Pie Insurance vs Resilience: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Pie offers workers’ compensation with payroll-based billing and a partner-based cyber route; Resilience specializes in cyber and technology E&O with security services.

Introduction to the Pie Insurance vs Resilience Comparison

If you are hiring employees while a customer requires cyber coverage, you need to compare two distinct policies. Pie offers workers’ compensation and a partner-based cyber route; Resilience specializes in cyber and technology E&O. Choose Pie for workers’ compensation; choose Resilience for specialist cyber coverage and security support. 5 3 8 26

Buyer Takeaways for Pie Insurance vs Resilience

Pie Insurance Buyer Takeaways

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 2,1,3Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 17,18Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Resilience Buyer Takeaways

  • Technology companies can seek E&O coverage for software, hardware and technology services. 29Company-reported. Technology-specific professional liability; not general professional E&O or a guarantee of offered limits.
  • Resilience helps prioritize financial cyber risks and track exposure across entities. 33,34Company-reported. Current named cybersecurity products; outcomes not independently established.

Pie Insurance vs Resilience Coverage Lines Compared

CoveragePie InsuranceResilience
Business owner’s policyListed 7Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 8Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.Listed 28Resilience markets cyber insurance on a primary or excess basis.
General liabilityListed 10Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 9Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Not listedListed 29Resilience markets technology errors and omissions insurance for US businesses with $25 million to $10 billion in revenue.
Workers’ compensationListed 3Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.Not listed

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Pie Insurance vs Resilience Research by Coverage Line

Open what Pie Insurance and Resilience each document for one coverage line.

Current Reliability Scores for Pie Insurance and Resilience

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

5.3/ 10

Carrier & MGA

6.3/ 10

Provider assessment

Pie Insurance and Resilience Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Resilience Review Score

9.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

There's almost nothing public to go on. G2 shows 4.5 out of 5 for Resilience, but from a single review.

Read Resilience reviews

Key Differences Between Pie Insurance and Resilience

Do Not Carry the Workers’ Compensation Insurer Into Cyber

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 5,7,8,9,10Not publicly disclosed. Current public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Pie identifies affiliated insurers for workers’ compensation, but that does not identify the company on a cyber proposal or transfer their rating to an unnamed partner. Resilience names Homeland alternatives in its US disclosure. Ask for each cyber quote’s legal insurer before comparing financial-strength requirements or policy terms. 5 22 27

Payroll Administration Does Not Describe a Cyber Renewal

Pie’s pay-as-you-go option uses reported payroll, and its workers’ compensation program requires an annual audit. Those apply to the workers’ compensation program only. Don’t assume they also cover how to pay for or renew Pie’s partner cyber insurance. Resilience’s reviewed sources leave standard renewal requirements unspecified. Build separate information checklists for payroll and cyber underwriting. 18 19 30

If the startup also needs technology liability, Pie’s generic professional-liability offer is not proof of identical scope to Resilience’s technology E&O. Resilience’s stated technology revenue appetite can itself be a constraint for an early-stage company. Request activity-specific eligibility rather than assuming the presence of E&O in a catalogue resolves it. 9 29

Keep Workplace Injury and Cyber Reporting Separate

Pie publishes workers’ compensation reporting and state-dependent claims-handling arrangements. Resilience describes a cyber claims manager and external response specialists. Do not use Pie’s workplace-injury instructions as the presumed cyber notice route; obtain the partner policy’s instructions. Don’t rank these two claims functions against each other. They handle unrelated types of incidents. 20 21 31

What Should You Confirm in Pie Insurance and Resilience Quotes?

Ask Pie to identify its proposed cyber insurer, complete form and service contacts independently of the workers’ compensation account. Ask Resilience whether the startup qualifies for cyber, technology E&O or both and how California placement would work. Budget payroll adjustments and cyber retentions separately; combining the shopping exercise does not merge the contracts. 8 4 29 27

Pie Insurance vs Resilience Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaPie InsuranceResilience
Business role

Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 2,5,3,7,8,9,10Company-reported. Current public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant.

If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 4,24,22Verified. Website ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary.

Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 5,25Company-reported. Producer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action.

Resilience combines cyber and technology E&O insurance with cybersecurity risk-management services for businesses. 26,28,29Company-reported. Brand-level offering; not a statement that the brand is the risk-bearing insurer.

Confirm who will place the policy in California: Resilience names Ocrea Risk Services, LLC dba Resilience Cyber Insurance Solutions and NPN 19169260 as US distributor, but this disclosure is not independent license verification. 27Company-reported. US distribution entity; regulator license lookup not completed.

Access to insurers

Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 5,22,23,24Verified. Pie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state.

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 22Verified. Pie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 5,7,8,9,10Not publicly disclosed. Current public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Ask which insurer will issue your California policy: Resilience names Homeland Insurance Company of New York or Delaware but not which one applies to a specific quote. 27Company-reported. Company-reported US insurer disclosure; no binder or California policy form reviewed.

Application process

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 2,1,3Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 6,3Company-reported. Unauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 3,1Company-reported. Workers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Brokers can access Resilience through its broker page and businesses can submit an inquiry; no end-to-end self-serve purchase or binding-time guarantee was documented. 30,32Company-reported. Observed public broker/contact route; no application submitted or portal accessed.

Servicing and renewals

Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 15,16Company-reported. Published workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested.

Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 19Company-reported. Pie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund.

Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 16,21Company-reported. Different company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process.

Resilience’s Edge service helps prioritize security spending by estimated financial impact, while Arc shows cyber risk across entities; these tools are risk-management services, not insurance. 33,34Company-reported. Current named cybersecurity products; outcomes not independently established.

You can buy insurance without buying Resilience security services; confirm which tools are bundled and which require a separate agreement. 27Company-reported. Company disclaimer; does not establish free services or package pricing.

Ask Resilience for renewal deadlines and service timing because reviewed pages do not specify renewal documents, price commitments or standard turnaround. 30,28,29Not publicly disclosed. Scoped to current HTML pages; older package materials were not used to promise current renewal terms.

Claims assistance

Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 20Company-reported. Published first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply.

Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 21,11,22Conflicting sources. Public allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions.

Resilience says an in-house team and claims manager are available 24/7 through settlement, with privacy, forensic, recovery and crisis specialists; these service claims are not independently measured. 31Company-reported. Claims operating model; no response-time, acceptance-rate or recovery performance claim adopted.

Sources for Pie Insurance vs Resilience

Pie Insurance Official Website

  1. Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; Homepage: small-business audience; direct workers’ compensation quote; online account; footer entity, insurer and availability qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; About Pie; direct and agency distribution; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; Get a workers’ compensation quote online; insurance made for your small business; quote inputs; coverage description; quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Terms Of Use. Pie Insurance; Updated 26 April 2022; Ownership and Agreement to Terms; geographic and product eligibility; policy controls coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Pie Insurance — Quote. Pie Insurance; First step: Business ZIP Code. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Business Owner’s Policy. Pie Insurance; BOP definition; typical components; Make sure you’re covered: Start your BOP quote; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; First- and third-party descriptions; carrier-partner quote invitation; policy-variation qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Errors And Omissions Insurance. Pie Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance hero (E&O and professional liability equivalence); typical claims; Make sure you’re covered: insurance carrier partners, Start now; footer third-party professional liability insurers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. General Liability Insurance. Pie Insurance; Typical covered categories; Make sure you are covered: carrier-partner quote invitation; legal footer: third-party insurers not affiliated with Pie. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Workers’ Comp Coverage By State. Pie Insurance; Headline says 40 states and the District of Columbia; rendered state selector listed 39 state names and omitted New York and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  11. Agency Document Library. Pie Insurance; Workers’ Comp State Documents: 40 named states plus Washington, D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  12. Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025. Pie Insurance; 13 January 2026 release; Key 2025 Milestones says 39 states plus Washington, D.C.; company and distribution description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  13. Commercial Auto Claim FAQs. Pie Insurance; Does Pie offer commercial auto insurance?; submission cutoff 1 December 2025; no new or renewal policies on or after 1 January 2026; legacy claim guidance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  14. Online Account Tutorial. Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  15. Workers’ Comp FAQs. Pie Insurance; Certificates; specific and blanket waiver requests, two-business-day response and state-dependent charge; Billing & Payments; Policy Renewal / When will I know it’s time to renew my policy? (approximately 30 days before expiry, quote for review and acceptance); Annual Audit; Claims. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  16. Payment Options. Pie Insurance; Annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules; payment methods; 3% card fee and state exceptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  17. Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; No initial deposit; actual-payroll monthly premium; automatic deductions; payroll-provider coordination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  18. Your Workers’ Comp Premium Audit. Pie Insurance; Required annual audit; estimated versus actual payroll; audit partner; requested payroll, employee, cash-expense and subcontractor certificate records. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  19. File Your Claim Within 24 Hours. Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation reporting by online form, 24/7 phone or email; information requested; post-report coverage determination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  20. Partner FAQ. Pie Insurance; How does Pie handle claims? (workers’ compensation in 34 states; CorVel in Alaska, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico and Oregon); How does Pie pay commissions? (new and renewing policies, earned premium); How does Pie handle renewals? (30-day preview: under $20,000 to insured with agency copied, over $20,000 to producer; unless otherwise notified, deposit draft and renewal issuance five days before effective date; exact $20,000 case unstated); Renewal Billing. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  21. AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company. AM Best Rating Services, Inc.; Page 1: A- (Excellent), Stable, affirmed 24 April 2026; page 14: rating unit, group insurer acquisitions, 100% workers’ compensation writing through PCIC and TPIC from 1 January 2024, 40 states and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  22. The Pie Insurance Company — Company Details. Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance; Company name; active license status; NAIC 21857; property-and-casualty authority; 2025 workers’ compensation market data. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  23. Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details. Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name; P&C Domestic Stock; active status; NAIC 10997; Pie Group Holdings, Inc. parent. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  24. Administrative Actions — January 2024. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance; Allegations and Actions Against Companies: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. agreed to add a disclaimer to its “save up to 30%” advertising claim after misleading-advertising allegations. Accessed 2026-09-15.

Resilience Official Website

  1. Home Page. Resilience; Cyber risk management; Broad market appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Disclaimer. Resilience; Opening paragraphs and USA jurisdiction disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Cyber Insurance. Resilience; Cyber Insurance product introduction; Why choose cyber insurance; Policy coverage; primary and excess offerings; A Broad Market Appetite: US Cyber. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Technology E&O. Resilience; Technology Errors & Omissions: technology risk categories; Key Benefits; primary and excess offering; A Broad Market Appetite (US revenue $25M–$10B). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Brokers. Resilience; Broker benefits; Use cases; Insurance & risk solutions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Claims & Incident Response. Resilience; Our difference; Support from start to resolution; Claims panel. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Contact Us. Resilience; Contact us; emergency claims instructions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Security Investment Prioritization. Resilience; Resilience Edge introduction and Key benefits. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. Multi-Entity & Portfolio Risk. Resilience; Resilience Arc introduction. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Terms and Conditions. Resilience; Opening website agreement; separate written agreements. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Pie Insurance vs Resilience

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation