The Baldwin Group vs Hiscox: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

The Baldwin Group describes commercial risk advice and an advisor-led route alongside online quote intake. Hiscox documents a distinct business-insurance role and market or service model; fit depends on the buyer’s risk, desired support and proposed terms.

An Overview of The Baldwin Group and Hiscox

This pairing matters when a buyer is deciding whether to work with an insurance adviser or approach an insurer-led route. The roles differ: compare the proposed issuing insurer, the producer or intermediary, and who will advise on the full program. The 2025 Form 10-K describes The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. as an insurance distribution firm and holding-company parent and sole managing member of The Baldwin Insurance Group Holdings, LLC. That filing uses “Baldwin” for the Inc. parent and its consolidated subsidiaries and affiliates. The January 1, 2026 transparency disclosure defines “The Baldwin Group” as Holdings LLC and its affiliated entities; the September 14, 2026 investor release uses “The Baldwin Group” as the brand for the Inc. parent and affiliates. These source-specific group descriptions do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular policy. 1 You can buy Hiscox’s core small-business policies online, and Hiscox’s own insurance company usually issues them rather than a partner. Hiscox Inc. is the producer; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is the affiliated insurer named for Hiscox NOW products. 30

What Stands Out About The Baldwin Group and Hiscox?

The Baldwin Group at a Glance

  • Baldwin describes a five-step RiskMap process for business insurance, from insurance analysis to ongoing assessment as risks evolve. 3Company-reportedThe process described for Baldwin's business-insurance advisory service; a company-described service approach, not an independently measured outcome or guaranteed savings.
  • Baldwin’s claims-advocacy team helps manage claims before, during and after a loss, working with you and your claim service providers. 8Company-reportedCompany-described commercial claims-advocacy service; it does not establish that Baldwin is the insurer or claim decision-maker for a policy, or guarantee a claim outcome.

Hiscox at a Glance

  • You can buy Hiscox’s core small-business policies online, and they’re usually issued by its own insurer rather than a partner. Hiscox Inc. is the producer; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is the affiliated insurer named for Hiscox NOW products. 30,29Company-reportedLegal roles stated in current terms (last modified May 28, 2024) and the About Hiscox US page. Exact contracting entity still depends on product, channel and policy.
  • Eligible buyers can quote Hiscox general liability, professional liability/E&O, cyber and a business owner’s policy online. 41,32,33,34,35,27Company-reportedCurrent Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.

The Baldwin Group vs Hiscox Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageThe Baldwin GroupHiscox
Builders riskListed 15,17Listed for digital-infrastructure projects and in commercial real-estate construction risk.Not listed
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 35Hiscox offers business owner’s policies for small businesses.
Cargo and transitListed 21Transportation page lists cargo insurance; it does not state a particular transit form or coverage terms.Not listed
Commercial autoListed 19,22,21,15Listed for government-contracting, transportation and digital-infrastructure exposures.Not listed
Commercial propertyListed 18,17,19,22,21,15Listed for real-estate, professional-services and other named commercial sectors.Not listed
CrimeListed 18,17,19,22,21Listed as commercial crime or crime/fidelity within specified sectors.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 18,19,22,21,15,16Listed for named commercial sectors; Baldwin separately describes cyber risk guidance and market/partner access.Listed 34,27Hiscox offers cyber insurance for small businesses.
Directors and officersListed 18,17,19,22,21,20Listed within management-liability coverage for named business sectors; the dedicated D&O page discusses advisory programs for public companies, IPOs and SPACs.Not listed
Employee health and benefitsListed 18,19,22,21,1Baldwin’s filing attributes employee-benefit services to Insurance Advisory Solutions; commercial-sector pages describe employee-benefit solutions. This is advisory/benefits scope, not a medical plan catalogue.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 18,17,19,22,21Listed as employment-practices liability for the named commercial sector examples.Not listed
Equipment breakdownListed 15,21Listed as machinery/equipment breakdown for digital-infrastructure and transportation exposures.Not listed
Fidelity bondsListed 18Baldwin’s professional-services coverage snapshot lists commercial crime/fidelity bond; it does not specify bond terms or eligibility.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 18,17,21Listed as fiduciary liability for named commercial-sector audiences.Not listed
General liabilityListed 18,17,19,22,21,15Listed as general liability for professional-services clients and as a consideration for other named business sectors.Listed 32Hiscox offers general liability insurance for small businesses.
Intellectual propertyListed 18Listed as intellectual-property liability in the professional-services coverage snapshot.Not listed
Key personListed 22Listed as a benefit/insurance solution in the M&A practice context; ask which legal entity and carrier provide it.Not listed
Kidnap and ransomListed 17Listed under professional and specialty risk on the real-estate page; no terms or eligibility are specified.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 18,17,19,22,21,20Listed for named sectors; Baldwin’s dedicated page describes D&O and management-liability advisory programs.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 18,19,22Listed as professional liability/E&O for professional-services and government-contractor audiences.Listed 33,27Hiscox offers professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses.
Representations and warrantiesListed 22The M&A practice says its team can negotiate and place representations-and-warranty policies.Not listed
Surety bondsListed 23Dedicated surety practice describes bond advisory/placement across contract, commercial and subdivision contexts.Not listed
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 15Baldwin lists inland and ocean marine among coverages that may be considered for digital-infrastructure clients; this entry covers inland marine only.Not listed
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 22,15Listed among coverages that may be considered for digital-infrastructure clients and within the M&A practice’s P&C strategy.Not listed
Workers’ compensationListed 18,19,22,21,15,14Listed for named commercial sectors; Baldwin’s dedicated page describes workers’ compensation program and services.Listed 36Hiscox provides access to workers’ compensation underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance Company and requires a general liability policy.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

The Baldwin Group and Hiscox Coverage, Line by Line

Open what The Baldwin Group and Hiscox each document for one coverage line.

The Baldwin Group and Hiscox Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

The Baldwin Group and Hiscox Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

The Baldwin Group Review Score

–/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.

Read The Baldwin Group reviews

Hiscox Review Score

6.3/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Hiscox’s review results are sharply divided: low Trustpilot and ConsumerAffairs scores contrast with strong Feefo feedback. Service quality deserves closer scrutiny before purchase.

Read Hiscox reviews

Key Differences Between The Baldwin Group and Hiscox

Match the Placement Route to the Work You Need

The Baldwin Group describes a risk-advisory process and invites business prospects to speak with an advisor; its online route is an intake, not proof of a completed quote or bind. Hiscox documents a different role and buyer entry point. Decide whether you need help assessing a wider program or want to start with the specific product and route documented for this provider. 5 41

Baldwin’s business-insurance quote page shows a three-step online intake. Its visible first step asks for a revenue band, company and headquarters details, and contact information; the “Get a quote” link points to app.foundershield.com. Baldwin’s business page and contact page also invite prospects to speak with an advisor. The reviewed evidence does not establish a completed quote, purchase, or policy bind through this route. 5,6,3,7Company-reportedThe specific business-insurance quote page inspected on September 28, 2026; the first of three steps was visible and its quote link pointed to app.foundershield.com. Do not generalize this route to all Baldwin commercial prospects or products.

Eligible small businesses can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and BOP online by entering a ZIP code and answering questions; Hiscox says policy documents and certificates follow issuance by email. Confirm eligibility and effective date before relying on coverage. 41,32,26Company-reportedPublic quote-page and product-FAQ statements accessed 16 September 2026. Instant-coverage marketing is not a tested bind. Partner products use separate quote sites.

Compare the Proposed Coverage to the Exposure

The catalogue descriptions do not establish equivalent policy language. The Baldwin Group lists coverage in the context of named sectors, while Hiscox documents its own product scope. Request forms, endorsements, limits, retentions and exclusions matched to your operations and customer contracts. 18 41

Baldwin’s current commercial pages list or describe a range of business coverage for named sectors, including professional services, transportation, government contractors, real estate, digital infrastructure, construction, and M&A. These are company-described lines or considerations for those audiences, not a universal catalogue or a statement that every line is available to every buyer. 18,21,19,17,15,22,23Company-reportedCompany marketing pages for the named sectors; the listings do not establish policy wording, eligibility, jurisdictional availability or insurer commitments.

Hiscox directly markets and offers online quotes for general liability, professional liability (errors and omissions), cyber security insurance and a business owner’s policy that combines general liability with commercial property. IT pages present those same lines for technology consultants rather than a separately named technology E&O policy. Website examples and coverage lists are illustrative; the issued policy controls. 41,32,33,34,35,27Company-reportedCurrent Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.

Set Expectations for Service and Total Cost

Ask for the account-specific premium, taxes, fees and producer compensation. The Baldwin Group discloses group-level arrangements, while Hiscox describes its own compensation approach; neither description sets the amount or arrangement for this placement. 3 43 2 32

For business insurance, Baldwin describes a five-step RiskMap process: insurance analysis, risk identification, insurance strategy, data-informed decisions, and continual assessment and optimization as risks evolve. 3Company-reportedThe process described for Baldwin's business-insurance advisory service; a company-described service approach, not an independently measured outcome or guaranteed savings.

Hiscox’s online account lets eligible customers download documents, create certificates, update some details and request certain changes; limit, coverage, cancellation and some payment changes require phone support. A certificate does not change policy terms. 43,44Company-reportedCompany-described self-service as of the manage-policy and certificate pages. Partner-issued policies may use different servicing portals.

What Should You Confirm in The Baldwin Group and Hiscox Quotes?

  • Which legal producer will advise and place the account, and which insurer will issue each policy? 1 30
  • Which proposed forms, limits, retentions and endorsements address the business’s actual contracts and operations? 18 41
  • Who owns renewal preparation, certificates, policy changes and claims notice, and what response commitments apply? 3 43
  • What are the account-specific premium, taxes, fees and producer compensation arrangements? 2 32

The Baldwin Group vs Hiscox Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaThe Baldwin GroupHiscox
Coverage lines

Baldwin’s current commercial pages list or describe a range of business coverage for named sectors, including professional services, transportation, government contractors, real estate, digital infrastructure, construction, and M&A. These are company-described lines or considerations for those audiences, not a universal catalogue or a statement that every line is available to every buyer. 18,21,19,17,15,22,23Company-reportedCompany marketing pages for the named sectors; the listings do not establish policy wording, eligibility, jurisdictional availability or insurer commitments.

Hiscox directly markets and offers online quotes for general liability, professional liability (errors and omissions), cyber security insurance and a business owner’s policy that combines general liability with commercial property. IT pages present those same lines for technology consultants rather than a separately named technology E&O policy. Website examples and coverage lists are illustrative; the issued policy controls. 41,32,33,34,35,27Company-reportedCurrent Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.

Hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime are described as upgrades to a Hiscox business owner’s policy, not standalone Hiscox policies. Crime is not sold separately and is not available in all states. HNOA is tied to the BOP occurrence limit and does not replace commercial auto for vehicles the business owns or regularly operates. 45,46,35Company-reportedCurrent HNOA and commercial-crime product pages. Availability by state and class was not independently matrixed beyond those pages and the 2026 appetite guide.

Hiscox describes partner routes for workers’ compensation through Hartford Fire Insurance Company, medical malpractice through unaffiliated NOW Insurance, and short-term liability through Thimble/Markel. Its other-insurance page directs buyers to Tivly for umbrella, employment practices liability, commercial property and inland marine. Confirm the current commercial-auto route and issuing insurer on the quote. These partner access paths do not establish that Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. issues the policy. 36,53,38,39,54,51Company-reportedProduct-specific partner access. Broker-channel Hiscox C-Suite management liability is separate from the other-insurance referral route.

Application process

Baldwin’s business-insurance quote page shows a three-step online intake. Its visible first step asks for a revenue band, company and headquarters details, and contact information; the “Get a quote” link points to app.foundershield.com. Baldwin’s business page and contact page also invite prospects to speak with an advisor. The reviewed evidence does not establish a completed quote, purchase, or policy bind through this route. 5,6,3,7Company-reportedThe specific business-insurance quote page inspected on September 28, 2026; the first of three steps was visible and its quote link pointed to app.foundershield.com. Do not generalize this route to all Baldwin commercial prospects or products.

Eligible small businesses can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and BOP online by entering a ZIP code and answering questions; Hiscox says policy documents and certificates follow issuance by email. Confirm eligibility and effective date before relying on coverage. 41,32,26Company-reportedPublic quote-page and product-FAQ statements accessed 16 September 2026. Instant-coverage marketing is not a tested bind. Partner products use separate quote sites.

Servicing and renewals

For business insurance, Baldwin describes a five-step RiskMap process: insurance analysis, risk identification, insurance strategy, data-informed decisions, and continual assessment and optimization as risks evolve. 3Company-reportedThe process described for Baldwin's business-insurance advisory service; a company-described service approach, not an independently measured outcome or guaranteed savings.

Baldwin's contact page provides an existing-policy assistance route that asks for the policy type and the customer's US state, and links to a client portal. The page also directs business-insurance prospects to speak with an advisor. 7Company-reportedPublic contact and service entry points on Baldwin's US-facing site; portal capabilities and service timing were not established by the page.

Hiscox’s online account lets eligible customers download documents, create certificates, update some details and request certain changes; limit, coverage, cancellation and some payment changes require phone support. A certificate does not change policy terms. 43,44Company-reportedCompany-described self-service as of the manage-policy and certificate pages. Partner-issued policies may use different servicing portals.

Fees and compensation

In a disclosure effective January 1, 2026, The Baldwin Group says compensation may include insurer-paid commissions, negotiated client fees, and contingent commissions tied to goals measured across a book of business. It also describes separate compensation for certain insurer-partner administration, claims, wholesaling, and managing-general-agent services, among other arrangements. The disclosure is group-wide and does not say which arrangements apply to a particular policy. 2Company-reportedThe Baldwin Group's group-level compensation disclosure effective January 1, 2026; not the fee or commission terms for a specific commercial account, affiliate, insurer, or placement.

Hiscox advertises annual or monthly payment without additional fees for certain general-liability policies, and up to 5% savings when bundling eligible products; illustrative prices are not quotes. 32,31,35Company-reportedCompany-stated payment options for described liability products. Partner policies may use different billing. No inference that every product or state has zero installment fees.

Ask for any producer fees or commissions on your quote because reviewed Hiscox small-business pages do not publish a buyer-facing schedule; actual cost can vary with underwriting. 48,30,32Not publicly disclosedPublic consumer and agent appetite materials reviewed 16 September 2026. Absence of a schedule is not a finding that no producer compensation exists.

Claims assistance

Baldwin says its claims-advocacy team works with clients, their claim service providers, and other partners before, during, and after a loss to help manage claims and consider resolution strategies. This describes an advocacy service, not who decides coverage or pays a particular claim. 8Company-reportedCompany-described commercial claims-advocacy service; it does not establish that Baldwin is the insurer or claim decision-maker for a policy, or guarantee a claim outcome.

You can start a Hiscox claim online, by phone or mail, and Hiscox says it assigns a claims professional to review coverage; products placed with partners may have different notice instructions, so use the contacts in your policy. 42,52,32Company-reportedCompany-described Hiscox claims-center process. Hours differ across pages. Coverage and defense remain subject to the issuing insurer and policy.

Access to insurers

The reviewed group disclosure and commercial product pages do not identify a licensed agency or issuing insurer for a buyer’s specific policy or for each listed line. Ask Baldwin to identify both on each quote and binder. 2,13,18,21,19,17,15Not found in reviewed sourcesReviewed official group disclosure and commercial pages on 2026-09-29; it does not establish that no licensed affiliates, carriers, or partner arrangements exist.

Hiscox NOW appetite and About Hiscox US say admitted small-business products described there are underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., a Chicago-based insurer licensed in all 50 states and D.C. The California Department of Insurance independently identifies that company as an Illinois-domiciled property-and-casualty insurer, NAIC 10200, California Company ID 1439-9, authorized in California since 14 September 1953 with unlimited-normal status. Hiscox’s California marketing page also cites Illinois license number 8754, which is not the CDI company ID; reconcile names and numbers on the quote. 49,50,29,48,31VerifiedAdmitted Hiscox NOW GL, professional liability, cyber and BOP as described in 2026 appetite and About pages, plus CDI/Illinois regulator records for the named insurer. Regulator authorization is not proof that a given class is written in California today.

Hiscox describes several separate partner routes: workers’ compensation underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance Company, medical malpractice through unaffiliated NOW Insurance, and short-term liability through Thimble with Markel Insurance Company. Its other-insurance page currently directs buyers to Tivly for umbrella, employment practices liability, commercial property and inland marine. The reviewed commercial-auto destination does not identify the previously named referral partner. Confirm the current route and issuing insurer on the quote; do not assume the issuer is Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. 36,53,38,39,54Company-reportedProduct-specific partner routes in the retained September 29 review. The current reviewed commercial-auto destination does not establish a referral partner; confirm the quote route and issuer.

Hiscox Inc. says it is an approved Lloyd’s coverholder and underwrites surplus-lines business on behalf of Lloyd’s Syndicates 33 and 3624, with U.S. surplus-lines placements made by licensed surplus-lines brokers. Terms also say Hiscox Inc. may place admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates. That surplus-lines route is described as distinct from the online small-business catalogue. 29,30Company-reportedCompany disclosures on About Hiscox US and website terms. This does not establish that a California online small-business quote uses Lloyd’s paper.

Availability

Baldwin’s location page says its teams serve clients nationally in all 50 states. That office-directory statement does not identify which licensed entity can place a given line or whether a risk qualifies in a particular state. 24Company-reportedCompany location directory only; no state producer-license lookup or line-by-state availability test was completed.

Baldwin’s own License page lists California license numbers for six named entities. The page does not state each number’s license class or current status, or connect an entry to a specific commercial line, policy, or placement. The location page separately says teams serve all 50 states; that is not a state-by-state authority or line-availability record. 25,24,3,2Not found in reviewed sourcesProvider-published California number disclosure and the group’s commercial placement materials as inspected 2026-09-29. This fact records exactly the page’s label and does not imply independent regulator verification, license class, current status, or authority for a particular line.

Hiscox says it is currently licensed to offer small-business insurance in 49 states and the District of Columbia, and that coverage is currently unavailable in Alaska. General liability and professional liability FAQs repeat the Alaska exclusion and say specialist brokers may be able to help if Hiscox does not sell online in an area. The 2026 Hiscox NOW appetite guide further says business owner’s policy is unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia. Coverage remains subject to underwriting and class. 26,32,33,48,31Company-reportedCompany-stated jurisdiction for the online/admitted small-business catalogue as of 16 September 2026. A 49-state license statement is not a product-by-profession matrix. California is included in the marketed 49-state set and has a dedicated Hiscox California page; that still does not bind a specific class.

A Los Angeles office on the contact page does not establish California product eligibility. Broker-facing Hiscox C-Suite materials say Hiscox is no longer entertaining management-liability risks in the metro areas of California. Appetite tables also mark many contractor professional-liability classes as not available in California. Confirm state, class and channel on the actual quote. 47,51,48Company-reportedContact-page office list, C-Suite broker page and July 2026 appetite class notes. C-Suite restriction applies to that broker management-liability product, not automatically to online GL/PL/cyber/BOP.

Sources

54 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to The Baldwin Group vs Hiscox

  • How The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory and risk-management approach compares with AIG’s documented business-insurance route and service.

  • Hiscox offers online quotes for eligible small-business policies; AIG lists broker and agent tools, with claims access scoped by line and country.

  • Alliance Risk describes broker placement for technology businesses, while The Baldwin Group describes a broader commercial risk-advisory process and an online intake route; compare who will shape the program and what happens after you submit details.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation