Kinro vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Kinro shops several commercial lines; Pie focuses on workers’ compensation with payroll-based billing and audits, and says commercial-auto business is closed to new and renewal accounts.

An Overview of Kinro and Pie Insurance

An employer comparing a workers’ compensation renewal should check both payroll billing and the claim-reporting deadline. Pie offers payroll-based billing and requires notice within 24 hours; its commercial-auto product is closed to new and renewal accounts, while Kinro can shop several lines. 24 38 41 10 Choose Pie for payroll-based workers’ comp if you can meet its 24-hour reporting rule; choose Kinro when you need several lines, including a truck policy.

For a landscaping business adding seasonal crews and another truck, the question is how to compare workers’ compensation and payroll administration while arranging the vehicle coverage separately. Kinro markets both categories. Pie supplies more detailed workers’ compensation billing and audit information, but says its commercial-auto offering is closed to new and renewal business. 3 38 40 35

What Stands Out About Kinro and Pie Insurance?

Kinro at a Glance

  • Get a free review of an existing policy or renewal packet before deciding whether to replace it. 4Company-reportedPublic upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.
  • Kinro says it shops the market at renewal and sends text links to documents, certificates and coverage support. 1,5Company-reportedRetail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected.

Pie Insurance at a Glance

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 23,22,24Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 38,39Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Kinro vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageKinroPie Insurance
Business owner’s policyListed 3Kinro lists a business owner’s policy in its product catalog.Listed 28Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
Commercial autoListed 3As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial auto and describes matching business details to carrier appetite.Not listed
Commercial propertyListed 3As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial property and describes matching business details to carrier appetite.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 3Kinro lists cyber liability and compares business details with carrier appetite.Listed 29Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
Directors and officersListed 3Kinro lists directors and officers insurance and compares business details with carrier appetite.Not listed
General liabilityListed 3Kinro lists general liability and compares available carrier options.Listed 31Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Hired and non-owned autoListed 3Kinro lists hired and non-owned auto for liability questions involving personal or rented vehicles used for business.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 3,14Kinro lists professional liability (errors and omissions) for claims tied to professional advice, errors, omissions or service mistakes.Listed 30Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 3Kinro arranges tools and equipment coverage through its inland marine offering.Not listed
TruckingListed 3Kinro lists trucking insurance addressing auto liability, cargo, physical damage and trucking-specific filings or contract requirements.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 3Kinro lists umbrella and excess liability insurance.Not listed
Workers’ compensationListed 3Kinro arranges workers’ compensation insurance and reviews state, payroll and class-code questions.Listed 24Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Kinro and Pie Insurance Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Kinro and Pie Insurance each document for one coverage line.

Kinro and Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

5.3/ 10

Carrier & MGA

6.3/ 10

Provider assessment

Kinro and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Kinro Review Score

–/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

We found no independent customer reviews of Kinro. It shows a 5.0 Google rating on its own website, but there is no review count or listing behind it.

Read Kinro reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Kinro and Pie Insurance

Broker Access and the Pie Program

Pie allows a business to start workers’ compensation directly or through an agent. Kinro’s carrier-partner terms make access conditional on approvals, while its agency-placement service assigns responsibilities by agreement. Ask Kinro whether Pie is actually available for the landscaping operation and which other markets will consider the same submission. A logo alone cannot establish that access or the number of quotes. 23 10 9

If both a direct Pie offer and a Kinro-arranged offer use the same program, compare insurer, state schedule, employee classifications, limits, fees and service responsibilities before treating them as different insurance. Pie Insurance Services is the producer; the legal insurer on the declarations carries the policy obligation. Neither the Pie holding-company name nor Kinro’s brokerage identity replaces that insurer. 26 5 18

Seasonal Payroll, Pay-as-You-Go and Audits

Kinro’s workers’ compensation guide asks for payroll by state, employee duties and owner inclusion or exclusion. Pie’s quote materials ask for payroll and class-code information too. The landscaper should give both routes the same description of seasonal hires and work performed; otherwise, different assumptions can make the premiums appear more comparable than they are. 13 24

Pie describes pay-as-you-go billing based on actual payroll, with no initial deposit and coordination with the payroll provider. That can make payment timing relevant for a seasonal employer, separately from the insurer’s total price. Ask whether Kinro’s proposed program offers the same arrangement and who supplies corrections when payroll changes; its public shopping materials do not settle the billing terms of an individual quote. 39 9

Payroll-linked payments aren’t a final premium; expect the annual audit to adjust it. Pie’s audit page requires an annual reconciliation and identifies payroll, employee, cash-expense and subcontractor records. Ask how the proposed arrangement handles those records, classification disputes and additional premium or refunds. Compare the total annual obligation, not only the first payment or the absence of a deposit. 40 39

Vehicle Placement and State Eligibility

If you need new or renewed commercial auto, look elsewhere: Pie stopped accepting new submissions December 1, 2025 and says it will issue no new or renewal policies after January 1, 2026; existing terms remain in force through expiry. 35,41Company-reportedPie’s former commercial-auto offering and legacy policies; commercial auto is intentionally excluded from the current coverage catalogue.

For the landscaper, Pie’s surviving auto claim pages concern existing policy service rather than a new-truck quote. Kinro’s catalogue includes commercial auto and trucking, so it supplies a documented starting point for the separate vehicle placement. Ask who coordinates the new vehicle’s effective date with the rest of the business insurance; the workers’ compensation purchase does not settle it. 35 3

If the new crew works across a state line, provide each location and employee duty before quoting. Pie’s public footprint counts disagree, and Kinro’s published producer identifier is not a product-availability map. Require a confirmed state and class schedule rather than relying on a national marketing statement. The disagreement is a reason to verify this account, not a finding that either company lacks lawful access. 32 34 13 20

Waivers, Certificates and Full Cost

A commercial customer may request both proof of workers’ compensation and a waiver of subrogation, which changes specified recovery rights after a loss. Pie handles waiver requests separately and says a state-dependent charge applies. Kinro’s placement service explicitly allocates certificate and endorsement duties. Ask who obtains the actual waiver, what it costs and whether it will be issued before the job starts; sending a certificate alone is a different task. 37 9

Pie publishes payment choices and a scoped credit-card fee; Kinro discloses possible placement compensation and agreement-specific agency commissions. Request a quote showing premium, taxes, any agency charge, waiver charge and payment cost. A no-deposit arrangement changes cash timing, while a fee changes total cost; neither proves that one policy is cheaper for the same risk. 38 18 8

Injury Reporting and Claims Contacts

Pie publishes online, phone and email workers’ compensation reporting and asks for notice within 24 hours. Its agency FAQ assigns some states to CorVel, so obtain the actual state kit rather than assuming one administrator handles every location. Kinro’s support pages don’t spell out a dedicated claims procedure; ask how the agency will help alongside the insurer’s required notice. 41 42 19

The owner needs to know who reports an injury, where the report goes and who follows up even when the original purchase went through an agent. These are operational arrangements to document, not evidence of superior claims outcomes. 41 9

What Should You Confirm in Kinro and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • Market and insurer schedule: identify whether the Kinro offer actually uses Pie, the issuing company and the accepted states and employee classes. 10 26
  • Payroll plan: compare installments with pay-as-you-go, including the reporting owner, audit records and full annual cost. 13 39 40
  • Separate vehicle placement: obtain the new truck’s insurer and effective date without relying on Pie’s legacy auto pages. 3 35
  • Job-site documents and injury instructions: request the waiver endorsement, its charge, the certificate and the correct state-specific claims contact. 37 42 9

Kinro vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaKinroPie Insurance
Business role

Kinro helps arrange coverage as a broker; its website names Kinro Insurance Services LLC and NPN 22233799, while the insurer on your policy takes the risk. 5,10Company-reportedWebsite identification and brokerage positioning only; LLC existence, NPN assignment, state licenses and insurer authority were not independently established.

Kinro’s September 27, 2026 terms define Kinro as Kinro, Inc. and its subsidiaries, including Kinro Insurance Services LLC, and say insurance is offered through that agency only where licensed. A separate written software agreement controls where it differs from these terms; confirm the contracting entity on your insurance engagement. 6,5Company-reportedCompany-published terms effective September 27, 2026 state the parent/subsidiary relationship and insurance-service scope. No placement-specific authority or contracting agreement was independently verified.

Independent agencies can use Kinro’s market access and technology while retaining their customer relationship under contract; clarify who advises, binds, bills, services and handles renewals. 8,9Company-reportedB2B partner pathways; not a finding that all retail Kinro buyers work through a subproducer, or that Kinro has wholesale or MGA authority in a particular jurisdiction.

Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 23,26,24,28,29,30,31Company-reportedCurrent public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant.

If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 25,45,43VerifiedWebsite ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary.

Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 26,46Company-reportedProducer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action.

Application process

You can begin Kinro’s public four-step quote intake without a login by selecting your business activity; later steps, pricing and binding were not inspected. 2Company-reportedObserved initial unauthenticated interface in Chrome; no answers, personal information, uploads, account creation or submissions. Later access requirements unknown.

Kinro says AI gathers business details and presents available quote options with licensed-agent help; its roughly two-minute follow-up is a company response-time claim, not a quote or binding deadline. 1Company-reportedHomepage FAQ and response claim; no interactions submitted or timing study performed.

You can ask Kinro for a free review by uploading up to three policy or renewal files; its promise to find better pricing with equal or more coverage is company-reported, and no replacement quote was tested. 4Company-reportedPublic upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 23,22,24Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 27,24Company-reportedUnauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 24,22Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Coverage lines

Small businesses can shop for GL, BOP, workers’ comp, auto, trucking, property, equipment, HNOA, umbrella, professional liability, cyber and D&O; categories do not guarantee eligibility or a single package. 3Company-reportedAdvertised product catalogue for U.S. businesses. No specimen contract, issuing-insurer mapping or state-specific eligibility inferred.

Eligible businesses can compare a BOP combining general liability and business property; Kinro’s intake asks about premises, inventory, equipment and required limits. 12Company-reportedCompany product overview, not policy wording; no finding about business interruption, catastrophe coverage or particular insurer terms.

For E&O, be ready to describe your services, customers, contracts, claims and current policy; for cyber, Kinro asks about data, MFA, backups, vendor access and incidents. 14,15Company-reportedPublished inputs, not a tested underwriting process or guarantee of cyber incident, funds-transfer, professional or technology coverage.

Companies with investors, boards or financing conditions can consider D&O; Kinro’s guide asks about funding, ownership, board, debt and claims, and flags EPL, fiduciary and crime as related questions. 16Company-reportedProduct guidance; companion lines are not automatically included.

Ask for insurer-specific forms and terms before buying; reviewed guides do not name the insurer or provide specimen forms, so limits, deductibles and exclusions remain proposal details. 11,12,14,15,16Not found in reviewed sourcesScoped to cited current product pages; no claim that forms are unavailable on request or elsewhere.

Pie currently markets workers’ comp, BOP, cyber, general liability and professional liability/E&O; product pages describe typical coverage, while the policy and endorsements determine your actual protection. 24,28,29,31,30,25Company-reportedPublic US Pie pages with an explicit quote or contact invitation; educational-only topics and components of a BOP were not counted as standalone offerings.

If you need new or renewed commercial auto, look elsewhere: Pie stopped accepting new submissions December 1, 2025 and says it will issue no new or renewal policies after January 1, 2026; existing terms remain in force through expiry. 35,41Company-reportedPie’s former commercial-auto offering and legacy policies; commercial auto is intentionally excluded from the current coverage catalogue.

Use your policy and endorsements to decide what is covered; Pie says website descriptions do not change policy terms and eligibility varies by applicant and location. 25Company-reportedWebsite descriptions and US products generally; the buyer’s issued policy and endorsements control.

Fees and compensation

Kinro’s terms say it is usually paid a commission by the issuing insurer, included in the insurer-set premium. Its services are free to use unless a fee is disclosed before you agree to pay it. Ask for the commission and any proposed fee for your policy; the terms do not publish an account-specific amount. 6,18,8Company-reportedSeptember 27, 2026 company terms describe buyer fees and insurer-paid commissions; no account-specific fee or commission rate is stated. Separate agency-partner economics are not retail rates.

Consultants can use Kinro’s monthly benchmarks—$25–$35 GL, $50–$65 E&O and $90–$105 cyber—as rough market references, not quotes matched to an insurer, limit or deductible. 17Company-reportedOne industry-page illustration, not Kinro-wide pricing or a comparable quote; underlying calculation methodology not established.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 38,39Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 38Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 37Not publicly disclosedWorkers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 42,26Not publicly disclosedAgency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Claims assistance

Get the policy’s claim instructions and responsible insurer or administrator before binding because Kinro’s public materials do not establish a dedicated claims route or adjuster. 19,5,9Not publicly disclosedScoped absence of detailed first-notice-of-loss instructions and administrator identification in these reviewed sources; not a finding that Kinro offers no claims assistance.

Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 41Company-reportedPublished first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply.

Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 42,32,43Conflicting sourcesPublic allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions.

Sources

46 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Kinro vs Pie Insurance

  • Compare AIG’s broker-facing insurer route with Kinro’s small-business agency intake and quote comparison workflow.

  • Compare AIG’s broader commercial insurer group with Pie’s direct and agency workers’ compensation route.

  • Kinro starts policy review with uploaded documents, while Alliance Risk asks for customer contracts and prior-work dates in technology E&O submissions.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation