Pie Insurance vs RiskCube: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Pie focuses on payroll-based workers’ compensation; RiskCube brokers broader startup liability and customer-contract coverage.

An Overview of Pie Insurance and RiskCube

A startup adding employees may need workers’ compensation as well as D&O or technology liability for investors and customers. Pie focuses on workers’ compensation; RiskCube brokers broader startup lines. Choose Pie for the employee-injury policy and payroll process; choose RiskCube if the broader startup program needs a broker. Ask whether the two can coordinate your placements. 5 3 30 29

What Stands Out About Pie Insurance and RiskCube?

Pie Insurance at a Glance

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 2,1,3Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 17,18Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

RiskCube at a Glance

  • Compare available quotes from multiple insurers through RiskCube. 26,29,28,30Company-reportedOfficial public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.
  • Manage policies, certificates and renewal reminders on RiskCube’s platform. 26,29Company-reportedOfficial public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

Pie Insurance vs RiskCube Coverage Lines Compared

CoveragePie InsuranceRiskCube
Business owner’s policyListed 7Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.Not listed
CrimeNot listedListed 30RiskCube arranges commercial crime insurance for startups.
Cyber liabilityListed 8Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.Listed 30RiskCube arranges cyber insurance for startups.
Directors and officersNot listedListed 30RiskCube arranges directors and officers liability insurance for startups.
Employment practices liabilityNot listedListed 30RiskCube arranges employment practices liability insurance for startups.
Fiduciary liabilityNot listedListed 30RiskCube arranges fiduciary liability insurance for startups.
General liabilityListed 10Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.Listed 30RiskCube arranges general liability insurance for startups.
Generative AI liabilityNot listedListed 30RiskCube markets AI insurance for startups building AI products.
Key personNot listedListed 34RiskCube markets key person life insurance placement for startups.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 9Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Not listedListed 32RiskCube arranges technology errors and omissions insurance for startups.
Workers’ compensationListed 3Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.Not listed

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Pie Insurance and RiskCube Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Pie Insurance and RiskCube each document for one coverage line.

Pie Insurance and RiskCube Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

5.3/ 10

Carrier & MGA

6.3/ 10

Provider assessment

Pie Insurance and RiskCube Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

RiskCube Review Score

–/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

RiskCube has no public customer reviews or ratings that we found, so there is no Review Score. That isn't a bad sign, just not enough to judge.

Read RiskCube reviews

Key Differences Between Pie Insurance and RiskCube

Payroll Underwriting and Technology Underwriting

Pie asks workers’ compensation applicants for business location, payroll and class-code information. RiskCube’s technology E&O guidance asks about products, customers, revenue and contracts. A startup cannot replace one set of answers with the other: employee duties and payroll need to be represented alongside the liabilities created by the product it sells. 3 6 32

Pie provides both direct and agent routes. RiskCube’s published catalogue doesn’t list a workers’ compensation offering, but that doesn’t mean the broker can’t help. Ask whether the account will have a separate workers’ compensation producer and how the two service relationships will coordinate. 2 30

Payroll-Based Payment Does Not Remove the Audit

Pie markets pay-as-you-go using reported payroll with no initial deposit. It also requires an annual audit reconciling estimated and actual payroll and may seek employee, expense and subcontractor records. A growing headcount therefore needs a reporting owner even when monthly billing follows payroll. Ask RiskCube whether it handles this Pie-specific payroll workflow. Its general policy and renewal tools don’t cover it. 18 19 26

Compare payment costs separately from insurance limits. Pie discloses a card fee for specified new single-state policies and state-dependent waiver charges. RiskCube’s disclosed service and payment charges are a different category, and its fee-free marketing needs transaction-specific clarification. Neither set of public terms produces a comparable all-in premium for this startup. 17 16 28 26

Do Not Extend the Workers’ Compensation Carrier to Other Lines

Pie identifies affiliated carriers for workers’ compensation, while its BOP, general liability and professional-liability offers use outside insurers and its cyber page refers to partners. Those pages do not identify the current issuer for each buyer. RiskCube likewise needs to name the insurer in its proposal. Combining these purchases under one brand doesn’t mean they share one claims department or policy form. Confirm each separately. 5 8 29

Pie also says it stopped new and renewal commercial-auto issuance in 2026. Legacy auto claims information should not be treated as a current vehicle quote route. For a company adding delivery or field vehicles, obtain a separate placement answer instead of extrapolating from an old policy or help page. 14

What Should You Confirm in Pie Insurance and RiskCube Quotes?

  • Which employee duties, states and payroll reporting process does the workers’ compensation proposal accept? Pie’s public footprint counts are inconsistent, so use the current account-level quote. 11 13 3
  • Who prepares the annual audit and obtains any customer-required waiver, with what charge? 19 16
  • Who receives workplace-injury notice versus a technology-liability claim, and which insurer is responsible for each? 20 31
  • Which requested lines remain outside the workers’ compensation placement and need another broker or insurer? 5 30

Pie Insurance vs RiskCube Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaPie InsuranceRiskCube
Business role

Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 2,5,3,7,8,9,10Company-reportedCurrent public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant.

If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 4,24,22VerifiedWebsite ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary.

Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 5,25Company-reportedProducer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action.

RiskCube helps startups compare insurance through a broker and platform; RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC arranges coverage, while third-party insurers issue policies. 29,28Company-reportedOfficial public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

Access to insurers

Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 5,22,23,24VerifiedPie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state.

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 22VerifiedPie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 5,7,8,9,10Not publicly disclosedCurrent public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

RiskCube says it compares multiple insurers, but does not identify the carrier for a specific California applicant; ask for the insurer and surplus-lines status. 26,29,28,30Company-reportedOfficial public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

Application process

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 2,1,3Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 6,3Company-reportedUnauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 3,1Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

RiskCube describes a digital intake followed by AI-assisted, broker-reviewed comparison and purchase, but the application reviewed showed only a contact form. 26,36Company-reportedOfficial public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

Technology E&O applicants should prepare product, customer, revenue, contract, claims and incident details; RiskCube qualifies quote timing based on risk and underwriting complexity. 32Company-reportedOfficial public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

A quote is not coverage: RiskCube requires written confirmation from an insurer or authorized representative and satisfaction of binding conditions. 29Company-reportedOfficial public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

Servicing and renewals

Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 15,16Company-reportedPublished workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested.

Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 19Company-reportedPie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund.

Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 16,21Company-reportedDifferent company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process.

RiskCube says its platform supports policies, certificates and renewal notices; a certificate does not change policy coverage. 26,29Company-reportedOfficial public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

RiskCube says it reviews vendor insurance requirements and requested endorsements, but warns AI-assisted output may be incomplete; verify each contract term yourself. 31,29Company-reportedOfficial public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

Fees and compensation

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 17,18Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 17Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 16Not publicly disclosedWorkers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 21,5Not publicly disclosedAgency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Get the total price and compensation in writing: RiskCube advertises no added broker fee but also allows service and processing fees, insurer/intermediary commissions and incentives. 26,31,28Conflicting sourcesMarketing/legal disclosure tension; not a finding that any individual client has been charged an undisclosed fee. No specific commission rate or service fee schedule established.

Sources

37 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Pie Insurance vs RiskCube

  • Compare AIG’s broader commercial insurer group with Pie’s direct and agency workers’ compensation route.

  • Compare AIG’s insurer channel with RiskCube’s startup-oriented broker platform and AI-assisted comparison process.

  • Pie offers premium audits and pay-as-you-go plans for workers' compensation; Alliance Risk lists the line within a larger commercial catalogue.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation