At-Bay vs Counterpart: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

At-Bay focuses on cyber, technology E&O and miscellaneous professional liability, with security and incident services described for eligible policies; Counterpart focuses on management and professional liability. Choose At-Bay when cyber or technology response is central; consider Counterpart for its management and profession-specific programs, confirming issuer, eligibility and actual policy terms.

An Overview of At-Bay and Counterpart

What Stands Out About At-Bay and Counterpart?

At-Bay at a Glance

  • Combine technology E&O and cyber protection in one policy. 2Company-reportedProduct highlights, not an issued policy or universal contract coverage.
  • Eligible policyholders get monitoring, training and cyber-advisor access; managed detection and response costs extra. 7Company-reportedCurrent service descriptions and footnotes; no claims of effectiveness or independent testing.

Counterpart at a Glance

  • Counterpart lists private-company and nonprofit D&O, employment practices, fiduciary, crime, professional and lawyers liability, among other lines. 14,22,23,24,25,26,27,28,29,30Company-reportedCurrent site marketing catalogue checked September 29, 2026. Marketing membership is separate from acceptance of a three-claim line-comparison offering.
  • Counterpart’s dashboard shows broker submission statuses from in progress through underwriting review and quote. 20Company-reportedCompany-described broker workflow in a July 2025 article; not independently tested.

At-Bay vs Counterpart Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageAt-BayCounterpart
CrimeNot listedListed 26Named Commercial Crime product; confirm agreements, controls, limits and exclusions in the policy.
Cyber liabilityListed 3At-Bay offers primary and excess cyber insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion.Not listed
Directors and officersNot listedListed 22,23Distinct private-company and nonprofit D&O product pages; class and insurer vary by placement.
Employment practices liabilityNot listedListed 24Named Employment Practices Liability product; examples and policy terms govern.
Fiduciary liabilityNot listedListed 25Named Fiduciary Liability product for benefit-plan exposures; law and policy terms govern.
General liabilityNot listedListed 27,30GL is described as a companion/package component with miscellaneous professional and lawyers liability; this does not establish broad standalone CGL.
Medical malpracticeNot listedListed 28Allied healthcare liability for named classes; not universal conventional malpractice.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 4At-Bay offers primary miscellaneous professional liability insurance.Listed 27,29,28,30Several separately scoped professional-liability programs; do not generalize terms across professions.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2At-Bay offers primary and excess technology errors and omissions insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion.Not listed

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

At-Bay and Counterpart Coverage, Line by Line

Open what At-Bay and Counterpart each document for one coverage line.

At-Bay and Counterpart Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

At-Bay and Counterpart Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

At-Bay Review Score

9.5/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

At-Bay’s public review evidence is thin: one old G2 review and a BBB complaint record. It is not enough to judge day-to-day service or claims handling.

Read At-Bay reviews

Counterpart Review Score

–/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

We found no independent customer rating of Counterpart, so it has no Review Score. Its Trustpilot page shows no reviews, and BBB has no matching business.

Read Counterpart reviews

Key Differences Between At-Bay and Counterpart

Roles, Coverage and Buyer Fit

At-Bay describes an online broker submission that still needs underwriting review, selected limits and retentions, documents and signatures before binding. Counterpart’s online quote CTA links to an application that did not load; its older help article describes a wholesale-broker route. Neither quote invitation establishes online binding. 6 14 18 19

At-Bay describes Stance security services for eligible policies, with an embedded fee; managed detection is a separate purchase. Its reviewed pages do not publish placement commissions or complete fees. Counterpart’s disclosure also leaves buyer-specific compensation unknown. Ask for itemized costs, issuer and the incident or claims contact. 7 10 16 8

What Should You Confirm in At-Bay and Counterpart Quotes?

Ask At-Bay whether Stance or another security service is included for your eligible policy, what fees apply, and who receives cyber-incident notice. 7 8 For Counterpart, confirm the current application and binding route, the issuing insurer for each management or professional-liability line, and the policy’s claims contact. 18 16 Compare cyber response, management liability and professional liability from actual forms and itemized charges. 10 14

At-Bay vs Counterpart Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaAt-BayCounterpart
Business role

At-Bay offers cyber, technology E&O and miscellaneous professional liability, with coverage described as underwritten by non-admitted insurers. At-Bay Insurance Services LLC is its disclosed property-and-casualty agency and surplus-lines broker. 1,5Company-reportedUS brand and disclosed producer; company statements, not regulatory verification.

Counterpart says its U.S. products are offered by its wholly owned subsidiary, Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc., which it identifies as a licensed producer and surplus-lines broker. The company says the issuing carrier is responsible for policy obligations. 16Company-reportedProvider-published U.S. distribution disclosure; this does not rule out an additional delegated program role.

Customer focus

Large technology companies may fit At-Bay’s published Tech E&O appetite, but the quote route matters: its product page lists up to $5 billion revenue and $10 million limits, while its broker platform lists $100 million and $3 million. These are ceilings, not guaranteed offers. 2Company-reportedCurrent product-page appetite; no inference of pre-revenue, industry-specific or California eligibility.

A September 2023 Tech E&O appetite PDF still accessible on At-Bay’s site has lower revenue and limit ceilings than the current product page and lists restricted classes including autonomous AI. It should not be treated as current eligibility guidance; ask underwriting for the applicable appetite version. 12,2Company-reportedLegacy document has inconsistent autoquote revenue figures internally. Current HTML controls description of advertised ceilings, but current class eligibility remains unresolved.

Counterpart describes management and professional liability products for small businesses and presents both brokers and small businesses as audiences. This stated focus does not establish independent eligibility or appetite. 14,15Company-reportedCurrent company marketing for U.S. audiences.

Coverage lines

Technology companies can compare one Tech E&O product for professional and cyber exposures, including coding errors, failed implementations and customer contractual indemnity; service-credit damages remain subject to policy terms. 2Company-reportedProduct highlights, not an issued policy or universal contract coverage.

At-Bay’s cyber policy may address business interruption, system failure, extortion, privacy liability and financial fraud such as social engineering or invoice manipulation; your quote and policy set the actual limits and conditions. 3Company-reportedCurrent cyber product offering; components are not separate catalogue products.

Businesses needing miscellaneous professional liability can ask At-Bay about primary coverage with limits up to $5 million and a tailored definition of professional services; state restrictions apply, and the product is claims-made-and-reported with a duty to defend. 4Company-reportedCurrent MPL page; eligibility and policy wording remain underwriting-specific.

If you need limits above primary Cyber or Tech E&O, At-Bay lists excess options for those lines; this does not establish a general commercial umbrella policy. 3,2Company-reportedShared umbrella-excess key used only for explicitly marketed excess products.

Counterpart’s current product pages list private-company and not-for-profit D&O, employment-practices, fiduciary, crime, professional/general liability, allied healthcare, architects/engineers/contractors and lawyers liability. Several lines appear only as a component or product-specific feature; availability, eligibility and terms depend on the actual program and policy. 14,22,23,24,25,26,27,28,29,30Company-reportedCurrent site marketing catalogue checked September 29, 2026. Marketing membership is separate from acceptance of a three-claim line-comparison offering.

Application process

An online quote is not bound coverage; At-Bay’s broker process still requires application review, chosen limits and retentions, documents, effective date, contingencies and signatures before binding. 6,4Company-reportedPublic broker workflow; no application submitted and no speed guarantee inferred.

A February 2025 Counterpart help article describes a wholesale-broker referral route. Its current homepage also shows “Quote Online,” but we couldn’t confirm whether the current path is broker-assisted or lets a buyer quote, purchase or bind directly. 19,14,18Conflicting sourcesOlder dated directions conflict with or leave an ambiguity beside a current digital quote CTA; no form or transaction was tested.

Counterpart says its dashboard shows broker-submission statuses from in progress through underwriting review and quote; its article says binding requires a signed application and any required subjectivities. 20Company-reportedCompany-described broker workflow in a July 2025 article; not independently tested.

Servicing and renewals

Eligible policies may include Stance monitoring, fraud defense, employee training and cyber-advisor access, but the Embedded Security Fee and endorsement apply; MDR is a separate purchase from At-Bay Security, LLC. 7Company-reportedCurrent service descriptions and footnotes; no claims of effectiveness or independent testing.

You can buy optional MDR for endpoint and email protection, or MXDR for endpoint, email, identity and cloud; At-Bay says these can be bought beyond policyholders too. Confirm service eligibility and any conditional coverage enhancements or premium credits. 7Company-reportedSecurity services, not additional insurance coverage lines; comparable approved solutions may also qualify.

Avoid an unwanted automatic renewal by confirming your dashboard route and deadlines: At-Bay describes rapid and manual renewals, and says rapid renewals bind automatically 15 days before expiry. 6Company-reportedCompany-described workflow; no promise of unchanged renewal price or terms.

Counterpart says brokers can renew professional-liability accounts in a few clicks and can speak with profession-specialized underwriters. This is not a measured renewal time or a promise of automatic, guaranteed or direct insured renewal. 21Company-reportedCompany-described professional-liability broker service.

Fees and compensation

Add security charges separately when comparing total cost: Stance has an Embedded Security Fee and endorsement, while MDR is purchased separately from premium and broker charges. 7Company-reportedDoes not describe included security as free or quote an unverified fee amount.

Ask for the full price and compensation disclosure because reviewed At-Bay pages do not publish commission rates, broker arrangements or complete placement fees; this gap does not mean those charges are absent. 2,6,10Not publicly disclosedScoped review of listed public pages on September 16, 2026; not a site-wide or contractual finding.

Counterpart’s license disclosure says its subsidiary may receive compensation from an insurer or intermediary and that commissions or fees are set by the underwriting insurer. The reviewed disclosure does not state the amount applicable to a particular buyer or quote. 16Company-reportedProvider-published disclosure, no buyer-specific amount.

Sources

30 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to At-Bay vs Counterpart

  • At-Bay publishes cyber, technology E&O and professional-liability routes with security services; AIG lists broader commercial products and broker tools.

  • Compare AIG's broker and agent application portal with Counterpart's quote entry whose binding route remains unclear; check product fit, service and policy-specific terms.

  • At-Bay's technology E&O discusses service-credit claims and separate Stance security services; Alliance Risk reviews technology contracts and existing coverage.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation