Embroker vs
Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Embroker offers a law-firm package with professional liability, cyber, business owners and workers’ compensation; Pie focuses on workers’ compensation with payroll-based billing.
Introduction to the Embroker vs Pie Insurance Comparison
A law firm hiring attorneys and support staff may need lawyers’ professional liability, cyber, office coverage and workers’ compensation together. Embroker lists a package spanning those lines; Pie focuses on workers’ compensation, with other coverages coming through partners. 2 16 31 29 Choose Embroker if you need a broader law-firm package; choose Pie if payroll-based workers’ compensation is your main need.
Buyer Takeaways for Embroker vs Pie Insurance
Embroker Buyer Takeaways
- Eligible technology firms can bundle management coverage with technology E&O and cyber through one application. 9Company-reported. 19 August 2026 launch, new-business product. Company report of structure, not policy wording or proof of same-session binding.
- Technology and law-firm packages group relevant coverage options together. 17,16Company-reported. Current direct industry tabs. Optional hired/non-owned auto is not counted as a standalone coverage line.
Pie Insurance Buyer Takeaways
- Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 28,27,29Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
- Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 43,44Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.
Embroker vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Embroker | Pie Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Listed 8Embroker lists a business owner’s policy with a quote route. | Listed 33Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests. |
| Commercial auto | Listed 21Embroker offers help obtaining commercial auto insurance and invites quote requests. | Not listed |
| Commercial property | Listed 22Embroker offers help obtaining commercial property insurance and invites property quote requests. | Not listed |
| Crime | Listed 8Embroker lists commercial crime and offers a corresponding quote path. | Not listed |
| Cyber liability | Listed 8Embroker lists cyber insurance with a quote route. | Listed 34Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners. |
| Directors and officers | Listed 8Embroker lists directors and officers insurance with a quote route. | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 8Embroker offers quotes for employment practices liability as an individual coverage. | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 8Embroker lists fiduciary liability with a quote route. | Not listed |
| General liability | Listed 8Embroker offers a general liability quote route among its individual business coverages. | Listed 36Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers. |
| Key person | Listed 20Embroker arranges key person insurance. | Not listed |
| Management liability | Listed 9Embroker markets a management insurance suite for private companies. | Not listed |
| Product liability | Listed 24Embroker lists product liability insurance for companies that produce, distribute or sell products. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 8,14Embroker lists professional liability (errors and omissions) for professional services, separately from lawyers professional liability and technology errors and omissions. | Listed 35Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers. |
| Surety bonds | Listed 23Embroker arranges construction-contract and license or permit surety bonds. | Not listed |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 11Embroker offers blended technology errors and omissions and cyber coverage through appointed brokers for private, for-profit technology companies with revenue below $300 million, excluding crypto, blockchain and cannabis businesses. | Not listed |
| Venture capital asset protection | Listed 25Embroker markets VCAP insurance for venture capital and private equity firms. | Not listed |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 8Embroker arranges workers’ compensation insurance. | Listed 29Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Embroker vs Pie Insurance Research by Coverage Line
Open what Embroker and Pie Insurance each document for one coverage line.
Business Owner’s Policy
Cyber Insurance
General Liability Insurance
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Workers’ Compensation Insurance
Current Reliability Scores for Embroker and Pie Insurance
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Embroker Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.1/ 10Pie Insurance Reliability Scores
Hybrid providerBroker
5.3/ 10Carrier & MGA
6.3/ 10Embroker and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Embroker Review Score
Review Score
3 rated sources
Embroker’s reviews are mixed, and BBB records a complaint-response concern. The feedback is too limited to establish consistent service quality.
Read Embroker reviewsPie Insurance Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.
Read Pie Insurance reviewsKey Differences Between Embroker and Pie Insurance
Lawyers’ Liability Versus Workers’ Compensation
A law firm is hiring associates and opening a second office. Its payroll and employee locations matter to workers’ compensation; the number of attorneys, areas of work and prior matters matter to professional liability. Embroker’s named lawyers’ liability program has a specific appetite. 29 14
Law firms with 1–25 attorneys may fit Embroker’s lawyers’ liability program if they meet its no-claims/discipline, physical-address and risk-control criteria; it lists pre-claim help and defense-cost options. 14Company-reported. Current Access LPL appetite and features; not a finding that larger or claims-affected firms cannot obtain any insurance through Embroker brokerage.
A practice moving beyond that attorney-count range, or one with a claim history, should request another underwriting answer before budgeting on the named program. That limit belongs to the particular program, not a finding that Embroker’s brokerage cannot arrange other coverage. Pie’s professional-liability/errors and omissions (E&O) page supplies a partner route, but it does not identify a lawyers’ malpractice form or promise acceptance of the practice’s work. Ask for a profession-specific proposal if considering it for more than workers’ compensation. 14 2 35
The overlap remains useful: the firm can request workers’ compensation through Embroker’s law package and compare it with Pie. Separate that policy’s premium and terms from malpractice and cyber. A four-line package total cannot establish whether the workers’ compensation component is cheaper or broader than a standalone offer. 16 29
Pay-as-You-Go Billing and Premium Audits
Pie’s pay-as-you-go arrangement advertises no initial deposit and uses reported payroll to calculate payments during the term. For the growing firm, that connects payments with the actual hiring schedule. Request the payroll-provider connection, reporting frequency and responsibility for corrections. Embroker’s package description does not specify one payroll-billing method across its workers’ compensation placements, so ask its proposed insurer for the equivalent payment options. 44 16 2
Pay-as-you-go is not an exemption from the annual audit. Pie describes an audit using actual payroll, job duties and subcontractor insurance information. The practice should preserve employee classifications and location changes throughout the year, then reconcile the final premium rather than treating monthly withdrawals as a fixed total. Give the Embroker placement the same payroll schedule so differences in estimates do not masquerade as price savings. 45 29 2
Pie’s payment page also limits its published credit-card fee to new single-state workers’ compensation policies, with named state exceptions. A second office could change the relevant policy arrangement; do not apply a single-state example to a multistate proposal. Embroker separately discloses possible client fees, insurer commissions and financing/payment charges. Ask both for an annual itemization and any audit adjustment exposure. 43 3 2
Prior Legal Work and Cyber Coverage
Embroker’s lawyers’ professional liability (LPL) marketing advertises pre-claim assistance without a deductible and defense-cost options. These are features to compare when a firm wants help with a potential professional problem before it becomes a claim. Its public 2019 specimen, however, has base wording that makes claim expenses reduce the liability limit. Ask which current endorsements the offer includes, including whether defense spending is inside or outside the limit and which deductible applies. 14 15
That specimen also ties coverage to claim/reporting timing and a retroactive date for earlier work. If the expanding firm replaces its lawyers’ policy while retaining Pie workers’ compensation, the two renewals need separate continuity checks. For any Pie partner professional-liability proposal, obtain the actual lawyer-specific form, prior-work terms and defense provisions before considering replacement. The general E&O catalogue cannot resolve those questions. 15 35
Cyber requires a separate comparison too. Embroker’s law package lists it as a component, and Pie’s cyber page describes coverage through partners. Request the cyber insurer, form and emergency reporting details under each offer rather than assume the workers’ compensation or malpractice insurer supplies all of the coverage. 16 34 31
Work States and Issuing Insurers
Pie’s public workers’ compensation footprint counts are inconsistent, while Embroker’s producer-license list is not a product-availability map. Give both the actual work states and employee duties and obtain acceptance for each location. National marketing cannot establish a particular insurer’s willingness to cover the new office. 37 39 5 2
Embroker names Everest National for the LPL program, while Pie identifies affiliated workers’ compensation insurers separately from outside partners. The practice needs the issuer of every selected policy on its schedule; a rating or affiliation associated with one line should not be assigned to another. The broker or program brand identifies where the firm obtained the insurance, not necessarily who owes the policy obligation. 14 2 31
Claims Contacts and Broker Changes
Pie documents workplace-injury reporting and a state-dependent division of claims administration. Embroker provides account instructions, direct insurer contacts and a policy-hotline route for active cyber incidents. Maintain separate instructions for injury, malpractice and cyber reporting, including who helps assemble payroll or legal-matter records. Neither provider’s general service description determines whether a particular claim will be paid. 46 47 19
If the firm later consolidates with another broker, confirm Embroker Access status before assuming the same proprietary lawyers’ policy can renew. Embroker warns that leaving affects account certificate and change functions and that a successor outside Access may not renew proprietary products. Pie offers direct and agency routes, but that does not establish any particular agency’s Embroker appointment. 4 10 28
What Should You Confirm in Embroker and Pie Insurance Quotes?
- A lawyer-specific offer: Confirm attorney count, areas of practice, prior matters, retroactive date and current defense-cost endorsements, including pre-claim assistance terms. 14 15 35
- A payroll and state schedule: Match both workers’ compensation proposals to identical duties and locations; record pay-as-you-go reporting and year-end audit requirements. 29 44 45 16
- Separate annual costs: Break out each policy, deposit, payment charge, finance cost and possible audit adjustment. 3 43
- A continuity and reporting plan: Identify each insurer, injury administrator, malpractice notice recipient, cyber hotline and any future proprietary-program access requirement. 47 19 4
Embroker vs Pie Insurance Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Embroker | Pie Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Customer focus | Funded startups, technology firms, law firms and other professional-services businesses can apply online or get broker help buying and managing coverage through Embroker. 1,2,4Company-reported. Current public customer positioning and documented distribution channels; no claim that every applicant is eligible. | Small businesses looking for workers’ compensation can approach Pie directly or through local, regional and national agencies. 28,29Company-reported. US small-business workers’ compensation distribution described on Pie’s current About and product pages. |
| Application process | Embroker provides an online quote entry; the reviewed observation establishes the entry point, not the fields collected. 26Company-reported. Read-only observation of the public quote entry at https://app.embroker.com/signup on 15 September 2026; no form submitted or account created. An online account alone does not appoint Embroker as your broker; using its brokerage requires a broker-of-record appointment and usually exclusive work with Embroker for those services. 2Company-reported. Terms §2A; distinction between software access and brokerage engagement, not an interpretation of enforceability. An application may need more underwriting details or be declined, and a quote alone does not start coverage. 2Company-reported. Terms §13. No quote or binding transaction performed. | Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 28,27,29Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process. Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 32,29Company-reported. Unauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced. Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 29,27Company-reported. Workers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed. |
| Access to insurers | Check each policy’s insurer: Embroker names Everspan for EMIS and excess Tech E&O/Cyber, and Everest National for lawyers’ liability; these do not establish one carrier for all products. 9,13,14,15Company-reported. Current program marketing and LPL specimen; financial-strength ratings and admission status are not independently established, so no rating is assigned here. | Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 31,48,49,50Verified. Pie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state. Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 48Verified. Pie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report. For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 31,33,34,35,36Not publicly disclosed. Current public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested. |
| Fees and compensation | Ask whether your quote includes commissions, contingent or supplemental compensation, or client fees; Embroker says its software is free but insurance services may generate these payments, agreed before binding. 3Company-reported. Compensation disclosure; no policy-specific rate or amount established. Free software does not mean free insurance or zero distribution compensation. Get payment-processing and finance costs separately from broker compensation because processors and premium-finance lenders may charge their own fees. 2Company-reported. Terms §§2A and 22; no specific financing offer reviewed. | Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 43,44Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote. Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 43Company-reported. Credit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page. Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 42Not publicly disclosed. Workers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process. Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 47,31Not publicly disclosed. Agency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation. |
| Claims assistance | Use your account’s Claims tab for reporting instructions; for active cyber incidents follow the hotline in your policy, and report other claims to the insurer named there. 19Company-reported. Claims page How it works and FAQ. No submission performed. Policy-specific reporting requirements take priority over general website steps. Embroker says it aims to issue a written coverage determination within 30 days, but gives no claim-resolution schedule; a coverage decision is not a payment deadline or proof of performance. 19Company-reported. Same claims page: Step 2 versus How long will it take to work through the claim? Distinct stages, not treated as a direct contradiction. No national statutory deadline asserted. | Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 46Company-reported. Published first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply. Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 47,37,48Conflicting sources. Public allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions. |
Sources for Embroker vs Pie Insurance
Embroker Official Website
- Embroker. Embroker; Industry navigation; quote and sign-in links; coverage options; footer availability qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms And Conditions. Embroker; Introduction; §§2A–B Insurance services, 13 Applications and quotes, 15 Insurance companies and underwriting guidelines, 16 Certificates, 21 Surplus lines products, 22 Payments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Compensation Disclosure. Embroker; Commissions (including contingent and supplemental); Client fees; Other benefits or compensation. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance FAQ. Embroker; Engaging Embroker: leaving and transferring policies; Applying for insurance; Renewals; Other insurance services: specimen policies, certificates and policy documents. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Published License List. Embroker; AK–WY list, including DC; California 0K44291. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- California License Number Search. California Department of Insurance; License-number search for 0K44291. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Embroker Insurance Services LLC — Entity Record. Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations; Document M15000008735; foreign LLC, Delaware; Authorized Member: Embroker, Inc.; 2026 annual report filed 20 January 2026. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Insurance Coverage Options. Embroker; Individual coverages: Business Owners Policy, Commercial Crime, Cyber, Directors & Officers, Employment Practices Liability, Fiduciary Liability, General Liability, Professional Liability (Errors and Omissions), Workers Compensation; Coverages navigation: Lawyers Professional Liability, Professional Liability, Tech Errors and Omissions; industry packages; invitation to seek other policies through Embroker; Get a Quote links. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Embroker Launches EMIS. Embroker; 19 August 2026 announcement: introduction; What’s changing; coverage options (four coverages); legacy renewals versus new business; Availability; About Embroker issuer disclosure naming Everspan Indemnity Insurance Company. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Embroker Access. Embroker; EMIS announcement; appointed-broker quoting, binding and issuance; product links; footer identifies Embroker Insurance Services, LLC. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Tech E&O / Cyber — Broker Program. Embroker; Tech E&O / Cyber hero; Appetite: private for-profit technology companies, revenue below $300M, MFA above $5M, excluded crypto, blockchain and cannabis industries; Coverage Highlights, including software code infringement; Get Appointed. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Errors And Omissions / Cyber. Embroker; What’s not included: copyright, libel and intellectual property; FAQ: additional coverages and excess coverage cannot be written over an Embroker primary policy. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Excess Tech E&O / Cyber. Embroker; At a Glance; Appetite; underlying Tech E&O requirement; Everspan underwriting statement; ineligible industries; documents required to quote; Excess Tech E&O / Cyber. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Lawyers Professional Liability — Broker Program. Embroker; Appetite: 1–25 attorneys, claims-free and no discipline; standalone lawyers professional liability program; Everest National; coverage highlights and defense cost features. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Everest Elevation Lawyers Professional Liability — Specimen. Everest National Insurance Company (hosted by Embroker); PDF pp. 2–3: declarations LPL-CWF001A-1 0319 name Everest National and Embroker Insurance Services LLC; PDF p. 5: LPL-CWF100A-1 0319 warning and §I, claims-made/reporting/retroactive date; PDF p. 4 lists state amendments as TBD. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Law Firm Insurance Package. Embroker; Comprehensive coverage for law firms: Lawyers Professional Liability, Cyber, Business Owners Policy and Workers Compensation tabs. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance For Technology Companies. Embroker; Technology Package: Tech E&O/Cyber and BOP; Plus-only fraud, bricking and utility features; optional hired/non-owned auto under BOP. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Embroker’s AI Coverage. Embroker; Article (published 26 May 2026; endorsement effective 5 August 2025): What’s included; algorithm removal expenses up to $150,000; qualifying Technology E&O/Cyber quotes. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Claims. Embroker; How it works: account Claims tab, confirmation and review; FAQ: active cyber events use policy hotline, other claims use insurer contacts; no fixed resolution time. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Key Person Insurance. Embroker; Key Person Insurance product introduction: life insurance for an executive, founder or other critical employee; concierge service; inquiry form and quote route. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Auto Insurance. Embroker; Opening Embroker service offer; Who Is It For? commercial auto quote invitation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Property Insurance. Embroker; Opening Embroker service offer; Who Is It For? property quote invitation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Surety Bonds. Embroker; Surety Bonds: opening statement that Embroker helps obtain surety bonds; What are they? (obligee, principal and surety; government agency; license or permit); What Is a Construction Bond?; Get a Quote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Product Liability Insurance. Embroker; Product Liability Insurance introduction (injury or property damage from products produced, distributed or sold); Why Get It With Embroker?; Get a Quote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance For Venture Capital And Private Equity Firms. Embroker; Insurance simplified for VC & private equity firms: VCAP offering, growth-practice brokers and platform service; comprehensive VCAP insurance for finance/VC/PE firms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Start An Embroker Quote. Embroker; Public first screen: company name, optional website question, linked terms/disclosure and Continue. Accessed 2026-09-15.
Pie Insurance Official Website
- Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; Homepage: small-business audience; direct workers’ compensation quote; online account; footer entity, insurer and availability qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; About Pie; direct and agency distribution; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; Get a workers’ compensation quote online; insurance made for your small business; quote inputs; coverage description; quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms Of Use. Pie Insurance; Updated 26 April 2022; Ownership and Agreement to Terms; geographic and product eligibility; policy controls coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Legal. Pie Insurance; State Licenses; footer disclosure naming producer and workers’ compensation versus third-party underwriting roles. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Insurance — Quote. Pie Insurance; First step: Business ZIP Code. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Owner’s Policy. Pie Insurance; BOP definition; typical components; Make sure you’re covered: Start your BOP quote; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; First- and third-party descriptions; carrier-partner quote invitation; policy-variation qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Errors And Omissions Insurance. Pie Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance hero (E&O and professional liability equivalence); typical claims; Make sure you’re covered: insurance carrier partners, Start now; footer third-party professional liability insurers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance. Pie Insurance; Typical covered categories; Make sure you are covered: carrier-partner quote invitation; legal footer: third-party insurers not affiliated with Pie. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Workers’ Comp Coverage By State. Pie Insurance; Headline says 40 states and the District of Columbia; rendered state selector listed 39 state names and omitted New York and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Agency Document Library. Pie Insurance; Workers’ Comp State Documents: 40 named states plus Washington, D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025. Pie Insurance; 13 January 2026 release; Key 2025 Milestones says 39 states plus Washington, D.C.; company and distribution description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Auto Claim FAQs. Pie Insurance; Does Pie offer commercial auto insurance?; submission cutoff 1 December 2025; no new or renewal policies on or after 1 January 2026; legacy claim guidance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Online Account Tutorial. Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp FAQs. Pie Insurance; Certificates; specific and blanket waiver requests, two-business-day response and state-dependent charge; Billing & Payments; Policy Renewal / When will I know it’s time to renew my policy? (approximately 30 days before expiry, quote for review and acceptance); Annual Audit; Claims. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Payment Options. Pie Insurance; Annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules; payment methods; 3% card fee and state exceptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; No initial deposit; actual-payroll monthly premium; automatic deductions; payroll-provider coordination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- File Your Claim Within 24 Hours. Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation reporting by online form, 24/7 phone or email; information requested; post-report coverage determination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Partner FAQ. Pie Insurance; How does Pie handle claims? (workers’ compensation in 34 states; CorVel in Alaska, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico and Oregon); How does Pie pay commissions? (new and renewing policies, earned premium); How does Pie handle renewals? (30-day preview: under $20,000 to insured with agency copied, over $20,000 to producer; unless otherwise notified, deposit draft and renewal issuance five days before effective date; exact $20,000 case unstated); Renewal Billing. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company. AM Best Rating Services, Inc.; Page 1: A- (Excellent), Stable, affirmed 24 April 2026; page 14: rating unit, group insurer acquisitions, 100% workers’ compensation writing through PCIC and TPIC from 1 January 2024, 40 states and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Pie Insurance Company — Company Details. Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance; Company name; active license status; NAIC 21857; property-and-casualty authority; 2025 workers’ compensation market data. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details. Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name; P&C Domestic Stock; active status; NAIC 10997; Pie Group Holdings, Inc. parent. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Administrative Actions — January 2024. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance; Allegations and Actions Against Companies: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. agreed to add a disclaimer to its “save up to 30%” advertising claim after misleading-advertising allegations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
