Kinro vs
Layr: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Kinro lets small businesses start insurance shopping online and offers agencies placement support; Layr provides software and licensed service through participating brokerages. Layr can let you keep your current agency as the account broker.
Introduction to the Kinro vs Layr Comparison
If you already have an agency, ask whether it uses Layr’s tools before starting a separate shopping process. Layr’s participating brokerage can remain responsible for your account, while Kinro separately offers placement support to agencies and online shopping for small businesses. 23 9 1 Choose Kinro to shop small-business coverage online or add markets for your agency; choose Layr if your existing broker uses its service.
Buyer Takeaways for Kinro vs Layr
Kinro Buyer Takeaways
- Get a free review of an existing policy or renewal packet before deciding whether to replace it. 4Company-reported. Public upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification.
- Kinro says it shops the market at renewal and sends text links to documents, certificates and coverage support. 1,5Company-reported. Retail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected.
Layr Buyer Takeaways
- Independent brokerages can offer small businesses workflow software and licensed help under the broker’s own brand. 23,24,26Company-reported. Current broker-facing business model described on Layr's live company, broker and portal pages; functions are company-reported and were not tested through an account.
- A broker-branded portal can organize policy documents, certificates, claims, renewals and payments, with licensed staff support. 26,33Company-reported. Company-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested.
Kinro vs Layr Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Kinro | Layr |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Listed 3Kinro lists a business owner’s policy in its product catalog. | Not listed |
| Commercial auto | Listed 3As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial auto and describes matching business details to carrier appetite. | Not listed |
| Commercial property | Listed 3As of September 16, 2026, Kinro lists commercial property and describes matching business details to carrier appetite. | Not listed |
| Cyber liability | Listed 3Kinro lists cyber liability and compares business details with carrier appetite. | Not listed |
| Directors and officers | Listed 3Kinro lists directors and officers insurance and compares business details with carrier appetite. | Not listed |
| General liability | Listed 3Kinro lists general liability and compares available carrier options. | Not listed |
| Hired and non-owned auto | Listed 3Kinro lists hired and non-owned auto for liability questions involving personal or rented vehicles used for business. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 3,14Kinro lists professional liability (errors and omissions) for claims tied to professional advice, errors, omissions or service mistakes. | Not listed |
| Tools, equipment and inland marine | Listed 3Kinro arranges tools and equipment coverage through its inland marine offering. | Not listed |
| Trucking | Listed 3Kinro lists trucking insurance addressing auto liability, cargo, physical damage and trucking-specific filings or contract requirements. | Not listed |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 3Kinro lists umbrella and excess liability insurance. | Not listed |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 3Kinro arranges workers’ compensation insurance and reviews state, payroll and class-code questions. | Not listed |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Reliability Scores for Kinro and Layr
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Kinro Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.0/ 10Layr Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.6/ 10Kinro and Layr Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Kinro Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
We found no independent customer reviews of Kinro. It shows a 5.0 Google rating on its own website, but there is no review count or listing behind it.
Read Kinro reviewsLayr Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
Layr has no customer reviews of its insurance service yet. Its Trustpilot profile has no reviews, and its only rating is one review of its broker software.
Read Layr reviewsKey Differences Between Kinro and Layr
Broker of Record and Work Allocation
A small contractor whose agent wants help placing insurance and processing recurring job-site requests. Kinro’s commercial-placement page asks the parties to allocate advice, binding, billing, endorsements, certificates and renewals before business moves. That is a starting point when the agent chiefly needs another market: an extra placement route and a clear owner for the existing account. 9
Layr describes taking on sales, service and support while the brokerage remains broker of record, meaning the broker designated on the account. Its portal can carry that brokerage’s brand and feed policyholder activity back into the broker dashboard. For the contractor, that makes it important to ask who actually receives an urgent certificate or change request, even if the portal looks like the familiar agency. 23 26
Neither arrangement establishes that the software provider is the insurer. Kinro conditions access and binding on approvals and written agreements; Layr describes insurer and wholesaler access, including use of a broker’s existing carriers. Ask whether the proposed change adds new insurers, uses the same insurer through a new workflow, or replaces a policy. Those are different consequences for the contractor. 10 27
Product Catalogues and the Contractor’s Exposures
Kinro’s catalogue explicitly separates commercial auto, tools and equipment, and hired and non-owned auto. Layr’s current New Business Capture demonstration shows auto liability, property, workers’ compensation, general liability, umbrella and cyber choices. The lists overlap as starting points, but a demonstration doesn’t confirm which products this particular agency has enabled, so ask. 3 25
If the contractor begins using employees’ own vehicles or moving tools between sites, ask how each proposed policy describes those exposures. Kinro’s named categories provide questions to put to the agent; Layr says it can add products for a brokerage, so the displayed menu should not be read as the limits of the agent’s wider capabilities. Get the proposed forms and identify anything placed outside the platform. 3 27
The application milestone also matters. Kinro describes agent follow-up after online intake. Layr’s published workflow describes selecting coverage and paying before the submission reaches underwriting. Neither step establishes that a job can begin with bound coverage. The contractor needs the insurer, accepted activities, effective date and outstanding conditions in writing. 1 9 32
Renewal Shopping and Automation
Kinro says it shops the market at renewal. Layr describes gathering updates and negotiating renewal terms, with a hands-free process for automatic-renewal policies and advance contact where documents are required. These statements describe different activities: seeking alternatives and administering the renewal process. Ask whether the service includes both for this account. 1 27
If the contractor has hired another crew, an unchanged renewal application may no longer describe the work. Kinro’s workers’ compensation guidance asks for payroll by state and employee duties. Use that information to define who updates the submission, who checks the resulting terms, and whether the owner must approve a renewal before anyone binds it. Layr’s automation description does not supply that approval rule. 13 27
Distribution Costs, Payment Costs and Claims
Kinro’s agency page makes commissions and deductions agreement-specific, while its editorial disclosure says it may receive placement compensation. It does not publish the retail charges for this contractor. Layr’s broker FAQ says it receives a percentage of premium while the brokerage retains commissions, but a consumer-facing disclosure describes carrier commissions and a possible monthly-payment finance fee. 8 18 27 29
The two Layr descriptions are not reconciled for every implementation. Ask the agency to show which applies and who pays each amount, then compare annual payment with the complete installment obligation. Keeping broker commissions is a distribution arrangement, not a promise that the policyholder receives free platform service. 27 29
Claims need a separate handoff. Layr describes claims activity and licensed support through its portal; Kinro’s support and placement pages don’t spell out a dedicated reporting procedure, so ask for one. That is a documentation gap, not evidence of no assistance. Keep the insurer’s reporting channel alongside the agency contact, especially if a request passes through more than one team. 26 19 9
What Should You Confirm in Kinro and Layr Quotes?
- Responsibility schedule: name the broker of record and the team handling quotes, binding, endorsements, certificates, billing and claims notice. 9 23
- Coverage map: identify the contractor’s vehicles, tools and new crew duties in the proposed forms, including policies outside the platform. 3 27
- Renewal instructions: distinguish market shopping from automatic renewal and record the owner’s approval rule. 1 27
- Cost reconciliation: show producer compensation, platform charges and full financing cost for the actual implementation. 8 29
Kinro vs Layr Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Kinro | Layr |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Kinro helps arrange coverage as a broker; its website names Kinro Insurance Services LLC and NPN 22233799, while the insurer on your policy takes the risk. 5,10Company-reported. Website identification and brokerage positioning only; LLC existence, NPN assignment, state licenses and insurer authority were not independently established. Kinro’s September 27, 2026 terms define Kinro as Kinro, Inc. and its subsidiaries, including Kinro Insurance Services LLC, and say insurance is offered through that agency only where licensed. A separate written software agreement controls where it differs from these terms; confirm the contracting entity on your insurance engagement. 6,5Company-reported. Company-published terms effective September 27, 2026 state the parent/subsidiary relationship and insurance-service scope. No placement-specific authority or contracting agreement was independently verified. Independent agencies can use Kinro’s market access and technology while retaining their customer relationship under contract; clarify who advises, binds, bills, services and handles renewals. 8,9Company-reported. B2B partner pathways; not a finding that all retail Kinro buyers work through a subproducer, or that Kinro has wholesale or MGA authority in a particular jurisdiction. | Layr Holdings, Inc. operates withlayr.com and markets the Layr Apex platform and licensed support service. Public materials describe Layr handling sales, service and support while its brokerage customer keeps the broker-of-record relationship; they do not identify Layr as the insurer underwriting every policy. 30,22,23,26Company-reported. Entity and functional roles in current public materials. The precise producer role can depend on the partner arrangement and proposed policy. The reviewed sources identify Layr Holdings, Inc., its leaders and several investors, but do not disclose a current controlling parent or ownership percentages. 30,31,33Not found in reviewed sources. Current website operator and public ownership review. Investor participation is not treated as control, and no independence claim is made. Layr says a participating brokerage can offload small-business sales, service and support to Layr while retaining broker-of-record status and 100% of its commissions. 23,27Company-reported. Broker-facing Layr Apex arrangement as marketed publicly; actual allocation of duties and compensation depends on the brokerage agreement. |
| Application process | You can begin Kinro’s public four-step quote intake without a login by selecting your business activity; later steps, pricing and binding were not inspected. 2Company-reported. Observed initial unauthenticated interface in Chrome; no answers, personal information, uploads, account creation or submissions. Later access requirements unknown. Kinro says AI gathers business details and presents available quote options with licensed-agent help; its roughly two-minute follow-up is a company response-time claim, not a quote or binding deadline. 1Company-reported. Homepage FAQ and response claim; no interactions submitted or timing study performed. You can ask Kinro for a free review by uploading up to three policy or renewal files; its promise to find better pricing with equal or more coverage is company-reported, and no replacement quote was tested. 4Company-reported. Public upload entry screen only; no documents uploaded and no service or outcome verification. | Layr describes an online workflow in which a small-business owner assesses and selects coverage, pays, and then has the submission sent to underwriting. Current pages use different speed claims—10 minutes on New Business Capture and 12 minutes in a 2024 announcement—so neither figure establishes the time to receive or bind an actual quote. 25,32Conflicting sources. Company-described digital workflow. No form was completed and no quote, payment or underwriting decision was requested during research. |
| Access to insurers | Kinro says it works with 50+ companies and displays Progressive, GEICO, AmTrust, Pie, Coterie and NEXT, but access depends on approval and logos do not identify your issuing insurer. 1,10Company-reported. Company-reported network size and displayed brands. Direct appointments, access through intermediaries, actual market search breadth and insurer financial strength are not independently verified. | Layr says it works with major national insurers, accesses other markets through wholesalers and can use a brokerage customer's existing carriers. It does not publish a current legal-entity carrier panel or promise that every market will quote every account. 27Company-reported. Current broker FAQ; no carrier appointments, financial-strength ratings or account-specific market access independently verified. The reviewed current product, portal and FAQ pages do not identify the issuing insurer or policy form for each available product. Those details must come from the actual proposal and policy. 25,28,27Not publicly disclosed. Current platform and FAQ pages plus previously reviewed cyber product material. The dedicated cyber page is no longer available; that is not a finding that Layr lacks insurer relationships. |
| Servicing and renewals | Kinro says it shops at renewal and sends text links to documents and certificates with reminders and coverage support; these are service descriptions, not turnaround guarantees. 1,5Company-reported. Retail service statements; no authenticated customer account or actual renewal inspected. Before sharing business details, note that Kinro separates service texts from marketing consent, while its privacy policy says website activity may be linked to profiles for marketing. 5,7Company-reported. Published consent and privacy terms, not an audit of data practices or consent enforcement; privacy policy effective August 10, 2026. | Layr markets a white-labeled portal with licensed support and broker dashboard updates for policies, renewals, claims and payments. A company release also describes policyholder access to documents, quotes, claims, certificates, bills and electronic payments. 26,33Company-reported. Company-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested. Layr says its team gathers updates, negotiates renewal terms with underwriters and finalizes renewal documents. It describes automatic-renewal policies as hands-free and says customers whose policies need updated information are alerted 60 days before renewal. 27Company-reported. Current FAQ description. It does not state the notice needed to stop an automatic renewal or guarantee a renewal offer. |
| Fees and compensation | Kinro’s terms say it is usually paid a commission by the issuing insurer, included in the insurer-set premium. Its services are free to use unless a fee is disclosed before you agree to pay it. Ask for the commission and any proposed fee for your policy; the terms do not publish an account-specific amount. 6,18,8Company-reported. September 27, 2026 company terms describe buyer fees and insurer-paid commissions; no account-specific fee or commission rate is stated. Separate agency-partner economics are not retail rates. Consultants can use Kinro’s monthly benchmarks—$25–$35 GL, $50–$65 E&O and $90–$105 cyber—as rough market references, not quotes matched to an insurer, limit or deductible. 17Company-reported. One industry-page illustration, not Kinro-wide pricing or a comparable quote; underlying calculation methodology not established. | Layr's current broker FAQ says Layr receives a percentage of premium while the brokerage keeps 100% of commissions. A separate consumer-facing disclosure says carriers pay Layr a commission and businesses may pay a finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The pages do not reconcile which arrangement applies to a particular broker, policyholder or payment plan. 27,29Conflicting sources. Two public compensation descriptions for different apparent audiences. Actual agreements and itemized charges were not available. Layr's consumer-facing compensation disclosure says a business that uses its monthly credit-card payment arrangement can pay a percentage-based finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The page does not provide an account-specific rate, total repayment or cancellation terms. 29Company-reported. Public compensation disclosure; current applicability to every Layr Apex implementation or payment option is not established. |
Sources for Kinro vs Layr
Kinro Official Website
- Kinro Business Insurance. Kinro; Hero; Clear guidance before you buy; industry groups; carrier-logo strip; Insurance expertise; FAQs on follow-up, purchase obligation and AI; footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Start A New Quote. Kinro; New Autoquote; Start a new quote, step 1 of 4; business activity selector. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Insurance Products. Kinro; Most common starting points (General Liability, Commercial Auto); 02 BOP / Package / Business Owner’s Policy; 03 WC / Employee coverage (state, payroll and class-code questions); 05 Trucking Insurance; 06 E&O / Advice and services / Professional Liability / E&O; 09 Umbrella / Excess Liability; Vehicles, property, and field operations (Commercial Property, Hired & Non-Owned Auto); Product 11: Tools & Equipment / Inland Marine; Professional, cyber, and leadership risk (Cyber Liability, Directors & Officers); How Kinro narrows it down: carrier fit. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Free Review Of Your Insurance Policy. Kinro; Introductory price/coverage claim and step 1 of 2 upload panel; accepted documents and file limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Text Updates From Kinro. Kinro; Brokerage description; Who sends them (Kinro, Inc.); service and optional marketing consent; What you will receive; LLC footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms Of Service. Kinro; Effective September 27, 2026; introduction and Who we are (Kinro, Inc. and subsidiaries, including Kinro Insurance Services LLC; insurance offered only where licensed); Our services (advance disclosure of any fee); Quotes and coverage; How we are paid (usual insurer-paid commission included in premium); Communications / Mobile messaging terms; Disclaimers; Other agreements (separate written agreement controls differences); Kinro Insurance Services LLC / NPN footer. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Privacy Policy. Kinro; Effective August 10, 2026; Website Visitor Identification and Marketing Partners; Sharing and Disclosure; Mobile Messaging Privacy. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Carrier Access For Agencies And Independent Agents. Kinro; Opening role description; Carrier access; High commission rates; approval and written-agreement qualifications; How to get started. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Insurance Placement Support. Kinro; Appetite fit; Placement path; Client and servicing ownership; no-guarantee paragraph after step 3. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- For Carriers And MGAs. Kinro; Product access; API integration; approvals paragraph after Dormant lead recovery. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- General Liability. Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need; Coverage comparison and actual-policy qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Owner’s Policy. Kinro; Introduction; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need; Market fit. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers Compensation. Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need, including payroll by state, owner inclusion/exclusion and employee duties. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Professional Liability / E&O. Kinro; Product file; Common fit; Inputs carriers usually need, including services, client types, prior claims, retroactive dates and current coverage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Liability. Kinro; Product file; Inputs carriers usually need, including data, MFA, backups, vendor access and prior incidents. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Directors & Officers. Kinro; Common fit; What it usually handles; Inputs carriers usually need; Market fit. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Consultant Insurance. Kinro; How much does consultant insurance cost?; benchmark amounts; FAQ on reviewing a client insurance clause; Typical market benchmarks qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Review Methodology. Kinro; Updated August 30, 2026; Reviews are general information; Authorship and insurance review; Editorial independence and automation (compensation and nonpublic access relationships). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Contact Kinro. Kinro; Opening policy-support description; direct contact channels and message form. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Look Up A National Producer Number. National Insurance Producer Registry; Definition: NPN is a unique NAIC identifier assigned during the licensing application process; assigned to individuals and business entities. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Name Search. California Department of Insurance; Search for Kinro on September 15, 2026; the public lookup could not be completed and no license result was returned. Accessed 2026-09-15.
Layr Official Website
- Grow Your Broker Profits. Layr; Homepage service proposition; broker audience; footer naming Layr Holdings, Inc.; official logo asset. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Software for Insurance Brokers & Agents. Layr; Streamlined Efficiency; Reduce the Drag: Layr handles sales, service and support while the brokerage retains broker-of-record status and commissions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Team Improving Insurance Technology. Layr; Mission; small-business market; broker-focused technology; leadership and investor logos. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- New Business Capture from Layr — Quote Policies in 10 Min. Layr; Faster Quotes hero and official SmartQuote illustration listing General Liability, Commercial Auto Liability, Property, Workers Compensation, Umbrella, and Cyber Liability & Data Breach. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Online Portal with Cyber Security for Insurance Companies. Layr; Layr Apex introduction; licensed support team; policyholder activity, portfolio and white-label dashboard descriptions; official dashboard asset. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Technology Frequently Asked Questions. Layr; Product library; carrier and wholesaler access; renewal process and 60-day collection timing; white labeling; premium-based compensation. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Cyber Liability Insurance. Layr; Policy Overview; Key Protected Threats; Coverage Details; online-purchase call to action (page no longer available as of 15 September 2026). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Explanation of Pricing. Layr; Simplified Pricing: carrier commissions and business finance fee up to 20% of premium; flexible payments, portal and certificate descriptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms of Use. Layr; Service operated by Layr Holdings, Inc.; Purchases; Availability, Errors and Inaccuracies; Accounts; last updated 1 April 2018. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Leadership Team. Layr; Current leadership and investor-logo section. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Layr Welcomes New CEO Mark Hara. Layr; 17 October 2024 announcement: broker and agency audience, small-business selection and payment workflow, underwriting handoff, and brokerages across the U.S. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Layr Secures $10 Million Investment to Bridge the Small Business Insurance Tech Gap for Brokers. Layr via GlobeNewswire; 1 November 2023 company release: financing participants, broker-facing business model, licensed support, policyholder portal functions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Parcel Pro Customers Now Have Access to Additional Insurance Solutions Through Layr. Layr; 2021-branded referral page: policy list, online application, portal, financing and certificate claims (cyber page no longer available as of 15 September 2026). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Licensed Property and Casualty Agencies. Massachusetts Division of Insurance; 2026 list entry for Layr Holdings, Inc., license 17853851, original approval 17 March 2021, renewal date 17 March 2027. Accessed 2026-09-15.
