CFC vs Coterie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

CFC packages technology E&O and cyber; Coterie agents quote BOP, general liability and professional liability, with cyber available as an optional endorsement.

Introduction to the CFC vs Coterie Insurance Comparison

A software consultancy leasing its first office may need property and routine liability alongside protection for its services. Coterie lists BOP, general liability and miscellaneous professional liability, with cyber as an optional endorsement. Choose CFC for technology E&O and cyber; choose Coterie for an agent-quoted BOP and office liability. 2 31 41

Buyer Takeaways for CFC vs Coterie Insurance

CFC Buyer Takeaways

  • Eligible technology businesses can combine E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability. 2Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.
  • Cyber policyholders may get threat monitoring, alerts and 24/7 incident support. 7Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Coterie Insurance Buyer Takeaways

  • Agents can prepare and bind eligible small-business quotes from prefilled information in one dashboard. 34,35,31Company-reported. Company-described standard agent workflow; does not cover referrals, manual underwriting exceptions or every partner integration.
  • Manage documents, certificates, policy changes and claim reports online, with agent help for coverage questions. 39,37Company-reported. Public policyholder resources; tool availability and authority to change coverage can depend on the policy and agent relationship.

CFC vs Coterie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageCFCCoterie Insurance
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 31,42Coterie offers a business owner’s policy through its agent channel.
Commercial propertyListed 13CFC offers property coverage within its property and casualty product.Not listed
CrimeListed 11,23CFC offers crime in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 9CFC offers cyber insurance, including primary and excess products.Not listed
Directors and officersListed 11CFC offers directors and officers liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 11CFC offers employment practices liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies. CFC does not write standalone employment practices liability.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 11CFC offers fiduciary liability in its US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
General liabilityListed 13CFC offers general liability within its property and casualty product.Listed 31,32Coterie offers general liability policies for small businesses through its partner distribution.
Intellectual propertyListed 14CFC offers intellectual-property insurance for eligible businesses with revenue up to $500 million, depending on industry.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 15CFC offers kidnap and ransom insurance, including a specialist marine product.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 10,11CFC offers a US management-liability package for eligible organizations outside California, excluding US publicly traded companies.Not listed
Media liabilityListed 21CFC offers media liability insurance for content creators and media businesses.Not listed
Product liabilityListed 22CFC offers product liability within its life-science and nutraceutical policies.Not listed
Product recallListed 16CFC offers product-recall and contaminated-product-recall insurance.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 12CFC offers professional liability insurance for professional-service businesses.Listed 31,43Coterie lists miscellaneous professional liability for eligible small businesses in participating states.
Representations and warrantiesListed 17CFC offers buyer-side and seller-side representations and warranties insurance.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2CFC offers technology errors and omissions for technology businesses.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 18CFC offers excess professional liability, general liability and cyber limits for small and micro businesses.Not listed
Virtual care and telehealthListed 19CFC offers an eHealth package for businesses delivering health care through technology, including telemedicine.Not listed

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

CFC vs Coterie Insurance Research by Coverage Line

Open what CFC and Coterie Insurance each document for one coverage line.

Current Reliability Scores for CFC and Coterie Insurance

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

CFC Reliability Scores

Managing general agent

Carrier & MGA

No Reliability Score

Provider assessment

Coterie Insurance Reliability Scores

Managing general agent

Carrier & MGA

5.1/ 10

Provider assessment

CFC and Coterie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

CFC Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.

Read CFC reviews

Coterie Insurance Review Score

7.0/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Coterie’s BBB complaint record is a concern; its single Trustpilot review is too small a sample to offset that. Ask how complaints and service problems are resolved.

Read Coterie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between CFC and Coterie

Two Agent Channels with Different Product Starting Points

Coterie is an MGA and platform for licensed agents and distribution partners, not a storefront where the business independently selects a market panel. Its agent workflow uses business name, address and industry to prefill a quote. CFC also supplies a broker channel through Connect, but its technology application asks for detailed activities, contracts, security and IP information. A faster initial data entry step would not establish equivalent underwriting or coverage. 35 34 6 3

Ask the agent to describe what is being submitted as the insured profession. “Consulting” should not obscure software implementation, hosting or managed services when those activities matter to the risk. Coterie’s MPL guide is for listed service professions; CFC’s form specifically explores technology activities. Neither record proves acceptance of this particular consultancy. 43 3

A Cyber Endorsement Is Not Automatically a Technology Package

Coterie markets cyber as an optional endorsement alongside its core policies. CFC describes cyber, E&O and media/IP sections in its US technology brochure. Compare the cyber extension’s limits and insured events with the combined proposal, while separately checking professional-liability coverage for client financial losses. The shared catalogue cannot turn an optional endorsement into an equivalent standalone policy. 41 44 2

Coterie’s BOP addresses property and liability, so an office-focused proposal needs its own property schedule. Its policyholder FAQ says each business location requires a separate policy. If the consultancy adds a second office, clarify how locations and shared professional work are insured rather than assuming one dashboard means one policy. 33 39

Eligibility and Recurring Costs Need Product-Level Checks

Coterie’s broad national marketing and its MPL guide disagree on geographic scope; the record preserves the exclusions in the product guide. CFC’s current California technology route also remains unestablished in the reviewed materials. For a Bay Area buyer, ask for an actual eligible proposal rather than extrapolating from either producer’s reach. 1 4

Do not rely on a general all-state claim for Coterie MPL: its December 2025 guide lists six states/DC where it is unavailable, while a newer quick-start page says MPL is available in most states. Check the current product guide and quote. 34,36,43Conflicting sources. Conflict among current company marketing pages and the linked MPL product guide; account-specific availability was not tested.

Coterie discloses policy and payment fees and a possible Manage My Risk Program fee. CFC’s reviewed technology documents do not provide an equivalent complete fee schedule. Compare the agent’s total invoices and renewal arrangements; different disclosure detail does not establish which proposal costs less. 37 2 6

What Should You Confirm in CFC and Coterie Quotes?

  • Have the agent identify whether the work belongs in miscellaneous professional liability or technology E&O, with hosting and implementation activities expressly addressed. 43 3
  • Compare the selected cyber endorsement with the proposed CFC cyber sections, including response services, sublimits and claims reporting. 44 2
  • Verify the office locations, state eligibility, renewal charges and optional risk-program fees before binding. 39 37 4

CFC vs Coterie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaCFCCoterie Insurance
Business role

CFC can quote specialist cover as an MGA, meaning it performs some underwriting functions for insurers that carry the risk. Its disclosures identify CFC Underwriting Limited and U.S. producer CFC USA, Inc.; the CFC brand is not the insurer name on every policy. 5,4Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Coterie is an agent-facing digital route for small-business insurance, so buyers need a licensed agent rather than a direct-to-consumer marketplace. It operates as a managing general agency and platform for agents, brokers and partners. 30,35,48Company-reported. Current public positioning of the Coterie brand and platform; does not establish the risk-bearing insurer for a policy.

Coterie Applications, Inc. provides the platform under the website terms. The website also identifies Coterie Insurance Agency, LLC as an agency through which it offers insurance. 37,30Company-reported. Provider-disclosed platform and agency identities only; this fact does not assert a Florida member relationship or a Massachusetts license interval.

Coterie's website lists multiple investors, and Allianz X records Coterie as a current direct investment after leading a 2025 Series C round. The reviewed sources do not establish an acquisition, a controlling parent or Coterie's complete current ownership table. 30,48,49,51Not found in reviewed sources. Public investor and corporate sources reviewed through September 15, 2026; beneficial ownership was not independently established.

Application process

A senior staff member should expect to complete the technology application and send it to a broker; it asks for revenue, funding, subsidiaries, products, contracts, security, IP procedures and claims history. CFC Connect separately supports broker trading and appointments. 3,6Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

A licensed agent starts a quote in Coterie's dashboard with the client's business name and address, selects the principal industry, confirms or edits prefilled details, customizes coverage and pays to bind an eligible policy. Business owners who do not already have an agent can use Coterie's agent finder. 34,35,31Company-reported. Company-described standard agent workflow; does not cover referrals, manual underwriting exceptions or every partner integration.

Eligible standard risks may get a quote in under two minutes, according to Coterie, but a quote is not coverage until eligibility is confirmed, underwriting approves it and the policy is issued. 35,37Company-reported. Marketing speed statement and controlling website terms; no independent timing test was performed.

Availability

California buyers should confirm product eligibility and current license authority before applying: CFC reports all-state producer licenses and surplus-lines authorization in four states, including California. It identifies CFC General Insurance Agency, Inc. as its California licensing name; this disclosure was not independently checked. 4Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

California-domiciled businesses should look elsewhere for the described management-liability product, and standalone EPL is also listed as declined. This restriction applies to the January 2026 brochure’s offering, not every CFC product. 11Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Ask CFC for a current California eligibility answer before spending time on a technology application; reviewed pages do not establish the route for a particular startup. A 2023 admitted Tech E&O announcement does not supply a current product schedule. 1,2,3,29Not found in reviewed sources. California technology-product access only. General producer authorization is separate from product eligibility. No live quote or state filing was obtained.

Coterie says BOP and general liability are admitted products in all 50 states, but your risk may still be ineligible by state, business class or underwriting, and catastrophe moratoriums can pause new BOP sales. 36,37,47Company-reported. Company nationwide distribution claim, website terms and moratorium page checked September 15, 2026; no 50-state form or rate filing audit was performed.

Do not rely on a general all-state claim for Coterie MPL: its December 2025 guide lists six states/DC where it is unavailable, while a newer quick-start page says MPL is available in most states. Check the current product guide and quote. 34,36,43Conflicting sources. Conflict among current company marketing pages and the linked MPL product guide; account-specific availability was not tested.

Coastal businesses 3–26 miles from shore in seven southeastern states may be considered for a Coterie BOP with up to $250,000 in business property and no building cover in the coastal zone; risks closer than 3 miles remain ineligible and Florida building cover is unavailable statewide (company description as of Sept. 11, 2026). 46,47Company-reported. Company's September 2026 coastal BOP appetite only; state-specific limits, deductibles, moratoriums and underwriting still apply.

Servicing and renewals

Cyber buyers can get threat monitoring, alerts, a response app and round-the-clock technical incident support according to CFC; check the proposed policy for access, scope and conditions. 7Company-reported. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Agree on renewal timing, certificate turnaround and account support before choosing CFC; reviewed materials do not specify those commitments for California technology buyers. 6,3Not publicly disclosed. CFC US-facing materials, accessed 16 September 2026; company descriptions, not an issued policy or independent service assessment.

Policyholders can manage documents, certificates, policy changes and claim reports online; use your agent or broker for coverage questions. Coterie also provides sample forms to help you review proposed terms. 39,37Company-reported. Public policyholder resources; tool availability and authority to change coverage can depend on the policy and agent relationship.

Businesses with multiple locations should ask about separate policies because Coterie’s FAQ says each location needs its own policy. 39Company-reported. General policyholder FAQ as of September 15, 2026; confirm how mailing, temporary, project and additional locations are treated in the proposed form.

Set renewal preferences before the next term: most Coterie policies are 12 months and may renew automatically, with charges using the saved payment method unless the policy says otherwise. 37Company-reported. Website terms effective December 16, 2025; the proposed policy, renewal notice and applicable state law control.

Fees and compensation

Request premium, taxes, fees and intermediary pay in a written breakdown; CFC’s reviewed US technology materials do not disclose a buyer-specific price, commission rate or full charge schedule. 2,3,6Not publicly disclosed. Only the listed US technology and broker-process sources; no inference of free service or zero commission. Australian and unrelated Irish CFC disclosures are not US pricing evidence.

Include Coterie’s fees in your total-cost comparison: terms list a variable one-time new/renewal policy fee, $7 installment fee, up to $10 late fee and up to $35 insufficient-funds fee; amounts vary by state and line and some are nonrefundable. 37Company-reported. Website fee terms effective December 16, 2025; not every fee applies to every policy or state.

Ask whether a Coterie policy includes a Manage My Risk Program fee; it is earned when paid and nonrefundable after midterm cancellation, but its amount is not published. 37Company-reported. Manage My Risk Program terms effective December 16, 2025; applicability and the quoted fee require account-specific disclosure.

Ask whether your agent receives commission or other compensation because Coterie says it may pay commissions through a third-party processor; public sources do not state the rate for your policy. 38,37Company-reported. Public privacy and platform terms; no producer agreement or account-specific compensation disclosure was reviewed.

Sources for CFC vs Coterie Insurance

CFC Official Website

  1. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology companies — US application v2.4. CFC; Pages 1–8: completion instructions and Sections 1–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC USA Inc.; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Connect broker trading portal. CFC; Get started; Products traded on Connect; FAQs: broker appointment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. CFC Response. CFC; Proactive protection; Immediate response; Real-time support. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Notify a claim or cyber incident. CFC; Experiencing a cyber incident now?; General enquiries or claims. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. Cyber insurance — US. CFC; Cyber product cards: Cyber Proactive Response, Cyber (admitted), Corporate cyber, Cyber excess. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Management liability. CFC; Management liability; Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  11. Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: opening coverage list; What else is in the policy?; What we decline. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. Professional liability. CFC; Our professional liability products; Professional liability (admitted). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  13. Property & casualty. CFC; Property & casualty product description: property and general liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. Intellectual property insurance. CFC; Intellectual property product introduction; Key features; Defense; Pursuit of infringers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  15. Kidnap and ransom. CFC; Kidnap & ransom product cards and Key features. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  16. Product recall. CFC; Contaminated product recall and Product recall product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  17. Transaction liability. CFC; Transaction liability; Buyer protect; Seller protect; Secondary liquidity solutions; Limit & appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  18. Umbrella cover. CFC; Umbrella cover product description: policy lines, small and micro businesses, primary placement with CFC or others. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  19. Digital health insurance. CFC; eHealth product: Telemedicine, mHealth, Artificial intelligence, Remote patient monitoring. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  20. Medical malpractice. CFC; Our medical malpractice products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  21. Media & entertainment. CFC; Media product description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  22. Life science. CFC; What does CFC’s life science policy cover?; Life sciences and Nutraceuticals product cards. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  23. Fintech insurance. CFC; What does CFC’s fintech policy cover?; Fintech product. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  24. Financial institutions. CFC; Financial institutions professional indemnity; Investment managers; SME banks. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  25. Carbon insurance. CFC; Carbon delivery; Carbon cancellation; Carbon lender non-payment; CORSIA guarantee. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  26. Safeprotect misconduct liability. CFC; Safeprotect product; Praesidium services. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  27. Terrorism. CFC; Introduction: standalone terrorism policy. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  28. Marine. CFC; Introduction: hull war and marine kidnap & ransom. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  29. CFC launches admitted offerings for professional liability and technology E&O. CFC; 21 March 2023 announcement: admitted technology E&O; broker quote, bind and adjustment process. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Coterie Insurance Official Website

  1. About Coterie Insurance. Coterie Insurance; Agent and broker focus; company history; investors; agency name, NPN and Wisconsin license in footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Insurance for Small Businesses. Coterie Insurance; General Liability, Business Owners Policies and Professional Liability sections: About business owners policies (BOP), About general liability (GL) policies (offered through partners), About professional liability (MPL) policies; Find an Agent; agent distribution; footer agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. General Liability Insurance for Small Business. Coterie Insurance; General liability product page: How General Liability Insurance Works; Common Questions, including standalone or BOP; Find an Agent. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Business Owner's Policy for Small Businesses. Coterie Insurance; Package components and exclusions from the typical BOP description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Agents and Business Insurance Brokers. Coterie Insurance; How It Works steps; nationwide product statement; dashboard service statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Instant Bindable Small Business Insurance Quotes for Agents. Coterie Insurance; Built for Agents and Brokers; online workflow; core lines; endorsements; availability sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  7. Quick Start: Quote and Bind Small Business Insurance With Coterie. Coterie Insurance; Five-Step Quote-to-Bind Workflow and Does Coterie Work in All 50 States sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  8. Terms and Conditions. Coterie Insurance; Effective December 16, 2025; Sections 1, 5, 6 and 10. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  9. Privacy Policy. Coterie Insurance; Introduction; Section 6, Payment and Commissions Processing; carrier privacy links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  10. Policyholder Resources. Coterie Insurance; Account, policy-change, certificate, claims, multiple-location and sample-policy sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  11. Claims. Coterie Insurance; Reporting routes; response timing; settlement timing; excluded workers' compensation and auto claims; cyber and workplace-violence FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  12. Coterie Insurance Endorsements. Coterie Insurance; Cyber, Workplace Violence, Employment Practices, Restaurant, Liquor Liability and Contractors Equipment list; product caveat. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  13. BOP Product Overview. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1–5: Business Owners Policy Product Highlights for Agents and Brokers; eligibility criteria, base property and liability coverages, additional extensions and mandatory forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  14. Miscellaneous Professional Liability Policy Overview and Product Highlights. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1–7: purpose, eligible professions and operations, unavailable jurisdictions and state availability, limits, claims-made terms and exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  15. Cyber Insurance Overview. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1-2: coverage, criteria, limits and Cyberscout services. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  16. Workplace Violence Insurance Overview. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1-2: endorsement status, criteria, services and limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  17. Coterie's Coastal Business Insurance Appetite. Coterie Insurance; September 11, 2026 state-by-state coastal BOP eligibility, limits, exclusions and Texas carrier statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  18. Current Moratoriums. Coterie Insurance; Active BOP catastrophe moratoriums, updated September 2-4, 2026; effect on new business and changes. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  19. Allianz X Announces Strategic Investment in Coterie Insurance. Coterie Insurance and Allianz X; September 11, 2025 announcement; MGA role; Series C investment and reinsurance relationship. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  20. Allianz X Portfolio and News. Allianz X; Current Direct Investments and September 11, 2025 Coterie strategic-investment entry. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  21. Coterie BOP and GL Products Available Through Progressive. Coterie Insurance; November 20, 2025 agency relationship and Progressive BusinessQuote Explorer distribution scope. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  22. Coterie Insurance Agency, LLC Entity Record. Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations; Active foreign LLC record; January 6, 2026 annual report; Coterie Applications, Inc. listed as member. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  23. Licensed Property and Casualty Agencies. Massachusetts Division of Insurance; Coterie Insurance Agency, LLC; license 19000811; approval period December 28, 2025 through December 28, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to CFC vs Coterie Insurance

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation