---
title: "RiskCube Key Person Insurance"
description: "RiskCube brokers key person life insurance, a business-owned policy that pays the company a lump sum if the insured person dies."
canonical: "https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/key-person"
page-type: "offering-page"
updated-at: "2026-09-23"
provider: "riskcube"
coverage-line: "key-person"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and the insurance research The General Average publishes at https://thegeneralaverage.com. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Reliability Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Reliability Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/key-person)

## Agent Guide

**What this page is:** What RiskCube Key Person Insurance covers, who it fits and what to confirm before buying, drawn from the provider's public documents.

**Use this page when:** Cite this page for RiskCube Key Person Insurance specifically. For the general coverage explainer use /coverage/key-person; for the provider overall use its profile.

**Questions this page answers:**
- Does RiskCube Key Person Insurance offer this coverage?
- What does RiskCube Key Person Insurance cover and exclude?
- Who is RiskCube Key Person Insurance designed for?

**Key facts:**
- Provider slug `riskcube`; coverage line `key-person`.
- Start with the Quick Answer; the at-a-glance table shows which topics the sources document. Facts are grouped by topic under their own headings, and what the sources do not disclose is listed in its own section.

**Limits (do not over-claim):**
- Summarises public product descriptions; actual coverage is defined by the issued policy wording and endorsements.
- Availability varies by state, industry and underwriting.
- Not insurance, legal or financial advice, and not a quote, binder or offer of coverage.
- Eligibility, pricing, limits, exclusions and policy wording depend on the issuing insurer and the buyer's risk; confirm them with the provider before buying.

**Provenance:** Based on the dated public sources listed under Sources on the page; updated 2026-09-23.

**Related pages:**
- [Provider profile](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube) — parent: provider profile

# What Does Key Person Insurance from RiskCube Cover?

Product: RiskCube Key Person Life Insurance. Provider: RiskCube. Coverage line: Key Person Insurance.

## Quick Answer

RiskCube brokers key person life insurance, a business-owned policy that pays the company a lump sum if the insured person dies. [1](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups")

## RiskCube Key Person Insurance at a Glance

| Topic | Evidence | Claims |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Company-reported | 1 |
| Issuing Insurer | Not publicly disclosed | 1 |
| Who It’s For | Company-reported | 1 |
| Coverage Features | Company-reported | 1 |
| Limits and Retentions | Company-reported | 1 |
| Risk Services | Company-reported | 1 |
| How to Apply | Company-reported | 1 |
| Claims Support | Company-reported | 1 |

## What Is RiskCube’s Role in Key Person Insurance?

- RiskCube places key person life insurance as a business-owned policy in which the company is both the policy owner and beneficiary; RiskCube acts as broker and does not itself carry the risk. [1](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product page description of policy structure.)

## Who Is RiskCube Key Person Insurance For?

- RiskCube says key person coverage is most often driven by investor term-sheet closing conditions, venture-lender loan covenants (naming Hercules, Silicon Valley Bank and Western Technology Investment as examples), and is most commonly triggered for solo founders because there is no co-founder fallback. [1](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product-page description of typical buyers; a specific investor or lender requirement still governs the required amount.)

## What Coverage Features Does RiskCube Key Person Insurance Include?

- RiskCube lists the death of the insured person during the policy term as the covered event, paying the company a lump-sum benefit; disability, critical illness, voluntary departure or resignation, and a personal (non-company) beneficiary are excluded or handled separately, per the page's "What is not covered" section. [1](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Product-page summary of standard term life structure; the issued policy and any riders control.)

## What Limits and Retentions Does RiskCube Key Person Insurance Have?

- RiskCube says common key person benefit structures are 5-10x the key person's annual compensation, the outstanding venture-debt balance, or a fixed term-sheet amount commonly between $1 million and $5 million, with the exact amount set by the investor or lender rather than a RiskCube maximum. [1](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Illustrative structures from the FAQ; actual amount depends on underwriting and the specific investor or lender requirement.)

## What Risk Services Come With RiskCube Key Person Insurance?

- RiskCube says it can replace a key person policy when the insured individual changes, such as a change in CEO, to help maintain compliance with a venture-debt covenant. [1](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Single example cited on the product page; not a documented standard servicing process.)

## How Do You Apply for RiskCube Key Person Insurance?

- Applying involves two separate steps: a company-level digital intake describing the business and the proposed insured's role, and a separate proposed-insured process requiring the individual's own consent and, before medical or underwriting information is collected, carrier-specific authorization and application forms. [1](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") [2](https://riskcubeai.com/key-person-notice "Key Person Life Insurance Notice") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Combines the product page's process description with the notice's proposed-insured participation section.)

## How Does RiskCube Handle Key Person Insurance Claims?

- RiskCube's notice says a company or authorized party may require the proposed insured's separate written consent before any key person policy is submitted, issued, delivered or placed in force, and that the general notice does not itself substitute for that required consent. [2](https://riskcubeai.com/key-person-notice "Key Person Life Insurance Notice") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Placement/binding condition rather than a post-claim handling process; the notice does not describe claims filing or payout timelines.)

## What We Couldn’t Find About RiskCube Key Person Insurance

The reviewed sources do not settle these. Confirm them with RiskCube or a broker before relying on them.

- **Issuing Insurer (Not publicly disclosed):** RiskCube's key person page and notice do not name the issuing life insurer. Its licenses page lists only property-and-casualty producer/broker licenses for California and Delaware, and does not show a life-line license for RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC. [1](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance "Key Person Life Insurance for Startups") [3](https://riskcubeai.com/licenses "Licenses & Disclosures") (Scope: Public pages checked on 2026-09-23; a life-line license or appointment could exist without being listed on this page.)

## How Does RiskCube Compare With Other Key Person Insurance Providers?

- [RiskCube vs Alliance Risk](https://thegeneralaverage.com/compare/alliance-risk-vs-riskcube)
- [RiskCube vs The Baldwin Group](https://thegeneralaverage.com/compare/baldwin-vs-riskcube)
- [RiskCube vs Embroker](https://thegeneralaverage.com/compare/embroker-vs-riskcube)
- [RiskCube vs Founder Shield](https://thegeneralaverage.com/compare/foundershield-vs-riskcube)
- [RiskCube vs HUB International](https://thegeneralaverage.com/compare/hub-international-vs-riskcube)

## Other Coverage Lines From RiskCube

- [RiskCube Crime Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/crime)
- [RiskCube Cyber Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/cyber)
- [RiskCube D&O Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/directors-officers)
- [RiskCube Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/employment-practices)
- [RiskCube Fiduciary Liability Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/fiduciary)
- [RiskCube General Liability Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/general-liability)
- [RiskCube Generative AI Liability Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/generative-ai-liability)
- [RiskCube Tech E&O Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/technology-errors-omissions)

## Related Reading

- [RiskCube Profile](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube)
- [RiskCube Reliability](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/reliability)
- [RiskCube Alternatives](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/alternatives)
- [Coverage Guide: Key person](https://thegeneralaverage.com/coverage/key-person)

## Sources for RiskCube Key Person Insurance

1. [Key Person Life Insurance for Startups](https://riskcubeai.com/insurance/life-insurance). RiskCube; Key Person Life Insurance product introduction; Who needs it; What is key person life insurance; What's covered / What is not covered; benefit-amount and cost FAQ; replacement-of-insured example. Accessed 2026-09-23.
2. [Key Person Life Insurance Notice](https://riskcubeai.com/key-person-notice). RiskCube; Sections 1-6, effective June 23, 2026: what key person life insurance is; company representative authority; proposed insured participation; employer-owned life insurance consent; information sharing; no tax/legal advice. Accessed 2026-09-23.
3. [Licenses & Disclosures](https://riskcubeai.com/licenses). RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses: California (resident, No. 6017028) and Delaware (No. 3004000392); no life-line license listed. Accessed 2026-09-23.

## How to Cite This Page

RiskCube Key Person Insurance: Coverage, Eligibility, Claims & More (2026). The General Average, updated 2026-09-23. https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/key-person. Quote the claim with its numbered source; the issued policy wording, not this page, defines coverage.

Updated 2026-09-23. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. [Editorial policy](https://thegeneralaverage.com/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [email The General Average](mailto:thegeneralaverage@spot.insure) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/riskcube/key-person.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://thegeneralaverage.com/llms.txt)
