Founder Shield vs
Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Founder Shield coordinates broader insurance for growing businesses; Pie focuses on workers’ compensation and payroll-based billing, with partners for selected other products.
Introduction to the Founder Shield vs Pie Insurance Comparison
An employer deciding how to handle workers’ compensation can compare Pie’s payroll-based billing with a broader program arranged by Founder Shield. Other Pie business policies come through partners, so compare those proposals separately from its workers’ compensation offer. 11 1 33 31 Choose Founder Shield if you need broader program coordination; choose Pie if workers’ compensation and payroll billing are your priority.
Buyer Takeaways for Founder Shield vs Pie Insurance
Founder Shield Buyer Takeaways
- Startup programs serve companies from early venture stages through IPO. 1,6Company-reported. Stated customer focus, not an audited customer census or an eligibility guarantee.
- Review coverage as your products, business model or locations change. 19Company-reported. Changes FAQ. Does not establish automatic increases in limits, approval of new activities or protection without a policy change.
Pie Insurance Buyer Takeaways
- Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 30,29,31Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
- Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 45,46Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.
Founder Shield vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Founder Shield | Pie Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 35Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests. |
| Cargo and transit | Listed 11Founder Shield lists transit and transportation coverage for goods in transit or stored offsite. | Not listed |
| Commercial property | Listed 11Founder Shield lists property insurance among its core offerings. | Not listed |
| Contract frustration | Listed 11Founder Shield lists Key Person & Contract Frustration among its specialized offerings. | Not listed |
| Crime | Listed 11Founder Shield lists crime insurance among its core offerings. | Not listed |
| Cyber liability | Listed 11Founder Shield lists cyber liability among its core offerings. | Listed 36Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners. |
| Digital assets | Listed 11Founder Shield lists digital-asset insurance among its specialized offerings. | Not listed |
| Directors and officers | Listed 11Founder Shield lists directors and officers insurance among its core offerings. | Not listed |
| Employee health and benefits | Listed 11Founder Shield lists Employee Health & Benefits among its services. | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 11Founder Shield lists employment practices liability among its core coverage services. | Not listed |
| Fidelity bonds | Listed 11Founder Shield lists ERISA fidelity bonds among its specialized coverages. | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 11Founder Shield lists fiduciary liability among its core coverages. | Not listed |
| General liability | Listed 11Founder Shield lists general liability among its core coverage offerings. | Listed 38Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers. |
| Generative AI liability | Listed 14Founder Shield markets generative-AI liability for US businesses with revenue up to $10 billion that use generative AI but do not sell it as a standalone product. | Not listed |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Listed 11Founder Shield lists hired and non-owned auto among its specialized coverage offerings. | Not listed |
| Intellectual property | Listed 11Founder Shield arranges intellectual property insurance. | Not listed |
| Key person | Listed 11Founder Shield lists key person insurance among its specialized coverages. | Not listed |
| Last-mile delivery | Listed 11Founder Shield lists last-mile delivery among its specialized coverage offerings. | Not listed |
| Media liability | Listed 28Founder Shield arranges media liability insurance for content creators. | Not listed |
| Product liability | Listed 11Founder Shield lists product liability insurance. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 11Founder Shield lists errors and omissions for lawsuits alleging inferior work or service. | Listed 37Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers. |
| Representations and warranties | Listed 11Founder Shield lists representations and warranties insurance for mergers and acquisitions. | Not listed |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 11Founder Shield lists umbrella insurance. | Not listed |
| Venture capital asset protection | Listed 11Founder Shield lists venture capital asset protection for management and investment-advisory liability. | Not listed |
| Virtual care and telehealth | Listed 11Founder Shield lists virtual care and telehealth insurance for tech-enabled healthcare companies. | Not listed |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 11Founder Shield lists workers’ compensation insurance. | Listed 31Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Founder Shield vs Pie Insurance Research by Coverage Line
Open what Founder Shield and Pie Insurance each document for one coverage line.
Cyber Insurance
General Liability Insurance
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Current Reliability Scores for Founder Shield and Pie Insurance
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Founder Shield Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.3/ 10Pie Insurance Reliability Scores
Hybrid providerBroker
5.3/ 10Carrier & MGA
6.3/ 10Founder Shield and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Founder Shield Review Score
Review Score
1 rated source
Founder Shield has too little independent customer feedback for a reliable verdict. One positive Trustpilot review does not establish a service track record.
Read Founder Shield reviewsPie Insurance Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.
Read Pie Insurance reviewsKey Differences Between Founder Shield and Pie Insurance
Ownership of the Whole Program
If a venture-backed consumer brand opens a warehouse and hires its first operations team, payroll insurance joins its existing product, cyber and management risks. Founder Shield’s catalogue spans those areas and describes tailoring a program. Pie’s core workers’ compensation path begins with business and payroll information; its broader menu includes business owner’s policies (BOP), general liability, cyber and professional liability through other carriers. Compare a complete proposal before deciding whether to consolidate every line or coordinate separate providers. 11 12 31 33 36
A Pie workers’ compensation quote is not evidence that the investor’s directors and officers (D&O) requirement has been addressed. Conversely, a Founder Shield package is not evidence that every policy must move together. Ask for a written list of included and separately arranged lines, and name the person who reviews new warehouse activities across them. Pie supports both direct buyers and agents, so an advisor can remain involved where the agency has the necessary access. Ask Founder Shield whether it is appointed to place Pie specifically. 13 12 30
Payroll-Based Billing and Premium Financing
Pie describes pay-as-you-go payments based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. Founder Shield’s general pricing FAQ describes full payment, carrier installments and third-party premium financing. For the warehouse’s uncertain hiring schedule, ask whether the offered workers’ compensation policy can adjust payments with payroll and what reporting is required. Do not assume that an installment plan tracks staffing simply because payments are monthly. 46 22
Pie’s annual audit uses actual payroll and asks for employee duties, expenses and subcontractor certificates. That makes payroll quality part of the purchasing decision: someone must supply accurate information during the term and retain records for reconciliation. Pay-as-you-go billing doesn’t mean the premium is final. Expect a true-up at audit. Ask Founder Shield who provides equivalent audit support for the insurer it proposes; its general financing description does not answer that policy-specific question. 47 46 22
Request the total payment cost as well as the premium basis. Pie publishes a 3% credit-card convenience fee for new, single-state workers’ compensation policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; that disclosure does not describe the fee for multi-state or renewal policies. Pie also charges for waiver requests; Founder Shield discloses commissions, fees and possible financing-related compensation. Compare annual cost, expected reporting work and contractual charges using the same payroll and job classifications. No public benchmark establishes the cheaper offer for this business. 45 44 2 23
Locations and Endorsements in the Quote
Pie’s public state counts conflict, while Founder Shield’s terms limit some offerings by jurisdiction. If the warehouse operation expands into another state, obtain acceptance for that location and its actual work rather than relying on either a producer license or a nationwide-sounding description. Pie’s published documents can help locate state materials but do not prove eligibility for every employee classification. 39 29 40 2
Contract paperwork differs by line too. Founder Shield asks for contract requirements when assessing certificate and endorsement needs. Pie’s workers’ compensation FAQ distinguishes a waiver of subrogation from additional-insured status and charges for waiver requests. If a warehouse contract asks the insurer to waive recovery rights, request the applicable endorsement, fee and effective date; a certificate by itself does not perform that change. 18 44
Issuers and Claim Handlers
Pie identifies affiliated workers’ compensation insurers while assigning selected other products to unaffiliated insurers. Founder Shield is a broker whose terms exclude risk-bearing and coverage-determination roles. A group-level brand or rating cannot identify the insurer responsible for covered losses on every policy in either proposed program. Use the declarations and insurer-specific documents. 33 2
Pie documents workplace-injury reporting and state-dependent handling, including CorVel in named states. Founder Shield documents broker advocacy and direct-insurer reporting. For the warehouse, agree who makes the first injury report and who helps with subsequent questions; distinguish the claim administrator from the broker coordinating the wider program. Don’t use these published assistance descriptions to judge which insurer will settle claims better. 48 49 21
If the business also needs delivery-vehicle coverage, do not use Pie’s navigation as a current offer: its commercial-auto FAQ says it stopped new and renewal business. Arrange that requirement separately and identify who coordinates it with the remaining program. 42 12
What Should You Confirm in Founder Shield and Pie Insurance Quotes?
- Program ownership: List the workers’ compensation placement, investor and product obligations, any policies staying elsewhere, and the coordinating advisor. 11 33
- Payroll and audit terms: Obtain accepted classifications, reporting instructions, audit records and the distinction between payroll-based payments and financing. 47 22
- State and contract approvals: Confirm locations and any waiver endorsement, including its price, instead of relying on a footprint count or certificate. 39 44 18
- An injury-reporting plan: Name the insurer, state claim handler, first-report recipient and broker advocate. 49 21
Founder Shield vs Pie Insurance Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Founder Shield | Pie Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Customer focus | Venture-backed and high-growth businesses from early rounds through IPO can use Founder Shield’s industry practices in technology, life sciences, finance, retail and transportation. 1,6Company-reported. Stated customer focus, not an audited customer census or an eligibility guarantee. | Small businesses looking for workers’ compensation can approach Pie directly or through local, regional and national agencies. 30,31Company-reported. US small-business workers’ compensation distribution described on Pie’s current About and product pages. |
| Application process | You can start by creating an account through Founder Shield’s quote portal using Google, Microsoft or email sign-in. 7,8Verified. Public interface directly observed in Chrome on September 15, 2026. No sign-in, identity-provider flow, registration submission, quote or authenticated workflow tested. Founder Shield says its application takes under 15 minutes, but that does not guarantee how quickly insurers will quote or when coverage can start. 6Company-reported. Startup page marketing claim. No timed application or binding exercise performed. To bind coverage, Founder Shield says you approve the proposal, choose payment and a start date, then sign remaining documents while its team handles insurer paperwork. 9Company-reported. Documented general process; the actual carrier’s outstanding requirements and confirmation determine the transaction. No completed purchase observed. | Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 30,29,31Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process. Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 34,31Company-reported. Unauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced. Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 31,29Company-reported. Workers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed. |
| Access to insurers | Founder Shield advertises access to 200+ carriers, but that does not promise your account will receive 200 quotes; its broker says it first looks for markets willing to insure your industry and risk. 6,10Company-reported. Company network and selection claims. No complete roster, direct-appointment census, market submission log or competitive quote exercise obtained. Founder Shield says it works exclusively with AM Best A-rated carriers; verify the current rating of the insurer named on your specific policy. 10Company-reported. No financial-strength rating assigned to the broker, Testudo or an unnamed insurer. Ask for the exact issuing entity and verify the rating attached to that entity. Ask for the insurer or Lloyd’s syndicates on your quote: Founder Shield distributes the AI product and names Testudo as underwriter, while Testudo says its US entity places insurance without taking the risk. 14,16,17Company-reported. Product-specific company disclosures. Do not equate an underwriting intermediary with a risk-bearing insurer or assign this placement chain to other Founder Shield products. Regulatory approvals and ratings are not independently established. | Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 33,50,51,52Verified. Pie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state. Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 50Verified. Pie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report. For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 33,35,36,37,38Not publicly disclosed. Current public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested. |
| Servicing and renewals | For a contract certificate, email Founder Shield the other party’s legal name and address, required wording and the contract insurance clause so the team can assess endorsement needs. 18Company-reported. Company-described COI process. No certificate requested and no turnaround independently measured. A request is not confirmation that all requested wording is covered. Tell Founder Shield when products, business model, offices or territories change so it can review whether your coverage needs adjustment. 19Company-reported. Changes FAQ. Does not establish automatic increases in limits, approval of new activities or protection without a policy change. Start preparing for renewal 60–90 days before expiration with updated business information and claims history; Founder Shield calls this planning guidance, not a service deadline. 1,20Company-reported. Homepage platform description and January 2026 renewal guidance. No authenticated renewal tested, automatic renewal guarantee or fixed service-level agreement found. Check minimum-earned-premium terms before binding because some insurers keep part of the premium if you cancel early; Founder Shield directs cancellation requests to support. 2Company-reported. General cancellation description; refund amounts, financed balances and effective dates depend on the contract. | Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 43,44Company-reported. Published workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested. Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 47Company-reported. Pie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund. Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 44,49Company-reported. Different company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process. |
| Fees and compensation | Compare the full annual cost and payment schedule: Founder Shield says quotes generally cover one year and may offer full pay, carrier installments or outside financing. 22Company-reported. General billing description, not a quoted premium, guaranteed financing eligibility or a statement that borrowing costs are included in the insurance price. Ask Founder Shield for the nature and amount of commissions, fees or interest on your account; it says charges are disclosed in advance. 2Company-reported. Fees and Charges section. No account-specific compensation amount or universally applicable fee schedule obtained. Check whether group-level fees, commissions or referral payments apply to your placement; The Baldwin Group’s disclosure describes possible volume/profitability and affiliate compensation but does not say each applies to Founder Shield. 23Company-reported. Group-wide disclosure, not account-specific remuneration. Client fees can be in lieu of or additional to retail commissions. No inferred misconduct or automatic financial conflict outcome. | Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 45,46Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote. Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 45Company-reported. Credit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page. Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 44Not publicly disclosed. Workers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process. Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 49,33Not publicly disclosed. Agency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation. |
Sources for Founder Shield vs Pie Insurance
Founder Shield Official Website
- Founder Shield. Founder Shield; Opening broker description; Specialized Practices; Smart Tech, Smarter People; quote and sign-in links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms of Service. Founder Shield; Opening agreement; License Status; Representations and Disclaimers Related to Products or Services; Fees and Charges; Void Where Prohibited. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Us. Founder Shield; Opening description and Charting Your path from MVP to IPO. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Partnerships. The Baldwin Group; Brand-change introduction and 2020–2024 acquisitions list, Founder Shield entry. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- List of Subsidiaries as of February 26, 2026. The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. (SEC filing); Exhibit 21.1, list as of February 26, 2026: The Baldwin Group Specialty Solutions, LLC, Florida. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Startup Insurance. Founder Shield; What Coverage Does your Startup Need?; Why Startups Choose Founder Shield; Industries We Serve; Essential Policies to Consider section. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Quote Portal. Founder Shield; Public landing screen, Create Account and Sign In links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Create Account. Founder Shield; Public registration screen: Google, Microsoft, email and password options. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- How Do I Bind Coverage? Founder Shield; Jonathan Selby answer, November 25, 2024: proposal approval, payment, effective date and electronic signatures. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- How Do You Decide Which Carriers to Approach? Founder Shield; Jonathan Selby answer, November 25, 2024: appetite, stated rating standard and carrier-selection criteria. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coverage. Founder Shield; Core Coverage: Crime Insurance, Cyber Liability, Directors & Officers, Employment Practices Liability, Fiduciary Liability, General Liability, Property Insurance; Specialized Coverage: Digital Asset Insurance, ERISA Fidelity Bond, Hired & Non-Owned Auto, Intellectual Property, Key Person & Contract Frustration, Last-Mile Delivery Insurance, Transit & Transportation; product cards: Errors & Omissions, Product Liability, Representations and Warranties, Umbrella Insurance, VCAP, Virtual Care & Telehealth Insurance, Workers Compensation; Health & Benefits: Employee Health & Benefits; Get a Quote and Learn More links. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- How Do We Purchase “A La Carte” Commercial Insurance? Founder Shield; Jonathan Selby answer, November 25, 2024: individual coverages, limits, deductibles and endorsements. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Directors & Officers Insurance. Founder Shield; What Does D&O Insurance Cover?; Major Shareholder Exclusion; D&O Insurance Cost and Enhancements. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Generative AI Liability Insurance. Founder Shield; Who Needs Generative AI Liability Insurance Coverage?; five coverage categories; Generative AI Liability Policy; What Does A Generative AI Liability Policy Not Cover?; Speak with a Generative AI Liability Insurance Broker; Get a Quote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- AI Liability Insurance for Brokers. Testudo; What does the policy cover? (six insuring agreements); Limits & pricing; target customers; application materials via Broker Platform. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Testudo. Testudo; What we do; Coverage you can rely on when it matters. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Licenses and Regulatory Disclosures. Testudo; United States entity and non-risk-bearing role; United Kingdom entity disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- How Do I Get a Certificates of Insurance? Founder Shield; Luke Kaltreider answer, November 25, 2024: email requests, contract wording and endorsement needs. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- What If Our Company Grows A Lot or Things Change During the Year? Founder Shield; Carl Niedbala answer, November 25, 2024: operational changes and coverage adjustments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Ultimate Business Insurance Renewal Checklist for Startups. Founder Shield; January 12, 2026; Know Your Part in the Renewal Process; The Early Start Advantage (60–90 days). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Claims. Founder Shield; Our Approach; How We Support Claims Management, steps 1–5; Make a claim link. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- What Am I Actually Getting For the Price of Business Insurance? Founder Shield; Carl Niedbala answer, November 25, 2024: policy period, quoted charges, installments and premium financing. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Transparency & Disclosure. The Baldwin Group; Effective January 1, 2026; How The Baldwin Group is Compensated, including client fees, contingent commissions, affiliate services and referral fees. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Disciplinary Actions Issued August 21, 2025. New York State Department of Financial Services; Page 6 of 12, Region: New York, Foundershield LLC; $36,600 fine; consent order approved June 26, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance License Search. New York State Department of Financial Services; Producer-search entry point. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- License. The Baldwin Group; California entity/license table; neither Foundershield LLC nor The Baldwin Group Specialty Solutions, LLC is listed. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Surplus Lines. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Background, Issue; updated October 27, 2025: nonadmitted specialized insurers cover risks unavailable in the admitted market. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Content Creator Insurance. Founder Shield; Content Creator Insurance product introduction; What Is Content Creator Insurance? FAQ: media liability coverage for creators. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Pie Insurance Official Website
- Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; Homepage: small-business audience; direct workers’ compensation quote; online account; footer entity, insurer and availability qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; About Pie; direct and agency distribution; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; Get a workers’ compensation quote online; insurance made for your small business; quote inputs; coverage description; quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms Of Use. Pie Insurance; Updated 26 April 2022; Ownership and Agreement to Terms; geographic and product eligibility; policy controls coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Legal. Pie Insurance; State Licenses; footer disclosure naming producer and workers’ compensation versus third-party underwriting roles. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Insurance — Quote. Pie Insurance; First step: Business ZIP Code. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Owner’s Policy. Pie Insurance; BOP definition; typical components; Make sure you’re covered: Start your BOP quote; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; First- and third-party descriptions; carrier-partner quote invitation; policy-variation qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Errors And Omissions Insurance. Pie Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance hero (E&O and professional liability equivalence); typical claims; Make sure you’re covered: insurance carrier partners, Start now; footer third-party professional liability insurers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance. Pie Insurance; Typical covered categories; Make sure you are covered: carrier-partner quote invitation; legal footer: third-party insurers not affiliated with Pie. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Workers’ Comp Coverage By State. Pie Insurance; Headline says 40 states and the District of Columbia; rendered state selector listed 39 state names and omitted New York and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Agency Document Library. Pie Insurance; Workers’ Comp State Documents: 40 named states plus Washington, D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025. Pie Insurance; 13 January 2026 release; Key 2025 Milestones says 39 states plus Washington, D.C.; company and distribution description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Auto Claim FAQs. Pie Insurance; Does Pie offer commercial auto insurance?; submission cutoff 1 December 2025; no new or renewal policies on or after 1 January 2026; legacy claim guidance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Online Account Tutorial. Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp FAQs. Pie Insurance; Certificates; specific and blanket waiver requests, two-business-day response and state-dependent charge; Billing & Payments; Policy Renewal / When will I know it’s time to renew my policy? (approximately 30 days before expiry, quote for review and acceptance); Annual Audit; Claims. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Payment Options. Pie Insurance; Annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules; payment methods; 3% card fee and state exceptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; No initial deposit; actual-payroll monthly premium; automatic deductions; payroll-provider coordination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- File Your Claim Within 24 Hours. Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation reporting by online form, 24/7 phone or email; information requested; post-report coverage determination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Partner FAQ. Pie Insurance; How does Pie handle claims? (workers’ compensation in 34 states; CorVel in Alaska, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico and Oregon); How does Pie pay commissions? (new and renewing policies, earned premium); How does Pie handle renewals? (30-day preview: under $20,000 to insured with agency copied, over $20,000 to producer; unless otherwise notified, deposit draft and renewal issuance five days before effective date; exact $20,000 case unstated); Renewal Billing. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company. AM Best Rating Services, Inc.; Page 1: A- (Excellent), Stable, affirmed 24 April 2026; page 14: rating unit, group insurer acquisitions, 100% workers’ compensation writing through PCIC and TPIC from 1 January 2024, 40 states and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Pie Insurance Company — Company Details. Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance; Company name; active license status; NAIC 21857; property-and-casualty authority; 2025 workers’ compensation market data. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details. Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name; P&C Domestic Stock; active status; NAIC 10997; Pie Group Holdings, Inc. parent. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Administrative Actions — January 2024. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance; Allegations and Actions Against Companies: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. agreed to add a disclaimer to its “save up to 30%” advertising claim after misleading-advertising allegations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
