The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

The Baldwin Group describes commercial risk advice and an advisor-led route alongside online quote intake. USI Insurance Services documents a distinct business-insurance role and market or service model; fit depends on the buyer’s risk, desired support and proposed terms.

An Overview of The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services

This pairing matters when a business is choosing between a broad commercial advisory relationship and USI Insurance Services’s documented approach. The distinction affects who helps shape the program, how the buyer enters the process and which questions belong in the proposal. The 2025 Form 10-K describes The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. as an insurance distribution firm and holding-company parent and sole managing member of The Baldwin Insurance Group Holdings, LLC. That filing uses “Baldwin” for the Inc. parent and its consolidated subsidiaries and affiliates. The January 1, 2026 transparency disclosure defines “The Baldwin Group” as Holdings LLC and its affiliated entities; the September 14, 2026 investor release uses “The Baldwin Group” as the brand for the Inc. parent and affiliates. These source-specific group descriptions do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular policy. 1 USI describes itself as a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, program, and retirement solutions. The reviewed official pages do not identify USI as the insurer that issues commercial policies. 27

What Stands Out About The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services?

The Baldwin Group at a Glance

  • Baldwin describes a five-step RiskMap process for business insurance, from insurance analysis to ongoing assessment as risks evolve. 3Company-reportedThe process described for Baldwin's business-insurance advisory service; a company-described service approach, not an independently measured outcome or guaranteed savings.
  • Baldwin’s claims-advocacy team helps manage claims before, during and after a loss, working with you and your claim service providers. 8Company-reportedCompany-described commercial claims-advocacy service; it does not establish that Baldwin is the insurer or claim decision-maker for a policy, or guarantee a claim outcome.

USI Insurance Services at a Glance

  • USI’s Technology practice says it serves software, hardware and related companies from seed stage through IPO. 27,35,46Company-reportedCompany marketing of client types. Not an underwriting appetite or guaranteed acceptance statement.
  • USI says insurer commissions are typical and additional contingent compensation may apply; buyers can request details. 33Company-reportedUSI’s published producer-compensation disclosure. Account-specific amounts require a proposal.

The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageThe Baldwin GroupUSI Insurance Services
Builders riskListed 15,17Listed for digital-infrastructure projects and in commercial real-estate construction risk.Not listed
Cargo and transitListed 21Transportation page lists cargo insurance; it does not state a particular transit form or coverage terms.Listed 35USI arranges cargo and transit insurance.
Commercial autoListed 19,22,21,15Listed for government-contracting, transportation and digital-infrastructure exposures.Listed 34,36USI arranges commercial auto insurance.
Commercial propertyListed 18,17,19,22,21,15Listed for real-estate, professional-services and other named commercial sectors.Listed 35,34USI arranges commercial property insurance.
CrimeListed 18,17,19,22,21Listed as commercial crime or crime/fidelity within specified sectors.Listed 36USI arranges crime insurance.
Cyber liabilityListed 18,19,22,21,15,16Listed for named commercial sectors; Baldwin separately describes cyber risk guidance and market/partner access.Listed 35,40,34USI arranges cyber insurance.
Directors and officersListed 18,17,19,22,21,20Listed within management-liability coverage for named business sectors; the dedicated D&O page discusses advisory programs for public companies, IPOs and SPACs.Listed 35,36USI arranges directors and officers liability insurance.
Employee health and benefitsListed 18,19,22,21,1Baldwin’s filing attributes employee-benefit services to Insurance Advisory Solutions; commercial-sector pages describe employee-benefit solutions. This is advisory/benefits scope, not a medical plan catalogue.Listed 39USI advises employers on health-plan design, medical costs, pharmacy and benefits administration.
Employment practices liabilityListed 18,17,19,22,21Listed as employment-practices liability for the named commercial sector examples.Listed 36USI arranges employment practices liability insurance.
Equipment breakdownListed 15,21Listed as machinery/equipment breakdown for digital-infrastructure and transportation exposures.Not listed
Fidelity bondsListed 18Baldwin’s professional-services coverage snapshot lists commercial crime/fidelity bond; it does not specify bond terms or eligibility.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 18,17,21Listed as fiduciary liability for named commercial-sector audiences.Listed 36USI arranges fiduciary liability insurance.
General liabilityListed 18,17,19,22,21,15Listed as general liability for professional-services clients and as a consideration for other named business sectors.Listed 34,36USI arranges general liability insurance.
Intellectual propertyListed 18Listed as intellectual-property liability in the professional-services coverage snapshot.Not listed
Key personListed 22Listed as a benefit/insurance solution in the M&A practice context; ask which legal entity and carrier provide it.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 17Listed under professional and specialty risk on the real-estate page; no terms or eligibility are specified.Listed 36USI arranges kidnap and ransom insurance.
Management liabilityListed 18,17,19,22,21,20Listed for named sectors; Baldwin’s dedicated page describes D&O and management-liability advisory programs.Listed 36USI arranges management liability coverage, including directors and officers, employment practices, fiduciary and crime insurance.
Medical malpracticeNot listedListed 38USI arranges medical malpractice insurance.
Product liabilityNot listedListed 35,34USI arranges product liability insurance.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 18,19,22Listed as professional liability/E&O for professional-services and government-contractor audiences.Listed 36USI arranges professional errors and omissions insurance.
Representations and warrantiesListed 22The M&A practice says its team can negotiate and place representations-and-warranty policies.Listed 37USI arranges representations and warranties insurance.
Surety bondsListed 23Dedicated surety practice describes bond advisory/placement across contract, commercial and subdivision contexts.Listed USI arranges contract, commercial and international surety bonds.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Not listedListed 35USI arranges technology errors and omissions insurance.
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 15Baldwin lists inland and ocean marine among coverages that may be considered for digital-infrastructure clients; this entry covers inland marine only.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 22,15Listed among coverages that may be considered for digital-infrastructure clients and within the M&A practice’s P&C strategy.Listed 34,36USI arranges umbrella and excess liability.
Workers’ compensationListed 18,19,22,21,15,14Listed for named commercial sectors; Baldwin’s dedicated page describes workers’ compensation program and services.Listed 34,36USI arranges workers’ compensation insurance.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services Coverage, Line by Line

Open what The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services each document for one coverage line.

The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

The Baldwin Group Review Score

–/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.

Read The Baldwin Group reviews

USI Insurance Services Review Score

6.4/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

USI’s public feedback is too sparse and office-specific for a firmwide verdict. Check the local team’s responsiveness and experience with your type of business.

Read USI Insurance Services reviews

Key Differences Between The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services

Match the Placement Route to the Work You Need

The Baldwin Group describes a risk-advisory process and invites business prospects to speak with an advisor; its online route is an intake, not proof of a completed quote or bind. USI Insurance Services documents a different role and buyer entry point. Decide whether you need help assessing a wider program or want to start with the specific product and route documented for this provider. 5 35

Baldwin’s business-insurance quote page shows a three-step online intake. Its visible first step asks for a revenue band, company and headquarters details, and contact information; the “Get a quote” link points to app.foundershield.com. Baldwin’s business page and contact page also invite prospects to speak with an advisor. The reviewed evidence does not establish a completed quote, purchase, or policy bind through this route. 5,6,3,7Company-reportedThe specific business-insurance quote page inspected on September 28, 2026; the first of three steps was visible and its quote link pointed to app.foundershield.com. Do not generalize this route to all Baldwin commercial prospects or products.

USI does not publish a self-serve commercial quote flow on the reviewed pages. Technology and P&C inquiries are directed to pcinquiries@usi.com or a local office. The contact page includes a website message box that USI warns is not secured in transit and should not be used for sensitive information. Small- and medium-sized management-liability inquiries are also directed to Select.Business@usi.com. No public binding timetable or online eligibility tool was found. 35,34,30,42Company-reportedPublic inquiry paths as of access date. Not an application completeness or speed claim.

Compare the Proposed Coverage to the Exposure

The catalogue descriptions do not establish equivalent policy language. The Baldwin Group lists coverage in the context of named sectors, while USI Insurance Services documents its own product scope. Request forms, endorsements, limits, retentions and exclusions matched to your operations and customer contracts. 18 35

Baldwin’s current commercial pages list or describe a range of business coverage for named sectors, including professional services, transportation, government contractors, real estate, digital infrastructure, construction, and M&A. These are company-described lines or considerations for those audiences, not a universal catalogue or a statement that every line is available to every buyer. 18,21,19,17,15,22,23Company-reportedCompany marketing pages for the named sectors; the listings do not establish policy wording, eligibility, jurisdictional availability or insurer commitments.

USI’s Technology practice lists insurance placement for property; business income and contingent business income; worldwide cargo and stock; errors and omissions; product liability; directors and officers liability; network security / USI PrivaSafe; and international. Those labels describe brokerage services. Limits, exclusions, insurer, and whether a given startup qualifies remain in a quote and policy. 35,40Company-reportedTechnology practice product list on usi.com as of access date. International is listed as a service theme, not a shared coverage-line key.

Set Expectations for Service and Total Cost

Ask for the account-specific premium, taxes, fees and producer compensation. The Baldwin Group discloses group-level arrangements, while USI Insurance Services describes its own compensation approach; neither description sets the amount or arrangement for this placement. 3 28 2 33

For business insurance, Baldwin describes a five-step RiskMap process: insurance analysis, risk identification, insurance strategy, data-informed decisions, and continual assessment and optimization as risks evolve. 3Company-reportedThe process described for Baldwin's business-insurance advisory service; a company-described service approach, not an independently measured outcome or guaranteed savings.

USI describes USI ONE as a proprietary consultative process that combines Omni analytics, a national network of specialists, and an enterprise planning process. Technology and P&C pages say clients receive tailored recommendations aimed at total cost of risk. Those are company descriptions of advisory method, not independently verified service outcomes. 28,35,34Company-reportedCompany-described brokerage and consulting process. Savings or outcome figures in case studies are not adopted as independent findings.

What Should You Confirm in The Baldwin Group and USI Insurance Services Quotes?

  • Which legal producer will advise and place the account, and which insurer will issue each policy? 1 27
  • Which proposed forms, limits, retentions and endorsements address the business’s actual contracts and operations? 18 35
  • Who owns renewal preparation, certificates, policy changes and claims notice, and what response commitments apply? 3 28
  • What are the account-specific premium, taxes, fees and producer compensation arrangements? 2 33

The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaThe Baldwin GroupUSI Insurance Services
Coverage lines

Baldwin’s current commercial pages list or describe a range of business coverage for named sectors, including professional services, transportation, government contractors, real estate, digital infrastructure, construction, and M&A. These are company-described lines or considerations for those audiences, not a universal catalogue or a statement that every line is available to every buyer. 18,21,19,17,15,22,23Company-reportedCompany marketing pages for the named sectors; the listings do not establish policy wording, eligibility, jurisdictional availability or insurer commitments.

USI’s Technology practice lists insurance placement for property; business income and contingent business income; worldwide cargo and stock; errors and omissions; product liability; directors and officers liability; network security / USI PrivaSafe; and international. Those labels describe brokerage services. Limits, exclusions, insurer, and whether a given startup qualifies remain in a quote and policy. 35,40Company-reportedTechnology practice product list on usi.com as of access date. International is listed as a service theme, not a shared coverage-line key.

USI’s commercial property and casualty pages describe advice and placement on workers’ compensation, property, general liability, auto liability, umbrella/excess, executive and professional risks, cyber, environmental, product liability, and related claims and risk-control services. Other industry pages add employment practices, crime, fiduciary, professional E&O, kidnap and ransom, representations and warranties, medical professional (malpractice) liability, and required bonding in the healthcare practice. Availability and wording vary by client, insurer, and jurisdiction. 34,36,37,38,42Company-reportedCatalogue of marketed brokerage lines from current official practice pages. Environmental and international labels are not mapped to separate shared coverage keys.

USI’s employee-benefits practice describes consulting to design, price, and administer employer benefit programs, including underwriting analytics, HR administration support, population health, compliance/healthcare reform guidance, pharmacy and ancillary consulting. The private-equity practice separately lists employee health and welfare insurance services after a transaction. These pages describe consulting and placement services, not a specific insured health plan or carrier. 39,37Company-reportedEmployer-sponsored benefits brokerage/consulting. Not individual health insurance.

Application process

Baldwin’s business-insurance quote page shows a three-step online intake. Its visible first step asks for a revenue band, company and headquarters details, and contact information; the “Get a quote” link points to app.foundershield.com. Baldwin’s business page and contact page also invite prospects to speak with an advisor. The reviewed evidence does not establish a completed quote, purchase, or policy bind through this route. 5,6,3,7Company-reportedThe specific business-insurance quote page inspected on September 28, 2026; the first of three steps was visible and its quote link pointed to app.foundershield.com. Do not generalize this route to all Baldwin commercial prospects or products.

USI does not publish a self-serve commercial quote flow on the reviewed pages. Technology and P&C inquiries are directed to pcinquiries@usi.com or a local office. The contact page includes a website message box that USI warns is not secured in transit and should not be used for sensitive information. Small- and medium-sized management-liability inquiries are also directed to Select.Business@usi.com. No public binding timetable or online eligibility tool was found. 35,34,30,42Company-reportedPublic inquiry paths as of access date. Not an application completeness or speed claim.

Servicing and renewals

For business insurance, Baldwin describes a five-step RiskMap process: insurance analysis, risk identification, insurance strategy, data-informed decisions, and continual assessment and optimization as risks evolve. 3Company-reportedThe process described for Baldwin's business-insurance advisory service; a company-described service approach, not an independently measured outcome or guaranteed savings.

Baldwin's contact page provides an existing-policy assistance route that asks for the policy type and the customer's US state, and links to a client portal. The page also directs business-insurance prospects to speak with an advisor. 7Company-reportedPublic contact and service entry points on Baldwin's US-facing site; portal capabilities and service timing were not established by the page.

USI describes USI ONE as a proprietary consultative process that combines Omni analytics, a national network of specialists, and an enterprise planning process. Technology and P&C pages say clients receive tailored recommendations aimed at total cost of risk. Those are company descriptions of advisory method, not independently verified service outcomes. 28,35,34Company-reportedCompany-described brokerage and consulting process. Savings or outcome figures in case studies are not adopted as independent findings.

USI PATH is described as a proprietary risk-control platform that presents industry loss drivers, improvement areas by coverage line, and curated vendor solutions with preferred pricing and ROI projections. The homepage also markets PATH as guiding clients through risk control from identifying sources of loss to targeting solutions. Performance, ROI, and premium-reduction claims on those pages are company-reported. 43,26Company-reportedRisk-control tool as marketed. Access for a given client is not specified on the public pages.

Fees and compensation

In a disclosure effective January 1, 2026, The Baldwin Group says compensation may include insurer-paid commissions, negotiated client fees, and contingent commissions tied to goals measured across a book of business. It also describes separate compensation for certain insurer-partner administration, claims, wholesaling, and managing-general-agent services, among other arrangements. The disclosure is group-wide and does not say which arrangements apply to a particular policy. 2Company-reportedThe Baldwin Group's group-level compensation disclosure effective January 1, 2026; not the fee or commission terms for a specific commercial account, affiliate, insurer, or placement.

Unless otherwise negotiated, USI says compensation for placing coverage is customarily a commission calculated as a percentage of premium and paid by the insurer. It may also receive additional monetary and non-monetary compensation from insurers or intermediaries (including affiliates), which can be contingent on volume, profitability, or other factors, and some agreements include growth or distribution incentives. Clients may request the nature and source of expected compensation, including on alternative quotes. Standard commission percentages and fee schedules for startup accounts are not published. 33Company-reportedUSI’s published producer-compensation disclosure. Account-specific amounts require a proposal.

Claims assistance

Baldwin says its claims-advocacy team works with clients, their claim service providers, and other partners before, during, and after a loss to help manage claims and consider resolution strategies. This describes an advocacy service, not who decides coverage or pays a particular claim. 8Company-reportedCompany-described commercial claims-advocacy service; it does not establish that Baldwin is the insurer or claim decision-maker for a policy, or guarantee a claim outcome.

USI’s contact page tells people seeking claims assistance to contact the appropriate USI office. A May 2021 claims kit instructs clients to report property, workers’ compensation, general liability, and commercial auto claims to the insurance company, and to involve the USI account team or claims consultant for environmental, executive/management liability, professional liability/E&O, and cyber. Natural-disaster guidance likewise points commercial P&C clients to their claims representative or client service team. The materials describe reporting assistance, not claims-handling quality or authority to settle. 30,44,45,34Company-reportedPublic claims-reporting instructions. The 2021 kit may not reflect every current account’s reporting rules.

Access to insurers

The reviewed group disclosure and commercial product pages do not identify a licensed agency or issuing insurer for a buyer’s specific policy or for each listed line. Ask Baldwin to identify both on each quote and binder. 2,13,18,21,19,17,15Not found in reviewed sourcesReviewed official group disclosure and commercial pages on 2026-09-29; it does not establish that no licensed affiliates, carriers, or partner arrangements exist.

USI’s reviewed product and PrivaSafe pages do not name the insurers that issue its commercial, technology, or cyber placements. Privacy materials say USI may disclose personal information to third-party insurance carriers as needed to provide insurance services. A 2021 claims kit lists many insurer claim-reporting contacts for clients who already have those carriers; that directory is not a current placement panel or underwriting list. 40,35,34,32,44Not publicly disclosedContracting insurers for USI-brokered commercial programs remain undisclosed on the reviewed marketing pages.

Availability

Baldwin’s location page says its teams serve clients nationally in all 50 states. That office-directory statement does not identify which licensed entity can place a given line or whether a risk qualifies in a particular state. 24Company-reportedCompany location directory only; no state producer-license lookup or line-by-state availability test was completed.

Baldwin’s own License page lists California license numbers for six named entities. The page does not state each number’s license class or current status, or connect an entry to a specific commercial line, policy, or placement. The location page separately says teams serve all 50 states; that is not a state-by-state authority or line-availability record. 25,24,3,2Not found in reviewed sourcesProvider-published California number disclosure and the group’s commercial placement materials as inspected 2026-09-29. This fact records exactly the page’s label and does not imply independent regulator verification, license class, current status, or authority for a particular line.

USI states that it is headquartered at 100 Summit Lake Drive, Suite 400, Valhalla, New York, with more than 10,000 professionals across over 200 U.S. offices, and that it serves every state. That is a company description of its office network and service footprint. It does not, by itself, establish that a particular commercial product is admitted, surplus-lines, or otherwise available in California or any other named state. 29,27,30,26Company-reportedHeadquarters and U.S. office-network claims on current official pages.

A USI Insurance Services LLC staff biography lists a San Francisco office and prints CA DOI License # 0G11911. The reviewed usi.com practice pages do not state which commercial products are available to California-domiciled startups, whether placements are admitted or surplus lines, or which licensed entity would appear on a California policy. Current California producer-license status remains independently unverified. A California office address is not treated as product eligibility. 47,35,34,29Company-reportedUnresolved California contracting route for commercial P&C and benefits. Company-reported license number only.

Sources

47 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to The Baldwin Group vs USI Insurance Services

  • How The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory and risk-management approach compares with AIG’s documented business-insurance route and service.

  • Compare AIG’s insurer group with USI’s middle-market brokerage and consultative risk process.

  • Alliance Risk describes broker placement for technology businesses, while The Baldwin Group describes a broader commercial risk-advisory process and an online intake route; compare who will shape the program and what happens after you submit details.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation