Kinro vs Simply Business: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Consider Kinro if your business fits small businesses, and Simply Business if it fits small businesses. Their catalogues overlap on business owners’ policy, commercial property, cyber; compare each quote route, identified insurer and policy form before choosing.

An Overview of Kinro and Simply Business

This comparison pairs small businesses through Kinro with small businesses through Simply Business. Their coverage catalogues share business owners’ policy, commercial property, cyber. If one of those lines fits your business, compare the proposed forms and quote routes side by side; listed lines do not establish equal policy terms or eligibility. 1 22

What Stands Out About Kinro and Simply Business?

Kinro at a Glance

  • Get a free review of an existing policy or renewal packet before deciding whether to replace it. 4Company-reportedPublic upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.
  • Kinro says it shops the market at renewal and sends text links to documents, certificates and coverage support. 1,5Company-reportedRetail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected.

Simply Business at a Glance

  • Simply Business serves small businesses and solopreneurs, with examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. 22,27,23Company-reportedCompany-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.
  • Simply Business advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. 24,23Company-reportedPublished U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

Kinro vs Simply Business Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageKinroSimply Business
Business owner’s policyListed 3Kinro lists a business owner’s policy in its product catalog.Listed 31
Commercial autoListed 3As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial auto and describes matching business details to carrier appetite.Not listed
Commercial propertyListed 3As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial property and describes matching business details to carrier appetite.Listed 32,31Offered as part of a BOP, rather than as a standalone policy.
Cyber liabilityListed 3Kinro lists cyber liability and compares business details with carrier appetite.Listed 34Add-on for select buyers purchasing another business policy; phone quote route.
Directors and officersListed 3Kinro lists directors and officers insurance and compares business details with carrier appetite.Not listed
General liabilityListed 3Kinro lists general liability and compares available carrier options.Listed 28
Hired and non-owned autoListed 3Kinro lists hired and non-owned auto for liability questions involving personal or rented vehicles used for business.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 3,14Kinro lists professional liability (errors and omissions) for claims tied to professional advice, errors, omissions or service mistakes.Listed 30
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 3Kinro arranges tools and equipment coverage through its inland marine offering.Listed 33
TruckingListed 3Kinro lists trucking insurance addressing auto liability, cargo, physical damage and trucking-specific filings or contract requirements.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 3Kinro lists umbrella and excess liability insurance.Not listed
Workers’ compensationListed 3Kinro arranges workers’ compensation insurance and reviews state, payroll and class-code questions.Listed 29

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Kinro and Simply Business Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Kinro and Simply Business each document for one coverage line.

Kinro and Simply Business Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Kinro and Simply Business Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Kinro Review Score

–/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

We found no independent customer reviews of Kinro. It shows a 5.0 Google rating on its own website, but there is no review count or listing behind it.

Read Kinro reviews

Simply Business Review Score

5.7/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Customers disagree about Simply Business. Trustpilot shows 4.3 out of 5 from 1,901 reviews, but BBB customers give it 1.95 from 20 reviews and ConsumerAffairs shows 1.0.

Read Simply Business reviews

Key Differences Between Kinro and Simply Business

Business Fit and Coverage

The catalogues share business owners’ policy, commercial property, cyber; other listed lines appear in the comparison table. For the overlap, match the policy forms, limits, exclusions and endorsements before treating the products as alternatives. A shared line name does not establish equal protection or eligibility.

Kinro helps U.S. small businesses identify insurance needs and compare available options through an agency. You can start with business questions online or ask for help by phone, text, email, or chat. 1,19Company-reportedCurrent retail offering at kinro.com; documented function, not independently tested placement or service outcomes.

Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 22,27,23Company-reportedCompany-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.

Small businesses can shop for GL, BOP, workers’ comp, auto, trucking, property, equipment, HNOA, umbrella, professional liability, cyber and D&O; categories do not guarantee eligibility or a single package. 3Company-reportedAdvertised product catalogue for U.S. businesses. No specimen contract, issuing-insurer mapping or state-specific eligibility inferred.

Roles and Quote Access

Kinro helps arrange coverage as a broker; its website names Kinro Insurance Services LLC and NPN 22233799, while the insurer on your policy takes the risk. 5,10Company-reportedWebsite identification and brokerage positioning only; LLC existence, NPN assignment, state licenses and insurer authority were not independently established.

Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 22,23,35,24Company-reportedU.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.

You can begin Kinro’s public four-step quote intake without a login by selecting your business activity; later steps, pricing and binding were not inspected. 2Company-reportedObserved initial unauthenticated interface in Chrome; no answers, personal information, uploads, account creation or submissions. Later access requirements unknown.

The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 24,23Company-reportedPublished U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

Use these routes to plan who will assemble the submission and whether you can complete the purchase online or need an agent or broker. Ask Kinro and Simply Business to confirm the route for your state, coverage and business details; an online quote path alone does not show that a risk can be bound. 2 24

Policy Service and Claims

Kinro says it shops at renewal and sends text links to documents and certificates with reminders and coverage support; these are service descriptions, not turnaround guarantees. 1,5Company-reportedRetail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected.

The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 24,25,23Company-reportedCompany-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.

Get the policy’s claim instructions and responsible insurer or administrator before binding because Kinro’s public materials do not establish a dedicated claims route or adjuster. 19,5,9Not publicly disclosedScoped absence of detailed first-notice-of-loss instructions and administrator identification in these reviewed sources; not a finding that Kinro offers no claims assistance.

The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 23,25Company-reportedGeneral site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.

Compare the practical handoffs for documents, policy changes, renewal questions and claim notices. A listed support route describes access to help, not a claim outcome or a guarantee of service speed.

What Should You Confirm in Kinro and Simply Business Quotes?

Request quotes for the same business details, coverage lines, limits, deductibles or retentions and policy period. Ask Kinro and Simply Business to name the producer and issuing insurer for each proposed policy, confirm who can bind it, and itemize any customer fees or intermediary compensation. For the overlapping business owners’ policy, commercial property, cyber, compare the actual insuring agreement, exclusions, sublimits and endorsements. Also confirm who handles account changes and receives claim notices. 1 22 6 23

Kinro vs Simply Business Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaKinroSimply Business
Business role

Kinro helps arrange coverage as a broker; its website names Kinro Insurance Services LLC and NPN 22233799, while the insurer on your policy takes the risk. 5,10Company-reportedWebsite identification and brokerage positioning only; LLC existence, NPN assignment, state licenses and insurer authority were not independently established.

Kinro’s September 27, 2026 terms define Kinro as Kinro, Inc. and its subsidiaries, including Kinro Insurance Services LLC, and say insurance is offered through that agency only where licensed. A separate written software agreement controls where it differs from these terms; confirm the contracting entity on your insurance engagement. 6,5Company-reportedCompany-published terms effective September 27, 2026 state the parent/subsidiary relationship and insurance-service scope. No placement-specific authority or contracting agreement was independently verified.

Independent agencies can use Kinro’s market access and technology while retaining their customer relationship under contract; clarify who advises, binds, bills, services and handles renewals. 8,9Company-reportedB2B partner pathways; not a finding that all retail Kinro buyers work through a subproducer, or that Kinro has wholesale or MGA authority in a particular jurisdiction.

Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 22,23,35,24Company-reportedU.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.

Application process

You can begin Kinro’s public four-step quote intake without a login by selecting your business activity; later steps, pricing and binding were not inspected. 2Company-reportedObserved initial unauthenticated interface in Chrome; no answers, personal information, uploads, account creation or submissions. Later access requirements unknown.

Kinro says AI gathers business details and presents available quote options with licensed-agent help; its roughly two-minute follow-up is a company response-time claim, not a quote or binding deadline. 1Company-reportedHomepage FAQ and response claim; no interactions submitted or timing study performed.

You can ask Kinro for a free review by uploading up to three policy or renewal files; its promise to find better pricing with equal or more coverage is company-reported, and no replacement quote was tested. 4Company-reportedPublic upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.

The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 24,23Company-reportedPublished U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

Servicing and renewals

Kinro says it shops at renewal and sends text links to documents and certificates with reminders and coverage support; these are service descriptions, not turnaround guarantees. 1,5Company-reportedRetail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected.

Before sharing business details, note that Kinro separates service texts from marketing consent, while its privacy policy says website activity may be linked to profiles for marketing. 5,7Company-reportedPublished consent and privacy terms, not an audit of data practices or consent enforcement; privacy policy effective August 10, 2026.

Simply Business lists licensed-agent phone support Monday through Friday: sales 8 a.m.–8 p.m. Eastern Time and service 9 a.m.–6 p.m. These listed hours do not establish a response-time guarantee. 24Company-reportedHours displayed on the current U.S. contact page; no actual wait-time observation is implied.

The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 24,25,23Company-reportedCompany-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.

The Help Center FAQ says most customers opt into automatic renewal and gives 60-day notice and 30-day processing timing only for those who opt in. The same Help Center summary and June 30, 2026 Terms use broader automatic-renewal wording without the FAQ’s opt-in qualification. The public descriptions conflict; they do not establish which wording applies to every policy. 25,23Conflicting sourcesCompany-published descriptions reviewed 2026-09-29. FAQ detail, Help Center summary and Terms are inconsistent; no buyer-specific policy notice was reviewed.

Claims assistance

Get the policy’s claim instructions and responsible insurer or administrator before binding because Kinro’s public materials do not establish a dedicated claims route or adjuster. 19,5,9Not publicly disclosedScoped absence of detailed first-notice-of-loss instructions and administrator identification in these reviewed sources; not a finding that Kinro offers no claims assistance.

The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 23,25Company-reportedGeneral site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.

Customer focus

Kinro helps U.S. small businesses identify insurance needs and compare available options through an agency. You can start with business questions online or ask for help by phone, text, email, or chat. 1,19Company-reportedCurrent retail offering at kinro.com; documented function, not independently tested placement or service outcomes.

Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 22,27,23Company-reportedCompany-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.

Fees and compensation

Kinro’s terms say it is usually paid a commission by the issuing insurer, included in the insurer-set premium. Its services are free to use unless a fee is disclosed before you agree to pay it. Ask for the commission and any proposed fee for your policy; the terms do not publish an account-specific amount. 6,18,8Company-reportedSeptember 27, 2026 company terms describe buyer fees and insurer-paid commissions; no account-specific fee or commission rate is stated. Separate agency-partner economics are not retail rates.

Consultants can use Kinro’s monthly benchmarks—$25–$35 GL, $50–$65 E&O and $90–$105 cyber—as rough market references, not quotes matched to an insurer, limit or deductible. 17Company-reportedOne industry-page illustration, not Kinro-wide pricing or a comparable quote; underlying calculation methodology not established.

The Terms say Simply Business receives commission or other compensation from or through panel members and that customers may also incur separate processing, administrative, service, installment or cancellation fees. They give no amount or placement-specific applicability; the Terms say charges are disclosed before purchase. 23Company-reportedGeneral disclosure dated 2026-06-30; no specific commission, fee schedule, premium or customer charge was reviewed.

Sources

35 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Kinro vs Simply Business

  • Compare AIG’s broker-facing insurer route with Kinro’s small-business agency intake and quote comparison workflow.

  • Compare AIG and Simply Business by coverage fit, application route, insurer roles and the questions to ask before choosing a small-business policy.

  • Kinro starts policy review with uploaded documents, while Alliance Risk asks for customer contracts and prior-work dates in technology E&O submissions.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation