Coterie Insurance vs
Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Coterie packages small-business property and liability; Pie focuses on workers’ compensation with payroll-based payments.
Introduction to the Coterie Insurance vs Pie Insurance Comparison
A landscaping contractor adding seasonal employees may need both a business package and workers’ compensation. Coterie does not write workers’ compensation; Pie offers payroll-based payments and audits payroll at year-end. Choose Coterie if property and general liability are your gaps; choose Pie if you need employee-injury coverage tied to payroll. 6 11 28 26
Buyer Takeaways for Coterie Insurance vs Pie Insurance
Coterie Insurance Buyer Takeaways
- Agents can prepare and bind eligible small-business quotes from prefilled information in one dashboard. 5,6,2Company-reported. Company-described standard agent workflow; does not cover referrals, manual underwriting exceptions or every partner integration.
- Manage documents, certificates, policy changes and claim reports online, with agent help for coverage questions. 10,8Company-reported. Public policyholder resources; tool availability and authority to change coverage can depend on the policy and agent relationship.
Pie Insurance Buyer Takeaways
- Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 25,24,26Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
- Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 40,41Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.
Coterie Insurance vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Coterie Insurance | Pie Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Listed 2,13Coterie offers a business owner’s policy through its agent channel. | Listed 30Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests. |
| Cyber liability | Not listed | Listed 31Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners. |
| General liability | Listed 2,3Coterie offers general liability policies for small businesses through its partner distribution. | Listed 33Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 2,14Coterie lists miscellaneous professional liability for eligible small businesses in participating states. | Listed 32Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers. |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 26Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Coterie Insurance vs Pie Insurance Research by Coverage Line
Open what Coterie Insurance and Pie Insurance each document for one coverage line.
Business Owner’s Policy
General Liability Insurance
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Current Reliability Scores for Coterie Insurance and Pie Insurance
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Coterie Insurance Reliability Scores
Managing general agentCarrier & MGA
5.1/ 10Pie Insurance Reliability Scores
Hybrid providerBroker
5.3/ 10Carrier & MGA
6.3/ 10Coterie Insurance and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Coterie Insurance Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Coterie’s BBB complaint record is a concern; its single Trustpilot review is too small a sample to offset that. Ask how complaints and service problems are resolved.
Read Coterie Insurance reviewsPie Insurance Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.
Read Pie Insurance reviewsKey Differences Between Coterie Insurance and Pie Insurance
Business Packages, Workers’ Compensation and Vehicles
A small landscaping contractor that already has Coterie liability or business owner’s policy (BOP) coverage and plans to employ a larger crew during its busy season still needs two checks. The agent should check the new operations and headcount against Coterie’s contractor appetite. Separately, Pie’s workers’ compensation application asks for payroll and classification information. These inputs answer different questions: whether the business still fits the existing program, and how the employee work should be insured and priced. 13 26
Pie also invites BOP and general-liability requests through partner insurers. That creates real overlap with Coterie, but does not require moving those policies to buy Pie workers’ compensation. Ask the existing agent whether it can coordinate the additional placement, or identify the Pie contact if buying directly. Compare any proposed replacement of the original package on its own terms, including property values, equipment and endorsements. 25 30 33 13
An owned work vehicle needs another answer. Coterie does not write automobile policies, and Pie says its former commercial-auto program stopped new and renewal business. A legacy claims link or an available hired/non-owned auto endorsement is not evidence of an available owned-vehicle policy. Put the vehicle placement on the coverage schedule separately. 11 13 37
Payroll Billing, Installments and Premium Audits
Pie’s pay-as-you-go option uses reported actual payroll for monthly premium and requires no initial deposit. Its ordinary monthly payment schedule instead requires 16.6% upfront followed by ten monthly payments. For the seasonal contractor, ask whether the payroll provider can supply the required information and what happens when payroll is corrected. Choosing a payment frequency is not the same as choosing a payroll-reporting method. 41 40
Coterie’s installment option spreads the cost of its own policy and carries a disclosed installment charge; it is not a substitute for the Pie payroll process. Budget the two policies separately so a low-payroll month does not create the mistaken expectation that every insurance bill will fall with wages. 8 41
Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 42Company-reported. Pie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund.
Keep job-duty records and subcontractor workers’ compensation certificates during the season, not just the total wage figure. Pie’s audit page specifically asks for those records. Its pay-as-you-go page promotes more accurate payments, but that does not remove the required audit or establish that every classification or subcontractor issue has already been resolved. Ask how the final calculation and any correction will be explained. 42 41
Certificates, Additional Insureds and Waivers
Coterie offers certificate tools and policy-change requests. Pie also offers workers’ compensation certificates, but its FAQ distinguishes those from waiver-of-subrogation requests and says its workers’ compensation product does not use additional-insured status. If a customer sends one checklist covering both policies, have the agent separate each requirement by coverage line. 10 39
A waiver addresses the insurer’s recovery rights against a specified party; it is a separate endorsement question from showing that party on a certificate. Pie asks for the requesting company, address and work to be performed and discloses a state-dependent charge. Request the approved wording before promising the customer that downloading a certificate satisfies the clause. 39
Issuing Insurers, Work States and Injury Reporting
Coterie’s carrier partners issue its policies. Pie identifies affiliated workers’ compensation insurers and unaffiliated insurers for its BOP and liability offerings. Even if both policies are administered through familiar brands, the declarations should identify the insurer responsible for each obligation. Pie-group financial-strength evidence should not be applied to a partner insurer’s separate policy. 8 28 45
If the crew starts working across a state line, verify that work in the actual proposal. Pie’s published footprint counts and claims-handler allocation do not fully agree. Its state documents and quote process are more useful starting points than a broad national marketing count, but neither alone establishes this contractor’s eligibility. 34 35 44
Pie asks for workplace injuries to be reported promptly through its published channels and identifies separate handling in some states. Coterie provides intake for its own products. Save the workers’ compensation state kit and the separate liability-policy instructions so an employee injury is routed appropriately. Intake help does not demonstrate which insurer will accept or pay a particular claim. 43 44 11
Fees, Payment Charges and Renewals
Coterie discloses policy, installment and possible risk-program charges. Pie publishes payment-method charges and separate waiver costs. Compare the full-year schedule, including the applicable card-fee exception and possible payroll adjustment, rather than comparing only the initial payments. Ask which payment and waiver charges apply to this policy. 8 40 39
Coterie’s terms allow automatic renewal where applicable. Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote for review and acceptance, while its agency FAQ describes notice and payment steps that may result in renewal issuance unless otherwise notified. Confirm which process governs your account before assigning a renewal task. Completing last year’s audit remains a separate deadline. 8 39 44 42
What Should You Confirm in Coterie Insurance and Pie Insurance Quotes?
- Coverage schedule: Which existing Coterie policies remain, which Pie insurer writes workers’ compensation, and who handles the work vehicle? 11 28 37
- Payroll and audit plan: Identify job duties, work states, payroll-feed responsibilities, correction procedures and subcontractor certificates. 42 41
- Customer contract response: Separate liability endorsements, workers’ compensation waivers and certificates, with approval timing and charges for each. 10 39
- Service calendar: Record the applicable renewal notice and payment steps, audit deadline and state-specific injury-reporting contact. Ask whether your account follows the consumer or agency process and who must act. 8 39 44
Coterie Insurance vs Pie Insurance Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Coterie Insurance | Pie Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Coverage lines | Small businesses can compare a BOP, standalone general liability or miscellaneous professional liability; a BOP combines liability and property while the other lines are separate. 2,4,3,14Company-reported. Current direct product pages and December 2025 product guides reviewed; optional endorsements are recorded separately rather than treated as standalone lines. Coterie’s BOP guide lists up to $10 million revenue and 50 employees, reduced to $5 million and 15 for contractors, plus property limits up to $1 million for buildings and $500,000 for business property. State, industry and quote affect availability and limits. 13,8Company-reported. December 2025 agent brochure; marketing summary, not policy wording or an eligibility guarantee. You can add some optional protections, including cyber, workplace violence, EPL, restaurant and liquor, contractors equipment, hired/non-owned auto liability, equipment breakdown and drone liability; these are endorsements, not separate standalone policies. 12,13,15,16Company-reported. April 2026 endorsement directory and December 2025 BOP guide; selection depends on base product, business class, state and underwriting. Service firms considering Coterie MPL should check the claims-made reporting window: the guide includes a 60-day extended reporting period and offers longer periods for purchase, while retroactive coverage and limits depend on terms and eligibility. 14,8Company-reported. December 2025 MPL guide; an actual proposal and policy control coverage. If you need workers’ compensation or commercial auto, look elsewhere: Coterie says it does not write those policies. Its hired/non-owned auto endorsement is liability protection, not physical-damage auto insurance. 11,13Company-reported. Current claims FAQ and BOP guide; does not address products another agent or partner may place outside Coterie. | Pie currently markets workers’ comp, BOP, cyber, general liability and professional liability/E&O; product pages describe typical coverage, while the policy and endorsements determine your actual protection. 26,30,31,33,32,27Company-reported. Public US Pie pages with an explicit quote or contact invitation; educational-only topics and components of a BOP were not counted as standalone offerings. If you need new or renewed commercial auto, look elsewhere: Pie stopped accepting new submissions December 1, 2025 and says it will issue no new or renewal policies after January 1, 2026; existing terms remain in force through expiry. 37,43Company-reported. Pie’s former commercial-auto offering and legacy policies; commercial auto is intentionally excluded from the current coverage catalogue. Use your policy and endorsements to decide what is covered; Pie says website descriptions do not change policy terms and eligibility varies by applicant and location. 27Company-reported. Website descriptions and US products generally; the buyer’s issued policy and endorsements control. |
| Access to insurers | Check the insurer named on every Coterie policy: carrier partners issue coverage, with a separate Spinnaker Specialty route for surplus policies beginning CSE and Spinnaker Insurance Company named for eligible coastal Texas BOPs. 8,11,17Company-reported. Public carrier disclosures reviewed for the general platform, surplus-lines claim routing and the September 2026 coastal Texas BOP program; not an exhaustive carrier map. | Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 28,45,46,47Verified. Pie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state. Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 45Verified. Pie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report. For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 28,30,31,32,33Not publicly disclosed. Current public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested. |
| Servicing and renewals | Policyholders can manage documents, certificates, policy changes and claim reports online; use your agent or broker for coverage questions. Coterie also provides sample forms to help you review proposed terms. 10,8Company-reported. Public policyholder resources; tool availability and authority to change coverage can depend on the policy and agent relationship. Businesses with multiple locations should ask about separate policies because Coterie’s FAQ says each location needs its own policy. 10Company-reported. General policyholder FAQ as of September 15, 2026; confirm how mailing, temporary, project and additional locations are treated in the proposed form. Set renewal preferences before the next term: most Coterie policies are 12 months and may renew automatically, with charges using the saved payment method unless the policy says otherwise. 8Company-reported. Website terms effective December 16, 2025; the proposed policy, renewal notice and applicable state law control. | Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 38,39Company-reported. Published workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested. Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 42Company-reported. Pie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund. Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 39,44Company-reported. Different company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process. |
| Fees and compensation | Include Coterie’s fees in your total-cost comparison: terms list a variable one-time new/renewal policy fee, $7 installment fee, up to $10 late fee and up to $35 insufficient-funds fee; amounts vary by state and line and some are nonrefundable. 8Company-reported. Website fee terms effective December 16, 2025; not every fee applies to every policy or state. Ask whether a Coterie policy includes a Manage My Risk Program fee; it is earned when paid and nonrefundable after midterm cancellation, but its amount is not published. 8Company-reported. Manage My Risk Program terms effective December 16, 2025; applicability and the quoted fee require account-specific disclosure. Ask whether your agent receives commission or other compensation because Coterie says it may pay commissions through a third-party processor; public sources do not state the rate for your policy. 9,8Company-reported. Public privacy and platform terms; no producer agreement or account-specific compensation disclosure was reviewed. | Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 40,41Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote. Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 40Company-reported. Credit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page. Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 39Not publicly disclosed. Workers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process. Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 44,28Not publicly disclosed. Agency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation. |
| Claims assistance | You can report standard or surplus-lines claims online and standard claims by phone; have your policy number, named insured, loss date, event details and insurer ready for assignment to a claims representative. 11,8Company-reported. Current public claims intake; reporting through Coterie does not establish coverage or identify the party ultimately paying a covered claim. Plan for several days before Coterie contacts you after online claim notice: one page says around two business days, another says three to five, and neither promises a settlement timeline. 10,11Conflicting sources. Two current company service pages reviewed September 15, 2026; response time is not claim-resolution time. Cyber and workplace-violence reports start with Coterie before a specialty partner may investigate or respond; this process description does not establish that the event is covered. 11,15,16,8Company-reported. Cyber and workplace-violence endorsement claims support; policy wording, limits and partner duties control. | Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 43Company-reported. Published first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply. Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 44,34,45Conflicting sources. Public allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions. |
Sources for Coterie Insurance vs Pie Insurance
Coterie Insurance Official Website
- About Coterie Insurance. Coterie Insurance; Agent and broker focus; company history; investors; agency name, NPN and Wisconsin license in footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance for Small Businesses. Coterie Insurance; General Liability, Business Owners Policies and Professional Liability sections: About business owners policies (BOP), About general liability (GL) policies (offered through partners), About professional liability (MPL) policies; Find an Agent; agent distribution; footer agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance for Small Business. Coterie Insurance; General liability product page: How General Liability Insurance Works; Common Questions, including standalone or BOP; Find an Agent. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Owner's Policy for Small Businesses. Coterie Insurance; Package components and exclusions from the typical BOP description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Agents and Business Insurance Brokers. Coterie Insurance; How It Works steps; nationwide product statement; dashboard service statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Instant Bindable Small Business Insurance Quotes for Agents. Coterie Insurance; Built for Agents and Brokers; online workflow; core lines; endorsements; availability sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Quick Start: Quote and Bind Small Business Insurance With Coterie. Coterie Insurance; Five-Step Quote-to-Bind Workflow and Does Coterie Work in All 50 States sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms and Conditions. Coterie Insurance; Effective December 16, 2025; Sections 1, 5, 6 and 10. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Privacy Policy. Coterie Insurance; Introduction; Section 6, Payment and Commissions Processing; carrier privacy links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Policyholder Resources. Coterie Insurance; Account, policy-change, certificate, claims, multiple-location and sample-policy sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Claims. Coterie Insurance; Reporting routes; response timing; settlement timing; excluded workers' compensation and auto claims; cyber and workplace-violence FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie Insurance Endorsements. Coterie Insurance; Cyber, Workplace Violence, Employment Practices, Restaurant, Liquor Liability and Contractors Equipment list; product caveat. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- BOP Product Overview. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1–5: Business Owners Policy Product Highlights for Agents and Brokers; eligibility criteria, base property and liability coverages, additional extensions and mandatory forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Miscellaneous Professional Liability Policy Overview and Product Highlights. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1–7: purpose, eligible professions and operations, unavailable jurisdictions and state availability, limits, claims-made terms and exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance Overview. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1-2: coverage, criteria, limits and Cyberscout services. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workplace Violence Insurance Overview. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1-2: endorsement status, criteria, services and limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie's Coastal Business Insurance Appetite. Coterie Insurance; September 11, 2026 state-by-state coastal BOP eligibility, limits, exclusions and Texas carrier statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Current Moratoriums. Coterie Insurance; Active BOP catastrophe moratoriums, updated September 2-4, 2026; effect on new business and changes. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Allianz X Announces Strategic Investment in Coterie Insurance. Coterie Insurance and Allianz X; September 11, 2025 announcement; MGA role; Series C investment and reinsurance relationship. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Allianz X Portfolio and News. Allianz X; Current Direct Investments and September 11, 2025 Coterie strategic-investment entry. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie BOP and GL Products Available Through Progressive. Coterie Insurance; November 20, 2025 agency relationship and Progressive BusinessQuote Explorer distribution scope. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie Insurance Agency, LLC Entity Record. Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations; Active foreign LLC record; January 6, 2026 annual report; Coterie Applications, Inc. listed as member. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Licensed Property and Casualty Agencies. Massachusetts Division of Insurance; Coterie Insurance Agency, LLC; license 19000811; approval period December 28, 2025 through December 28, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-15.
Pie Insurance Official Website
- Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; Homepage: small-business audience; direct workers’ compensation quote; online account; footer entity, insurer and availability qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; About Pie; direct and agency distribution; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; Get a workers’ compensation quote online; insurance made for your small business; quote inputs; coverage description; quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms Of Use. Pie Insurance; Updated 26 April 2022; Ownership and Agreement to Terms; geographic and product eligibility; policy controls coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Legal. Pie Insurance; State Licenses; footer disclosure naming producer and workers’ compensation versus third-party underwriting roles. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Insurance — Quote. Pie Insurance; First step: Business ZIP Code. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Owner’s Policy. Pie Insurance; BOP definition; typical components; Make sure you’re covered: Start your BOP quote; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; First- and third-party descriptions; carrier-partner quote invitation; policy-variation qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Errors And Omissions Insurance. Pie Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance hero (E&O and professional liability equivalence); typical claims; Make sure you’re covered: insurance carrier partners, Start now; footer third-party professional liability insurers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance. Pie Insurance; Typical covered categories; Make sure you are covered: carrier-partner quote invitation; legal footer: third-party insurers not affiliated with Pie. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Workers’ Comp Coverage By State. Pie Insurance; Headline says 40 states and the District of Columbia; rendered state selector listed 39 state names and omitted New York and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Agency Document Library. Pie Insurance; Workers’ Comp State Documents: 40 named states plus Washington, D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025. Pie Insurance; 13 January 2026 release; Key 2025 Milestones says 39 states plus Washington, D.C.; company and distribution description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Auto Claim FAQs. Pie Insurance; Does Pie offer commercial auto insurance?; submission cutoff 1 December 2025; no new or renewal policies on or after 1 January 2026; legacy claim guidance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Online Account Tutorial. Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp FAQs. Pie Insurance; Certificates; specific and blanket waiver requests, two-business-day response and state-dependent charge; Billing & Payments; Policy Renewal / When will I know it’s time to renew my policy? (approximately 30 days before expiry, quote for review and acceptance); Annual Audit; Claims. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Payment Options. Pie Insurance; Annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules; payment methods; 3% card fee and state exceptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; No initial deposit; actual-payroll monthly premium; automatic deductions; payroll-provider coordination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- File Your Claim Within 24 Hours. Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation reporting by online form, 24/7 phone or email; information requested; post-report coverage determination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Partner FAQ. Pie Insurance; How does Pie handle claims? (workers’ compensation in 34 states; CorVel in Alaska, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico and Oregon); How does Pie pay commissions? (new and renewing policies, earned premium); How does Pie handle renewals? (30-day preview: under $20,000 to insured with agency copied, over $20,000 to producer; unless otherwise notified, deposit draft and renewal issuance five days before effective date; exact $20,000 case unstated); Renewal Billing. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company. AM Best Rating Services, Inc.; Page 1: A- (Excellent), Stable, affirmed 24 April 2026; page 14: rating unit, group insurer acquisitions, 100% workers’ compensation writing through PCIC and TPIC from 1 January 2024, 40 states and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Pie Insurance Company — Company Details. Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance; Company name; active license status; NAIC 21857; property-and-casualty authority; 2025 workers’ compensation market data. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details. Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name; P&C Domestic Stock; active status; NAIC 10997; Pie Group Holdings, Inc. parent. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Administrative Actions — January 2024. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance; Allegations and Actions Against Companies: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. agreed to add a disclaimer to its “save up to 30%” advertising claim after misleading-advertising allegations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
