At-Bay vs
Hiscox: How Do They Compare for Business Insurance?
Eligible small businesses can quote Hiscox policies online; software companies seeking broker-accessed technology E&O and cyber can consider At-Bay.
An Overview of At-Bay and Hiscox
A small business may need property and premises protection as well as professional liability: Hiscox quotes eligible BOP, cyber and professional-liability policies online, while At-Bay’s Tech E&O combines professional liability and cyber and charges separately for Stance services. 2 29 7 23 Choose Hiscox if you need an eligible BOP or small-business policy online; choose At-Bay if your software work needs combined Tech E&O/cyber and broker access.
What Stands Out About At-Bay and Hiscox?
At-Bay at a Glance
- Combine technology E&O and cyber protection in one policy. 2Company-reported. Product highlights, not an issued policy or universal contract coverage.
- Eligible policyholders get monitoring, training and cyber-advisor access; managed detection and response costs extra. 7Company-reported. Current service descriptions and footnotes; no claims of effectiveness or independent testing.
Hiscox at a Glance
- You can buy Hiscox’s core small-business policies online, and they’re usually issued by its own insurer rather than a partner. Hiscox Inc. is the producer; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is the affiliated insurer named for Hiscox NOW products. 18,17Company-reported. Legal roles stated in current terms (last modified May 28, 2024) and the About Hiscox US page. Exact contracting entity still depends on product, channel and policy.
- Eligible buyers can quote Hiscox general liability, professional liability/E&O, cyber and a business owner’s policy online. 29,20,21,22,23,15Company-reported. Current Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility.
At-Bay vs Hiscox Coverage Lines Compared
| Coverage | At-Bay | Hiscox |
|---|---|---|
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 23Hiscox offers business owner’s policies for small businesses. |
| Cyber liability | Listed 3At-Bay offers primary and excess cyber insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion. | Listed 22,15Hiscox offers cyber insurance for small businesses. |
| General liability | Not listed | Listed 20Hiscox offers general liability insurance for small businesses. |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 4At-Bay offers primary miscellaneous professional liability insurance. | Listed 21,15Hiscox offers professional errors and omissions insurance for small businesses. |
| Technology errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 2At-Bay offers primary and excess technology errors and omissions insurance for businesses with revenue up to $5 billion. | Not listed |
| Workers’ compensation | Not listed | Listed 24Hiscox provides access to workers’ compensation underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance Company and requires a general liability policy. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
At-Bay and Hiscox Coverage, Line by Line
Open what At-Bay and Hiscox each document for one coverage line.
Cyber Insurance
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
At-Bay and Hiscox Reliability Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
At-Bay Reliability Scores
Hybrid providerBroker
5.2/ 10Carrier & MGA
7.1/ 10Hiscox Reliability Scores
Hybrid providerBroker
5.4/ 10Carrier & MGA
6.7/ 10At-Bay and Hiscox Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
At-Bay Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
At-Bay’s public review evidence is thin: one old G2 review and a BBB complaint record. It is not enough to judge day-to-day service or claims handling.
Read At-Bay reviewsHiscox Review Score
Review Score
4 rated sources
Hiscox’s review results are sharply divided: low Trustpilot and ConsumerAffairs scores contrast with strong Feefo feedback. Service quality deserves closer scrutiny before purchase.
Read Hiscox reviewsKey Differences Between At-Bay and Hiscox
Specialist Paper Versus Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.
At-Bay’s August 2023 announcement said eligible new excess-and-surplus cyber and technology E&O business would be quoted on At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper, but this historical statement does not identify the insurer on a current California quote. Current miscellaneous professional-liability materials do not name the issuer, while a September 2023 note named United Specialty. Hiscox identifies the insurer for its described online small-business products. 11 4 37 17 36
Combined Tech E&O and Stance Versus Hiscox Packaged Cyber
At-Bay describes Tech E&O as combining professional liability and cyber (coding errors, failed implementations). Stance vulnerability monitoring is tied to an Embedded Security Fee; MDR/MXDR is purchased separately. Hiscox markets professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy (BOP), which combines general liability with commercial property. These public descriptions do not establish equivalent forms or Hiscox security services. 2 7 29 23
How Quoting Works
At-Bay’s broker workflow is application, limits, documents, effective date. Hiscox accepts online applications from eligible small businesses. At-Bay markets miscellaneous professional liability (MPL) for professional-service claims, with limits up to $5 million on the reviewed page; that is not the same form as Hiscox’s BOP. Ask which professional-services wording and separate premises/property protection the business needs. 6 4 23
What Should You Confirm in At-Bay and Hiscox Quotes?
-
Issuing company for At-Bay cyber/Tech E&O and MPL, and Hiscox’s proposed policy. 11 4 17
-
Professional-services wording versus the Hiscox BOP: identify the work insured, premises/property protection, class and state eligibility, limits and exclusions. 4 23 36
-
Stance and MDR charges separate from premium and broker compensation. 7
-
California surplus-lines or admitted route and the written effective date for each proposal. 5
At-Bay vs Hiscox Services Compared
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | At-Bay | Hiscox |
|---|---|---|
| Access to insurers | Do not assume a past carrier announcement identifies today’s insurer: At-Bay’s 2023 announcement said eligible new E&S Cyber and Tech E&O would use At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company, but it does not settle a current California quote or MPL issuer. 11Company-reported. Historical announcement effective August 7, 2023; no buyer-specific policy reviewed. Ask who will issue your MPL policy: the current product page names no insurer, and a 2023 announcement naming United Specialty Company does not establish the present carrier or California availability. 4,13Not found in reviewed sources. Current issuer not established; preserve source spelling without converting historical brand wording into a verified legal-entity record. | Hiscox NOW appetite and About Hiscox US say admitted small-business products described there are underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., a Chicago-based insurer licensed in all 50 states and D.C. The California Department of Insurance independently identifies that company as an Illinois-domiciled property-and-casualty insurer, NAIC 10200, California Company ID 1439-9, authorized in California since 14 September 1953 with unlimited-normal status. Hiscox’s California marketing page also cites Illinois license number 8754, which is not the CDI company ID; reconcile names and numbers on the quote. 37,38,17,36,19Verified. Admitted Hiscox NOW GL, professional liability, cyber and BOP as described in 2026 appetite and About pages, plus CDI/Illinois regulator records for the named insurer. Regulator authorization is not proof that a given class is written in California today. Hiscox describes several separate partner routes: workers’ compensation underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance Company, medical malpractice through unaffiliated NOW Insurance, and short-term liability through Thimble with Markel Insurance Company. Its other-insurance page currently directs buyers to Tivly for umbrella, employment practices liability, commercial property and inland marine. The reviewed commercial-auto destination does not identify the previously named referral partner. Confirm the current route and issuing insurer on the quote; do not assume the issuer is Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. 24,41,26,27,42Company-reported. Product-specific partner routes in the retained September 29 review. The current reviewed commercial-auto destination does not establish a referral partner; confirm the quote route and issuer. Hiscox Inc. says it is an approved Lloyd’s coverholder and underwrites surplus-lines business on behalf of Lloyd’s Syndicates 33 and 3624, with U.S. surplus-lines placements made by licensed surplus-lines brokers. Terms also say Hiscox Inc. may place admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates. That surplus-lines route is described as distinct from the online small-business catalogue. 17,18Company-reported. Company disclosures on About Hiscox US and website terms. This does not establish that a California online small-business quote uses Lloyd’s paper. |
| Coverage lines | Technology companies can compare one Tech E&O product for professional and cyber exposures, including coding errors, failed implementations and customer contractual indemnity; service-credit damages remain subject to policy terms. 2Company-reported. Product highlights, not an issued policy or universal contract coverage. At-Bay’s cyber policy may address business interruption, system failure, extortion, privacy liability and financial fraud such as social engineering or invoice manipulation; your quote and policy set the actual limits and conditions. 3Company-reported. Current cyber product offering; components are not separate catalogue products. Businesses needing miscellaneous professional liability can ask At-Bay about primary coverage with limits up to $5 million and a tailored definition of professional services; state restrictions apply, and the product is claims-made-and-reported with a duty to defend. 4Company-reported. Current MPL page; eligibility and policy wording remain underwriting-specific. If you need limits above primary Cyber or Tech E&O, At-Bay lists excess options for those lines; this does not establish a general commercial umbrella policy. 3,2Company-reported. Shared umbrella-excess key used only for explicitly marketed excess products. | Hiscox directly markets and offers online quotes for general liability, professional liability (errors and omissions), cyber security insurance and a business owner’s policy that combines general liability with commercial property. IT pages present those same lines for technology consultants rather than a separately named technology E&O policy. Website examples and coverage lists are illustrative; the issued policy controls. 29,20,21,22,23,15Company-reported. Current Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility. Hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime are described as upgrades to a Hiscox business owner’s policy, not standalone Hiscox policies. Crime is not sold separately and is not available in all states. HNOA is tied to the BOP occurrence limit and does not replace commercial auto for vehicles the business owns or regularly operates. 33,34,23Company-reported. Current HNOA and commercial-crime product pages. Availability by state and class was not independently matrixed beyond those pages and the 2026 appetite guide. Hiscox describes partner routes for workers’ compensation through Hartford Fire Insurance Company, medical malpractice through unaffiliated NOW Insurance, and short-term liability through Thimble/Markel. Its other-insurance page directs buyers to Tivly for umbrella, employment practices liability, commercial property and inland marine. Confirm the current commercial-auto route and issuing insurer on the quote. These partner access paths do not establish that Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. issues the policy. 24,41,26,27,42,39Company-reported. Product-specific partner access. Broker-channel Hiscox C-Suite management liability is separate from the other-insurance referral route. |
| Application process | An online quote is not bound coverage; At-Bay’s broker process still requires application review, chosen limits and retentions, documents, effective date, contingencies and signatures before binding. 6,4Company-reported. Public broker workflow; no application submitted and no speed guarantee inferred. | Eligible small businesses can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and BOP online by entering a ZIP code and answering questions; Hiscox says policy documents and certificates follow issuance by email. Confirm eligibility and effective date before relying on coverage. 29,20,14Company-reported. Public quote-page and product-FAQ statements accessed 16 September 2026. Instant-coverage marketing is not a tested bind. Partner products use separate quote sites. |
| Claims assistance | After a cyber incident, At-Bay describes an in-house claims team, breach coach, response partners and incident-reporting routes; this documents its stated process, not claim payment or service quality. 8,9Company-reported. Cyber incident process; confirm policy-specific notice obligations and consent requirements, including non-cyber E&O claims. | You can start a Hiscox claim online, by phone or mail, and Hiscox says it assigns a claims professional to review coverage; products placed with partners may have different notice instructions, so use the contacts in your policy. 30,40,20Company-reported. Company-described Hiscox claims-center process. Hours differ across pages. Coverage and defense remain subject to the issuing insurer and policy. |
| Fees and compensation | Add security charges separately when comparing total cost: Stance has an Embedded Security Fee and endorsement, while MDR is purchased separately from premium and broker charges. 7Company-reported. Does not describe included security as free or quote an unverified fee amount. Ask for the full price and compensation disclosure because reviewed At-Bay pages do not publish commission rates, broker arrangements or complete placement fees; this gap does not mean those charges are absent. 2,6,10Not publicly disclosed. Scoped review of listed public pages on September 16, 2026; not a site-wide or contractual finding. | Hiscox advertises annual or monthly payment without additional fees for certain general-liability policies, and up to 5% savings when bundling eligible products; illustrative prices are not quotes. 20,19,23Company-reported. Company-stated payment options for described liability products. Partner policies may use different billing. No inference that every product or state has zero installment fees. Ask for any producer fees or commissions on your quote because reviewed Hiscox small-business pages do not publish a buyer-facing schedule; actual cost can vary with underwriting. 36,18,20Not publicly disclosed. Public consumer and agent appetite materials reviewed 16 September 2026. Absence of a schedule is not a finding that no producer compensation exists. |
Sources for At-Bay vs Hiscox
At-Bay Official Website
- Cyber, Tech E&O & Professional Liability Insurance. At-Bay; Product cards and agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights. At-Bay; Tech E&O Coverage Highlights; Primary & Excess Appetite; footnotes 1–7; state disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance. At-Bay; Cyber Coverage Highlights; Primary & Excess Appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- MPL Insurance: Coverage Highlights & Appetite. At-Bay; MPL Coverage Highlights; MPL Appetite; state restrictions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Licenses. At-Bay; Producer introduction; California row; agency and surplus-lines footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Broker Platform. At-Bay; How it works: Create a quote, Customize your quote, Bind your policy, Manage renewals; FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Stance. At-Bay; Real Protection Against Real Threats; Endpoint, Email, MXDR; footnotes 1 and 3–6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Claims Handling. At-Bay; At-Bay Cyber Incident Roadmap; The At-Bay Claims Team. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Response & Recovery. At-Bay; Minimize Downtime with One Partner; integration with claims process. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms of Service. At-Bay; US terms effective April 11, 2023: Insurance Product Terms; Payment Policy; Service. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Begins Issuing Policies on its own E&S Paper. At-Bay; August 9, 2023 release: opening paragraph and new-business transition effective August 7, 2023. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Surplus Tech E&O Appetite Guide. At-Bay; Pages 1–2; September 2023 copyright; revenue and limit statements; Restricted classes. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Doubles Miscellaneous Professional Liability Appetite. At-Bay; September 28, 2023 release: final paragraph before Media Contacts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Hiscox Official Website
- Hiscox Small Business Insurance. Hiscox; Product selector (GL, professional liability/E&O, cyber, workers compensation, commercial auto, medical malpractice, short-term liability); FAQ that Hiscox is licensed in 49 states and D.C. and unavailable in Alaska; partnership language for workers’ compensation; online quote statements. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- IT Professional & General Liability Insurance. Hiscox; IT/technology professional audience; general liability, BOP, professional liability/E&O and cyber security descriptions for IT businesses; illustrative cyber breach-response example. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for IT Consultants. Hiscox; IT consultant professional-liability and general-liability descriptions, including the phrase technology professional liability insurance as a label for E&O for IT work. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Hiscox US Insurance. Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Website Terms & Conditions of Use. Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- California Business Insurance. Hiscox; California product list (GL, professional liability, BOP, workers compensation, cyber); IT/technology profession link; payment-option and worldwide-claim-filing statements; footer that products are approved by the California Department of Insurance and underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware licensed producer; California d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency license no. 0F09668; coverage subject to underwriting and may not be available in all states; company-stated Illinois license number 8754. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance. Hiscox; Online quote; 49-state and D.C. availability with Alaska excluded; broker-referral if not sold online; payment annually or monthly with no additional fees; online 24/7 claim reporting; policy issued via email and certificate in welcome documents; illustrative California consultant pricing table labeled as illustrative; electronic data liability for IT professions; coverage subject to underwriting. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; Standalone cyber security/cyber liability product with online quote; data-breach, cyberattack and related-loss descriptions; licensed-agent phone number 1-833-816-2811. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Owner's Policy Insurance (BOP) Coverage. Hiscox; BOP as combined general liability and commercial property; optional packages including cyber, non-owned commercial auto, commercial crime and professional liability; illustrative California IT/technology consultant pricing table labeled with asterisks; worldwide-coverage qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Workers Compensation Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; Partnership with The Hartford; general liability required to purchase workers comp; not available for all classes; footer that coverage is made available through Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA and underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance, One Hartford Plaza, Hartford, CT 06155. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Auto Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; Commercial auto product page; quote redirect to a site not owned by Hiscox; customers referred to GEICO by Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA; products underwritten by Government Employees Insurance Company and affiliates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Medical Malpractice Insurance. Hiscox; Partnership with NOW Insurance for medical malpractice quotes; footer that NOW Insurance is not affiliated with the Hiscox group and that Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA provides access to coverage available through NOW Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Short-Term Liability Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; Partnership with Thimble for short-term general and professional liability; not available in all jurisdictions or classes; underwritten by Markel Insurance Company, Ten Parkway North, Deerfield, IL 60015. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Specific Business Insurance Coverages. Hiscox; Partnership with CyberPolicy for additional coverages including commercial auto, umbrella, directors and officers, and employment practices liability, with quote links to sme.cyberpolicy.com. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get A Small Business Insurance Quote. Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Start a Business Insurance Claim Online, by Phone or Mail. Hiscox; Online claim filing; phone 1-866-424-8508 with posted hours; specialized claims professional assignment; coverage validation; liability claims attorney-appointment description; broker-reported claims option; company marketing phrase award-winning claims service. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Manage your policy. Hiscox; Online account functions: download policy documents, certificates, authorized person, same-state address and business-name changes, loss runs, waiver of subrogation, certificate holder, document submission; phone-only changes including payment method, limits, new-state address, coverage adjustments and cancellation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get a Certificate of Insurance (COI). Hiscox; Online ACORD/certificate generation using policy number and policy email address. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Non-Owned Car Liability Insurance. Hiscox; Hired/non-owned auto described as an upgrade to a business owner’s policy and part of that policy’s occurrence limit, not coverage for vehicles owned or regularly operated by the business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial crime insurance for small businesses. Hiscox; Commercial crime as a BOP upgrade not sold separately; not available in all states. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. Hiscox; U.S. locations including Atlanta headquarters and a Los Angeles office; statement that Hiscox operates in 49 U.S. states and D.C. and offers specialty products through U.S. brokers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide. Hiscox; Document 23295 07/26; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP; state exceptions including BOP unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia; technology classes including IT consultants and software development; footer that products are made available through Hiscox Inc. d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA and underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; commission and premium may vary. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. Company Profile. California Department of Insurance; HISCOX INSURANCE COMPANY INC.; NAIC 10200; California Company ID 1439-9; authorized in California 09/14/1953; license status UNLIMITED-NORMAL; company type Property & Casualty; domicile Illinois; NAIC Group 4666 Hiscox Ins Grp; authorized lines including liability, fire, workers’ compensation, surety and others. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. Illinois Department of Insurance; Legal name HISCOX INSURANCE COMPANY INC.; P&C Domestic Stock; domicile County of Cook, Illinois; parent Hiscox Ltd.; status Active; NAIC 4666 10200; incorporated 11/26/1952; 125 South Wacker Drive Suite 2080 Chicago, IL 60606. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Management Liability Insurance Executive Risks. Hiscox; Broker-facing Hiscox C-Suite management liability and crime solution; statement we are no longer entertaining risks in the metro areas of California; add-on references to media, cyber, crime and technology. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- What is Professional Liability Insurance? Hiscox; Claims-made description; current-customer claim number 866-424-8508 described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Auto Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; The canonical commercial-auto URL currently resolves to a general small-business quote/coverage surface without the asserted GEICO referral. No evidence was found on the inspected page supporting that exact current partner assertion. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Specific Business Insurance Coverages. Hiscox; Current page names Tivly and lists umbrella, EPL, commercial property and inland marine. It does not support the rendered fact's CyberPolicy route for commercial auto/D&O/EPL/umbrella. Accessed 2026-09-29.
