Hiscox vs Nationwide: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

This comparison sets Hiscox’s and Nationwide’s documented business roles, listed products and quote routes side by side; a catalogue match does not establish equivalent policy terms.

An Overview of Hiscox and Nationwide

What Stands Out About Hiscox and Nationwide?

Hiscox at a Glance

  • You can buy Hiscox’s core small-business policies online, and they’re usually issued by its own insurer rather than a partner. Hiscox Inc. is the producer; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is the affiliated insurer named for Hiscox NOW products. 5,4Company-reportedLegal roles stated in current terms (last modified May 28, 2024) and the About Hiscox US page. Exact contracting entity still depends on product, channel and policy.
  • Eligible buyers can quote Hiscox general liability, professional liability/E&O, cyber and a business owner’s policy online. 16,7,8,9,10,2Company-reportedCurrent Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.

Nationwide at a Glance

  • Nationwide has separate commercial routes for small businesses, midsize and large businesses with complex risks, E&S and specialty customers, and agribusiness. 30,31Company-reportedPublic U.S. commercial segment descriptions; product and state eligibility remain quote-specific.
  • Small-business buyers can start a quote online, then call or work with an agent to purchase. 30,32Company-reportedOfficial small-commercial and BOP pages; no application was submitted or purchase flow completed.

Hiscox vs Nationwide Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageHiscoxNationwide
Builders riskNot listedListed 34Nationwide lists builders risk among inland-marine products. The page does not establish project-specific coverage periods, valuation, or exclusions.
Business owner’s policyListed 10Hiscox offers business owner’s policies for small businesses.Listed 32,30Nationwide markets a BOP for eligible small businesses and describes property and liability elements with optional additions; actual coverage is controlled by policy forms.
Cargo and transitNot listedListed 34Nationwide lists motor truck cargo among inland-marine products. This is not evidence of broad cargo coverage or any particular commodity/route acceptance.
Commercial autoNot listedListed 30,31Nationwide lists commercial auto in its small-business product catalogue. We couldn’t review the dedicated product page, so no vehicle, driver, or state terms are inferred.
Commercial propertyNot listedListed 35,43Nationwide markets commercial property for business buildings and contents; property values, covered causes, limits, and exclusions depend on the policy.
CrimeNot listedListed 39,41Nationwide markets commercial crime insurance and management-liability crime products; exact insuring agreements and fidelity form are not established here.
Cyber liabilityListed 9,2Hiscox offers cyber insurance for small businesses.Listed 37,30Nationwide markets cyber liability and data-breach insurance to business customers; quote and policy terms determine eligibility and coverage.
Directors and officersNot listedListed 42,41Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty markets a distinct D&O product. The reviewed materials do not establish issuer or form for a particular risk.
Employment practices liabilityNot listedListed 36,41Nationwide markets EPLI through small-business and management-liability channels; the reviewed pages do not establish a standard grant or eligibility.
Equipment breakdownNot listedListed 32,43Nationwide presents equipment breakdown under its BOP coverages; the individual policy controls inclusion and terms.
Fiduciary liabilityNot listedListed 41Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty lists fiduciary liability as a distinct commercial-liability product; terms and availability remain quote-specific.
General liabilityListed 7Hiscox offers general liability insurance for small businesses.Listed 43,32Nationwide lists general liability in its professional-office package description and BOP materials; this establishes marketing only, not standalone availability or policy scope.
Management liabilityNot listedListed 41,42Nationwide Management Liability & Specialty markets multiple distinct management-liability products, including D&O, fiduciary, crime, and EPLI; no single bundled form is inferred.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 8,2Hiscox offers professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses.Listed 40,31Nationwide markets professional E&O for professional-service exposures. This does not establish technology E&O or any particular profession’s acceptance.
Surety bondsNot listedListed 38,30Nationwide markets commercial surety bonds. A bond is a contractual guarantee and is not interchangeable with an insurance policy.
Tools, equipment and inland marineNot listedListed 34,31Nationwide markets inland-marine products including contractor equipment and installation floaters; product availability and covered property vary.
Umbrella and excess liabilityNot listedListed 30,31Nationwide lists commercial umbrella for small businesses. Reviewed catalogue evidence does not establish attachment, limits, underlying requirements, or a specific excess form.
Workers’ compensationListed 11Hiscox provides access to workers’ compensation underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance Company and requires a general liability policy.Listed 33,30Nationwide markets workers’ compensation and describes state-variable benefits and services. State law, policy, and employer eligibility govern.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Hiscox and Nationwide Coverage, Line by Line

Open what Hiscox and Nationwide each document for one coverage line.

Hiscox and Nationwide Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Hiscox and Nationwide Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Hiscox Review Score

6.3/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Hiscox’s review results are sharply divided: low Trustpilot and ConsumerAffairs scores contrast with strong Feefo feedback. Service quality deserves closer scrutiny before purchase.

Read Hiscox reviews

Nationwide Review Score

7.8/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Experts like Nationwide more than customers do. NerdWallet gives it 4.5 out of 5 for business insurance, while small-business customers on ConsumerAffairs give it 2.5 out of 5 from 19 reviews.

Read Nationwide reviews

Key Differences Between Hiscox and Nationwide

Business Roles and Access to Insurers

For this pair, first decide whether the documented access route fits how you want to buy. Hiscox’s role evidence is specific to its distribution or underwriting position; Nationwide’s record describes a different business route. Ask who handles your submission, who issues each policy, and who will service changes after binding. 5 30

Business Fit and Listed Products

Compare the business segments each company says it serves with your operations, locations and risk profile. A marketed audience can help you choose where to apply, but it does not confirm your eligibility. 1 30

Both provider records list general liability, professional E&O, cyber, business owners policies, workers’ compensation. A shared catalogue label makes a line worth quoting from both; it does not establish the same insurer, policy form, limits, exclusions or eligibility. Hiscox has no additional listed lines beyond the shared catalogue; Nationwide also lists builders risk, cargo, commercial auto, commercial property, crime. These are catalogue differences, not proof that one company excludes a line or that listed products are equivalent. Ask for the proposed forms and schedule side by side. 16 30

Application and Account Service

Eligible small businesses can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and BOP online by entering a ZIP code and answering questions; Hiscox says policy documents and certificates follow issuance by email. Confirm eligibility and effective date before relying on coverage. 16,7,1Company-reportedPublic quote-page and product-FAQ statements accessed 16 September 2026. Instant-coverage marketing is not a tested bind. Partner products use separate quote sites.

Nationwide says small-business buyers can start an online quote and then call or work with an agent to purchase. Its BOP page says a quote can be started online; this does not establish online binding for every product or applicant. 30,32Company-reportedOfficial small-commercial and BOP pages; no application was submitted or purchase flow completed.

The application facts show different entry points for this pair. A quote request or agent portal is not itself a binder; get the named issuing insurer, quote terms and written effective-date confirmation before relying on coverage. 16 30

Managing Changes, Claims, and Renewal

Hiscox’s online account lets eligible customers download documents, create certificates, update some details and request certain changes; limit, coverage, cancellation and some payment changes require phone support. A certificate does not change policy terms. 18,19Company-reportedCompany-described self-service as of the manage-policy and certificate pages. Partner-issued policies may use different servicing portals.

Nationwide describes a 24/7 online business account for policy management, claims filing/tracking, documents and billing; if a certificate is not in the account, it directs customers to request one online or contact an agent. 44Company-reportedCompany-described account features; access depends on policy/account and does not measure service quality.

Ask who owns post-bind policy changes, certificates, claims reporting and renewal outreach. A quote channel does not establish those service steps; compare the contact and timing you receive in writing.

What Should You Confirm in Hiscox and Nationwide Quotes?

  • Which insurer and legal entity will issue each policy, and where can that exact product be quoted? Catalogue and licensing statements do not answer risk-specific eligibility. 5 30
  • For the shared catalogue labels general liability, professional E&O, cyber, business owners policies, workers’ compensation, ask each company for the proposed insurer, form and endorsements; a matching name alone is not a coverage match. Compare limits, retention or deductible, exclusions, retroactive date where relevant, and endorsements; catalogue labels do not establish equivalent protection. 16 30
  • Ask what the application requires, what underwriting follow-up to expect, and who handles certificates, policy changes and renewal after binding 16 30

Hiscox vs Nationwide Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaHiscoxNationwide
Business role

You can buy Hiscox’s core small-business policies online, and Hiscox’s own insurance company usually issues them rather than a partner. Hiscox Inc. is the producer; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is the affiliated insurer named for Hiscox NOW products. 5,4Company-reportedLegal roles stated in current terms (last modified May 28, 2024) and the About Hiscox US page. Exact contracting entity still depends on product, channel and policy.

California buyers should verify current producer authority: Hiscox Inc. says it does business as Hiscox Insurance Agency and lists license 0F09668, a company disclosure not independently checked. 6,23,11,5Company-reportedCalifornia producer identity as published on Hiscox pages accessed 16 September 2026. Not a substitute for a live CDI Check a License search at purchase.

Nationwide markets commercial insurance through small-business, agribusiness, middle-market and specialty channels. Its general P&C disclosure names Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company and affiliated companies as underwriting companies; the reviewed materials do not map each commercial product to its legal issuer. 30,31,46Company-reportedNationwide-branded U.S. commercial insurance; issuer and availability vary by product/company/state.

Customer focus

Small professional and service firms, including IT consultants, can request Hiscox small-business coverage; startups may qualify depending on class, revenue and underwriting. 1,2,23Company-reportedCompany-described audience on current small-business, IT and July 2026 Hiscox NOW appetite materials. This does not establish eligibility for any particular Bay Area company, revenue band or class.

Nationwide presents separate commercial routes for small businesses, midsize and large businesses with complex risks, E&S/specialty customers, and agribusiness operators. These are published segments, not a promise of product eligibility. 30,31Company-reportedPublic U.S. commercial segment descriptions; product and state eligibility remain quote-specific.

Coverage lines

Hiscox directly markets and offers online quotes for general liability, professional liability (errors and omissions), cyber security insurance and a business owner’s policy that combines general liability with commercial property. IT pages present those same lines for technology consultants rather than a separately named technology E&O policy. Website examples and coverage lists are illustrative; the issued policy controls. 16,7,8,9,10,2Company-reportedCurrent Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.

Hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime are described as upgrades to a Hiscox business owner’s policy, not standalone Hiscox policies. Crime is not sold separately and is not available in all states. HNOA is tied to the BOP occurrence limit and does not replace commercial auto for vehicles the business owns or regularly operates. 20,21,10Company-reportedCurrent HNOA and commercial-crime product pages. Availability by state and class was not independently matrixed beyond those pages and the 2026 appetite guide.

Hiscox describes partner routes for workers’ compensation through Hartford Fire Insurance Company, medical malpractice through unaffiliated NOW Insurance, and short-term liability through Thimble/Markel. Its other-insurance page directs buyers to Tivly for umbrella, employment practices liability, commercial property and inland marine. Confirm the current commercial-auto route and issuing insurer on the quote. These partner access paths do not establish that Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. issues the policy. 11,28,13,14,29,26Company-reportedProduct-specific partner access. Broker-channel Hiscox C-Suite management liability is separate from the other-insurance referral route.

Nationwide lists BOP, workers’ compensation, commercial auto, umbrella, EPLI, cyber and surety for small businesses, and separately markets inland marine, builders risk, professional E&O, commercial property, crime, D&O, fiduciary liability and management-liability products. Product listings do not establish that a buyer qualifies or that a named coverage is included in another policy. 30,31,34,40,35,39,41Company-reportedCurrent official U.S. commercial catalogue pages reviewed Sep 29, 2026; not a complete state/class appetite map.

Availability

Hiscox says it is currently licensed to offer small-business insurance in 49 states and the District of Columbia, and that coverage is currently unavailable in Alaska. General liability and professional liability FAQs repeat the Alaska exclusion and say specialist brokers may be able to help if Hiscox does not sell online in an area. The 2026 Hiscox NOW appetite guide further says business owner’s policy is unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia. Coverage remains subject to underwriting and class. 1,7,8,23,6Company-reportedCompany-stated jurisdiction for the online/admitted small-business catalogue as of 16 September 2026. A 49-state license statement is not a product-by-profession matrix. California is included in the marketed 49-state set and has a dedicated Hiscox California page; that still does not bind a specific class.

A Los Angeles office on the contact page does not establish California product eligibility. Broker-facing Hiscox C-Suite materials say Hiscox is no longer entertaining management-liability risks in the metro areas of California. Appetite tables also mark many contractor professional-liability classes as not available in California. Confirm state, class and channel on the actual quote. 22,26,23Company-reportedContact-page office list, C-Suite broker page and July 2026 appetite class notes. C-Suite restriction applies to that broker management-liability product, not automatically to online GL/PL/cyber/BOP.

Nationwide says P&C products may not be offered by all companies or in all states and are subject to underwriting. The reviewed public sources do not establish a complete state-by-state commercial issuer and product matrix. 46,30Not publicly disclosedGeneral P&C disclosure and pages reviewed here; no all-state licensing or availability audit.

Access to insurers

Hiscox NOW appetite and About Hiscox US say admitted small-business products described there are underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., a Chicago-based insurer licensed in all 50 states and D.C. The California Department of Insurance independently identifies that company as an Illinois-domiciled property-and-casualty insurer, NAIC 10200, California Company ID 1439-9, authorized in California since 14 September 1953 with unlimited-normal status. Hiscox’s California marketing page also cites Illinois license number 8754, which is not the CDI company ID; reconcile names and numbers on the quote. 24,25,4,23,6VerifiedAdmitted Hiscox NOW GL, professional liability, cyber and BOP as described in 2026 appetite and About pages, plus CDI/Illinois regulator records for the named insurer. Regulator authorization is not proof that a given class is written in California today.

Hiscox describes several separate partner routes: workers’ compensation underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance Company, medical malpractice through unaffiliated NOW Insurance, and short-term liability through Thimble with Markel Insurance Company. Its other-insurance page currently directs buyers to Tivly for umbrella, employment practices liability, commercial property and inland marine. The reviewed commercial-auto destination does not identify the previously named referral partner. Confirm the current route and issuing insurer on the quote; do not assume the issuer is Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. 11,28,13,14,29Company-reportedProduct-specific partner routes in the retained September 29 review. The current reviewed commercial-auto destination does not establish a referral partner; confirm the quote route and issuer.

Hiscox Inc. says it is an approved Lloyd’s coverholder and underwrites surplus-lines business on behalf of Lloyd’s Syndicates 33 and 3624, with U.S. surplus-lines placements made by licensed surplus-lines brokers. Terms also say Hiscox Inc. may place admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates. That surplus-lines route is described as distinct from the online small-business catalogue. 4,5Company-reportedCompany disclosures on About Hiscox US and website terms. This does not establish that a California online small-business quote uses Lloyd’s paper.

Nationwide identifies Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company and affiliates as possible P&C underwriting companies and says each underwriter is responsible for its own products. The reviewed general disclosure does not name the issuer for each commercial product; check the policy and declarations. 46Company-reportedGeneral group disclosure, not a line-, policy- or state-specific insurer crosswalk.

Application process

Eligible small businesses can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and BOP online by entering a ZIP code and answering questions; Hiscox says policy documents and certificates follow issuance by email. Confirm eligibility and effective date before relying on coverage. 16,7,1Company-reportedPublic quote-page and product-FAQ statements accessed 16 September 2026. Instant-coverage marketing is not a tested bind. Partner products use separate quote sites.

Nationwide says small-business buyers can start an online quote and then call or work with an agent to purchase. Its BOP page says a quote can be started online; this does not establish online binding for every product or applicant. 30,32Company-reportedOfficial small-commercial and BOP pages; no application was submitted or purchase flow completed.

Servicing and renewals

Hiscox’s online account lets eligible customers download documents, create certificates, update some details and request certain changes; limit, coverage, cancellation and some payment changes require phone support. A certificate does not change policy terms. 18,19Company-reportedCompany-described self-service as of the manage-policy and certificate pages. Partner-issued policies may use different servicing portals.

Nationwide describes a 24/7 online business account for policy management, claims filing/tracking, documents and billing; if a certificate is not in the account, it directs customers to request one online or contact an agent. 44Company-reportedCompany-described account features; access depends on policy/account and does not measure service quality.

The commercial overview, small-business catalogue and business account pages reviewed here do not establish renewal notice timing, who initiates renewal discussions or how a renewal transaction is completed. These steps remain unverified; this is not evidence that renewal service is absent. 47,30,44Not found in reviewed sourcesOnly named public pages reviewed 2026-09-29, not policy documents or every account workflow.

NerdWallet reports fewer general-liability complaints than expected for 2022–2024. Its discussion describes commercial-property complaints as slightly above expectations, while its methodology calls them about expected; that discrepancy remains unresolved. 48VerifiedNerdWallet’s commercial business-insurance editorial analysis only. This is an attributed product-line complaint comparison, not direct NAIC verification, a claim-outcome finding, or evidence about any identified underwriting company. Do not combine this measure with consumer review averages or treat the unresolved commercial-property discrepancy as a single settled result.

Claims assistance

You can start a Hiscox claim online, by phone or mail, and Hiscox says it assigns a claims professional to review coverage; products placed with partners may have different notice instructions, so use the contacts in your policy. 17,27,7Company-reportedCompany-described Hiscox claims-center process. Hours differ across pages. Coverage and defense remain subject to the issuing insurer and policy.

Nationwide says business claims can be reported online, by phone or through an agent and that a claims professional is assigned after submission. Same-day contact is described as an aim, not a guarantee. 45Company-reportedGeneral company-described commercial claims process; not an independent outcome measure or product-specific administrator map.

Fees and compensation

Hiscox advertises annual or monthly payment without additional fees for certain general-liability policies, and up to 5% savings when bundling eligible products; illustrative prices are not quotes. 7,6,10Company-reportedCompany-stated payment options for described liability products. Partner policies may use different billing. No inference that every product or state has zero installment fees.

Ask for any producer fees or commissions on your quote because reviewed Hiscox small-business pages do not publish a buyer-facing schedule; actual cost can vary with underwriting. 23,5,7Not publicly disclosedPublic consumer and agent appetite materials reviewed 16 September 2026. Absence of a schedule is not a finding that no producer compensation exists.

The reviewed Nationwide commercial marketing and service pages do not disclose agent commission rates or contingent compensation terms. This packet does not establish whether or how an agent is compensated. 30,31,46Not found in reviewed sourcesBounded page review; no producer agreement, quote or commission disclosure reviewed.

Sources

48 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Hiscox vs Nationwide

  • Hiscox offers online quotes for eligible small-business policies; AIG lists broker and agent tools, with claims access scoped by line and country.

  • Compare AIG and Nationwide by business role, listed products and how buyers start a quote.

  • Hiscox lists online classes and underwriting conditions rather than a single revenue cutoff; Alliance Risk’s California product route remains account-specific.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation