Armilla vs
Pie Insurance: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Small employers seeking workers’ compensation with payroll-based payments can consider Pie; AI developers needing model liability or protection for a performance promise can assess Armilla.
Introduction to the Armilla vs Pie Insurance Comparison
An AI company with employees may need both workplace-injury insurance and protection for model output: Pie’s affiliated carriers write small-business workers’ compensation, while Armilla markets AI liability and performance warranties. 2 11 13 Choose Pie if employee-injury coverage and payroll-based workers’ compensation are the need; choose Armilla if model output or an AI performance promise creates liability.
Buyer Takeaways for Armilla vs Pie Insurance
Armilla Buyer Takeaways
- AI developers can insure liability tied to model or agent failures. 3Company-reported. Direct product brief; no policy wording reviewed. Sample areas are not separately marketed general liability, cyber, media or property policies.
- Begin with an AI risk assessment; confirm deliverables and any monitoring or retesting in the proposal. 2Company-reported. Initial assessment described on the AI insurance page; reviewed evidence does not establish specific assessment deliverables, monitoring or retesting terms.
Pie Insurance Buyer Takeaways
- Start a workers’ compensation quote online or through an insurance agent. 10,9,11Company-reported. Workers’ compensation access for small businesses and agencies; other product pages direct buyers to quote or contact flows but do not document the same process.
- Pay workers’ compensation premiums based on reported payroll, with no initial deposit. 25,26Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote.
Armilla vs Pie Insurance Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Armilla | Pie Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 15Pie accepts business owner’s policy quote requests. |
| Cyber liability | Not listed | Listed 16Pie provides access to cyber insurance quotes from carrier partners. |
| General liability | Not listed | Listed 18Pie arranges general liability insurance through unaffiliated third-party insurers. |
| Generative AI liability | Listed 3Armilla markets standalone AI liability insurance as a managing general agent. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Not listed | Listed 17Pie Insurance arranges professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses through third-party insurers. |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 11Pie Insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Reliability Scores for Armilla and Pie Insurance
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Armilla Reliability Scores
Managing general agentCarrier & MGA
5.2/ 10Pie Insurance Reliability Scores
Hybrid providerBroker
5.3/ 10Carrier & MGA
6.3/ 10Armilla and Pie Insurance Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Armilla Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
Armilla has no customer ratings on the review sites we checked, so there's no Review Score yet. Armilla sells AI insurance, a small niche, so you'll want to ask for references.
Read Armilla reviewsPie Insurance Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Pie’s service record raises clear concerns: elevated regulator complaints reported by NerdWallet, 1.7/5 on Trustpilot and an F from BBB. Investigate billing, cancellation and complaint handling before buying.
Read Pie Insurance reviewsKey Differences Between Armilla and Pie Insurance
Different Information Drives Each Quote
Pie’s public process starts with location and describes payroll and class-code inputs. Armilla begins with an AI risk assessment. A growing team should therefore maintain an employee/payroll submission and a separate model/use-case submission, rather than expecting either application to describe the whole company’s risks. 14 11 2
Pie also markets selected BOP, cyber and professional-liability products through outside carriers. Those are not automatically written by its workers’ compensation insurers, and their presence does not establish a substitute for Armilla’s AI scope. Ask for a separate proposed form if considering Pie’s partner products for the technology exposure. 13 16 17 3
Payroll Reconciliation and Model Retesting Are Different Costs
Pie offers pay-as-you-go workers’ compensation based on reported payroll without an initial deposit, but still requires an annual premium audit. The audit can change the final premium. Armilla begins with an AI risk assessment before customizing an insurance or warranty proposal; ask whether ongoing monitoring or retesting is offered and what it costs. Budget the ongoing obligations separately instead of comparing an initial payment with an annual AI proposal. 26 27 2 7
Use the Right Reporting Channel for the Loss
Pie publishes workplace-injury reporting instructions, but its public state and claims-handler descriptions are not fully reconciled. Armilla’s complete notice procedure and administrator remain unresolved in the reviewed pages. A personnel incident and an AI customer allegation should not be routed through a single assumed contact merely because finance bought both products. 28 29 19 2
What Should You Confirm in Armilla and Pie Insurance Quotes?
- Confirm all employee states and classifications in the Pie proposal, including the current carrier and claims administrator for each location. 19 29
- Record payroll reporting, audit and payment charges separately from Armilla assessment, retesting, premium and warranty costs. 25 27 7
- For any partner cyber/E&O quote, obtain the issuer and AI wording; for Armilla, resolve California access and whether the instrument is insurance or a warranty. 13 1 2
Armilla vs Pie Insurance Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Armilla | Pie Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Armilla offers AI insurance, performance warranties and model assessments, but the insurer—not the brand—takes on policy risk. Armilla describes its insurance operation as an MGA and Armilla Insurance Services as a Lloyd’s coverholder. 3,1,6Company-reported. Company descriptions of the Armilla brand and insurance operation; delegated authority and producer licensing have not been independently verified. The reviewed corporate record identifies Armilla Insurance Services Inc. but does not establish California insurance authority; verify the licensed producer on your quote. Florida’s registry lists the company as a Delaware corporation. 8Verified. Exact entity spelling in corporate filing F24000002598, inspected on September 16, 2026. No California producer lookup was completed. | Small businesses can buy Pie’s workers’ compensation directly or through agents; affiliated insurers underwrite workers’ comp, while outside insurers provide some other Pie products. 10,13,11,15,16,17,18Company-reported. Current public Pie brand and US small-business insurance services; this describes group roles, not a promise that every product is available to every applicant. If parent-company ownership matters, Pie Group Holdings, Inc. owns the website and is regulator-listed parent of Pie Casualty; AM Best identifies the insurer group as Pie Insurance Group. 12,32,30Verified. Website ownership and the parent shown for Pie Casualty Insurance Company; no claim about voting control or every intermediate subsidiary. Pie Insurance Services, Inc. is the producer that sells and administers policies; verify its current license in your state because Pie’s own license page is not regulator confirmation. 13,33Company-reported. Producer identity and Pie-published US license list; Wisconsin’s regulator separately identifies this entity in a 2024 administrative action. |
| Access to insurers | Ask for the insurer and syndicate named on your quote: Armilla names certain Lloyd’s underwriters and lists Chaucer, Axis Capital and Convex as backing partners, but does not identify the contracting insurer for each quote. 1,3Company-reported. AI liability only. Partner names do not establish that each participates in every placement; no ratings independently verified. Before relying on a performance warranty, identify who owes the remedy and whether you have rights against a backing insurer; the brief lists Chaucer Group, Greenlight Re and Swiss Re but does not name the legal warranty issuer or California contract. 4Company-reported. Warranty partner disclosure only; no inference that backing partners directly insure the enterprise buyer. | Pie workers’ compensation is written by The Pie Insurance Company and affiliates; AM Best says all business moved to The Pie Insurance Company and Pie Casualty Insurance Company as of January 1, 2024. 13,30,31,32Verified. Pie’s workers’ compensation program; the actual declarations page controls the issuing insurer for a specific policy and state. Pie Casualty has an A- (Excellent) financial-strength rating with Stable outlook from AM Best, affirmed April 24, 2026; this is an insurer-strength opinion, not a guarantee your claim will be covered. 30Verified. Pie Casualty Insurance Company and the consolidated Pie Insurance Group rating unit as identified in the disclosure report. For Pie’s BOP, GL, professional liability or cyber, ask which insurer would issue the policy; Pie says outside partners underwrite these lines but its reviewed pages do not name current partners. 13,15,16,17,18Not publicly disclosed. Current public BOP, cyber, general-liability and professional-liability/E&O pages; account-specific carrier access was not tested. |
| Fees and compensation | Request an itemized premium, assessment price and broker or policy charges: Armilla advertises broker commissions without rates and its general terms permit service fees without an insurance-specific schedule. 6,7Company-reported. Public broker compensation and generic website fees, not a policy-specific compensation disclosure. Company-reported commission model; amounts unresolved. | Workers’ comp buyers can choose annual, semiannual, quarterly, monthly or pay-as-you-go plans; pay-as-you-go follows reported payroll without a deposit, while monthly plans require 16.6% upfront and ten payments. 25,26Company-reported. Pie’s current workers’ compensation payment pages; actual availability and policy-specific charges need confirmation in the quote. Include Pie’s 3% card fee in your quote comparison for eligible new single-state workers’ comp policies, except in Florida, Nebraska, Maryland and Rhode Island; the page does not specify multi-state or renewal fees. 25Company-reported. Credit-card payments for new single-state workers’ compensation policies under the current payment-options page. Ask the state-specific price before requesting a waiver of subrogation because Pie charges for each specific or blanket waiver but publishes no amount. 24Not publicly disclosed. Workers’ compensation waiver requests through Pie’s published service process. Ask your agent what commission applies because Pie says partner agents earn commissions on workers’ comp policies, but current pages publish no standard rate. 29,13Not publicly disclosed. Agency-distributed workers’ compensation and other third-party placements; expired promotional incentives were not treated as current standard compensation. |
| Servicing and renewals | Armilla says buyers begin with an AI risk assessment before it customizes an insurance or warranty proposal. Confirm the assessment deliverables, monitoring and retesting terms in the proposal. 2Company-reported. Initial assessment described on the AI insurance page; reviewed evidence does not establish specific assessment deliverables, monitoring or retesting terms. Price monitoring and retesting separately unless the proposal includes them: reviewed pages do not explain insurance renewal or whether ongoing model monitoring is included in premium. 5,2Not publicly disclosed. Limited to public product and assessment pages reviewed September 16, 2026. | Pie policyholders can manage payments, download documents and request workers’ comp certificates online; custom certificates may require your agent. 23,24Company-reported. Published workers’ compensation account tutorial; authenticated features were not accessed or independently tested. Budget for a workers’ comp premium audit: Pie replaces estimated payroll with actual figures and may request payroll, employee, expense and subcontractor records, which can change your final premium. 27Company-reported. Pie workers’ compensation premium audit process; the page does not quantify any resulting additional charge or refund. Pie’s consumer FAQ describes a workers’ compensation renewal quote about 30 days before expiry for review and acceptance. Its agency FAQ says previews for policies under $20,000 go to the insured with the agency copied, while previews for policies over $20,000 go to the producer; unless otherwise notified, the deposit is drafted and the renewal issued five days before its effective date. The FAQ does not specify the exact-$20,000 case. Ask which notice and payment process applies to your account. 24,29Company-reported. Different company-published consumer and agency descriptions of workers’ compensation renewal. Neither guarantees renewal or unchanged terms; the account notice determines the applicable process. |
| Claims assistance | Before a claim, ask who receives notice and manages it: Armilla describes claims reported during the policy period and offers incident coordination, but reviewed pages do not name a claims administrator or provide a complete reporting process. 2,1Company-reported. Public claims framework and incident assistance only; no policy notice provisions or performance evidence reviewed. | Report workplace injuries to Pie within 24 hours through its form, phone or email; Pie says a claims professional follows up and assesses coverage and benefits. 28Company-reported. Published first-report process for Pie-serviced workers’ compensation claims; state notice rules and the issuing carrier’s policy still apply. Ask who handles your state’s workers’ comp claim: Pie says it manages claims in 34 states and CorVel in five, a split not reconciled with its separate 40-state-plus-DC availability. 29,19,30Conflicting sources. Public allocation of workers’ compensation claim handling; the current handler for an individual policy should be taken from its state kit and claim instructions. |
Sources for Armilla vs Pie Insurance
Armilla Official Website
- Armilla: AI Insurance. Armilla; Affirmative Insurance Built for AI Risk; Risk Teams; footer surplus-lines and Lloyd’s disclosures. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- AI Insurance – Lloyd’s Coverholder | Armilla AI. Armilla; Armilla Insured; Armilla Guaranteed; FAQ: getting started, warranty classification, claims framework and exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Armilla AI Insurance Brief. Armilla; Introduction identifying the MGA; Tailored Protection for AI Pioneers: standalone AI liability and Sample Coverage Areas; Industry Protection; footer on surplus-lines placement and Lloyd’s underwriting. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- AI Performance Warranty Brief. Armilla; Opening partner disclosure; AI Performance, Guaranteed; Real-World Protection Examples. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Armilla Assessments: AI Verification & Red-Teaming. Armilla; Active AI Risk Assessment; FAQ: testing process, ongoing support and starting an assessment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Armilla for Brokers: Specialized AI Coverage. Armilla; Coverage Options; Competitive Commissions; Flexible, Tech-Enabled Underwriting; broker appointment FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Armilla Terms of Service. Armilla; Last updated April 5th, 2023; sections 1 Agreement to Terms and 4 Fees and Payment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Detail by Entity Name: ARMILLA INSURANCE SERVICES INC. Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations; Entity name; Filing Information; document F24000002598. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Pie Insurance Official Website
- Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; Homepage: small-business audience; direct workers’ compensation quote; online account; footer entity, insurer and availability qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; About Pie; direct and agency distribution; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; Get a workers’ compensation quote online; insurance made for your small business; quote inputs; coverage description; quote-time and savings qualifications; AM Best link. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms Of Use. Pie Insurance; Updated 26 April 2022; Ownership and Agreement to Terms; geographic and product eligibility; policy controls coverage. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Legal. Pie Insurance; State Licenses; footer disclosure naming producer and workers’ compensation versus third-party underwriting roles. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Insurance — Quote. Pie Insurance; First step: Business ZIP Code. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Owner’s Policy. Pie Insurance; BOP definition; typical components; Make sure you’re covered: Start your BOP quote; footer third-party insurer qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance For Small Businesses. Pie Insurance; First- and third-party descriptions; carrier-partner quote invitation; policy-variation qualification. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Errors And Omissions Insurance. Pie Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance hero (E&O and professional liability equivalence); typical claims; Make sure you’re covered: insurance carrier partners, Start now; footer third-party professional liability insurers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance. Pie Insurance; Typical covered categories; Make sure you are covered: carrier-partner quote invitation; legal footer: third-party insurers not affiliated with Pie. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Workers’ Comp Coverage By State. Pie Insurance; Headline says 40 states and the District of Columbia; rendered state selector listed 39 state names and omitted New York and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Agency Document Library. Pie Insurance; Workers’ Comp State Documents: 40 named states plus Washington, D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Insurance Reports Strong 2025. Pie Insurance; 13 January 2026 release; Key 2025 Milestones says 39 states plus Washington, D.C.; company and distribution description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Auto Claim FAQs. Pie Insurance; Does Pie offer commercial auto insurance?; submission cutoff 1 December 2025; no new or renewal policies on or after 1 January 2026; legacy claim guidance. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Online Account Tutorial. Pie Insurance; Payment-method updates; instant and custom certificates; policy information; document access; agent-handled custom certificate qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workers’ Comp FAQs. Pie Insurance; Certificates; specific and blanket waiver requests, two-business-day response and state-dependent charge; Billing & Payments; Policy Renewal / When will I know it’s time to renew my policy? (approximately 30 days before expiry, quote for review and acceptance); Annual Audit; Claims. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Payment Options. Pie Insurance; Annual, semi-annual, quarterly, monthly and pay-as-you-go schedules; payment methods; 3% card fee and state exceptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pay-As-You-Go With Pie Insurance. Pie Insurance; No initial deposit; actual-payroll monthly premium; automatic deductions; payroll-provider coordination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- File Your Claim Within 24 Hours. Pie Insurance; Workers’ compensation reporting by online form, 24/7 phone or email; information requested; post-report coverage determination. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Partner FAQ. Pie Insurance; How does Pie handle claims? (workers’ compensation in 34 states; CorVel in Alaska, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico and Oregon); How does Pie pay commissions? (new and renewing policies, earned premium); How does Pie handle renewals? (30-day preview: under $20,000 to insured with agency copied, over $20,000 to producer; unless otherwise notified, deposit draft and renewal issuance five days before effective date; exact $20,000 case unstated); Renewal Billing. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- AM Best Rating Disclosure Report — Pie Casualty Insurance Company. AM Best Rating Services, Inc.; Page 1: A- (Excellent), Stable, affirmed 24 April 2026; page 14: rating unit, group insurer acquisitions, 100% workers’ compensation writing through PCIC and TPIC from 1 January 2024, 40 states and D.C. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Pie Insurance Company — Company Details. Missouri Department of Commerce and Insurance; Company name; active license status; NAIC 21857; property-and-casualty authority; 2025 workers’ compensation market data. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Pie Casualty Insurance Company — Entity Details. Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name; P&C Domestic Stock; active status; NAIC 10997; Pie Group Holdings, Inc. parent. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Administrative Actions — January 2024. Wisconsin Office of the Commissioner of Insurance; Allegations and Actions Against Companies: Pie Insurance Services, Inc. agreed to add a disclaimer to its “save up to 30%” advertising claim after misleading-advertising allegations. Accessed 2026-09-15.
