Pie Insurance vs
Risklytics: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Pie focuses on workers’ compensation; Risklytics brokers broader insurance for robotics and other frontier-technology businesses.
Introduction to the Pie Insurance vs Risklytics Comparison
Hiring employees creates workers’ compensation and payroll responsibilities; building robotics or AI also raises other coverage questions. Pie focuses on workers’ compensation, while Risklytics describes multi-line frontier-technology brokerage. Choose Pie for its workers’ compensation billing and audit process; choose Risklytics if you need a broker to coordinate robotics or AI coverage. 5 3 29 28
Buyer Takeaways for Pie Insurance vs Risklytics
Pie Insurance Buyer Takeaways
- Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 2,1,3Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
- Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 17,18Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.
Risklytics Buyer Takeaways
- Risklytics says it prepares an application from your business description and website for you to review. 26Company-reported. Current official service description; not independently tested or a policy entitlement.
- Risklytics says it checks technology E&O wording for AI exclusions before binding. 33Company-reported. Current official service description; not independently tested or a policy entitlement.
Pie Insurance vs Risklytics Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Pie Insurance | Risklytics |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Listed 7Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests. | Not listed |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed 29Risklytics arranges commercial property insurance for robotics, hardware and AI businesses. |
| Cyber liability | Listed 8Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners. | Listed 29Risklytics arranges cyber insurance for robotics, hardware and AI businesses. |
| Directors and officers | Not listed | Listed 29Risklytics arranges directors and officers liability insurance for robotics, hardware and AI businesses. |
| General liability | Listed 10Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers. | Listed 29Risklytics arranges general liability insurance for robotics, hardware and AI businesses. |
| Intellectual property | Not listed | Listed 29Risklytics arranges intellectual property insurance for robotics, hardware and AI businesses. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 9Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers. | Not listed |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 29Risklytics arranges technology errors and omissions insurance for robotics, hardware and AI businesses. |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 29Risklytics arranges inland marine equipment coverage for robotics, hardware and AI businesses. |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Not listed | Listed 29Risklytics arranges umbrella insurance for robotics, hardware and AI businesses. |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 3Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses. | Listed 29Risklytics arranges workers’ compensation insurance for robotics, hardware and AI businesses. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Pie Insurance vs Risklytics Research by Coverage Line
Open what Pie Insurance and Risklytics each document for one coverage line.
Cyber Insurance
General Liability Insurance
Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Current Reliability Scores for Pie Insurance and Risklytics
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Pie Insurance Reliability Scores
Hybrid providerBroker
5.3/ 10Carrier & MGA
6.3/ 10Risklytics Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.4/ 10Pie Insurance and Risklytics Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Pie Insurance Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.
Read Pie Insurance reviewsRisklytics Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
Risklytics has no public customer reviews or ratings that we found, so there is no Review Score. That isn't a bad sign, just not enough to judge.
Read Risklytics reviewsKey Differences Between Pie Insurance and Risklytics
Identify the Carrier Route for Each Line
Pie distinguishes workers’ compensation written by affiliated insurers from BOP, liability and other offerings through outside carrier partners. Risklytics describes arranging policies with insurers directly or through wholesalers. Do not transfer Pie’s workers’ compensation insurer identity to all its other offerings, and do not assume Risklytics can place Pie: that relationship is not established in the reviewed public materials. 5 22 28
Payroll Administration Can Matter More Than the Initial Estimate
Pie documents pay-as-you-go billing using reported payroll and an annual audit that reconciles estimates with actual information. Its standard monthly schedule is a different arrangement. Risklytics’ catalogue confirms it places workers’ compensation, but ask which insurer will actually handle billing and audit for that policy. Ask how changes between engineering, installation and field work will be captured, and who helps reconcile the final payroll figures. 18 17 19 29
An Injury Needs a Reporting Route Beyond the Broker Inbox
Pie publishes online, phone and email injury-reporting instructions, while its public materials contain unresolved differences in the state footprint and claims-handler allocation. Risklytics’ reviewed materials do not provide a dedicated claims procedure. Obtain the instructions specific to the issued workers’ compensation policy, including the handler for each state, rather than using general customer support as the incident plan. 20 21 11 28 32
What Should You Confirm in Pie Insurance and Risklytics Insurance Quotes?
- Confirm accepted class codes and California locations. Pie’s published state counts differ, and Risklytics’ California producer route remains unresolved. 11 13 27
- Compare deposits, payroll reporting, audit obligations and card charges rather than monthly installments alone. 17 19 30
- Allocate responsibility for equipment and customer liability separately from workers’ compensation, with distinct insurer and claims contacts where needed. 5 29
Pie Insurance vs Risklytics Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Pie Insurance | Risklytics |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 2,5,3,7,8,9,10Company-reported. Current public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant. If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 4,24,22Verified. Website ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary. Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 5,25Company-reported. Producer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action. | Risklytics arranges commercial insurance for frontier-technology businesses; its disclosures identify Risklytics, Inc. dba Risklytics Insurance Services as producer, not insurer. 27,28Company-reported. Company legal disclosures, including live terms section 2. Producer authority is company-reported, not regulator-verified. |
| Access to insurers | Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 5,22,23,24Verified. Pie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state. Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 22Verified. Pie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report. For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 5,7,8,9,10Not publicly disclosed. Current public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested. | Ask which insurer and California producer will handle your account because Risklytics permits direct or wholesale submissions but names no carrier or California arrangement. 28,29,33,35Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed sources establish a described placement mechanism, not carrier appointments, completed placements or a specific insurer contract. |
| Servicing and renewals | Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 15,16Company-reported. Published workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested. Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 19Company-reported. Pie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund. Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 16,21Company-reported. Different company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process. | Risklytics says its broker stays on the account and can issue certificates against a binder; public pages do not promise renewal shopping or certificate turnaround. 31,28,32Company-reported. Published servicing descriptions; no authenticated account inspected or service delivery measured. Risklytics advertises an email response within a day; treat this as a target, not an emergency-claims commitment or verified result. 32Company-reported. Current official service description; not independently tested or a policy entitlement. |
| Claims assistance | Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 20Company-reported. Published first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply. Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 21,11,22Conflicting sources. Public allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions. | Get the policy’s claim contact and Risklytics’ post-loss role before binding because reviewed pages do not establish a detailed claims process. 28,31,32Not found in reviewed sources. Scoped to reviewed service and legal pages; no inference that assistance is unavailable or that claims handling is good or poor. |
| Fees and compensation | Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 17,18Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote. Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 17Company-reported. Credit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page. Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 16Not publicly disclosed. Workers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process. Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 21,5Not publicly disclosed. Agency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation. | Ask for buyer fees, commission and total premium because Risklytics advertises no application or brokerage charge but its terms allow other compensation and policy fees. 30,28Company-reported. Retail pricing page and terms section 9; no total-cost comparison with direct purchase or other brokers is supported. |
Sources for Pie Insurance vs Risklytics
Pie Insurance Official Website
- Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; Homepage: small-business audience; direct workers’ compensation quote; online account; footer entity, insurer and availability qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; About Pie; direct and agency distribution; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; Get a workers’ compensation quote online; insurance made for your small business; quote inputs; coverage description; quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms Of Use. Pie Insurance; Updated 26 April 2022; Ownership and Agreement to Terms; geographic and product eligibility; policy controls coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Legal. Pie Insurance; State Licenses; footer disclosure naming producer and workers’ compensation versus third-party underwriting roles. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Insurance — Quote. Pie Insurance; First step: Business ZIP Code. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Owner’s Policy. Pie Insurance; BOP definition; typical components; Make sure you’re covered: Start your BOP quote; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; First- and third-party descriptions; carrier-partner quote invitation; policy-variation qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Errors And Omissions Insurance. Pie Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance hero (E&O and professional liability equivalence); typical claims; Make sure you’re covered: insurance carrier partners, Start now; footer third-party professional liability insurers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance. Pie Insurance; Typical covered categories; Make sure you are covered: carrier-partner quote invitation; legal footer: third-party insurers not affiliated with Pie. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Workers’ Comp Coverage By State. Pie Insurance; Headline says 40 states and the District of Columbia; rendered state selector listed 39 state names and omitted New York and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Agency Document Library. Pie Insurance; Workers’ Comp State Documents: 40 named states plus Washington, D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025. Pie Insurance; 13 January 2026 release; Key 2025 Milestones says 39 states plus Washington, D.C.; company and distribution description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Auto Claim FAQs. Pie Insurance; Does Pie offer commercial auto insurance?; submission cutoff 1 December 2025; no new or renewal policies on or after 1 January 2026; legacy claim guidance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Online Account Tutorial. Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp FAQs. Pie Insurance; Certificates; specific and blanket waiver requests, two-business-day response and state-dependent charge; Billing & Payments; Policy Renewal / When will I know it’s time to renew my policy? (approximately 30 days before expiry, quote for review and acceptance); Annual Audit; Claims. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Payment Options. Pie Insurance; Annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules; payment methods; 3% card fee and state exceptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; No initial deposit; actual-payroll monthly premium; automatic deductions; payroll-provider coordination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- File Your Claim Within 24 Hours. Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation reporting by online form, 24/7 phone or email; information requested; post-report coverage determination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Partner FAQ. Pie Insurance; How does Pie handle claims? (workers’ compensation in 34 states; CorVel in Alaska, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico and Oregon); How does Pie pay commissions? (new and renewing policies, earned premium); How does Pie handle renewals? (30-day preview: under $20,000 to insured with agency copied, over $20,000 to producer; unless otherwise notified, deposit draft and renewal issuance five days before effective date; exact $20,000 case unstated); Renewal Billing. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company. AM Best Rating Services, Inc.; Page 1: A- (Excellent), Stable, affirmed 24 April 2026; page 14: rating unit, group insurer acquisitions, 100% workers’ compensation writing through PCIC and TPIC from 1 January 2024, 40 states and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Pie Insurance Company — Company Details. Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance; Company name; active license status; NAIC 21857; property-and-casualty authority; 2025 workers’ compensation market data. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details. Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name; P&C Domestic Stock; active status; NAIC 10997; Pie Group Holdings, Inc. parent. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Administrative Actions — January 2024. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance; Allegations and Actions Against Companies: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. agreed to add a disclaimer to its “save up to 30%” advertising claim after misleading-advertising allegations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
Risklytics Official Website
- Insurance for Frontier Tech. Risklytics; You describe your company; One application. Written for you; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Risklytics. Risklytics; What we do; Who we insure; Licensing; Agency licenses table dated 2026-09-10. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms of Service. Risklytics; Effective August 7, 2026; sections 1–5, 7, 9 and 12. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- For insurers and wholesale markets. Risklytics; Opening brokerage positioning for robotics, hardware and AI businesses; The lines we place; Applications that state the exposure; appetite form; footer producer identity. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- How pricing and broker fees work. Risklytics; What it costs; broker fee row; No published rates; commission disclosure on request. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Questions founders ask. Risklytics; Cost and process: What do we pay a broker?; What happens after we submit an application? Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact a commercial insurance broker. Risklytics; Write to us; email response statement and contact form. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability (Tech E&O) insurance. Risklytics; How hard to get; Common questions; general-description disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Intellectual Property insurance, explained. Risklytics; Common questions; How hard to get; general-description disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Space insurance, explained. Risklytics; Built for moments like these; Common questions; general-description disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Name Search. California Department of Insurance; Agency-name search form; no license result returned. Accessed 2026-09-16.
