Layr vs
The Hartford: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
The Hartford is the insurer itself and lets eligible small businesses quote and buy a BOP, workers' comp, cyber or FailSafe tech E&O online in minutes. Layr is software and support behind your broker, so it only matters if your broker already uses it.
Introduction to the Layr vs The Hartford Comparison
A software startup that needs a business owner's policy, tech E&O and cyber can name the exact Hartford products it wants: its BOP, FailSafe technology E&O and CyberChoice cyber. Through a Layr-supported broker, the current product illustration lists common small-commercial lines but not technology E&O, and paying monthly by card can add a finance fee of up to 20% of premium. 28 27 4 8 Choose Layr if you want to stay with a broker who uses it and it can source the forms you need; choose The Hartford if you want to quote and buy a BOP, workers' comp or tech E&O yourself online.
Buyer Takeaways for Layr vs The Hartford
Layr Buyer Takeaways
- Independent brokerages can offer small businesses workflow software and licensed help under the broker’s own brand. 2,3,5Company-reported. Current broker-facing business model described on Layr's live company, broker and portal pages; functions are company-reported and were not tested through an account.
- A broker-branded portal can organize policy documents, certificates, claims, renewals and payments, with licensed staff support. 5,12Company-reported. Company-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested.
The Hartford Buyer Takeaways
- SaaS and software businesses can start with a small-business package built around a business owner’s policy. 15,16,38,37Company-reported. Company marketing pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Marketing a SaaS page is not a finding that every software company is eligible.
- Eligible small businesses can start an online quote and purchase flow, call or use an independent agent; commercial auto requires another route. 16,15,22,21,31,33Company-reported. Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force.
Layr vs The Hartford Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Layr | The Hartford |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 23,15The Hartford offers business owner’s policies combining property and liability coverage. |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed 31,15The Hartford offers commercial auto insurance as a business coverage; small businesses cannot currently buy it online and may be quoted through a local agency. |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed 25,15The Hartford offers commercial property insurance. |
| Crime | Not listed | Listed 33The Hartford offers crime insurance as a management-liability coverage option. |
| Cyber liability | Not listed | Listed 27,15The Hartford offers cyber insurance and data-breach coverage. |
| Directors and officers | Not listed | Listed 33,34The Hartford offers directors and officers liability for private, public and nonprofit organizations. |
| Employment practices liability | Not listed | Listed 30,15The Hartford offers employment practices liability through business owner’s and management-liability products; EPL built into its business owner’s policy is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York. |
| Fiduciary liability | Not listed | Listed 33The Hartford offers fiduciary liability as a management-liability coverage option. |
| General liability | Not listed | Listed 24,15The Hartford offers general liability insurance. |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed 32,31The Hartford offers hired and non-owned auto coverage. |
| Kidnap and ransom | Not listed | Listed 33The Hartford lists kidnap and ransom/extortion among its management-liability coverage options. |
| Management liability | Not listed | Listed 33The Hartford offers management-liability packages, including Private Choice Premier. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 29The Hartford offers professional liability insurance for service businesses. |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 28,27The Hartford offers technology errors and omissions coverage through its FailSafe product. |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 37The Hartford offers inland marine insurance for midsize and large businesses. |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Not listed | Listed 35,36The Hartford lists commercial umbrella insurance among its business coverage options. |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 26,15The Hartford offers workers’ compensation insurance. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Reliability Scores for Layr and The Hartford
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Layr Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.6/ 10The Hartford Reliability Scores
CarrierCarrier & MGA
7.3/ 10Layr and The Hartford Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Layr Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
Layr has no customer reviews of its insurance service yet. Its Trustpilot profile has no reviews, and its only rating is one review of its broker software.
Read Layr reviewsThe Hartford Review Score
Review Score
5 rated sources
The Hartford’s service record is mixed: NerdWallet rates it 4.5/5 but reports below-average small-business satisfaction. Low Trustpilot ratings add a service concern, although they mix policy types.
Read The Hartford reviewsKey Differences Between Layr and the Hartford
Broker Software Versus the Insurer Itself
Layr sells its Apex software and licensed support to brokerages. Your brokerage stays broker of record and, per Layr's broker FAQ, keeps 100% of its commissions. Layr doesn't issue policies. 1 2 6
The Hartford's own subsidiaries issue its policies, and you can buy without an agent. A Layr-supported broker might also propose a Hartford policy, so ask whether The Hartford is one of its markets and who services the policy afterwards. 18 16 5
What Each Can Quote
Layr's illustration shows general liability, commercial auto liability, property, workers' compensation, umbrella and cyber. Its dedicated cyber page now returns an error, which doesn't mean it stopped placing cyber. 4 7
The Hartford documents a BOP, workers' comp, FailSafe tech E&O, cyber and management liability. Small-business commercial auto isn't on its online path, and management liability goes through a local agent. 23 28 33 31
Certificates and Day-to-Day Service
Layr runs a portal branded as your broker, covering documents, claims and payments, and alerts you 60 days before renewal when it needs information. The Hartford offers certificates online 24/7, My Account and a mobile app. You deal with your broker on Layr, and with The Hartford or its agent on a direct policy. 5 6 16
What Should You Confirm in Layr and The Hartford Quotes?
- Your brokerage's legal name and whether The Hartford is a market on your account. 1
- Total cost: Layr's charge, any monthly card finance fee (up to 20% under its disclosed arrangement), and The Hartford's producer compensation and any producer fees. 8 6 39
- Which insurer and form issues your tech E&O or cyber, including FailSafe and management-liability options, and what Layr can currently place. 28 33 7
Layr vs The Hartford Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Layr | The Hartford |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Layr Holdings, Inc. operates withlayr.com and markets the Layr Apex platform and licensed support service. Public materials describe Layr handling sales, service and support while its brokerage customer keeps the broker-of-record relationship; they do not identify Layr as the insurer underwriting every policy. 9,1,2,5Company-reported. Entity and functional roles in current public materials. The precise producer role can depend on the partner arrangement and proposed policy. The reviewed sources identify Layr Holdings, Inc., its leaders and several investors, but do not disclose a current controlling parent or ownership percentages. 9,10,12Not found in reviewed sources. Current website operator and public ownership review. Investor participation is not treated as control, and no independence claim is made. Layr says a participating brokerage can offload small-business sales, service and support to Layr while retaining broker-of-record status and 100% of its commissions. 2,6Company-reported. Broker-facing Layr Apex arrangement as marketed publicly; actual allocation of duties and compensation depends on the brokerage agreement. | Small businesses can buy insurance under The Hartford brand through its subsidiaries and independent agents; the brand itself is not the insurer named on the policy. The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. is the financial holding company behind the brand. 18,39,35,21Company-reported. Group legal-notice and producer-compensation disclosures as of 16 September 2026. The issuing company and any producer of record still have to be read from a quote or policy. |
| Application process | Layr describes an online workflow in which a small-business owner assesses and selects coverage, pays, and then has the submission sent to underwriting. Current pages use different speed claims—10 minutes on New Business Capture and 12 minutes in a 2024 announcement—so neither figure establishes the time to receive or bind an actual quote. 4,11Conflicting sources. Company-described digital workflow. No form was completed and no quote, payment or underwriting decision was requested during research. | The Hartford says eligible small-business buyers can get a free quote online in minutes or by phone, and can also buy through independent agents. Its public quote-and-buy portal shows steps from Basics through Payment and Confirmation. It also says buyers can purchase without an agent. Commercial auto for small businesses is not currently offered on that online path and may be quoted through a local agency or Tivly. Management-liability pages direct buyers to find a local agent. 16,15,22,21,31,33Company-reported. Public quote portal viewed without submitting an application on 16 September 2026. Quote speed and binding are not independently verified and are not the same as coverage in force. |
| Coverage lines | Layr's current New Business Capture illustration shows general liability, commercial auto liability, commercial property, workers' compensation, umbrella and cyber liability/data breach as policy choices. The illustration is a product demonstration, not a guarantee that all six are eligible in every broker implementation or jurisdiction. 4Company-reported. Coverage labels visible in the official asset on the current New Business Capture offering page. Consolidated to shared catalogue keys without treating sample prices as quotes. A still-live, 2021-branded Parcel Pro referral page also lists a business owner's policy, commercial crime, hired and non-owned auto and kidnap and ransom, and mentions management liability and errors and omissions. Most linked product pages now return 404, so these legacy/referral-page labels are not treated as confirmed current standalone offerings in this profile's coverage catalogue. 13,7Company-reported. Historical referral implementation audited on 15 September 2026. Cyber remained a live product page; the broader labels require direct confirmation for a current brokerage and applicant. Layr's platform illustration includes cyber coverage, but its previously reviewed dedicated cyber product page returned a not-found response on re-access. Current coverage options, insurer, policy wording and eligibility need confirmation from the broker. The unavailable page does not establish that cyber placements have stopped. 7,4Not found in reviewed sources. The dedicated cyber product page was no longer available on 15 September 2026, checked by the comparison writer and manager. Earlier feature descriptions are historical only; the current New Business Capture illustration still includes cyber as a policy choice. | Documented Hartford offerings for businesses include a business owner’s policy (general liability, commercial property and business income), stand-alone general liability and commercial property, workers’ compensation, cyber (including BOP data-breach add-ons, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe Technology E&O), miscellaneous professional liability, employment practices liability, commercial auto and hired/non-owned auto, management-liability packages (Private Choice Premier: directors and officers, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom), commercial umbrella, employee benefits, and inland marine for midsize and large accounts. Actual forms, limits and availability vary by product, state and underwriting. 15,23,27,28,29,30,31,32,33,35,38,37Company-reported. Product and service pages reviewed 16 September 2026. Educational FAQs were not used as the sole proof of an offering. Marketing lists are not specimen policy wording. The Hartford’s employment-practices page states there is no built-in EPL coverage in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and that the EPL program described on that page does not apply to EPL coverage written in California. Coverages also vary by state and class. 30Company-reported. Company footnotes on the EPLI page, last updated 26 November 2025, rechecked 16 September 2026. This does not establish whether a California buyer can buy stand-alone or differently structured EPL. |
| Fees and compensation | Layr's current broker FAQ says Layr receives a percentage of premium while the brokerage keeps 100% of commissions. A separate consumer-facing disclosure says carriers pay Layr a commission and businesses may pay a finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The pages do not reconcile which arrangement applies to a particular broker, policyholder or payment plan. 6,8Conflicting sources. Two public compensation descriptions for different apparent audiences. Actual agreements and itemized charges were not available. Layr's consumer-facing compensation disclosure says a business that uses its monthly credit-card payment arrangement can pay a percentage-based finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The page does not provide an account-specific rate, total repayment or cancellation terms. 8Company-reported. Public compensation disclosure; current applicability to every Layr Apex implementation or payment option is not established. | The Hartford discloses that it pays independent producers base commissions (a percentage of premium or a fixed amount per policy), and may also pay contingent or supplemental commissions, fees for services, delegated-underwriting compensation and other benefits. Employees who sell insurance may receive extra compensation beyond salary. Producers may charge their own customer fees that are not Hartford premium. The reviewed pages do not publish the commission rate or any Hartford-charged service fee that would apply to a particular buyer’s policy. Published “average premiums” are company-reported estimates, not quotes. 39,21,16,15Company-reported. Producer compensation disclosure and product-page premium footnotes as of 16 September 2026. Missing a fee schedule is not a finding of zero buyer cost beyond premium. |
| Servicing and renewals | Layr markets a white-labeled portal with licensed support and broker dashboard updates for policies, renewals, claims and payments. A company release also describes policyholder access to documents, quotes, claims, certificates, bills and electronic payments. 5,12Company-reported. Company-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested. Layr says its team gathers updates, negotiates renewal terms with underwriters and finalizes renewal documents. It describes automatic-renewal policies as hands-free and says customers whose policies need updated information are alerted 60 days before renewal. 6Company-reported. Current FAQ description. It does not state the notice needed to stop an automatic renewal or guarantee a renewal offer. | The Hartford says small-business policyholders can retrieve certificates of insurance online at any time, manage billing and policy details through My Account or its mobile app, and, for workers’ compensation, use pay-as-you-go premium based on actual payroll and a My Workers’ Comp Connection portal. Cyber policyholders are described as having access to a Cyber Center with training and related resources. The reviewed sources did not disclose a published schedule of certificate, endorsement or installment-service fees charged to the insured. 16,26,27,29,40Company-reported. Company service descriptions as of 16 September 2026. Availability of a portal is not a measure of service quality. |
Sources for Layr vs The Hartford
Layr Official Website
- Grow Your Broker Profits. Layr; Homepage service proposition; broker audience; footer naming Layr Holdings, Inc.; official logo asset. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Software for Insurance Brokers & Agents. Layr; Streamlined Efficiency; Reduce the Drag: Layr handles sales, service and support while the brokerage retains broker-of-record status and commissions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Team Improving Insurance Technology. Layr; Mission; small-business market; broker-focused technology; leadership and investor logos. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- New Business Capture from Layr — Quote Policies in 10 Min. Layr; Faster Quotes hero and official SmartQuote illustration listing General Liability, Commercial Auto Liability, Property, Workers Compensation, Umbrella, and Cyber Liability & Data Breach. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Online Portal with Cyber Security for Insurance Companies. Layr; Layr Apex introduction; licensed support team; policyholder activity, portfolio and white-label dashboard descriptions; official dashboard asset. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Technology Frequently Asked Questions. Layr; Product library; carrier and wholesaler access; renewal process and 60-day collection timing; white labeling; premium-based compensation. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Cyber Liability Insurance. Layr; Policy Overview; Key Protected Threats; Coverage Details; online-purchase call to action (page no longer available as of 15 September 2026). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Explanation of Pricing. Layr; Simplified Pricing: carrier commissions and business finance fee up to 20% of premium; flexible payments, portal and certificate descriptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms of Use. Layr; Service operated by Layr Holdings, Inc.; Purchases; Availability, Errors and Inaccuracies; Accounts; last updated 1 April 2018. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Leadership Team. Layr; Current leadership and investor-logo section. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Layr Welcomes New CEO Mark Hara. Layr; 17 October 2024 announcement: broker and agency audience, small-business selection and payment workflow, underwriting handoff, and brokerages across the U.S. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Layr Secures $10 Million Investment to Bridge the Small Business Insurance Tech Gap for Brokers. Layr via GlobeNewswire; 1 November 2023 company release: financing participants, broker-facing business model, licensed support, policyholder portal functions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Parcel Pro Customers Now Have Access to Additional Insurance Solutions Through Layr. Layr; 2021-branded referral page: policy list, online application, portal, financing and certificate claims (cyber page no longer available as of 15 September 2026). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Licensed Property and Casualty Agencies. Massachusetts Division of Insurance; 2026 list entry for Layr Holdings, Inc., license 17853851, original approval 17 March 2021, renewal date 17 March 2027. Accessed 2026-09-15.
The Hartford Official Website
- SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small Business Insurance | Get a Quote. The Hartford; Small-business positioning; BOP package; product list including professional liability, cyber, EPLI, commercial auto; quote in minutes and COI 24/7; phone 855-487-0783; availability footnote that products are not available in all states or for all businesses. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- California Business Insurance. The Hartford; Coverages marketed for California (BOP, general liability, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, commercial property, professional liability); statement that California buyers can get a quote online or by phone; company-reported California customer averages. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Legal Notice. The Hartford; The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. holding-company description; no representation that all products are available in all locations; P&C writing-company table as of December 31, 2025 including Hartford Fire (NAIC 19682) and Hartford Underwriters (NAIC 30104); life writing companies including Hartford Life and Accident (NAIC 70815). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Hartford Announces First Quarter 2025 Financial Results. The Hartford; Boilerplate: The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc. (formerly Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc.), NYSE: HIG, operates through subsidiaries under the brand The Hartford, headquartered in Hartford, Connecticut. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Us. The Hartford; Property and casualty insurance, group benefits and mutual funds positioning; more than 200 years of operation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small Business Insurance Quote. The Hartford; Public first screen: business-status and structure questions; steps labeled Basics, Coverages, Details, Price, Review, Payment and Confirmation; help phone 1-855-431-1252 (M–F 8am–8pm ET). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Owner’s Policy (BOP) Insurance. The Hartford; Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; BOP contents (property, general liability, business income); optional add-ons including workers’ compensation, professional liability, commercial auto and cyber; products-not-available-in-all-states footnote; last updated May 20, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance. The Hartford; General liability introduction and Get a Quote; stand-alone GL and BOP bundling; products-completed operations; technology-company example; subsidiary-offering disclosure; last updated May 20, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Property Insurance. The Hartford; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; property and business-interruption descriptions; technology firms among common buyers; COI online; claims phone 800-327-3638; last updated August 13, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Workers' Compensation Insurance Plans. The Hartford; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; quote route; state-requirement quiz (some states require a state-run program); pay-as-you-go billing; My Workers’ Comp Connection portal; provider-network and pharmacy statements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses. The Hartford; Cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; BOP-endorsed cyber, CyberChoice First Response and FailSafe; Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance Coverage: FailSafe; Get a quote for cyber insurance; Cyber Center; FirstResponse hotline 800-370-0605; last updated March 10, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance | Technology E&O. The Hartford; Technology Errors and Omissions Insurance Coverage: FailSafe Technology Liability Product Suite (E&O, security, data privacy and network security, personal injury, intellectual property, media liability); software and SaaS buyer classes; last updated September 19, 2024. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; industry offering list; miscellaneous professional liability; Errors & Omissions Insurance for Technology Companies; claims-made versus occurrence; My Account COI requests; last updated May 4, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Employment Practices Liability Insurance | EPL Insurance. The Hartford; EPLI introduction; Hartford-provided EPLI; BOP inclusion; Private Choice Premier and Employers Premier Choice; footnote 2: built-in EPL coverage is not available in California, Minnesota, North Dakota or New York, and the described EPL program does not apply to EPL written in California; last updated November 26, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Auto Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; Small-business availability banner: not currently offered online for small businesses, with quotes through a local agency or partner; hired and non-owned auto description; footer product-availability disclosure; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Hired and Non-Owned Vehicle Insurance | HNOA. The Hartford; Hired and non-owned auto offering; liability-only limitations; availability banner; commercial-auto referral disclosure; last updated August 27, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Management Liability Insurance | Get a Quote. The Hartford; Opening Private Choice Premier package description (D&O, EPL, fiduciary, crime, kidnap and ransom/extortion) and agent route; Who Does Management Liability Insurance Protect?; Fiduciary Liability Insurance; Crime Insurance; option to add certain coverages to a BOP; management-liability organization sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Directors and Officers Liability Insurance. The Hartford; Agent-facing D&O solutions for public companies, financial institutions, and private or nonprofit organizations through Private Choice Premier; management-liability organization sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Insurance. The Hartford; Insurer self-description; What Does Business Insurance Cover?: Commercial Umbrella Insurance; Other Business Coverages; about-10-minute quote claim; products not available in all states; coverages offered by P&C subsidiaries listed in the Legal Notice. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Insurance Coverage. The Hartford; What Does Business Insurance Cover?: Commercial Umbrella Insurance; Other Business Coverages (EPL, data breach and others); products-not-available-in-all-states footnote; last updated July 28, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Inland Marine Insurance Solutions. The Hartford; Inland Marine Insurance Solutions introduction; midsize and large inland-marine programs including technology equipment; Quick Quote submissions; premium-start statement for larger businesses; Find an Agent or Broker. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Employee Benefits Insurance. The Hartford; Employer income-protection and related benefits; footer naming Hartford Life and Accident Insurance Company and Hartford Fire Insurance Company as underwriting companies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Producer Compensation Property & Casualty. The Hartford; Distribution through agents and brokers; base, contingent and supplemental commissions; employee sales compensation; surplus-lines brokers; producer-charged customer fees that are not Hartford premium. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance Claim Center. The Hartford; Phone and online reporting; online claim status; mobile app for claims, policy details and billing. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Claims | File A Claim. The Hartford; 24/7 phone 800-327-3636; online general-liability claim form; policy-type selector including cyber, employee benefits, property and workers’ compensation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Hartford Fire Insurance Company. California Department of Insurance; NAIC 19682; California Company ID 0085-1; authorized 01/07/1870; license status UNLIMITED-NORMAL; property and casualty; domicile Connecticut; authorized lines including liability, fire, workers’ compensation, automobile, surety and marine. Accessed 2026-09-16.
