At-Bay vs Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Employers prioritizing workers’ compensation can consider Pie, which also places selected cyber products through partners; software companies can assess At-Bay’s technology E&O and cyber.

An Overview of At-Bay and Pie Insurance

A startup adding employees while promising security controls to a customer should identify the insurer and billing route for each line: Pie separates workers’ compensation from partner cyber, while At-Bay combines specialist cyber and Tech E&O with policy-linked services. 16 21 1 7 Choose Pie if workers’ compensation and payroll-based payment are central; choose At-Bay if the software contract needs Tech E&O and cyber.

What Stands Out About At-Bay and Pie Insurance?

At-Bay at a Glance

  • Combine technology E&O and cyber protection in one policy. 2Company-reportedProduct highlights, not an issued policy or universal contract coverage.
  • Eligible policyholders get monitoring, training and cyber-advisor access; managed detection and response costs extra. 7Company-reportedCurrent service descriptions and footnotes; no claims of effectiveness or independent testing.

Pie Insurance at a Glance

  • Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 15,14,16Company-reportedWorkers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
  • Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 30,31Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

At-Bay vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageAt-BayPie Insurance
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 20Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests.
Cyber liabilityListed 3At-Bay offers primary and excess cyber insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion.Listed 21Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners.
General liabilityNot listedListed 23Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 4At-Bay offers primary miscellaneous professional liability insurance.Listed 22Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers.
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2At-Bay offers primary and excess technology errors and omissions insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion.Not listed
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 16Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

At-Bay and Pie Insurance Coverage, Line by Line

Open what At-Bay and Pie Insurance each document for one coverage line.

At-Bay and Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Pie Insurance Reliability Scores

Hybrid provider

Broker

5.3/ 10

Carrier & MGA

6.3/ 10

Provider assessment

At-Bay and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

At-Bay Review Score

9.5/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

At-Bay’s public review evidence is thin: one old G2 review and a BBB complaint record. It is not enough to judge day-to-day service or claims handling.

Read At-Bay reviews

Pie Insurance Review Score

1.7/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.

Read Pie Insurance reviews

Key Differences Between At-Bay and Pie Insurance

The Workers’ Compensation Insurer May Not Issue Cyber

Pie identifies workers’ compensation carriers, while its reviewed partner-product materials leave the actual cyber issuer unresolved. Do not apply a Pie group insurer’s rating or authority to that separate offer. At-Bay’s quote also needs its own current issuer confirmation; its carrier transition announcement does not settle every present placement. 18 21 11

Hiring Changes the Cost Questions

Pie describes payroll-linked payment options and a premium audit process. Those concern the workers’ compensation account and should not be treated as the billing structure for partner cyber insurance. At-Bay’s Stance charges and optional MDR purchases concern security services. Ask finance to track payroll adjustments, policy fees and security subscriptions as separate obligations. 31 32 7

State Statements Need Product-Level Confirmation

Pie’s reviewed sources give differing workers’ compensation state counts, and partner products have separate availability limits. A national total is not the answer to whether this California employer qualifies. At-Bay’s producer disclosure similarly does not establish product acceptance for the startup. 24 29 5

What Should You Confirm in At-Bay and Pie Insurance Quotes?

Request separate workers’ compensation and cyber proposals with issuing entities and California acceptance. For Pie, identify the current claims administrator and payroll audit requirements. For the technology comparison, request professional-liability wording as well as cyber terms, especially if customers are relying on the startup’s software. 33 2

At-Bay vs Pie Insurance Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaAt-BayPie Insurance
Business role

At-Bay offers cyber, technology E&O and miscellaneous professional liability, with coverage described as underwritten by non-admitted insurers. At-Bay Insurance Services LLC is its disclosed property-and-casualty agency and surplus-lines broker. 1,5Company-reportedUS brand and disclosed producer; company statements, not regulatory verification.

Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 15,18,16,20,21,22,23Company-reportedCurrent public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant.

If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 17,37,35VerifiedWebsite ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary.

Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 18,38Company-reportedProducer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action.

Access to insurers

Do not assume a past carrier announcement identifies today’s insurer: At-Bay’s 2023 announcement said eligible new E&S Cyber and Tech E&O would use At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company, but it does not settle a current California quote or MPL issuer. 11Company-reportedHistorical announcement effective August 7, 2023; no buyer-specific policy reviewed.

Ask who will issue your MPL policy: the current product page names no insurer, and a 2023 announcement naming United Specialty Company does not establish the present carrier or California availability. 4,13Not found in reviewed sourcesCurrent issuer not established; preserve source spelling without converting historical brand wording into a verified legal-entity record.

Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 18,35,36,37VerifiedPie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state.

Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 35VerifiedPie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report.

For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 18,20,21,22,23Not publicly disclosedCurrent public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested.

Availability

California buyers should still confirm their product’s eligibility: At-Bay lists license 0L73812 for At-Bay Insurance Services LLC, but this company disclosure was not independently checked and does not establish a specific policy is available. 5Company-reportedCalifornia producer route; no regulator record retrieved.

Get written California eligibility for your exact business and product before planning around a quote; reviewed product pages do not establish a current California issuer, and MPL has state restrictions. 5,2,3,4Not found in reviewed sourcesReviewed official HTML product pages and license table on September 16, 2026; current linked appetite PDFs could not be retrieved.

Confirm all work locations and class codes before relying on Pie workers’ comp: sources conflict between availability in 40 states plus DC and 39 states plus DC. 24,25,14,26,35Conflicting sourcesPublic workers’ compensation footprint as of 15 September 2026; the state-page selector, document library and other marketing surfaces were not internally consistent.

Ask if Pie’s partner-issued BOP, cyber, GL or professional policy is available in your state; the reviewed pages give no product-state map and Pie’s terms limit availability. 20,21,23,22,17Not publicly disclosedPublic availability for Pie’s partner-carrier products; no quote or contact form was submitted.

Fees and compensation

Add security charges separately when comparing total cost: Stance has an Embedded Security Fee and endorsement, while MDR is purchased separately from premium and broker charges. 7Company-reportedDoes not describe included security as free or quote an unverified fee amount.

Ask for the full price and compensation disclosure because reviewed At-Bay pages do not publish commission rates, broker arrangements or complete placement fees; this gap does not mean those charges are absent. 2,6,10Not publicly disclosedScoped review of listed public pages on September 16, 2026; not a site-wide or contractual finding.

Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 30,31Company-reportedPie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.

Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 30Company-reportedCredit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page.

Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 29Not publicly disclosedWorkers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process.

Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 34,18Not publicly disclosedAgency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation.

Sources

38 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to At-Bay vs Pie Insurance

  • At-Bay publishes cyber, technology E&O and professional-liability routes with security services; AIG lists broader commercial products and broker tools.

  • Compare AIG’s broader commercial insurer group with Pie’s direct and agency workers’ compensation route.

  • At-Bay's technology E&O discusses service-credit claims and separate Stance security services; Alliance Risk reviews technology contracts and existing coverage.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation