sources for Counterpart vs Foxquilt
Counterpart Official Website
- Counterpart | Agentic Insurance™. Counterpart, Inc.; Current homepage: Quote Online CTA; brokers/small-business audiences; product list; performance claims; legal/footer qualifications, rendered lines 2–52, 55–70, 98–100, 282–287. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About Counterpart. Counterpart, Inc.; Carrier disclosure and Our Story; underwriters named at line 13; company focus lines 22–36. Financial-strength note says ratings are as of 2024-02-26. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Licenses & Carriers. Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc.; Provider-published entity/license disclosure, carrier table, policy obligation and compensation disclosure. Source snapshot 2026-09-28. No product/state issuer map. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Counterpart press articles. Counterpart press site; May 19, 2026 Series C item describes a future first-time push to retain risk through Counterpart Insurance Company; July 14, 2026 item announces excess coverage across product lines; Sep 1, 2026 item announces Lawyers Professional Liability. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Counterpart application destination. Counterpart; Reached from current homepage Quote Online CTA; the page requires JavaScript and the quote app did not display. No form/account/quote/purchase/bind flow tested. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- How can I get insurance through Counterpart? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Purchase route lines 17–22; article dated Feb 6, 2025; wholesale referral instructions. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- What is my application status? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Dashboard statuses lines 17–26; article dated July 16, 2025; broker submission and signature/subjectivity requirements. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Counterpart Professional Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Broker renewals and profession-specialized underwriters, lines 72–81. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Private Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Who we cover; coverage; example limits and retentions; capacity. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Not-for-Profit Directors & Officers Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Who we cover; coverage; underwriting partners. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Eligibility; listed allegations; illustrative limits and retentions; examples. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Fiduciary Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Plan and employer eligibility; ERISA and plan administration; examples and illustrative limits. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Commercial Crime Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Employee theft, forgery, computer/system fraud, funds-transfer and social-engineering scenarios; examples. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Professional & General Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Re-opened Sep 29: lines 4–8 MPL available alone or packaged with GL; lines 38–207 professions/examples; 208–245 industries, state availability, coverage descriptions; 251–283 services. Company marketing, not binding terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Allied Medical & Healthcare Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Named allied health classes, combined coverage/enhancements, limits/examples; Sep 28 source inspection. Not universal malpractice or standalone CGL. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Architects, Engineers, & Contractors Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; A&E/contractor classes, services, example limits and enhancements; Sep 28 source inspection. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Lawyers Professional Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Re-opened Sep 29: rendered lines 4–8 product, 27–29 class, 236–248 company-stated U.S. reach, 250–276 services, modular limits, tech/media features and GL alongside professional coverage. Does not establish separate media/tech E&O/GL. Accessed 2026-09-29.
Foxquilt Official Website
- Commercial Insurance, Business Liability Coverage | Foxquilt. Foxquilt; Homepage: available-now CGL and E&O; other recommended products; digital purchase workflow; illustrative quote screens and carrier/support marks. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About Us - North American Business Insurance Company. Foxquilt; Our Primary Coverages; North American Distribution; Foxden; broad company-level distribution statement. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Become a Foxquilt Agent/Broker Partner. Foxquilt; Agent/broker product and servicing marketing: quote/bind/service in Foxden and instant documents (lines 22–24); service requests manage endorsements/cancellations (lines 130–138); digital servicing support says digitally manage endorsements/cancellations (lines 206–208); agents can file change requests in Foxden (lines 262–266). Separate CGL live selector states 42 U.S. states, 7 Canadian provinces and ‘Admitted paper Yes’ (lines 210–227). Page calls Foxquilt a ‘North American Carrier’ and says two products are built/underwritten in-house (lines 145–152). Directly reopened 2026-09-29. Provider-published marketing, not independent regulator verification; exact license-holding entity/type/identifier, specific policy authority and request-processing terms are not disclosed here. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Other Coverages. Foxquilt; Other Coverages page: Workers’ Compensation, Commercial Auto, Cyber Liability and Commercial Property cards; Commercial Auto card lists Owned vehicles, Hired & non-owned, and Tools in transit as features; CGL/E&O are marked available now. Directly inspected 2026-09-29, lines 22–70. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial General Liability. Foxquilt; “What does CGL cover?”; “Foxquilt’s CGL is built for…”; digital quote/buy and certificates; “Built for North American small business”; limits FAQ; CGL exclusions FAQ. Directly reopened 2026-09-29, lines 53–64, 67–104, 135–215, 244–319. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability (E&O). Foxquilt; E&O summary and claims-made label; coverage examples; “Tech & Creative” classes; digital quote/buy; North American availability; lines 22–29, 52–65, 99–120, 138–253. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance. Foxquilt; State-requirements FAQ; payroll/employee/location price factors; benefits list; self-employed and subcontractor FAQs. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 148–162. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Auto Insurance. Foxquilt; Product description, audience/use cases, claims scenarios and price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 42, 99–132. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Business Insurance. Foxquilt; Cyber event description, target business types/data exposure, examples, price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–127. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Property Insurance. Foxquilt; Property description and causes; target property; claim examples; pricing factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–128. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Builder’s Risk Insurance. Foxquilt; Construction-stage description and example causes; intended buyers; project-specific price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–127. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Foxquilt Insurance Services | Terms & Conditions. Foxquilt; Sections 1.1–1.2 identify Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as service operator; no reviewed Inc.–LLC relationship statement. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Foxquilt Insurance Services | Consumer & Privacy Info. Foxquilt; Privacy officer identity/address; “How We Get Paid For Our Services”; commission table and contingent-commission footnote; Canada-oriented company disclosure; no U.S. line/issuer mapping. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Agency Detail: Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC. Westfield Insurance; Agency directory listing for Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC and Business coverage; does not disclose state appointment terms, delegated authority, or policy issuer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Foxquilt official website. Foxquilt; Official website is the provenance root for the visible brand mark; no reusable downloadable official logo file was verified during this pass. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Smarter Umbrella Insurance For Your Business. Foxquilt; Current product page calls the product Umbrella Insurance; lines 98–104 describe umbrella vs excess and eligibility; lines 106–121 give illustrative scenarios; lines 127–132 discuss multi-insurer tower as hypothetical purchasing example. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. It supports an umbrella marketing membership, not a separate excess product, actual tower, underlying requirements, policy form or limits. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Smarter Crime Insurance. Foxquilt; Current product page calls the product Crime Insurance; lines 90–104 describe money/securities, inside/outside theft and examples; lines 113–121 say crime may be included as a BOP add-on or bought as an isolated policy. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. Marketing does not establish form/limits or fidelity/surety bond coverage. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cleaner Insurance Program by Foxquilt. Foxquilt; Current Foxquilt-powered ConvertLabs cleaner program page; lines 108–135 lists CGL, Commercial Auto, Mobile Equipment, Crime/Bonds and Workers’ Compensation. Lines 127–128 identify Mobile Equipment as “also known as Inland Marine” and limit it to a small portion of equipment coverage commonly used by janitorial providers; lines 130–131 describe Crime, not bond terms. Page says program applications are available in Canada or the U.S. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
