At-Bay vs Coalition: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Businesses comparing security services alongside technology E&O and cyber should include total service cost: At-Bay charges for Stance and endorsements, while Coalition lists some Control features at no added cost.

An Overview of At-Bay and Coalition

A software vendor promising uptime credits should compare the claim trigger as well as service costs: At-Bay discusses service credits used to settle a claim and charges for Stance and endorsements, while Coalition lists some Control features at no added cost. 2 7 14 21 Choose At-Bay if its service-credit wording and priced Stance services fit; choose Coalition if included Control features suit your security budget.

What Stands Out About At-Bay and Coalition?

At-Bay at a Glance

  • Combine technology E&O and cyber protection in one policy. 2Company-reportedProduct highlights, not an issued policy or universal contract coverage.
  • Eligible policyholders get monitoring, training and cyber-advisor access; managed detection and response costs extra. 7Company-reportedCurrent service descriptions and footnotes; no claims of effectiveness or independent testing.

Coalition at a Glance

  • Technology companies can combine cyber and Tech E&O in one program. 14Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.
  • Policyholders get cyber monitoring, alerts and remediation guidance through Control. 21Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

At-Bay vs Coalition Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageAt-BayCoalition
CrimeNot listedListed 18Coalition offers crime insurance through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.
Cyber liabilityListed 3At-Bay offers primary and excess cyber insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion.Listed 20Coalition offers cyber insurance.
Directors and officersNot listedListed 18Coalition offers directors and officers liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.
Employment practices liabilityNot listedListed 18Coalition offers employment practices liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.
Fiduciary liabilityNot listedListed 18Coalition offers fiduciary liability through its executive-risks product for private and nonprofit US organizations.
Media liabilityNot listedListed 31Coalition identifies media liability within its Active Cyber policy.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 4At-Bay offers primary miscellaneous professional liability insurance.Listed 19Coalition offers miscellaneous professional liability as an addition to eligible Active Cyber policies.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2At-Bay offers primary and excess technology errors and omissions insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion.Listed 14Coalition offers technology errors and omissions together with Active Cyber coverage for businesses that provide a technology product or service.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

At-Bay and Coalition Coverage, Line by Line

Open what At-Bay and Coalition each document for one coverage line.

At-Bay and Coalition Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Coalition Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

6.1/ 10

Carrier & MGA

6.3/ 10

Provider assessment

At-Bay and Coalition Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

At-Bay Review Score

9.5/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

At-Bay’s public review evidence is thin: one old G2 review and a BBB complaint record. It is not enough to judge day-to-day service or claims handling.

Read At-Bay reviews

Coalition Review Score

10.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

Coalition has a BBB A+ grade. The reviewed independent sources did not establish a customer-star rating; the displayed RaveCapture collection is broker-focused. Its Trustpilot page has no reviews, and its best-looking rating comes from a review page the company arranges for brokers.

Read Coalition reviews

Key Differences Between At-Bay and Coalition

Product Appetite and Platform Eligibility Are Not Identical

At-Bay publishes different ceilings for its broader Tech E&O appetite and broker-platform route. Its older appetite PDF also contains restrictions, including autonomous AI, that should not be adopted as current rules without underwriting confirmation. Coalition’s AI page discusses eligible Tech E&O but likewise does not establish acceptance of every AI vendor. Describe the software’s actual autonomy and contractual responsibilities in the submission. 2 12 31

Included Security Has Different Commercial Terms

Eligible policies may include Stance monitoring, fraud defense, employee training and cyber-advisor access, but the Embedded Security Fee and endorsement apply; MDR is a separate purchase from At-Bay Security, LLC. 7Company-reportedCurrent service descriptions and footnotes; no claims of effectiveness or independent testing.

Coalition lists specified Control policyholder features at no additional cost and markets other security services separately. This supports comparing the scope and charges line by line, not calling either full security programme free. Ask which controls need activation, what optional MDR adds and whether the quoted insurance conditions depend on a particular service. 21 7

Automatic Renewal Requires Attention on Both Routes

At-Bay says rapid renewals bind automatically before expiry, while other renewals follow a manual path. Coalition describes Automatic, Express and Standard paths based on the account, with responses or a signed application needed in some cases. Put the actual instruction deadline on the finance calendar and request the changes document before an automatic step proceeds. 6 28

What Should You Confirm in At-Bay and Coalition Quotes?

Request the service-credit and contractual-liability wording, current AI eligibility, security endorsement and itemized charges. Confirm the California product route and insurer: At-Bay’s historical own-paper announcement is not a current quote-specific issuer determination, and Coalition’s admitted cyber insurer should not be assigned to every Tech E&O placement. 11 5 16 24

At-Bay vs Coalition Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaAt-BayCoalition
Application process

An online quote is not bound coverage; At-Bay’s broker process still requires application review, chosen limits and retentions, documents, effective date, contingencies and signatures before binding. 6,4Company-reportedPublic broker workflow; no application submitted and no speed guarantee inferred.

You need an appointed broker to buy Coalition coverage; Coalition can help you find access if your broker does not offer it, and says underwriting reviews industry, finances, operations and security. 26Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

To add Tech E&O to a cyber quote, prepare your product or service description and contract answers; some applications need review before a price is released. 25Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Fees and compensation

Add security charges separately when comparing total cost: Stance has an Embedded Security Fee and endorsement, while MDR is purchased separately from premium and broker charges. 7Company-reportedDoes not describe included security as free or quote an unverified fee amount.

Ask for the full price and compensation disclosure because reviewed At-Bay pages do not publish commission rates, broker arrangements or complete placement fees; this gap does not mean those charges are absent. 2,6,10Not publicly disclosedScoped review of listed public pages on September 16, 2026; not a site-wide or contractual finding.

Your broker may receive a premium-based commission plus contingent commissions, placement incentives or cybersecurity-sales compensation, according to Coalition; ask how your placement is compensated. 17Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Coalition says it keeps part of earned premium for operations and broker commissions, and may receive additional insurer payments tied to annual portfolio loss ratios. 29Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Get the full price and broker compensation in writing; reviewed disclosures do not state a startup quote’s commission rate, fee or premium. 17,29Not publicly disclosedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Servicing and renewals

Eligible policies may include Stance monitoring, fraud defense, employee training and cyber-advisor access, but the Embedded Security Fee and endorsement apply; MDR is a separate purchase from At-Bay Security, LLC. 7Company-reportedCurrent service descriptions and footnotes; no claims of effectiveness or independent testing.

You can buy optional MDR for endpoint and email protection, or MXDR for endpoint, email, identity and cloud; At-Bay says these can be bought beyond policyholders too. Confirm service eligibility and any conditional coverage enhancements or premium credits. 7Company-reportedSecurity services, not additional insurance coverage lines; comparable approved solutions may also qualify.

Avoid an unwanted automatic renewal by confirming your dashboard route and deadlines: At-Bay describes rapid and manual renewals, and says rapid renewals bind automatically 15 days before expiry. 6Company-reportedCompany-described workflow; no promise of unchanged renewal price or terms.

Coalition policyholders can use Control at no additional cost for attack-surface and vendor-risk monitoring, vulnerability alerts and guidance; Login Security requires connecting Microsoft or Google, and Coalition sells other security products separately. 21Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Plan renewal work early: Coalition says cyber renewals start 90 days before expiry and may be Automatic, Express or Standard. Express renewals need your responses, Standard renewals need a bind order and an updated signed application, and automatic renewal does not guarantee the same premium. 28Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Claims assistance

After a cyber incident, At-Bay describes an in-house claims team, breach coach, response partners and incident-reporting routes; this documents its stated process, not claim payment or service quality. 8,9Company-reportedCyber incident process; confirm policy-specific notice obligations and consent requirements, including non-cyber E&O claims.

Coalition describes in-house cyber triage and attempts to recover stolen funds, with the same team handling Tech E&O; these service descriptions do not establish response quality or payment for a loss. 22,14Company-reportedUnited States; official company materials inspected on 2026-09-16. No independent insurance or regulatory verification.

Sources

31 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to At-Bay vs Coalition

  • At-Bay publishes cyber, technology E&O and professional-liability routes with security services; AIG lists broader commercial products and broker tools.

  • Coalition publishes a cyber and technology liability route with broker access; AIG publishes a broader insurer-group portfolio and producer tools.

  • At-Bay's technology E&O discusses service-credit claims and separate Stance security services; Alliance Risk reviews technology contracts and existing coverage.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation