Coterie Insurance vs
Layr: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Coterie sells one set of small-business policies (BOP, general liability, professional liability) through your agent; Layr is not an insurer but the software and licensed service team behind your broker, able to shop workers' comp, auto and umbrella too.
An Overview of Coterie Insurance and Layr
If your independent agent moves you onto a Layr-powered portal, your broker stays the same but a Layr team may handle your certificates, renewals and payments. That can widen what your broker can quote: Layr's demo shows workers' comp, commercial auto, property, umbrella and cyber alongside general liability, while Coterie sells only a BOP, general liability and professional liability and doesn't write workers' comp or commercial auto. Choose Coterie if you just need a BOP or general liability policy bound quickly by your agent; choose a Layr-supported broker if you're hiring or adding vehicles and want one portal for several lines. 2 11 25 27
What Stands Out About Coterie Insurance and Layr?
Coterie Insurance at a Glance
- Agents can prepare and bind eligible small-business quotes from prefilled information in one dashboard. 5,6,2Company-reported. Company-described standard agent workflow; does not cover referrals, manual underwriting exceptions or every partner integration.
- Manage documents, certificates, policy changes and claim reports online, with agent help for coverage questions. 10,8Company-reported. Public policyholder resources; tool availability and authority to change coverage can depend on the policy and agent relationship.
Layr at a Glance
- Independent brokerages can offer small businesses workflow software and licensed help under the broker’s own brand. 25,26,28Company-reported. Current broker-facing business model described on Layr's live company, broker and portal pages; functions are company-reported and were not tested through an account.
- A broker-branded portal can organize policy documents, certificates, claims, renewals and payments, with licensed staff support. 28,35Company-reported. Company-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested.
Coterie Insurance vs Layr Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | Coterie Insurance | Layr |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Listed 2,13Coterie offers a business owner’s policy through its agent channel. | Not listed |
| General liability | Listed 2,3Coterie offers general liability policies for small businesses through its partner distribution. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 2,14Coterie lists miscellaneous professional liability for eligible small businesses in participating states. | Not listed |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Coterie Insurance and Layr Reliability Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Coterie Insurance Reliability Scores
Managing general agentCarrier & MGA
5.1/ 10Layr Reliability Scores
BrokerBroker
5.6/ 10Coterie Insurance and Layr Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Coterie Insurance Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Coterie’s BBB complaint record is a concern; its single Trustpilot review is too small a sample to offset that. Ask how complaints and service problems are resolved.
Read Coterie Insurance reviewsLayr Review Score
Review Score
No reviews found
Layr has no customer reviews of its insurance service yet. Its Trustpilot profile has no reviews, and its only rating is one review of its broker software.
Read Layr reviewsKey Differences Between Coterie Insurance and Layr
An Insurance Program vs Your Broker's Back Office
Coterie's dashboard lets your agent quote and bind its own programs; you get separate tools for billing, documents and requests. Layr sells a broker-branded experience: its staff handle sales and service while your brokerage keeps the broker-of-record role and its commissions. Ask your agency which requests now go to Layr and who still gives you advice. 6 10 25
Layr says it can use your broker's existing insurers and reach other markets through wholesalers. It doesn't publish an insurer list, so ask which insurer and product your account will actually use; the portal's branding won't tell you who pays a claim. 29
Lines You Can Get
Coterie's core is a BOP, general liability and miscellaneous professional liability, with optional add-ons such as cyber and hired/non-owned auto liability. Layr's current demo shows six lines, but that's an illustration, not a promise your broker offers all six. An older Layr referral page lists more products, yet most of its linked pages are dead, so don't rely on it. 2 12 27 36
Binding and Certificates
With Coterie, your agent reviews your details, picks coverage and binds eligible policies in one workflow. Layr describes you selecting coverage and paying online, then the submission going to underwriting. If a lease deadline is close, paying online isn't proof you're covered; ask for the written document that confirms your start date. 5 34
Coterie lets you generate certificates and request policy changes online. Layr's portal offers documents and certificates with licensed support. A certificate is routine; adding a new party to your coverage may need insurer approval, so ask who handles each. 10 28
Renewals and Claims
Layr says its team gathers updates, negotiates with underwriters and alerts customers 60 days before renewal when information is needed. Coterie policies can renew automatically. If you want to approve every renewal, say so in writing. 29 8
Coterie publishes its claim-reporting routes. Layr's portal includes claim functions and support, but Layr isn't the insurer, so keep the insurer's notice instructions from your policy. 11 28
What You Pay
Coterie publishes its charges: a policy fee, a $7 installment fee and a possible risk-program fee. Layr's disclosure says carriers pay it commission and that paying monthly by credit card can add a finance fee of up to 20% of premium. That can outweigh a small premium difference, so ask for the annual premium and total repayment side by side. 8 31
What Should You Confirm in Coterie Insurance and Layr Quotes?
- What changed? Your broker of record, service team, insurer and product before and after the portal move. 25 8
- Which lines your broker supports: Confirm any workers' comp or vehicle policy separately from your existing package. 29 27
- Who approves what: Binding confirmation, endorsements, renewal approval and who to call for an urgent claim. 28 10
- Finance fee: The exact rate and total repayment if you pay monthly, against Coterie's installment charge. 31 8
Coterie Insurance vs Layr Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Coterie Insurance | Layr |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Coterie is an agent-facing digital route for small-business insurance, so buyers need a licensed agent rather than a direct-to-consumer marketplace. It operates as a managing general agency and platform for agents, brokers and partners. 1,6,19Company-reported. Current public positioning of the Coterie brand and platform; does not establish the risk-bearing insurer for a policy. Coterie Applications, Inc. provides the platform under the website terms. The website also identifies Coterie Insurance Agency, LLC as an agency through which it offers insurance. 8,1Company-reported. Provider-disclosed platform and agency identities only; this fact does not assert a Florida member relationship or a Massachusetts license interval. Coterie's website lists multiple investors, and Allianz X records Coterie as a current direct investment after leading a 2025 Series C round. The reviewed sources do not establish an acquisition, a controlling parent or Coterie's complete current ownership table. 1,19,20,22Not found in reviewed sources. Public investor and corporate sources reviewed through September 15, 2026; beneficial ownership was not independently established. | Layr Holdings, Inc. operates withlayr.com and markets the Layr Apex platform and licensed support service. Public materials describe Layr handling sales, service and support while its brokerage customer keeps the broker-of-record relationship; they do not identify Layr as the insurer underwriting every policy. 32,24,25,28Company-reported. Entity and functional roles in current public materials. The precise producer role can depend on the partner arrangement and proposed policy. The reviewed sources identify Layr Holdings, Inc., its leaders and several investors, but do not disclose a current controlling parent or ownership percentages. 32,33,35Not found in reviewed sources. Current website operator and public ownership review. Investor participation is not treated as control, and no independence claim is made. Layr says a participating brokerage can offload small-business sales, service and support to Layr while retaining broker-of-record status and 100% of its commissions. 25,29Company-reported. Broker-facing Layr Apex arrangement as marketed publicly; actual allocation of duties and compensation depends on the brokerage agreement. |
| Application process | A licensed agent starts a quote in Coterie's dashboard with the client's business name and address, selects the principal industry, confirms or edits prefilled details, customizes coverage and pays to bind an eligible policy. Business owners who do not already have an agent can use Coterie's agent finder. 5,6,2Company-reported. Company-described standard agent workflow; does not cover referrals, manual underwriting exceptions or every partner integration. Eligible standard risks may get a quote in under two minutes, according to Coterie, but a quote is not coverage until eligibility is confirmed, underwriting approves it and the policy is issued. 6,8Company-reported. Marketing speed statement and controlling website terms; no independent timing test was performed. | Layr describes an online workflow in which a small-business owner assesses and selects coverage, pays, and then has the submission sent to underwriting. Current pages use different speed claims—10 minutes on New Business Capture and 12 minutes in a 2024 announcement—so neither figure establishes the time to receive or bind an actual quote. 27,34Conflicting sources. Company-described digital workflow. No form was completed and no quote, payment or underwriting decision was requested during research. |
| Access to insurers | Check the insurer named on every Coterie policy: carrier partners issue coverage, with a separate Spinnaker Specialty route for surplus policies beginning CSE and Spinnaker Insurance Company named for eligible coastal Texas BOPs. 8,11,17Company-reported. Public carrier disclosures reviewed for the general platform, surplus-lines claim routing and the September 2026 coastal Texas BOP program; not an exhaustive carrier map. | Layr says it works with major national insurers, accesses other markets through wholesalers and can use a brokerage customer's existing carriers. It does not publish a current legal-entity carrier panel or promise that every market will quote every account. 29Company-reported. Current broker FAQ; no carrier appointments, financial-strength ratings or account-specific market access independently verified. The reviewed current product, portal and FAQ pages do not identify the issuing insurer or policy form for each available product. Those details must come from the actual proposal and policy. 27,30,29Not publicly disclosed. Current platform and FAQ pages plus previously reviewed cyber product material. The dedicated cyber page is no longer available; that is not a finding that Layr lacks insurer relationships. |
| Servicing and renewals | Policyholders can manage documents, certificates, policy changes and claim reports online; use your agent or broker for coverage questions. Coterie also provides sample forms to help you review proposed terms. 10,8Company-reported. Public policyholder resources; tool availability and authority to change coverage can depend on the policy and agent relationship. Businesses with multiple locations should ask about separate policies because Coterie’s FAQ says each location needs its own policy. 10Company-reported. General policyholder FAQ as of September 15, 2026; confirm how mailing, temporary, project and additional locations are treated in the proposed form. Set renewal preferences before the next term: most Coterie policies are 12 months and may renew automatically, with charges using the saved payment method unless the policy says otherwise. 8Company-reported. Website terms effective December 16, 2025; the proposed policy, renewal notice and applicable state law control. | Layr markets a white-labeled portal with licensed support and broker dashboard updates for policies, renewals, claims and payments. A company release also describes policyholder access to documents, quotes, claims, certificates, bills and electronic payments. 28,35Company-reported. Company-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested. Layr says its team gathers updates, negotiates renewal terms with underwriters and finalizes renewal documents. It describes automatic-renewal policies as hands-free and says customers whose policies need updated information are alerted 60 days before renewal. 29Company-reported. Current FAQ description. It does not state the notice needed to stop an automatic renewal or guarantee a renewal offer. |
| Fees and compensation | Include Coterie’s fees in your total-cost comparison: terms list a variable one-time new/renewal policy fee, $7 installment fee, up to $10 late fee and up to $35 insufficient-funds fee; amounts vary by state and line and some are nonrefundable. 8Company-reported. Website fee terms effective December 16, 2025; not every fee applies to every policy or state. Ask whether a Coterie policy includes a Manage My Risk Program fee; it is earned when paid and nonrefundable after midterm cancellation, but its amount is not published. 8Company-reported. Manage My Risk Program terms effective December 16, 2025; applicability and the quoted fee require account-specific disclosure. Ask whether your agent receives commission or other compensation because Coterie says it may pay commissions through a third-party processor; public sources do not state the rate for your policy. 9,8Company-reported. Public privacy and platform terms; no producer agreement or account-specific compensation disclosure was reviewed. | Layr's current broker FAQ says Layr receives a percentage of premium while the brokerage keeps 100% of commissions. A separate consumer-facing disclosure says carriers pay Layr a commission and businesses may pay a finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The pages do not reconcile which arrangement applies to a particular broker, policyholder or payment plan. 29,31Conflicting sources. Two public compensation descriptions for different apparent audiences. Actual agreements and itemized charges were not available. Layr's consumer-facing compensation disclosure says a business that uses its monthly credit-card payment arrangement can pay a percentage-based finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The page does not provide an account-specific rate, total repayment or cancellation terms. 31Company-reported. Public compensation disclosure; current applicability to every Layr Apex implementation or payment option is not established. |
Sources for Coterie Insurance vs Layr
Coterie Insurance Official Website
- About Coterie Insurance. Coterie Insurance; Agent and broker focus; company history; investors; agency name, NPN and Wisconsin license in footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance for Small Businesses. Coterie Insurance; General Liability, Business Owners Policies and Professional Liability sections: About business owners policies (BOP), About general liability (GL) policies (offered through partners), About professional liability (MPL) policies; Find an Agent; agent distribution; footer agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance for Small Business. Coterie Insurance; General liability product page: How General Liability Insurance Works; Common Questions, including standalone or BOP; Find an Agent. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Owner's Policy for Small Businesses. Coterie Insurance; Package components and exclusions from the typical BOP description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Agents and Business Insurance Brokers. Coterie Insurance; How It Works steps; nationwide product statement; dashboard service statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Instant Bindable Small Business Insurance Quotes for Agents. Coterie Insurance; Built for Agents and Brokers; online workflow; core lines; endorsements; availability sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Quick Start: Quote and Bind Small Business Insurance With Coterie. Coterie Insurance; Five-Step Quote-to-Bind Workflow and Does Coterie Work in All 50 States sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms and Conditions. Coterie Insurance; Effective December 16, 2025; Sections 1, 5, 6 and 10. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Privacy Policy. Coterie Insurance; Introduction; Section 6, Payment and Commissions Processing; carrier privacy links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Policyholder Resources. Coterie Insurance; Account, policy-change, certificate, claims, multiple-location and sample-policy sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Claims. Coterie Insurance; Reporting routes; response timing; settlement timing; excluded workers' compensation and auto claims; cyber and workplace-violence FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie Insurance Endorsements. Coterie Insurance; Cyber, Workplace Violence, Employment Practices, Restaurant, Liquor Liability and Contractors Equipment list; product caveat. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- BOP Product Overview. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1–5: Business Owners Policy Product Highlights for Agents and Brokers; eligibility criteria, base property and liability coverages, additional extensions and mandatory forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Miscellaneous Professional Liability Policy Overview and Product Highlights. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1–7: purpose, eligible professions and operations, unavailable jurisdictions and state availability, limits, claims-made terms and exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance Overview. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1-2: coverage, criteria, limits and Cyberscout services. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Workplace Violence Insurance Overview. Coterie Insurance; Pages 1-2: endorsement status, criteria, services and limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie's Coastal Business Insurance Appetite. Coterie Insurance; September 11, 2026 state-by-state coastal BOP eligibility, limits, exclusions and Texas carrier statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Current Moratoriums. Coterie Insurance; Active BOP catastrophe moratoriums, updated September 2-4, 2026; effect on new business and changes. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Allianz X Announces Strategic Investment in Coterie Insurance. Coterie Insurance and Allianz X; September 11, 2025 announcement; MGA role; Series C investment and reinsurance relationship. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Allianz X Portfolio and News. Allianz X; Current Direct Investments and September 11, 2025 Coterie strategic-investment entry. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie BOP and GL Products Available Through Progressive. Coterie Insurance; November 20, 2025 agency relationship and Progressive BusinessQuote Explorer distribution scope. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Coterie Insurance Agency, LLC Entity Record. Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations; Active foreign LLC record; January 6, 2026 annual report; Coterie Applications, Inc. listed as member. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Licensed Property and Casualty Agencies. Massachusetts Division of Insurance; Coterie Insurance Agency, LLC; license 19000811; approval period December 28, 2025 through December 28, 2026. Accessed 2026-09-15.
Layr Official Website
- Grow Your Broker Profits. Layr; Homepage service proposition; broker audience; footer naming Layr Holdings, Inc.; official logo asset. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Software for Insurance Brokers & Agents. Layr; Streamlined Efficiency; Reduce the Drag: Layr handles sales, service and support while the brokerage retains broker-of-record status and commissions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- The Team Improving Insurance Technology. Layr; Mission; small-business market; broker-focused technology; leadership and investor logos. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- New Business Capture from Layr — Quote Policies in 10 Min. Layr; Faster Quotes hero and official SmartQuote illustration listing General Liability, Commercial Auto Liability, Property, Workers Compensation, Umbrella, and Cyber Liability & Data Breach. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Online Portal with Cyber Security for Insurance Companies. Layr; Layr Apex introduction; licensed support team; policyholder activity, portfolio and white-label dashboard descriptions; official dashboard asset. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Insurance Technology Frequently Asked Questions. Layr; Product library; carrier and wholesaler access; renewal process and 60-day collection timing; white labeling; premium-based compensation. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Cyber Liability Insurance. Layr; Policy Overview; Key Protected Threats; Coverage Details; online-purchase call to action (page no longer available as of 15 September 2026). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Explanation of Pricing. Layr; Simplified Pricing: carrier commissions and business finance fee up to 20% of premium; flexible payments, portal and certificate descriptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms of Use. Layr; Service operated by Layr Holdings, Inc.; Purchases; Availability, Errors and Inaccuracies; Accounts; last updated 1 April 2018. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Leadership Team. Layr; Current leadership and investor-logo section. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Layr Welcomes New CEO Mark Hara. Layr; 17 October 2024 announcement: broker and agency audience, small-business selection and payment workflow, underwriting handoff, and brokerages across the U.S. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Layr Secures $10 Million Investment to Bridge the Small Business Insurance Tech Gap for Brokers. Layr via GlobeNewswire; 1 November 2023 company release: financing participants, broker-facing business model, licensed support, policyholder portal functions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Parcel Pro Customers Now Have Access to Additional Insurance Solutions Through Layr. Layr; 2021-branded referral page: policy list, online application, portal, financing and certificate claims (cyber page no longer available as of 15 September 2026). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Licensed Property and Casualty Agencies. Massachusetts Division of Insurance; 2026 list entry for Layr Holdings, Inc., license 17853851, original approval 17 March 2021, renewal date 17 March 2027. Accessed 2026-09-15.
