Layr vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Layr supports a brokerage’s commercial workflow; Pie offers payroll-based workers’ compensation with a 60-day renewal alert and 24-hour injury reporting.

An Overview of Layr and Pie Insurance

A bakery with seasonal payroll should compare payment adjustments, renewal timing and claim reporting before choosing workers’ compensation. Layr says it alerts brokers 60 days before renewals that need updated documents; Pie requires injury notice within 24 hours. Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. Choose Layr if you want your broker to coordinate several commercial lines; choose Pie for payroll-based workers’ comp if the 24-hour reporting rule fits your process. 6 30 34 33 35

For a bakery hiring a second shift before opening another location, the payroll and renewal work matter as much as the initial quote. Pie publishes payroll-based billing and audit requirements. Layr describes collecting policyholder updates and negotiating renewals through the existing brokerage’s service operation. Those details help the owner decide who will keep employee and location information aligned with the insurance. 32 33 6

What Stands Out About Layr and Pie Insurance?

Layr at a Glance

  • Independent brokerages can offer small businesses workflow software and licensed help under the broker’s own brand. 2,3,5Company-reportedCurrent broker-facing business model described on Layr's live company, broker and portal pages; functions are company-reported and were not tested through an account.
  • A broker-branded portal can organize policy documents, certificates, claims, renewals and payments, with licensed staff support. 5,12Company-reportedCompany-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested.

Pie Insurance at a Glance

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 16,15,17Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 31,32Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Layr vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageLayrPie Insurance
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 21Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
Cyber liabilityNot listedListed 22Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
General liabilityNot listedListed 24Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Not listedListed 23Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 17Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Layr and Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

5.3/ 10

Carrier & MGA

6.3/ 10

Provider assessment

Layr and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Layr Review Score

–/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

Layr has no customer reviews of its insurance service yet. Its Trustpilot profile has no reviews, and its only rating is one review of its broker software.

Read Layr reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between Layr and Pie Insurance

Service Platform and the Workers’ Compensation Offer

Layr’s current new-business illustration includes workers’ compensation alongside general liability, property, auto, umbrella and cyber. Its FAQ describes access to national insurers, wholesalers and a brokerage’s existing carriers. The bakery can ask its retained agent for a workers’ compensation comparison within that broader commercial account. The illustration does not identify a universal insurer or payroll-billing arrangement. 4 6

Pie’s workers’ compensation program has named affiliated insurers, while its other marketed products can use outside partners. Ask whether the Layr-backed brokerage can obtain a Pie offer and who would service it if available. Layr doesn’t publish a Pie appointment, so don’t assume one exists. A possible combination of service platform and program should be confirmed, not assumed from the fact that both work with agents. 19 22 16 6

For the second bakery location, put payroll, employee duties and each work location into the submission. Pie specifically requests payroll and class-code information. Ask the agent to show the same accepted information on each proposal so that a different payroll estimate or classification does not masquerade as a better price. Neither the size of a carrier network nor a platform speed claim establishes whether the new location is accepted. 17 4 6

Pay-as-You-Go Billing and Premium Audits

Pie’s pay-as-you-go option uses actual reported payroll and says it needs no initial deposit. Its conventional monthly plan instead starts with an upfront amount followed by scheduled payments. For a bakery hiring in stages, ask which option can align cash payments with the actual staffing ramp and who sends the payroll reports. The absence of an initial deposit is a cash-flow feature, not a reduction in the insurer’s rate. 32 31

Layr describes bills and electronic payments in its policyholder service, but that doesn’t confirm payroll integration for the offered workers’ compensation policy. Ask the retained broker for the carrier’s actual billing choices and payroll-provider requirements. If it offers the same payroll-based arrangement, compare implementation and charges on the same basis rather than treating the portal branding as a different payment product. 11 5 32

Pie still requires an annual premium audit. Its list includes payroll and employee records, cash expenses and subcontractor certificates. The bakery should agree who reconciles those records after the second location opens and who responds if actual duties or payroll differ from the estimate. Payroll-linked installments do not eliminate that review or establish that no additional premium will be due. 33 32

Renewal Notices and Owner Approval

Layr says automatic-renewal policies are handled with notification, while policies needing updated documentation prompt an alert 60 days in advance. Its team then collects changes, negotiates and completes documents. Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. The practical distinction is what the owner is expected to do at each stage, not a guaranteed advantage from an earlier reminder. 6 30 35

For the bakery, name the person who supplies second-location payroll, checks the renewed locations and approves the payment schedule. Ask the Layr-backed broker whether this policy renews automatically and how to stop it if a replacement is chosen. For Pie, confirm the acceptance deadline and what happens if the offer needs correction. Keep the audit of the expiring year separate from the proposal for the next year. 6 30 33

Fees, Waivers and Annual Cost

Layr’s consumer disclosure identifies a finance charge tied to monthly credit-card payment, while its broker FAQ describes a different premium-based revenue arrangement. Pie publishes a scoped credit-card convenience charge for new single-state workers’ compensation, with named state exceptions. Request the actual fee schedule from each channel; do not apply either company’s general disclosure to every payment method or policy. 8 6 31

If a landlord requests a waiver of subrogation, Pie treats that as a separate, charged request under state rules. The waiver changes specified recovery rights after a loss; it is not created just by sending a certificate. Ask the retained broker or Pie agent to obtain the actual endorsement and identify its cost before comparing totals. The relevant budget includes premium, payment costs and required policy changes, with audit adjustments still possible. 30 5 33

Injury Reporting for Both Shifts

Pie asks for workplace injuries to be reported within 24 hours and publishes online, phone and email routes. Its agency FAQ assigns some states to CorVel, so use the policy’s state-specific reporting kit. Layr describes claim activity and licensed support in its portal; ask which party forwards formal notice and which insurer or administrator handles the claim. The employees should not need to understand the original purchase channel to find the reporting instructions. 34 35 5

What Should You Confirm in Layr and Pie Insurance Quotes?

  • Matched proposals: identify each insurer, accepted location, employee class and payroll estimate, including whether the agent has an available Pie route. 6 17 19
  • Billing and audit ownership: document payroll reporting, deposits or installments, fees and the person collecting year-end audit records. 8 32 33
  • Renewal calendar: separate the information deadline, approval deadline and any automatic payment, with both locations included. 6 30
  • Landlord and injury documents: obtain any required waiver endorsement, the certificate and the reporting kit for each work state. 30 35 5

Layr vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaLayrPie Insurance
Application process

Layr describes an online workflow in which a small-business owner assesses and selects coverage, pays, and then has the submission sent to underwriting. Current pages use different speed claims—10 minutes on New Business Capture and 12 minutes in a 2024 announcement—so neither figure establishes the time to receive or bind an actual quote. 4,11Conflicting sourcesCompany-described digital workflow. No form was completed and no quote, payment or underwriting decision was requested during research.

Small businesses can start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent; agencies use a separate partner portal. 16,15,17Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.

Have your ZIP, payroll and class-code details ready for a Pie workers’ compensation quote; its online intake begins with ZIP code. 20,17Company-reportedUnauthenticated first step and Pie’s description of workers’ compensation quote inputs; no data was entered and the flow was not advanced.

Pie advertises a workers’ compensation quote in about three minutes, but this company estimate does not predict underwriting or binding time. 17,15Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation quote marketing; no timed independent quote test was performed.

Access to insurers

Layr says it works with major national insurers, accesses other markets through wholesalers and can use a brokerage customer's existing carriers. It does not publish a current legal-entity carrier panel or promise that every market will quote every account. 6Company-reportedCurrent broker FAQ; no carrier appointments, financial-strength ratings or account-specific market access independently verified.

The reviewed current product, portal and FAQ pages do not identify the issuing insurer or policy form for each available product. Those details must come from the actual proposal and policy. 4,7,6Not publicly disclosedCurrent platform and FAQ pages plus previously reviewed cyber product material. The dedicated cyber page is no longer available; that is not a finding that Layr lacks insurer relationships.

Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 19,36,37,38VerifiedPie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state.

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 36VerifiedPie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 19,21,22,23,24Not publicly disclosedCurrent public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Servicing and renewals

Layr markets a white-labeled portal with licensed support and broker dashboard updates for policies, renewals, claims and payments. A company release also describes policyholder access to documents, quotes, claims, certificates, bills and electronic payments. 5,12Company-reportedCompany-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested.

Layr says its team gathers updates, negotiates renewal terms with underwriters and finalizes renewal documents. It describes automatic-renewal policies as hands-free and says customers whose policies need updated information are alerted 60 days before renewal. 6Company-reportedCurrent FAQ description. It does not state the notice needed to stop an automatic renewal or guarantee a renewal offer.

Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 29,30Company-reportedPublished workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested.

Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 33Company-reportedPie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund.

Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 30,35Company-reportedDifferent company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process.

Fees and compensation

Layr's current broker FAQ says Layr receives a percentage of premium while the brokerage keeps 100% of commissions. A separate consumer-facing disclosure says carriers pay Layr a commission and businesses may pay a finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The pages do not reconcile which arrangement applies to a particular broker, policyholder or payment plan. 6,8Conflicting sourcesTwo public compensation descriptions for different apparent audiences. Actual agreements and itemized charges were not available.

Layr's consumer-facing compensation disclosure says a business that uses its monthly credit-card payment arrangement can pay a percentage-based finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The page does not provide an account-specific rate, total repayment or cancellation terms. 8Company-reportedPublic compensation disclosure; current applicability to every Layr Apex implementation or payment option is not established.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 31,32Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 31Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 30Not publicly disclosedWorkers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 35,19Not publicly disclosedAgency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Claims assistance

Layr's current portal materials describe claims activity, online claim functions and help from its licensed support team. They do not establish that Layr is the risk-bearing insurer or replace the notice requirements in the policy. 5,12Company-reportedCompany-described claims workflow and support; no claim was submitted and claims outcomes were not independently evaluated.

Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 34Company-reportedPublished first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply.

Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 35,25,36Conflicting sourcesPublic allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions.

Sources

39 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to Layr vs Pie Insurance

  • Compare AIG’s insurance group with Layr’s broker-facing insurance workflow platform and licensed support model.

  • Compare AIG’s broader commercial insurer group with Pie’s direct and agency workers’ compensation route.

  • Alliance Risk brokers a broad range of commercial coverage; Layr gives participating brokerages document and renewal tools; it does not replace the broker giving coverage advice.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation