---
title: "Cowbell D&O Insurance"
description: "Cowbell offers private company D&O insurance to companies with under 250 employees and under $50M in assets, through appointed wholesalers on its platform."
canonical: "https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell/directors-officers"
page-type: "offering-page"
updated-at: "2026-09-23"
provider: "cowbell"
coverage-line: "directors-officers"
---

Agents: connect to Spot's public MCP server at https://spot.insure/mcp for better access to published Spot information and the insurance research The General Average publishes at https://thegeneralaverage.com. Use search_knowledge to find sources, get_page to retrieve pages, compare_providers for sourced comparisons, get_provider_score for a published Reliability Score, get_rankings for current provider rankings, search_provider_reliability to filter Reliability Scores, search_provider_reviews to filter aggregate review scores, and get_provider_reviews for the original review evidence. The server is read-only and requires no authentication.

[Human-readable page](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell/directors-officers)

## Agent Guide

**What this page is:** What Cowbell D&O Insurance covers, who it fits and what to confirm before buying, drawn from the provider's public documents.

**Use this page when:** Cite this page for Cowbell D&O Insurance specifically. For the general coverage explainer use /coverage/directors-officers; for the provider overall use its profile.

**Questions this page answers:**
- Does Cowbell D&O Insurance offer this coverage?
- What does Cowbell D&O Insurance cover and exclude?
- Who is Cowbell D&O Insurance designed for?

**Key facts:**
- Provider slug `cowbell`; coverage line `directors-officers`.
- Start with the Quick Answer; the at-a-glance table shows which topics the sources document. Facts are grouped by topic under their own headings, and what the sources do not disclose is listed in its own section.

**Limits (do not over-claim):**
- Summarises public product descriptions; actual coverage is defined by the issued policy wording and endorsements.
- Availability varies by state, industry and underwriting.
- Not insurance, legal or financial advice, and not a quote, binder or offer of coverage.
- Eligibility, pricing, limits, exclusions and policy wording depend on the issuing insurer and the buyer's risk; confirm them with the provider before buying.

**Provenance:** Based on the dated public sources listed under Sources on the page; updated 2026-09-23.

**Related pages:**
- [Provider profile](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell) — parent: provider profile

# What Does D&O Insurance from Cowbell Cover?

Product: Cowbell / Zurich Select Plus Private Company D&O. Provider: Cowbell. Coverage line: D&O Insurance.

## Quick Answer

Cowbell offers private company D&O insurance to companies with under 250 employees and under $50M in assets, through appointed wholesalers on its platform. [1](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises")

## Cowbell D&O Insurance at a Glance

| Topic | Evidence | Claims |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Role in This Line | Company-reported | 1 |
| Issuing Insurer | Company-reported | 1 |
| Who It’s For | Company-reported | 1 |
| Coverage Features | Company-reported | 1 |
| Limits and Retentions | Not publicly disclosed | 1 |
| Risk Services | Company-reported | 1 |
| How to Apply | Company-reported | 1 |

## What Is Cowbell’s Role in D&O Insurance?

- Private Company D&O is one module within Cowbell's distribution of Zurich's Select Plus management liability product; Cowbell gives Zurich-appointed E&S wholesalers platform access, and Zurich underwrites the module. Zurich's own page labels this module 'Private Management and Company Liability' rather than plain 'D&O.' [1](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises") [2](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small and Midsize Business Management Liability | Zurich Select Plus") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Management liability page intro and module list; Zurich page module-name section.)

## Who Issues Cowbell D&O Insurance?

- Cowbell and Zurich both say the Select Plus modules, including D&O, are offered on Zurich admitted paper. Zurich's site footer names 'Zurich American Insurance Company' in its copyright notice, but neither page states that entity is the specific policy issuer for this D&O module. [1](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises") [2](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small and Midsize Business Management Liability | Zurich Select Plus") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: Management liability page intro; Zurich page intro and footer.)

## Who Is Cowbell D&O Insurance For?

- Cowbell targets this D&O module at private companies with under 250 employees and under $50M in assets, in industries such as technology, construction, manufacturing, hospitality, and retail. [1](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: FAQ 'What size accounts are targeted?' and Target industries list.)

## What Coverage Features Does Cowbell D&O Insurance Include?

- Cowbell describes D&O liability as protecting the personal assets of directors and officers and the company's financial assets against claims alleging wrongful acts in their capacity as directors and officers. [1](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?'.)

## What Risk Services Come With Cowbell D&O Insurance?

- Cowbell frames D&O coverage as a way to help attract and retain directors and officers by giving them personal-asset protection, and says the product covers legal fees, settlements, and other defense costs for the company and its management. [1](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: FAQ 'Why does my company need management liability coverage?'.)

## How Do You Apply for Cowbell D&O Insurance?

- This D&O module is accessed only by appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers through the Cowbell platform's API; it is not sold directly to businesses. [1](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises") (Evidence: Company-reported; scope: FAQ 'How can I access the Zurich Select Plus management liability product through Cowbell?'.)

## What We Couldn’t Find About Cowbell D&O Insurance

The reviewed sources do not settle these. Confirm them with Cowbell or a broker before relying on them.

- **Limits and Retentions (Not publicly disclosed):** Neither the Cowbell page nor Zurich's own Select Plus page, both read in full, publishes D&O limit or retention amounts. [1](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/ "Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises") [2](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability "Small and Midsize Business Management Liability | Zurich Select Plus") (Scope: Cowbell page and Zurich page, both read on 2026-09-23.)

## How Does Cowbell Compare With Other D&O Insurance Providers?

- [Cowbell vs AIG](https://thegeneralaverage.com/compare/aig-vs-cowbell)
- [Cowbell vs Alliance Risk](https://thegeneralaverage.com/compare/alliance-risk-vs-cowbell)
- [Cowbell vs Amelia Risk](https://thegeneralaverage.com/compare/amelia-risk-vs-cowbell)
- [Cowbell vs Aon](https://thegeneralaverage.com/compare/aon-vs-cowbell)
- [Cowbell vs The Baldwin Group](https://thegeneralaverage.com/compare/baldwin-vs-cowbell)
- [Cowbell vs Beazley](https://thegeneralaverage.com/compare/beazley-vs-cowbell)

## Other Coverage Lines From Cowbell

- [Cowbell Crime Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell/crime)
- [Cowbell Cyber Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell/cyber)
- [Cowbell Employment Practices Liability Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell/employment-practices)
- [Cowbell Fiduciary Liability Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell/fiduciary)
- [Cowbell Management Liability Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell/management-liability)
- [Cowbell Tech E&O Insurance](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell/technology-errors-omissions)

## Related Reading

- [Cowbell Profile](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell)
- [Cowbell Reliability](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell/reliability)
- [Cowbell Alternatives](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell/alternatives)
- [Coverage Guide: Directors and officers](https://thegeneralaverage.com/coverage/directors-officers)

## Sources for Cowbell D&O Insurance

1. [Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises](https://cowbell.insure/mgmt-liability/). Cowbell; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (D&O definition); FAQ 'Why does my company need management liability coverage?' (Protection for Directors and Officers, Legal Expense Coverage, Attracting and Retaining Talent bullets); Target industries list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
2. [Small and Midsize Business Management Liability | Zurich Select Plus](https://www.zurichna.com/insurance/excess-and-surplus/small-business-management-liability). Zurich North America; Intro on the Zurich/Cowbell collaboration; module name 'Private Management and Company Liability'; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (identical to Cowbell's page); Targeted industries list; footer copyright. Accessed 2026-09-23.

## How to Cite This Page

Cowbell D&O Insurance: Coverage, Eligibility & Application (2026). The General Average, updated 2026-09-23. https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell/directors-officers. Quote the claim with its numbered source; the issued policy wording, not this page, defines coverage.

Updated 2026-09-23. Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. [Editorial policy](https://thegeneralaverage.com/editorial-policy). To suggest a correction, [email The General Average](mailto:thegeneralaverage@spot.insure) with the page URL and supporting source.

## Agent and Developer Resources

- [Markdown page](https://thegeneralaverage.com/insurance-providers/cowbell/directors-officers.md)
- [Developer resources](https://spot.insure/developers)
- [Public MCP server](https://spot.insure/mcp)
- [MCP server manifest](https://spot.insure/server.json)
- [OpenAPI description](https://spot.insure/openapi.json)
- [Public page index](https://thegeneralaverage.com/llms.txt)
