Alliance Risk vs
Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Small employers seeking workers’ compensation with payroll-based payments and audit support can consider Pie; Alliance Risk can coordinate workers’ comp with other commercial lines.
An Overview of Alliance Risk and Pie Insurance
A growing employer can compare Pie’s workers’ compensation payroll-based payments and premium-audit support with Alliance Risk’s option to coordinate workers’ comp alongside technology, management and other commercial risks. 29 30 9 2 Choose Pie if workers’ compensation with payroll-based payments is the main need; choose Alliance if it must fit a broader commercial program.
What Stands Out About Alliance Risk and Pie Insurance?
Alliance Risk at a Glance
- Focuses on technology companies from pre-seed through IPO, including SaaS, hardware, fintech, healthtech and AI. 1Company-reported. Alliance Risk public commercial-insurance offering; company statements are not independent verification or buyer-specific policy terms.
- Get a no-charge review of your technology E&O policy. 10Company-reported. Alliance Risk public commercial-insurance offering; company statements are not independent verification or buyer-specific policy terms.
Pie Insurance at a Glance
- Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 13,12,14Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
- Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 28,29Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.
Alliance Risk vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Alliance Risk | Pie Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Builders risk | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges builders risk insurance. | Not listed |
| Business owner’s policy | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges business owner’s policies. | Listed 18Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests. |
| Cargo and transit | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges inland and ocean marine coverage for goods in transit. | Not listed |
| Commercial auto | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges commercial auto insurance. | Not listed |
| Commercial property | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges property insurance. | Not listed |
| Crime | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges crime insurance. | Not listed |
| Cyber liability | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges cyber liability insurance. | Listed 19Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners. |
| Directors and officers | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges directors and officers liability insurance. | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges employment practices liability insurance. | Not listed |
| Equipment breakdown | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges equipment breakdown insurance. | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges fiduciary liability insurance. | Not listed |
| General liability | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges general liability insurance. | Listed 21Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers. |
| Intellectual property | Listed 1Alliance Risk arranges intellectual-property insurance for technology businesses. | Not listed |
| Key person | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges key person insurance. | Not listed |
| Liquor liability | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges liquor liability for businesses serving or selling alcohol. | Not listed |
| Management liability | Listed 11Alliance Risk advises on management-liability packages and standalone options. | Not listed |
| Media liability | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges media and advertising liability insurance. | Not listed |
| Product liability | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges product liability insurance. | Not listed |
| Product recall | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges product recall insurance. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges professional liability insurance. | Listed 20Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers. |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges technology errors and omissions insurance. | Not listed |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges inland marine coverage for goods, tools and equipment in transit or off-site. | Not listed |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges umbrella and excess liability insurance. | Not listed |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 9Alliance Risk arranges workers’ compensation insurance. | Listed 14Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Alliance Risk and Pie Insurance Coverage, Line by Line
Open what Alliance Risk and Pie Insurance each document for one coverage line.
Business Owner’s Policy
Cyber Insurance
General Liability Insurance
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Alliance Risk and Pie Insurance Reliability Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Alliance Risk Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.8/ 10Pie Insurance Reliability Scores
Hybrid providerBroker
5.3/ 10Carrier & MGA
6.3/ 10Alliance Risk and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Alliance Risk Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
Alliance Risk has no customer ratings on the review sites we checked, so there's no Review Score yet. That says nothing bad about the company; it means you'll need to ask for references.
Read Alliance Risk reviewsPie Insurance Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.
Read Pie Insurance reviewsKey Differences Between Alliance Risk and Pie Insurance
A Workers’ Compensation Relationship Is Not the Whole Program
Pie’s affiliated insurers write its workers’ compensation business; its BOP, professional liability and other selected offerings use outside carrier routes. Alliance Risk describes placements across insurers without naming the company that would issue this employer’s workers’ compensation policy. A Pie quote can therefore be a product alternative within a wider buying plan, not necessarily a replacement for all brokerage work. The records do not establish whether Alliance Risk can place Pie. 16 33 20 1
For a company with software contracts or board requirements, ask separately about technology and management liability. Alliance Risk markets those lines, while Pie’s current catalogue is more focused. That difference in published offerings does not establish that every requested Alliance Risk line is available to the employer or that Pie’s partners cannot help beyond the listed pages. 9 14 18 19 20
Payroll-Based Billing Does Not Remove the Audit
Pie’s pay-as-you-go option uses reported payroll and advertises no initial deposit. Its premium-audit instructions still require an annual reconciliation, including employee records and potentially subcontractor certificates. A hiring plan that changes during the year therefore needs accurate ongoing data, not just a convenient payment schedule. 29 30
Alliance Risk’s public fee terms permit different payment and service charges but do not establish a comparable payroll-integration service. Ask what payroll reporting, owner treatment and audit assistance are included in its proposed placement. Compare total administration and payment costs against the actual Pie option, rather than assuming all monthly schedules work alike. 3 28
Use the State Kit for Claims and Availability
Pie publishes workplace-injury reporting channels and policyholder account tools. Its state-footprint descriptions and the agency FAQ’s claims-handler allocation are not fully reconciled. The actual state kit should identify the responsible handler; a national count is not a substitute for a California quote. Alliance Risk’s own product route and broker claims-assistance scope remain unresolved in its reviewed public disclosures. 31 26 32 22 5 3 7
A fleet addition needs separate attention: Pie says it stopped new and renewal commercial-auto issuance from January 2026, while continuing legacy claims service. Alliance Risk still lists commercial auto. Existing Pie auto paperwork or a claim page should not be mistaken for an available new-auto offer. 25 9
What Should You Confirm in Alliance Risk and Pie Insurance Quotes?
- Which legal insurer accepts the employees’ states, duties and class codes, and is the route direct or through an appointed agent?
- What payroll integration, reporting corrections and annual audit work are required under the chosen payment plan?
- Who supplies certificates, waivers and the current workplace-injury reporting instructions?
- Which broker or partner handles technology, board and vehicle exposures outside the workers’ compensation placement, and what fees apply to that coordination?
Alliance Risk vs Pie Insurance Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Alliance Risk | Pie Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | You buy through a broker that shops commercial insurance and advises on risk; Alliance Risk identifies Alliance Risk Insurance Services LLC as its subsidiary agency. 2,3,4Company-reported. Alliance Risk public commercial-insurance offering; company statements are not independent verification or buyer-specific policy terms. The parent company named in Alliance Risk’s disclosures is unclear, so confirm the contracting entity before signing. Its terms name Alliance Risk Holding Company LLC, while its privacy policy names Alliance Risk, Inc. 3,4Conflicting sources. Alliance Risk public commercial-insurance offering; company statements are not independent verification or buyer-specific policy terms. | Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 13,16,14,18,19,20,21Company-reported. Current public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant. If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 15,35,33Verified. Website ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary. Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 16,36Company-reported. Producer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action. |
| Application process | You can request a no-obligation quote through a contact form, but it is only an initial inquiry, not a bindable offer; the form asks for your company, website, contact details and message. 6Company-reported. Alliance Risk public commercial-insurance offering; company statements are not independent verification or buyer-specific policy terms. To get a technology E&O proposal, prepare service details, revenue, employee count, major client contracts, current coverage, five-year claims history and customer concentration; Alliance Risk says it reviews the current program and approaches specialist insurers. 10Company-reported. Alliance Risk public commercial-insurance offering; company statements are not independent verification or buyer-specific policy terms. Build the quote schedule around your risk type: Alliance Risk advertises 24 hours generally, 48–72 hours for standard software risks and five to ten business days for hardware, fintech, healthtech and AI. These are company estimates, not deadlines. 6,1Conflicting sources. Alliance Risk public commercial-insurance offering; company statements are not independent verification or buyer-specific policy terms. | Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 13,12,14Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process. Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 17,14Company-reported. Unauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced. Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 14,12Company-reported. Workers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed. |
| Fees and compensation | Get the total cost and compensation in writing before authorizing placement: Alliance Risk’s terms allow service, installment, cancellation and flat fees plus insurer or third-party fees and commissions, but give no amounts. A free quote does not make ongoing service free. 3,6Company-reported. Alliance Risk public commercial-insurance offering; company statements are not independent verification or buyer-specific policy terms. | Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 28,29Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote. Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 28Company-reported. Credit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page. Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 27Not publicly disclosed. Workers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process. Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 32,16Not publicly disclosed. Agency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation. |
| Servicing and renewals | You can request a no-charge review of an existing technology E&O policy for gaps, retroactive dates and market alternatives; this is a described service, not proof of review quality. 10Company-reported. Alliance Risk public commercial-insurance offering; company statements are not independent verification or buyer-specific policy terms. If you need after-hours help, confirm the response commitment and renewal timetable: Alliance Risk advertises online access and 24/7 support, while its contact page lists weekday phone hours of 9am–6pm EST. 8,7Company-reported. Alliance Risk public commercial-insurance offering; company statements are not independent verification or buyer-specific policy terms. | Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 26,27Company-reported. Published workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested. Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 30Company-reported. Pie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund. Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 27,32Company-reported. Different company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process. |
| Claims assistance | Before buying, ask who receives and manages claims because the reviewed pages do not establish a dedicated reporting procedure or the scope of broker advocacy; privacy references to sharing information do not identify the claims contact. 8,7,4,3Not found in reviewed sources. Reviewed public service and legal pages on 2026-09-16; no customer portal was entered and no claim was submitted. No inference about claims quality or absence of support. | Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 31Company-reported. Published first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply. Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 32,22,33Conflicting sources. Public allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions. |
Sources for Alliance Risk vs Pie Insurance
Alliance Risk Official Website
- Technology Insurance. Alliance Risk; What is Technology Insurance?; Types of Technology; Types of Coverage; startup placement introduction; quote documents and process. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Us. Alliance Risk; Our Story. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms & Conditions. Alliance Risk; Sections 1, 4, 5, 17 and 18; last updated October 30, 2024. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Privacy Policy. Alliance Risk; Sections 1, 4, 5 and 13; revised October 30, 2024. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance Licenses. Alliance Risk; CA entry; site footer producer trade name and NPN. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get a Quote. Alliance Risk; Request form; Prefer to Call?; Why Alliance Risk? section. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. Alliance Risk; Prefer to Call?; Talk to an Expert. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- All In One Insurance Risk Advisory to Protect Your Business. Alliance Risk; Why Us?; footer brokerage disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Alliance Products. Alliance Risk; Coverages product cards, from Accountant Professional Liability through Wrap-Up Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Management Liability Insurance: How D&O, EPLI, and Fiduciary Fit Together. Alliance Risk; Closing offer to recommend a package or standalone approach; three core lines. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Pie Insurance Official Website
- Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; Homepage: small-business audience; direct workers’ compensation quote; online account; footer entity, insurer and availability qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; About Pie; direct and agency distribution; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; Get a workers’ compensation quote online; insurance made for your small business; quote inputs; coverage description; quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms Of Use. Pie Insurance; Updated 26 April 2022; Ownership and Agreement to Terms; geographic and product eligibility; policy controls coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Legal. Pie Insurance; State Licenses; footer disclosure naming producer and workers’ compensation versus third-party underwriting roles. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Insurance — Quote. Pie Insurance; First step: Business ZIP Code. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Owner’s Policy. Pie Insurance; BOP definition; typical components; Make sure you’re covered: Start your BOP quote; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; First- and third-party descriptions; carrier-partner quote invitation; policy-variation qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Errors And Omissions Insurance. Pie Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance hero (E&O and professional liability equivalence); typical claims; Make sure you’re covered: insurance carrier partners, Start now; footer third-party professional liability insurers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance. Pie Insurance; Typical covered categories; Make sure you are covered: carrier-partner quote invitation; legal footer: third-party insurers not affiliated with Pie. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Workers’ Comp Coverage By State. Pie Insurance; Headline says 40 states and the District of Columbia; rendered state selector listed 39 state names and omitted New York and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Agency Document Library. Pie Insurance; Workers’ Comp State Documents: 40 named states plus Washington, D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025. Pie Insurance; 13 January 2026 release; Key 2025 Milestones says 39 states plus Washington, D.C.; company and distribution description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Auto Claim FAQs. Pie Insurance; Does Pie offer commercial auto insurance?; submission cutoff 1 December 2025; no new or renewal policies on or after 1 January 2026; legacy claim guidance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Online Account Tutorial. Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp FAQs. Pie Insurance; Certificates; specific and blanket waiver requests, two-business-day response and state-dependent charge; Billing & Payments; Policy Renewal / When will I know it’s time to renew my policy? (approximately 30 days before expiry, quote for review and acceptance); Annual Audit; Claims. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Payment Options. Pie Insurance; Annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules; payment methods; 3% card fee and state exceptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; No initial deposit; actual-payroll monthly premium; automatic deductions; payroll-provider coordination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- File Your Claim Within 24 Hours. Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation reporting by online form, 24/7 phone or email; information requested; post-report coverage determination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Partner FAQ. Pie Insurance; How does Pie handle claims? (workers’ compensation in 34 states; CorVel in Alaska, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico and Oregon); How does Pie pay commissions? (new and renewing policies, earned premium); How does Pie handle renewals? (30-day preview: under $20,000 to insured with agency copied, over $20,000 to producer; unless otherwise notified, deposit draft and renewal issuance five days before effective date; exact $20,000 case unstated); Renewal Billing. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company. AM Best Rating Services, Inc.; Page 1: A- (Excellent), Stable, affirmed 24 April 2026; page 14: rating unit, group insurer acquisitions, 100% workers’ compensation writing through PCIC and TPIC from 1 January 2024, 40 states and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Pie Insurance Company — Company Details. Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance; Company name; active license status; NAIC 21857; property-and-casualty authority; 2025 workers’ compensation market data. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details. Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name; P&C Domestic Stock; active status; NAIC 10997; Pie Group Holdings, Inc. parent. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Administrative Actions — January 2024. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance; Allegations and Actions Against Companies: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. agreed to add a disclaimer to its “save up to 30%” advertising claim after misleading-advertising allegations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
