Cowbell vs
Resilience: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Cowbell sells cyber and technology E&O; Resilience adds financial-risk prioritization services, with eligibility depending on the product.
Introduction to the Cowbell vs Resilience Comparison
A company comparing cyber proposals should check both the product’s eligibility and whether security work helps prioritize financial exposures. Cowbell lists distinct primary and excess options; Resilience describes cyber and technology E&O with financial-risk prioritization services. 16 15 25 26 Choose Cowbell if one of its named products meets your limit; choose Resilience if you qualify for its product and want the prioritization services.
Buyer Takeaways for Cowbell vs Resilience
Cowbell Buyer Takeaways
- Compare Cowbell’s primary and excess cyber options against your company’s size and risk. 9,11,12,13,14,15Company-reported. Current U.S. broker-resource catalogue and product overviews. Product descriptions are illustrative and actual forms control.
- Cyber policies may include risk insights and training; other security services are optional. 22,11,15Company-reported. Current U.S. resiliency-services catalogue and cyber product overviews. Eligibility, third-party terms and whether a service is bundled depend on the policy and service agreement.
Resilience Buyer Takeaways
- Technology companies can seek E&O coverage for software, hardware and technology services. 26Company-reported. Technology-specific professional liability; not general professional E&O or a guarantee of offered limits.
- Resilience helps prioritize financial cyber risks and track exposure across entities. 30,31Company-reported. Current named cybersecurity products; outcomes not independently established.
Cowbell vs Resilience Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Cowbell | Resilience |
|---|---|---|
| Crime | Listed 18,19Cowbell offers a crime module in Zurich Select Plus for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers. | Not listed |
| Cyber liability | Listed 11,12,13,14,15Cowbell offers standalone and excess cyber products through its insurance-agency business. | Listed 25Resilience markets cyber insurance on a primary or excess basis. |
| Directors and officers | Listed 18,19Cowbell offers Zurich Select Plus D&O for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers. | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 18,19Cowbell offers Zurich Select Plus employment practices coverage for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers. | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 18,19Cowbell offers Zurich Select Plus fiduciary liability for small and medium private companies, available through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers. | Not listed |
| Management liability | Listed 18,19Cowbell provides access to Zurich management liability for private businesses with fewer than 250 employees and under $50 million in assets through Zurich-appointed wholesalers. | Not listed |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 16,17Cowbell markets combined technology errors and omissions and cyber coverage, plus follow-form excess, for technology businesses with revenue up to $1 billion. | Listed 26Resilience markets technology errors and omissions insurance for US businesses with $25 million to $10 billion in revenue. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Cowbell vs Resilience Research by Coverage Line
Open what Cowbell and Resilience each document for one coverage line.
Cyber Insurance
Tech E&O Insurance
Current Reliability Scores for Cowbell and Resilience
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Cowbell Reliability Scores
Managing general agentCarrier & MGA
6.3/ 10Resilience Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.0/ 10Cowbell and Resilience Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Cowbell Review Score
Review Score
1 rated source
Cowbell has one public rating we could find: 1.0 out of 5 on SourceForge from three reviews in 2023. That's too few and too old to say much.
Read Cowbell reviewsResilience Review Score
Review Score
1 rated source
There's almost nothing public to go on. G2 shows 4.5 out of 5 for Resilience, but from a single review.
Read Resilience reviewsKey Differences Between Cowbell and Resilience
Combined Coverage and Excess Layers
Eligible technology firms up to $1 billion revenue can ask about non-admitted Prime Tech, combining Tech E&O and cyber with up to $5 million limits; Prime Tech Plus is a separate excess option up to $5 million. 16,17Company-reported. Current U.S. Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus marketing overviews; product appetite and actual terms are subject to underwriting.
Software, hardware and technology-services businesses can consider Resilience Tech E&O, which advertises $10 million limits on US primary and excess placements. 26Company-reported. Technology-specific professional liability; not general professional E&O or a guarantee of offered limits.
Ask whether the proposed cyber and technology liabilities share a limit, how defense spending uses it and which underlying forms an excess insurer will accept. Cowbell's separate Prime Plus and Prime Tech Plus descriptions make the underlying coverage distinction important. Resilience's primary/excess marketing does not establish that its excess form will follow every term of another insurer's policy. 15 17 25
Select the Program Before Comparing Eligibility
Cowbell's product materials describe different revenue appetites and admitted or non-admitted routes. Resilience's published technology E&O appetite starts at $25 million, while its record does not establish that as a universal cyber minimum. A smaller company should get separate eligibility answers for its technology liability and cyber proposals. 11 16 26
Cowbell also offers Zurich Select Plus management liability through a specified wholesale channel. That is not automatically part of its cyber quote, and Zurich's investment does not make every Cowbell product Zurich insurance. Resilience's shared catalogue centers on cyber and technology E&O. Keep a board-liability requirement in a separate workstream rather than inferring that either cyber purchase completes the program. 19 4 23
Security Services Have Their Own Renewal Costs
Cowbell's resiliency catalogue mixes complimentary access, trials and subscriptions. Resilience describes Edge and Arc and states that security-service purchases are not tied to insurance. Ask which capabilities remain after the first year and who will implement their recommendations. Neither service menu demonstrates that your team will reduce losses. 22 30 31 24
Both describe around-the-clock claims support. Compare reporting instructions and approved response vendors, rather than treating availability as a settlement-quality score. 21 28
What Should You Confirm in Cowbell and Resilience Quotes?
- Identify the primary form, shared limits and acceptable excess attachment terms.
- Confirm the precise Cowbell program or Resilience insurer and the California placement basis.
- Obtain a second-year security-service price and renewal information checklist alongside the insurance proposal.
Cowbell documents different renewal processes for Prime 100 and Prime 250; Resilience's current pages do not establish a standard renewal process. Avoid applying one program's workflow to another. 20
Ask Resilience for renewal deadlines and service timing because reviewed pages do not specify renewal documents, price commitments or standard turnaround. 27,25,26Not publicly disclosed. Scoped to current HTML pages; older package materials were not used to promise current renewal terms.
Cowbell vs Resilience Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Cowbell | Resilience |
|---|---|---|
| Customer focus | Small and midsize businesses can compare Cowbell cyber options, while middle-market firms can consider broader programs; Prime 100 targets up to $100 million revenue and Prime 250/Tech up to $1 billion. 10,11,12,13,16Company-reported. Published U.S. product appetites; eligibility is subject to underwriting and product-specific class restrictions. | Resilience lists technology E&O for businesses with $25 million–$10 billion revenue in software, AI, hardware, services, data centers and telecom; smaller startups should ask whether an exception is possible. 26Company-reported. Published US primary and excess technology E&O appetite; not a minimum established for every cyber product. |
| Access to insurers | Ask which insurer is on your declarations: Cowbell names Palomar for Prime 100/100 Pro, Palomar and Chaucer for Prime 250, Chaucer for Prime One, and more general carrier descriptions for excess, Tech Plus and Select Plus. 11,12,13,14,15,17,18,7Company-reported. Named paper providers in the current reviewed product materials. The quote and policy must identify the actual insurer for a specific product, state and account. | Ask which insurer will issue your California policy: Resilience names Homeland Insurance Company of New York or Delaware but not which one applies to a specific quote. 24Company-reported. Company-reported US insurer disclosure; no binder or California policy form reviewed. |
| Servicing and renewals | Cowbell pairs cyber coverage with risk ratings, policyholder insights, security connectors, training and resiliency support; included access may be limited or trial-based, while some services require a subscription. 22,11,15Company-reported. Current U.S. resiliency-services catalogue and cyber product overviews. Eligibility, third-party terms and whether a service is bundled depend on the policy and service agreement. Ask your agent how to request changes or cancel; Cowbell directs policyholders to agents for cancellations and agents to Cowbell for endorsements. Prime 100 renewal proposals start around 60 days before expiry; Prime 250 requires a signed application and underwriting. 20Company-reported. Current public FAQ for P100 and P250; other products and individual policy terms may use different servicing and renewal procedures. | Resilience’s Edge service helps prioritize security spending by estimated financial impact, while Arc shows cyber risk across entities; these tools are risk-management services, not insurance. 30,31Company-reported. Current named cybersecurity products; outcomes not independently established. You can buy insurance without buying Resilience security services; confirm which tools are bundled and which require a separate agreement. 24Company-reported. Company disclaimer; does not establish free services or package pricing. Ask Resilience for renewal deadlines and service timing because reviewed pages do not specify renewal documents, price commitments or standard turnaround. 27,25,26Not publicly disclosed. Scoped to current HTML pages; older package materials were not used to promise current renewal terms. |
| Claims assistance | Cowbell says its in-house cyber claims team and response panel are available 24/7; have your policy number, incident date, details and contact ready. The issuing insurer and policy determine coverage and payment. 21,11,14Company-reported. Cowbell's current U.S. cyber claims-services page and product overviews; company-reported service description, not an independently measured outcome. | Resilience says an in-house team and claims manager are available 24/7 through settlement, with privacy, forensic, recovery and crisis specialists; these service claims are not independently measured. 28Company-reported. Claims operating model; no response-time, acceptance-rate or recovery performance claim adopted. |
Sources for Cowbell vs Resilience
Cowbell Official Website
- Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms And Conditions. Cowbell; Opening paragraphs identifying Cowbell Cyber, Inc. and its subsidiaries; Paid Services §3; footer producer disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Company. Cowbell; Technology That Signals Protection; Backed By Prominent Venture And Growth Investors; office locations; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Our Next Era — Cowbell Closes $60M Series C Round. Cowbell; 26 July 2024 announcement describing Zurich as a Series C investor and partner. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- License Information. Cowbell; Cowbell Insurance Agency LLC producer and surplus-lines license lists for 50 states and the District of Columbia; footer availability qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Name Search. California Department of Insurance; License search for Cowbell Insurance Agency. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Palomar Specialty Insurance Company — Company Profile. California Department of Insurance; Company information: NAIC 20338, California ID 1969-5, Unlimited-Normal status, property-and-casualty company, Oregon domicile. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Find An Agent. Cowbell; State selector and directory of appointed U.S. agents and brokers. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Broker Resources. Cowbell; Current U.S. sales enablement catalog listing Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One, Prime Plus, Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus materials. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Cowbell Overview. Cowbell; Our Products: cyber, Professional Indemnity, Zurich management liability and Cowbell Resiliency Services; product-level qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime 100 Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: admitted standalone cyber for businesses up to $100 million revenue; Palomar paper; coverage descriptions; US0001 1025 disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Prime 100 Pro Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: admitted cyber for businesses up to $100 million; enhanced options and $3 million limit; 47-state list; Palomar paper; US0001 0826 disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Prime 250 Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted standalone cyber for businesses up to $1 billion; 50 states and D.C.; Palomar and Chaucer paper; illustrative-coverage disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Prime One Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–3: non-admitted cyber for advanced digital exposures, typically $250 million-plus revenue; selected risks up to $10 million; Chaucer Specialty; US0001 0426. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Prime Plus Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–2: non-admitted follow-form excess cyber for businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million excess limits; A-rated carriers; US0001 0226. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Prime Tech Plus Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–3: Seamless excess protection: follow-form excess Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; A-rated paper; edition PRIME PLUS US0002 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises. Cowbell; FAQs: How can I access… and What size accounts are targeted?; Cowbell Management Liability introduction; Zurich Select Plus description: admitted paper; private-company D&O, employment practices, fiduciary liability and crime modules. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small And Midsize Business Management Liability. Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; modular suite: D&O, Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability, Fiduciary Liability and Crime modules; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets; access and target-account FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Frequently Asked Questions. Cowbell; Policy cancellation; direct- and agency-bill payment; 2.99% credit-card fee; premium financing; P100 and P250 renewals; endorsements; risk-engineering call. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Claims And Incident Response Services. Cowbell; Cowbell Claims Approach; incident-response panel; reporting channels; initial company, incident-date and contact information; claims assistance description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Cowbell Resiliency Services. Cowbell; Cybersecurity services; policyholder access and trials; subscription services; service-provider and insurance-coverage qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
Resilience Official Website
- Home Page. Resilience; Cyber risk management; Broad market appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Disclaimer. Resilience; Opening paragraphs and USA jurisdiction disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance. Resilience; Cyber Insurance product introduction; Why choose cyber insurance; Policy coverage; primary and excess offerings; A Broad Market Appetite: US Cyber. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology E&O. Resilience; Technology Errors & Omissions: technology risk categories; Key Benefits; primary and excess offering; A Broad Market Appetite (US revenue $25M–$10B). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Brokers. Resilience; Broker benefits; Use cases; Insurance & risk solutions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Claims & Incident Response. Resilience; Our difference; Support from start to resolution; Claims panel. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. Resilience; Contact us; emergency claims instructions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Security Investment Prioritization. Resilience; Resilience Edge introduction and Key benefits. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Multi-Entity & Portfolio Risk. Resilience; Resilience Arc introduction. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms and Conditions. Resilience; Opening website agreement; separate written agreements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
