Founder Shield vs
Layr: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Founder Shield is a broker you can hire directly to build a startup insurance program; Layr is not sold to you directly and only reaches you if your current independent broker uses its portal and service team for small-business policies.
Introduction to the Founder Shield vs Layr Comparison
Picture a growing retailer that likes its agent but spends hours chasing certificates and renewal paperwork, and is now raising outside money. Founder Shield would replace that agent: it serves venture-backed and high-growth companies from early rounds through IPO, and you start through its own quote portal. 1 7 Layr would sit behind that agent: it gives independent brokerages a broker-branded portal and licensed staff who handle small-business sales, service and support, while the brokerage stays your broker of record and keeps its commissions. 30 33 Choose Founder Shield if you are venture-backed and want a new broker for D&O, product liability or IP coverage; choose Layr if you are a small business happy with your broker and just want faster online documents, certificates and payments, which only works if that broker signs up.
Buyer Takeaways for Founder Shield vs Layr
Founder Shield Buyer Takeaways
- Startup programs serve companies from early venture stages through IPO. 1,6Company-reported. Stated customer focus, not an audited customer census or an eligibility guarantee.
- Review coverage as your products, business model or locations change. 19Company-reported. Changes FAQ. Does not establish automatic increases in limits, approval of new activities or protection without a policy change.
Layr Buyer Takeaways
- Independent brokerages can offer small businesses workflow software and licensed help under the broker’s own brand. 30,31,33Company-reported. Current broker-facing business model described on Layr's live company, broker and portal pages; functions are company-reported and were not tested through an account.
- A broker-branded portal can organize policy documents, certificates, claims, renewals and payments, with licensed staff support. 33,40Company-reported. Company-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested.
Founder Shield vs Layr Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Founder Shield | Layr |
|---|---|---|
| Cargo and transit | Listed 11Founder Shield lists transit and transportation coverage for goods in transit or stored offsite. | Not listed |
| Commercial property | Listed 11Founder Shield lists property insurance among its core offerings. | Not listed |
| Contract frustration | Listed 11Founder Shield lists Key Person & Contract Frustration among its specialized offerings. | Not listed |
| Crime | Listed 11Founder Shield lists crime insurance among its core offerings. | Not listed |
| Cyber liability | Listed 11Founder Shield lists cyber liability among its core offerings. | Not listed |
| Digital assets | Listed 11Founder Shield lists digital-asset insurance among its specialized offerings. | Not listed |
| Directors and officers | Listed 11Founder Shield lists directors and officers insurance among its core offerings. | Not listed |
| Employee health and benefits | Listed 11Founder Shield lists Employee Health & Benefits among its services. | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 11Founder Shield lists employment practices liability among its core coverage services. | Not listed |
| Fidelity bonds | Listed 11Founder Shield lists ERISA fidelity bonds among its specialized coverages. | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 11Founder Shield lists fiduciary liability among its core coverages. | Not listed |
| General liability | Listed 11Founder Shield lists general liability among its core coverage offerings. | Not listed |
| Generative AI liability | Listed 14Founder Shield markets generative-AI liability for US businesses with revenue up to $10 billion that use generative AI but do not sell it as a standalone product. | Not listed |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Listed 11Founder Shield lists hired and non-owned auto among its specialized coverage offerings. | Not listed |
| Intellectual property | Listed 11Founder Shield arranges intellectual property insurance. | Not listed |
| Key person | Listed 11Founder Shield lists key person insurance among its specialized coverages. | Not listed |
| Last-mile delivery | Listed 11Founder Shield lists last-mile delivery among its specialized coverage offerings. | Not listed |
| Media liability | Listed 28Founder Shield arranges media liability insurance for content creators. | Not listed |
| Product liability | Listed 11Founder Shield lists product liability insurance. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 11Founder Shield lists errors and omissions for lawsuits alleging inferior work or service. | Not listed |
| Representations and warranties | Listed 11Founder Shield lists representations and warranties insurance for mergers and acquisitions. | Not listed |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 11Founder Shield lists umbrella insurance. | Not listed |
| Venture capital asset protection | Listed 11Founder Shield lists venture capital asset protection for management and investment-advisory liability. | Not listed |
| Virtual care and telehealth | Listed 11Founder Shield lists virtual care and telehealth insurance for tech-enabled healthcare companies. | Not listed |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 11Founder Shield lists workers’ compensation insurance. | Not listed |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Reliability Scores for Founder Shield and Layr
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Founder Shield Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.3/ 10Layr Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.6/ 10Founder Shield and Layr Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Founder Shield Review Score
Review Score
1 rated source
Founder Shield has too little independent customer feedback for a reliable verdict. One positive Trustpilot review does not establish a service track record.
Read Founder Shield reviewsLayr Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
Layr has no customer reviews of its insurance service yet. Its Trustpilot profile has no reviews, and its only rating is one review of its broker software.
Read Layr reviewsKey Differences Between Founder Shield and Layr
New Broker vs Your Broker's Back Office
Founder Shield is the adviser: it says it looks for insurers willing to take your industry and risk and advertises access to 200+ carriers. 10 6 Layr is infrastructure: it says it works with major national insurers, reaches others through wholesalers and can keep your brokerage's existing carriers, so switching to Layr's workflow need not mean new insurers. 34 With Layr, ask your broker which requests Layr's team handles and which stay with the broker.
Specialist Startup Lines vs Six Common Policies
Founder Shield lists D&O, E&O, cyber, EPL, fiduciary, crime, product liability and specialty options such as IP and venture-capital coverage. 11 Layr's current quoting demo shows six common policies: general liability, commercial auto, property, workers' comp, umbrella and cyber. 32 Layr's dedicated cyber page returned a not-found error on re-check, so ask your broker what cyber terms are actually offered. 35 If you are raising money or launching your own products, you will likely need lines beyond Layr's six, placed by your broker elsewhere or by Founder Shield.
Renewals
Layr says its team gathers updates, negotiates renewal terms and alerts customers 60 days before renewal when information is needed, and describes automatic renewals as hands-free. 34 Founder Shield suggests preparing 60–90 days ahead and asks you to report new products, offices or territories. 20 19 An automatic renewal is only safe if your business changes reached the insurer first; Layr does not publish how to stop one, so ask.
What You Pay
Layr's consumer disclosure says carriers pay it a commission and that paying monthly by credit card can add a finance fee of up to 20% of premium; its broker FAQ describes a different split, and the two are not reconciled. 36 34 Founder Shield says it discloses commissions and fees in advance and offers full pay, carrier installments or outside financing. 2 22 If you would pay monthly through Layr, get the fee as a dollar amount before you agree.
What Should You Confirm in Founder Shield and Layr Quotes?
- Who is accountable: The broker of record and the split of duties between your broker and Layr, or your assigned Founder Shield team. 30 1
- Where specialist policies sit: Which of D&O, product liability and cyber run through Layr, which your broker places elsewhere, and what Founder Shield would replace. 34 11
- Renewal approval: Who collects changes, who approves, and how to opt out of an automatic renewal. 34 9
- Claims contacts: Layr describes portal claims help from licensed staff; Founder Shield describes claim advocates. Get the insurer's notice instructions either way. 33 21
- Total cost: Premium, any finance fee and broker charges for the full year. 36 22
Founder Shield vs Layr Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Founder Shield | Layr |
|---|---|---|
| Customer focus | Venture-backed and high-growth businesses from early rounds through IPO can use Founder Shield’s industry practices in technology, life sciences, finance, retail and transportation. 1,6Company-reported. Stated customer focus, not an audited customer census or an eligibility guarantee. | Layr provides insurance workflow software and licensed support for independent brokerages serving small-commercial accounts. Policyholders use a broker-branded experience rather than necessarily buying from a storefront carrying the Layr name. 30,31,33Company-reported. Current broker-facing business model described on Layr's live company, broker and portal pages; functions are company-reported and were not tested through an account. |
| Application process | You can start by creating an account through Founder Shield’s quote portal using Google, Microsoft or email sign-in. 7,8Verified. Public interface directly observed in Chrome on September 15, 2026. No sign-in, identity-provider flow, registration submission, quote or authenticated workflow tested. Founder Shield says its application takes under 15 minutes, but that does not guarantee how quickly insurers will quote or when coverage can start. 6Company-reported. Startup page marketing claim. No timed application or binding exercise performed. To bind coverage, Founder Shield says you approve the proposal, choose payment and a start date, then sign remaining documents while its team handles insurer paperwork. 9Company-reported. Documented general process; the actual carrier’s outstanding requirements and confirmation determine the transaction. No completed purchase observed. | Layr describes an online workflow in which a small-business owner assesses and selects coverage, pays, and then has the submission sent to underwriting. Current pages use different speed claims—10 minutes on New Business Capture and 12 minutes in a 2024 announcement—so neither figure establishes the time to receive or bind an actual quote. 32,39Conflicting sources. Company-described digital workflow. No form was completed and no quote, payment or underwriting decision was requested during research. |
| Access to insurers | Founder Shield advertises access to 200+ carriers, but that does not promise your account will receive 200 quotes; its broker says it first looks for markets willing to insure your industry and risk. 6,10Company-reported. Company network and selection claims. No complete roster, direct-appointment census, market submission log or competitive quote exercise obtained. Founder Shield says it works exclusively with AM Best A-rated carriers; verify the current rating of the insurer named on your specific policy. 10Company-reported. No financial-strength rating assigned to the broker, Testudo or an unnamed insurer. Ask for the exact issuing entity and verify the rating attached to that entity. Ask for the insurer or Lloyd’s syndicates on your quote: Founder Shield distributes the AI product and names Testudo as underwriter, while Testudo says its US entity places insurance without taking the risk. 14,16,17Company-reported. Product-specific company disclosures. Do not equate an underwriting intermediary with a risk-bearing insurer or assign this placement chain to other Founder Shield products. Regulatory approvals and ratings are not independently established. | Layr says it works with major national insurers, accesses other markets through wholesalers and can use a brokerage customer's existing carriers. It does not publish a current legal-entity carrier panel or promise that every market will quote every account. 34Company-reported. Current broker FAQ; no carrier appointments, financial-strength ratings or account-specific market access independently verified. The reviewed current product, portal and FAQ pages do not identify the issuing insurer or policy form for each available product. Those details must come from the actual proposal and policy. 32,35,34Not publicly disclosed. Current platform and FAQ pages plus previously reviewed cyber product material. The dedicated cyber page is no longer available; that is not a finding that Layr lacks insurer relationships. |
| Servicing and renewals | For a contract certificate, email Founder Shield the other party’s legal name and address, required wording and the contract insurance clause so the team can assess endorsement needs. 18Company-reported. Company-described COI process. No certificate requested and no turnaround independently measured. A request is not confirmation that all requested wording is covered. Tell Founder Shield when products, business model, offices or territories change so it can review whether your coverage needs adjustment. 19Company-reported. Changes FAQ. Does not establish automatic increases in limits, approval of new activities or protection without a policy change. Start preparing for renewal 60–90 days before expiration with updated business information and claims history; Founder Shield calls this planning guidance, not a service deadline. 1,20Company-reported. Homepage platform description and January 2026 renewal guidance. No authenticated renewal tested, automatic renewal guarantee or fixed service-level agreement found. Check minimum-earned-premium terms before binding because some insurers keep part of the premium if you cancel early; Founder Shield directs cancellation requests to support. 2Company-reported. General cancellation description; refund amounts, financed balances and effective dates depend on the contract. | Layr markets a white-labeled portal with licensed support and broker dashboard updates for policies, renewals, claims and payments. A company release also describes policyholder access to documents, quotes, claims, certificates, bills and electronic payments. 33,40Company-reported. Company-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested. Layr says its team gathers updates, negotiates renewal terms with underwriters and finalizes renewal documents. It describes automatic-renewal policies as hands-free and says customers whose policies need updated information are alerted 60 days before renewal. 34Company-reported. Current FAQ description. It does not state the notice needed to stop an automatic renewal or guarantee a renewal offer. |
| Fees and compensation | Compare the full annual cost and payment schedule: Founder Shield says quotes generally cover one year and may offer full pay, carrier installments or outside financing. 22Company-reported. General billing description, not a quoted premium, guaranteed financing eligibility or a statement that borrowing costs are included in the insurance price. Ask Founder Shield for the nature and amount of commissions, fees or interest on your account; it says charges are disclosed in advance. 2Company-reported. Fees and Charges section. No account-specific compensation amount or universally applicable fee schedule obtained. Check whether group-level fees, commissions or referral payments apply to your placement; The Baldwin Group’s disclosure describes possible volume/profitability and affiliate compensation but does not say each applies to Founder Shield. 23Company-reported. Group-wide disclosure, not account-specific remuneration. Client fees can be in lieu of or additional to retail commissions. No inferred misconduct or automatic financial conflict outcome. | Layr's current broker FAQ says Layr receives a percentage of premium while the brokerage keeps 100% of commissions. A separate consumer-facing disclosure says carriers pay Layr a commission and businesses may pay a finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The pages do not reconcile which arrangement applies to a particular broker, policyholder or payment plan. 34,36Conflicting sources. Two public compensation descriptions for different apparent audiences. Actual agreements and itemized charges were not available. Layr's consumer-facing compensation disclosure says a business that uses its monthly credit-card payment arrangement can pay a percentage-based finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The page does not provide an account-specific rate, total repayment or cancellation terms. 36Company-reported. Public compensation disclosure; current applicability to every Layr Apex implementation or payment option is not established. |
Sources for Founder Shield vs Layr
Founder Shield Official Website
- Founder Shield. Founder Shield; Opening broker description; Specialized Practices; Smart Tech, Smarter People; quote and sign-in links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms of Service. Founder Shield; Opening agreement; License Status; Representations and Disclaimers Related to Products or Services; Fees and Charges; Void Where Prohibited. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Us. Founder Shield; Opening description and Charting Your path from MVP to IPO. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Partnerships. The Baldwin Group; Brand-change introduction and 2020–2024 acquisitions list, Founder Shield entry. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- List of Subsidiaries as of February 26, 2026. The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. (SEC filing); Exhibit 21.1, list as of February 26, 2026: The Baldwin Group Specialty Solutions, LLC, Florida. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Startup Insurance. Founder Shield; What Coverage Does your Startup Need?; Why Startups Choose Founder Shield; Industries We Serve; Essential Policies to Consider section. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Quote Portal. Founder Shield; Public landing screen, Create Account and Sign In links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Create Account. Founder Shield; Public registration screen: Google, Microsoft, email and password options. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- How Do I Bind Coverage? Founder Shield; Jonathan Selby answer, November 25, 2024: proposal approval, payment, effective date and electronic signatures. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- How Do You Decide Which Carriers to Approach? Founder Shield; Jonathan Selby answer, November 25, 2024: appetite, stated rating standard and carrier-selection criteria. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coverage. Founder Shield; Core Coverage: Crime Insurance, Cyber Liability, Directors & Officers, Employment Practices Liability, Fiduciary Liability, General Liability, Property Insurance; Specialized Coverage: Digital Asset Insurance, ERISA Fidelity Bond, Hired & Non-Owned Auto, Intellectual Property, Key Person & Contract Frustration, Last-Mile Delivery Insurance, Transit & Transportation; product cards: Errors & Omissions, Product Liability, Representations and Warranties, Umbrella Insurance, VCAP, Virtual Care & Telehealth Insurance, Workers Compensation; Health & Benefits: Employee Health & Benefits; Get a Quote and Learn More links. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- How Do We Purchase “A La Carte” Commercial Insurance? Founder Shield; Jonathan Selby answer, November 25, 2024: individual coverages, limits, deductibles and endorsements. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Directors & Officers Insurance. Founder Shield; What Does D&O Insurance Cover?; Major Shareholder Exclusion; D&O Insurance Cost and Enhancements. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Generative AI Liability Insurance. Founder Shield; Who Needs Generative AI Liability Insurance Coverage?; five coverage categories; Generative AI Liability Policy; What Does A Generative AI Liability Policy Not Cover?; Speak with a Generative AI Liability Insurance Broker; Get a Quote. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- AI Liability Insurance for Brokers. Testudo; What does the policy cover? (six insuring agreements); Limits & pricing; target customers; application materials via Broker Platform. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Testudo. Testudo; What we do; Coverage you can rely on when it matters. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Licenses and Regulatory Disclosures. Testudo; United States entity and non-risk-bearing role; United Kingdom entity disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- How Do I Get a Certificates of Insurance? Founder Shield; Luke Kaltreider answer, November 25, 2024: email requests, contract wording and endorsement needs. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- What If Our Company Grows A Lot or Things Change During the Year? Founder Shield; Carl Niedbala answer, November 25, 2024: operational changes and coverage adjustments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Ultimate Business Insurance Renewal Checklist for Startups. Founder Shield; January 12, 2026; Know Your Part in the Renewal Process; The Early Start Advantage (60–90 days). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Claims. Founder Shield; Our Approach; How We Support Claims Management, steps 1–5; Make a claim link. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- What Am I Actually Getting For the Price of Business Insurance? Founder Shield; Carl Niedbala answer, November 25, 2024: policy period, quoted charges, installments and premium financing. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Transparency & Disclosure. The Baldwin Group; Effective January 1, 2026; How The Baldwin Group is Compensated, including client fees, contingent commissions, affiliate services and referral fees. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Disciplinary Actions Issued August 21, 2025. New York State Department of Financial Services; Page 6 of 12, Region: New York, Foundershield LLC; $36,600 fine; consent order approved June 26, 2025. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance License Search. New York State Department of Financial Services; Producer-search entry point. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- License. The Baldwin Group; California entity/license table; neither Foundershield LLC nor The Baldwin Group Specialty Solutions, LLC is listed. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Surplus Lines. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Background, Issue; updated October 27, 2025: nonadmitted specialized insurers cover risks unavailable in the admitted market. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Content Creator Insurance. Founder Shield; Content Creator Insurance product introduction; What Is Content Creator Insurance? FAQ: media liability coverage for creators. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Layr Official Website
- Grow Your Broker Profits. Layr; Homepage service proposition; broker audience; footer naming Layr Holdings, Inc.; official logo asset. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Software for Insurance Brokers & Agents. Layr; Streamlined Efficiency; Reduce the Drag: Layr handles sales, service and support while the brokerage retains broker-of-record status and commissions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Team Improving Insurance Technology. Layr; Mission; small-business market; broker-focused technology; leadership and investor logos. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- New Business Capture from Layr — Quote Policies in 10 Min. Layr; Faster Quotes hero and official SmartQuote illustration listing General Liability, Commercial Auto Liability, Property, Workers Compensation, Umbrella, and Cyber Liability & Data Breach. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Online Portal with Cyber Security for Insurance Companies. Layr; Layr Apex introduction; licensed support team; policyholder activity, portfolio and white-label dashboard descriptions; official dashboard asset. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Technology Frequently Asked Questions. Layr; Product library; carrier and wholesaler access; renewal process and 60-day collection timing; white labeling; premium-based compensation. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Cyber Liability Insurance. Layr; Policy Overview; Key Protected Threats; Coverage Details; online-purchase call to action (page no longer available as of 15 September 2026). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Explanation of Pricing. Layr; Simplified Pricing: carrier commissions and business finance fee up to 20% of premium; flexible payments, portal and certificate descriptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms of Use. Layr; Service operated by Layr Holdings, Inc.; Purchases; Availability, Errors and Inaccuracies; Accounts; last updated 1 April 2018. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Leadership Team. Layr; Current leadership and investor-logo section. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Layr Welcomes New CEO Mark Hara. Layr; 17 October 2024 announcement: broker and agency audience, small-business selection and payment workflow, underwriting handoff, and brokerages across the U.S. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Layr Secures $10 Million Investment to Bridge the Small Business Insurance Tech Gap for Brokers. Layr via GlobeNewswire; 1 November 2023 company release: financing participants, broker-facing business model, licensed support, policyholder portal functions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Parcel Pro Customers Now Have Access to Additional Insurance Solutions Through Layr. Layr; 2021-branded referral page: policy list, online application, portal, financing and certificate claims (cyber page no longer available as of 15 September 2026). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Licensed Property and Casualty Agencies. Massachusetts Division of Insurance; 2026 list entry for Layr Holdings, Inc., license 17853851, original approval 17 March 2021, renewal date 17 March 2027. Accessed 2026-09-15.
