At-Bay vs Layr: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?

Brokerages can use Layr’s policy-workflow and service tools; businesses seeking technology insurance can access At-Bay products through a broker.

An Overview of At-Bay and Layr

If your current broker is helpful but policy documents and renewals are hard to manage, Layr may provide workflow tools through that broker; At-Bay is a separate specialist policy option distributed through brokers. 15 18 1 6 Choose Layr when your broker offers the portal and administration is the gap; choose At-Bay if you need a technology E&O or cyber policy.

What Stands Out About At-Bay and Layr?

At-Bay at a Glance

  • Combine technology E&O and cyber protection in one policy. 2Company-reportedProduct highlights, not an issued policy or universal contract coverage.
  • Eligible policyholders get monitoring, training and cyber-advisor access; managed detection and response costs extra. 7Company-reportedCurrent service descriptions and footnotes; no claims of effectiveness or independent testing.

Layr at a Glance

  • Independent brokerages can offer small businesses workflow software and licensed help under the broker’s own brand. 15,16,18Company-reportedCurrent broker-facing business model described on Layr's live company, broker and portal pages; functions are company-reported and were not tested through an account.
  • A broker-branded portal can organize policy documents, certificates, claims, renewals and payments, with licensed staff support. 18,25Company-reportedCompany-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested.

At-Bay vs Layr Coverage Lines Compared

CoverageAt-BayLayr
Cyber liabilityListed 3At-Bay offers primary and excess cyber insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 4At-Bay offers primary miscellaneous professional liability insurance.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 2At-Bay offers primary and excess technology errors and omissions insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion.Not listed

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

At-Bay and Layr Reliability Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

At-Bay and Layr Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

At-Bay Review Score

9.5/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

At-Bay’s public review evidence is thin: one old G2 review and a BBB complaint record. It is not enough to judge day-to-day service or claims handling.

Read At-Bay reviews

Layr Review Score

–/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

Layr has no customer reviews of its insurance service yet. Its Trustpilot profile has no reviews, and its only rating is one review of its broker software.

Read Layr reviews

Key Differences Between At-Bay and Layr

The Broker Can Remain in Place

Layr says participating brokers retain their client relationship and commissions, and can use existing carrier relationships. Its presence should therefore prompt a responsibility check: which firm advises on coverage, which services requests, and which submits to insurers? At-Bay’s platform supports quoting its products; it is not evidence that a Layr-supported brokerage has access to them. 15 19 6

A Portal Does Not Establish the Cyber Form

Layr’s current materials illustrate several business lines, but the reviewed dedicated cyber page was unavailable. That leaves cyber terms unresolved, rather than proving the product unavailable. At-Bay publishes a combined Tech E&O description that can be used to request a specific proposal. Compare the actual policy arranged through the broker, not Layr’s portal features with an insurance form. 17 20 2

Separate Administration, Financing and Security Costs

Layr’s disclosures describe different compensation arrangements and a finance fee for an applicable monthly-payment arrangement. That is not a universal surcharge. At-Bay’s Embedded Security Fee relates to Stance services, with MDR separately purchased. Ask for charges by legal payee and purpose before comparing installment totals. 21 22 7

What Should You Confirm in At-Bay and Layr Insurance Quotes?

Request the servicing agreement, broker-of-record identity, proposed insurer and California eligibility. Identify who handles renewal data, certificates and claims notice, and whether monthly payments create a separate financing obligation. Layr’s renewal support and At-Bay’s security program should each have a named owner on the account. 18 19 7

At-Bay vs Layr Services Compared

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaAt-BayLayr
Business role

At-Bay offers cyber, technology E&O and miscellaneous professional liability, with coverage described as underwritten by non-admitted insurers. At-Bay Insurance Services LLC is its disclosed property-and-casualty agency and surplus-lines broker. 1,5Company-reportedUS brand and disclosed producer; company statements, not regulatory verification.

Layr Holdings, Inc. operates withlayr.com and markets the Layr Apex platform and licensed support service. Public materials describe Layr handling sales, service and support while its brokerage customer keeps the broker-of-record relationship; they do not identify Layr as the insurer underwriting every policy. 22,14,15,18Company-reportedEntity and functional roles in current public materials. The precise producer role can depend on the partner arrangement and proposed policy.

The reviewed sources identify Layr Holdings, Inc., its leaders and several investors, but do not disclose a current controlling parent or ownership percentages. 22,23,25Not found in reviewed sourcesCurrent website operator and public ownership review. Investor participation is not treated as control, and no independence claim is made.

Layr says a participating brokerage can offload small-business sales, service and support to Layr while retaining broker-of-record status and 100% of its commissions. 15,19Company-reportedBroker-facing Layr Apex arrangement as marketed publicly; actual allocation of duties and compensation depends on the brokerage agreement.

Application process

An online quote is not bound coverage; At-Bay’s broker process still requires application review, chosen limits and retentions, documents, effective date, contingencies and signatures before binding. 6,4Company-reportedPublic broker workflow; no application submitted and no speed guarantee inferred.

Layr describes an online workflow in which a small-business owner assesses and selects coverage, pays, and then has the submission sent to underwriting. Current pages use different speed claims—10 minutes on New Business Capture and 12 minutes in a 2024 announcement—so neither figure establishes the time to receive or bind an actual quote. 17,24Conflicting sourcesCompany-described digital workflow. No form was completed and no quote, payment or underwriting decision was requested during research.

Servicing and renewals

Eligible policies may include Stance monitoring, fraud defense, employee training and cyber-advisor access, but the Embedded Security Fee and endorsement apply; MDR is a separate purchase from At-Bay Security, LLC. 7Company-reportedCurrent service descriptions and footnotes; no claims of effectiveness or independent testing.

You can buy optional MDR for endpoint and email protection, or MXDR for endpoint, email, identity and cloud; At-Bay says these can be bought beyond policyholders too. Confirm service eligibility and any conditional coverage enhancements or premium credits. 7Company-reportedSecurity services, not additional insurance coverage lines; comparable approved solutions may also qualify.

Avoid an unwanted automatic renewal by confirming your dashboard route and deadlines: At-Bay describes rapid and manual renewals, and says rapid renewals bind automatically 15 days before expiry. 6Company-reportedCompany-described workflow; no promise of unchanged renewal price or terms.

Layr markets a white-labeled portal with licensed support and broker dashboard updates for policies, renewals, claims and payments. A company release also describes policyholder access to documents, quotes, claims, certificates, bills and electronic payments. 18,25Company-reportedCompany-described platform functions. No authenticated broker or policyholder account was accessed, and no service-time commitment was independently tested.

Layr says its team gathers updates, negotiates renewal terms with underwriters and finalizes renewal documents. It describes automatic-renewal policies as hands-free and says customers whose policies need updated information are alerted 60 days before renewal. 19Company-reportedCurrent FAQ description. It does not state the notice needed to stop an automatic renewal or guarantee a renewal offer.

Fees and compensation

Add security charges separately when comparing total cost: Stance has an Embedded Security Fee and endorsement, while MDR is purchased separately from premium and broker charges. 7Company-reportedDoes not describe included security as free or quote an unverified fee amount.

Ask for the full price and compensation disclosure because reviewed At-Bay pages do not publish commission rates, broker arrangements or complete placement fees; this gap does not mean those charges are absent. 2,6,10Not publicly disclosedScoped review of listed public pages on September 16, 2026; not a site-wide or contractual finding.

Layr's current broker FAQ says Layr receives a percentage of premium while the brokerage keeps 100% of commissions. A separate consumer-facing disclosure says carriers pay Layr a commission and businesses may pay a finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The pages do not reconcile which arrangement applies to a particular broker, policyholder or payment plan. 19,21Conflicting sourcesTwo public compensation descriptions for different apparent audiences. Actual agreements and itemized charges were not available.

Layr's consumer-facing compensation disclosure says a business that uses its monthly credit-card payment arrangement can pay a percentage-based finance fee of up to 20% of premium. The page does not provide an account-specific rate, total repayment or cancellation terms. 21Company-reportedPublic compensation disclosure; current applicability to every Layr Apex implementation or payment option is not established.

Sources

27 documents, numbered as cited.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, email The General Average with the page URL and supporting source.

Comparisons Related to At-Bay vs Layr

  • At-Bay publishes cyber, technology E&O and professional-liability routes with security services; AIG lists broader commercial products and broker tools.

  • Compare AIG’s insurance group with Layr’s broker-facing insurance workflow platform and licensed support model.

  • At-Bay's technology E&O discusses service-credit claims and separate Stance security services; Alliance Risk reviews technology contracts and existing coverage.

All Comparisons

Want someone to handle this for you?

Spot, which publishes this research, gets quotes from 50+ providers, picks the options that fit your coverage and budget, and manages renewals after you buy. The first consultation is free. Book a free consultation