Armilla vs
Foxquilt: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Armilla focuses on AI developers and companies deploying AI, with separate insurance, performance-warranty, and model-assessment offerings. Foxquilt markets broader small-business CGL and E&O that include technology businesses among its target classes; that does not establish an AI-specific policy or equivalent protection.
An Overview of Armilla and Foxquilt
Armilla is the more specifically AI-focused offering in the supplied public evidence: it markets AI liability insurance, a separate performance warranty, and model assessments. Foxquilt describes small-business insurance with technology and creative professionals among the classes it targets for broader CGL and E&O. Those are different kinds of products and audiences; a technology class listing does not show that a policy responds to model failure, harmful AI output, or missed performance targets. 3 4 5 14 13
The catalogue below records marketed line names only. It cannot establish equivalent coverage or that a listed policy responds to a particular AI event; confirm the actual insurer, form, limits, exclusions, and jurisdiction for each proposal. Armilla says its insurance uses surplus-lines insurers and licensed brokers, while Foxquilt publishes product- and channel-specific availability statements that should be checked against your quote. 3 11 10
Read several Foxquilt rows narrowly: hired and non-owned auto is shown as a commercial-auto feature; technology and creative are classes within broader E&O, not a separately established technology form; the product page documents umbrella but not separate excess; and the cleaner program describes limited mobile-equipment/inland-marine and crime coverage, not a bond product just because a heading says Crime/Bonds. These labels do not establish separate policies or equivalent terms. 12 14 24 26 25
What Stands Out About Armilla and Foxquilt?
Armilla at a Glance
- AI developers can insure liability tied to model or agent failures. 3Company-reported. Direct product brief; no policy wording reviewed. Sample areas are not separately marketed general liability, cyber, media or property policies.
- Begin with an AI risk assessment; confirm deliverables and any monitoring or retesting in the proposal. 2Company-reported. Initial assessment described on the AI insurance page; reviewed evidence does not establish specific assessment deliverables, monitoring or retesting terms.
Foxquilt at a Glance
- Foxquilt serves small and midsize businesses, with contractors, e-commerce, consultants, technology and creative professionals among its examples. 10,13,14Company-reported. Company-described North American small-business audience and example product classes; actual appetite depends on product, class, state and underwriting.
- Customers can request and buy commercial general liability and E&O online, with team assistance available and documents delivered after purchase. 13,14,9Company-reported. Company-reported CGL and E&O purchase workflow; no form was submitted and no quote or purchase was completed in this research.
Armilla vs Foxquilt Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Armilla | Foxquilt |
|---|---|---|
| Builders risk | Not listed | Listed 19Builder’s risk product page; policy-specific construction terms not established. |
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 10Foxquilt’s About page lists Business Owner’s Policy among “Our Primary Coverages”; no current BOP-specific terms or bundled contents are established here. |
| Commercial auto | Not listed | Listed 16Commercial auto product page; HNOA is not split out. |
| Commercial property | Not listed | Listed 18Commercial property product page. |
| Crime | Not listed | Listed 25,26Foxquilt has a Crime Insurance product page, which says crime can be a BOP add-on or an isolated policy; the ConvertLabs cleaner program also lists Crime/Bonds but describes crime only. No bond product is inferred. |
| Cyber liability | Not listed | Listed 17Cyber product page; policy terms and limits not established. |
| General liability | Not listed | Listed 13,11Company CGL product page; line-specific CGL membership only. |
| Generative AI liability | Listed 3Armilla markets standalone AI liability insurance as a managing general agent. | Not listed |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Not listed | Listed 12Advertised as a Hired & non-owned feature beneath Foxquilt’s Commercial Auto card; no distinct HNOA policy or terms established. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 14Professional E&O product page. |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 14Technology/creative class within broader E&O; no separate technology form established. |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Not listed | Listed 10,26Foxquilt lists Inland Marine among primary coverages; the ConvertLabs cleaner program describes limited mobile-equipment coverage (also called Inland Marine) commonly used by janitorial providers. This does not establish broad standalone inland-marine terms. |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Not listed | Listed 10,24Foxquilt lists Umbrella/Excess in its primary-coverages list and has a current Umbrella Insurance page that distinguishes umbrella from excess. Membership is for marketed umbrella only; a separate excess product is not established. |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 15Workers’ compensation page; state requirements vary. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Armilla and Foxquilt Reliability Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Armilla Reliability Scores
Managing general agentCarrier & MGA
5.2/ 10Foxquilt Reliability Scores
Managing general agentCarrier & MGA
No Reliability Score
Armilla and Foxquilt Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Armilla Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
Armilla has no customer ratings on the review sites we checked, so there's no Review Score yet. Armilla sells AI insurance, a small niche, so you'll want to ask for references.
Read Armilla reviewsFoxquilt Review Score
Review Score
3 rated sources
Customers rate Foxquilt well on Google (4.9 out of 5 from 526 reviews at its Charlotte office) and 3.5 out of 5 on Trustpilot from only 8 reviews. Put together, the Review Score is 8.9 out of 10.
Read Foxquilt reviewsWhose Risks Are Named?
AI developers and companies deploying AI can approach Armilla, which markets to startups and large enterprises; its pages set no minimum revenue or funding stage and do not guarantee a bootstrapped company qualifies. 6,2Company-reported. Published customer descriptions; no inferred startup eligibility thresholds.
Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses and business-to-business networks. Its current CGL and E&O pages name contractors, e-commerce, personal services, consultants, technology and creative professionals, licensed professionals, and beauty and health services as target examples; listed classes are not guarantees of eligibility. 10,13,14Company-reported. Company-described North American small-business audience and example product classes; actual appetite depends on product, class, state and underwriting.
Armilla names AI developers and businesses deploying AI, from startups to large enterprises, but its public pages set no minimum stage and do not promise that a bootstrapped company qualifies. Foxquilt’s named classes include technology and creative professionals, but do not establish a separate AI liability product. If your risk comes from a model’s output or a performance guarantee, ask each company to identify the exact policy or contract addressing it. 6 2 14
Insurance, Warranty, and Assessment Are Different Decisions
If an AI error causes a covered third-party loss, Armilla’s standalone liability brief lists possible areas such as model errors, hallucinations, harmful outputs, agent mistakes, non-breach data leakage, property damage and regulatory proceedings. These are advertised scopes, not confirmation a particular loss or fine is insured. 3Company-reported. Direct product brief; no policy wording reviewed. Sample areas are not separately marketed general liability, cyber, media or property policies.
If you promise an AI system will meet a performance target, Armilla Guaranteed is a contractual warranty rather than insurance; Armilla says it funds remedies for missed metrics and may refund the buyer if remediation fails. Its FAQ lists misuse, unauthorized changes and external events as typical exclusions. 2,4Company-reported. Warranty description, distinct from affirmative AI liability insurance; no executed warranty or issuer agreement inspected.
Armilla says buyers begin with an AI risk assessment before it customizes an insurance or warranty proposal. Confirm the assessment deliverables, monitoring and retesting terms in the proposal. 2Company-reported. Initial assessment described on the AI insurance page; reviewed evidence does not establish specific assessment deliverables, monitoring or retesting terms.
Armilla’s performance warranty is described separately from its insurance, and its model assessment service is a technical service rather than proof of coverage. Foxquilt’s public CGL and E&O pages offer a broader small-business route, but the reviewed Foxquilt pages do not establish a separate AI liability form. Compare the written contract or policy that addresses the specific loss you are transferring; do not treat a model assessment, warranty, and insurance policy as substitutes. 2 4 5 13 14
Questions to Ask Before Choosing a Route
- For Armilla’s AI liability, which legal insurer and Lloyd’s syndicate would issue the proposed policy, and what AI-related triggers, exclusions, notice terms, and limits apply? Its public brief describes example scopes, not the buyer’s policy. 3
- If you are considering Armilla Guaranteed, who is legally responsible for the remedy, what metric is warranted, and how do exclusions for misuse, changes, or external events apply? 4 2
- For Foxquilt’s CGL or E&O, does the proposed form address your AI service, model, and customer-contract obligations, or would you need a separately underwritten product? Ask who issues it in your jurisdiction. 14 13 11
Armilla vs Foxquilt Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Armilla | Foxquilt |
|---|---|---|
| Customer focus | AI developers and companies deploying AI can approach Armilla, which markets to startups and large enterprises; its pages set no minimum revenue or funding stage and do not guarantee a bootstrapped company qualifies. 6,2Company-reported. Published customer descriptions; no inferred startup eligibility thresholds. | Foxquilt says it serves small and midsize businesses and business-to-business networks. Its current CGL and E&O pages name contractors, e-commerce, personal services, consultants, technology and creative professionals, licensed professionals, and beauty and health services as target examples; listed classes are not guarantees of eligibility. 10,13,14Company-reported. Company-described North American small-business audience and example product classes; actual appetite depends on product, class, state and underwriting. |
Sources for Armilla vs Foxquilt
Armilla Official Website
- Armilla: AI Insurance. Armilla; Affirmative Insurance Built for AI Risk; Risk Teams; footer surplus-lines and Lloyd’s disclosures. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- AI Insurance – Lloyd’s Coverholder | Armilla AI. Armilla; Armilla Insured; Armilla Guaranteed; FAQ: getting started, warranty classification, claims framework and exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Armilla AI Insurance Brief. Armilla; Introduction identifying the MGA; Tailored Protection for AI Pioneers: standalone AI liability and Sample Coverage Areas; Industry Protection; footer on surplus-lines placement and Lloyd’s underwriting. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- AI Performance Warranty Brief. Armilla; Opening partner disclosure; AI Performance, Guaranteed; Real-World Protection Examples. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Armilla Assessments: AI Verification & Red-Teaming. Armilla; Active AI Risk Assessment; FAQ: testing process, ongoing support and starting an assessment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Armilla for Brokers: Specialized AI Coverage. Armilla; Coverage Options; Competitive Commissions; Flexible, Tech-Enabled Underwriting; broker appointment FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Armilla Terms of Service. Armilla; Last updated April 5th, 2023; sections 1 Agreement to Terms and 4 Fees and Payment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Detail by Entity Name: ARMILLA INSURANCE SERVICES INC. Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations; Entity name; Filing Information; document F24000002598. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Foxquilt Official Website
- Commercial Insurance, Business Liability Coverage | Foxquilt. Foxquilt; Homepage: available-now CGL and E&O; other recommended products; digital purchase workflow; illustrative quote screens and carrier/support marks. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About Us - North American Business Insurance Company. Foxquilt; Our Primary Coverages; North American Distribution; Foxden; broad company-level distribution statement. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Become a Foxquilt Agent/Broker Partner. Foxquilt; Agent/broker product and servicing marketing: quote/bind/service in Foxden and instant documents (lines 22–24); service requests manage endorsements/cancellations (lines 130–138); digital servicing support says digitally manage endorsements/cancellations (lines 206–208); agents can file change requests in Foxden (lines 262–266). Separate CGL live selector states 42 U.S. states, 7 Canadian provinces and ‘Admitted paper Yes’ (lines 210–227). Page calls Foxquilt a ‘North American Carrier’ and says two products are built/underwritten in-house (lines 145–152). Directly reopened 2026-09-29. Provider-published marketing, not independent regulator verification; exact license-holding entity/type/identifier, specific policy authority and request-processing terms are not disclosed here. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Other Coverages. Foxquilt; Other Coverages page: Workers’ Compensation, Commercial Auto, Cyber Liability and Commercial Property cards; Commercial Auto card lists Owned vehicles, Hired & non-owned, and Tools in transit as features; CGL/E&O are marked available now. Directly inspected 2026-09-29, lines 22–70. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial General Liability. Foxquilt; “What does CGL cover?”; “Foxquilt’s CGL is built for…”; digital quote/buy and certificates; “Built for North American small business”; limits FAQ; CGL exclusions FAQ. Directly reopened 2026-09-29, lines 53–64, 67–104, 135–215, 244–319. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability (E&O). Foxquilt; E&O summary and claims-made label; coverage examples; “Tech & Creative” classes; digital quote/buy; North American availability; lines 22–29, 52–65, 99–120, 138–253. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance. Foxquilt; State-requirements FAQ; payroll/employee/location price factors; benefits list; self-employed and subcontractor FAQs. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 148–162. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Auto Insurance. Foxquilt; Product description, audience/use cases, claims scenarios and price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 42, 99–132. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Business Insurance. Foxquilt; Cyber event description, target business types/data exposure, examples, price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–127. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Property Insurance. Foxquilt; Property description and causes; target property; claim examples; pricing factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–128. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Builder’s Risk Insurance. Foxquilt; Construction-stage description and example causes; intended buyers; project-specific price factors. Reopened 2026-09-29, lines 98–127. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Foxquilt Insurance Services | Terms & Conditions. Foxquilt; Sections 1.1–1.2 identify Foxquilt Insurance Services Inc. as service operator; no reviewed Inc.–LLC relationship statement. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Foxquilt Insurance Services | Consumer & Privacy Info. Foxquilt; Privacy officer identity/address; “How We Get Paid For Our Services”; commission table and contingent-commission footnote; Canada-oriented company disclosure; no U.S. line/issuer mapping. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Agency Detail: Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC. Westfield Insurance; Agency directory listing for Foxquilt Insurance Services LLC and Business coverage; does not disclose state appointment terms, delegated authority, or policy issuer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Foxquilt official website. Foxquilt; Official website is the provenance root for the visible brand mark; no reusable downloadable official logo file was verified during this pass. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Smarter Umbrella Insurance For Your Business. Foxquilt; Current product page calls the product Umbrella Insurance; lines 98–104 describe umbrella vs excess and eligibility; lines 106–121 give illustrative scenarios; lines 127–132 discuss multi-insurer tower as hypothetical purchasing example. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. It supports an umbrella marketing membership, not a separate excess product, actual tower, underlying requirements, policy form or limits. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Smarter Crime Insurance. Foxquilt; Current product page calls the product Crime Insurance; lines 90–104 describe money/securities, inside/outside theft and examples; lines 113–121 say crime may be included as a BOP add-on or bought as an isolated policy. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. Marketing does not establish form/limits or fidelity/surety bond coverage. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cleaner Insurance Program by Foxquilt. Foxquilt; Current Foxquilt-powered ConvertLabs cleaner program page; lines 108–135 lists CGL, Commercial Auto, Mobile Equipment, Crime/Bonds and Workers’ Compensation. Lines 127–128 identify Mobile Equipment as “also known as Inland Marine” and limit it to a small portion of equipment coverage commonly used by janitorial providers; lines 130–131 describe Crime, not bond terms. Page says program applications are available in Canada or the U.S. Directly inspected 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
